Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
Directory of Open Access Journals: Gender Studies
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints covers current controversies and hot topics. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
SocINDEX
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Transgender Law and Policy Institute
The Transgender Law and Policy Institute aims to advance transgender equality through advocating for non-discrimination laws and policy change. Visitors will find that one of the many features on this site is under the "Non-discrimination Laws" link, which consists of lists, maps, and charts of which states and municipalities have non-discrimination laws that include gender identity and expression. Some of these laws include prohibiting discrimination in public employment and policies regarding restrooms and other gender-based facilities. Visitors interested in reading about such transgender related litigation in criminal, immigration, medical, tax, discrimination, or tort law will appreciate the "Litigation: Case Law" link.
ACRL Women's Studies Section
This site, maintained by the Women's Studies Section Collection Development and Bibliography Committee, provides links to helpful collection development resources for women's and gender studies librarians.
American Women (Library of Congress)
![]()
Simultaneously a guide, an online magnet for digitized women's history materials drawn from a plethora of Library sources, and a gateway, American Women is an innovative addition to American Memory. Includes Research Guide.
Digital Schomburg: African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.
Discovering American women's history online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.
Gender Statistics Website
This website aims to bring together both gender statistics and policies. Focus is on the production, dissemination and use of gender related data. In addition to statistics, this site outlines some of the main gender issues relevant to the UNECE region (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe), and provides examples of policies and other initiatives. It also contains thematic pages on topics consisting of important methodologies and examples of survey instruments.
GenderStats
GenderStats (from The World Bank Group) is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. The data in each module is presented in ready-to-use format. Users have the option of saving the country views in Excel (or another spreadsheet software) to customize them for their own reports.
Gifts of Speech
Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.
National Women's History Project
The National Women's History Project, founded in 1980, is an educational nonprofit organization. Its mission is to recognize and celebrate the diverse and historic accomplishments of women by providing information and educational materials and programs.
Women and Social Movements
![]()
This Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of US history and US women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the US between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. Includes the first three volumes of Harvard University Press's landmark five-volume Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, available for the first time in electronic form.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
This database contains bibliographical references on books and articles dealing with women in politics.
Women Working 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images.
WomenWatch
WomenWatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system, including the United Nations Secretariat, regional commissions, funds, programmes, specialized agencies and academic and research institutions.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
This database contains bibliographical references on books and articles dealing with women in politics.
Women's Studies: a Recommended Bibliography
HQ1180.A1 K75 2004
Note: Print resource
Collective biographies of women
Collective Biographies of Women, with its annotated bibliography, growing archive of texts, resources featuring individual women, and new tools for interpreting prosopography, is an experiment in digital humanities focused on a widespread genre, the collection of short biographies.
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Waterford, CT : Yorkin Publications, 1999. REF HQ1115 .W6 (16 volumes, set not yet complete)
Note: Print Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA Format (Purdue University OWL)
Purdue University's MLA format guide.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States
REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2002
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
REF HQ1115.E43 2001
Note: Print resource
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
REF HQ1115.G74 2003
Note: Print resource
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage
span style="font-family: Arial;">REF JF851.H28 2000
Note: Print resource
Men and Masculinities: a Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia
REF HQ1090.3.M436 2004
Note: Print resource
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
REF HQ1115.R69 2000
Note: Print resource
Visible Human Project Data Sets
Middlebury College access for the Visible Human Project datasets (male and female), available from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is for classroom and teaching purposes. Please contact a librarian by calling 802.443.5496 or by emailing (refdesk@middlebury.edu) for the password.
Faculty interested in using the images for research purposes, or creating new uses for the images (e.g., creating an application to manipulate or view them, etc.) are asked to apply to the NLM for individual access.
Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
An archival research collection from Adam Matthew with documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including the study of families and home life in the South and in the North, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment.
Lily: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper
The first newspaper for women, the Lily was published in Seneca Falls, New York from 1849 until 1853. The Lily originated as a temperance journal for the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society and was edited by Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894).
Digital Schomburg: African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century
A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.
Discovering American women's history online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
Gifts of Speech
Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.
Women and Social Movements in the US 1600-2000
![]()
Provides 74 document projects. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Includes more than 2,200 documents, approx. 800 images, & almost 800 links to other websites. Also includes a dictionary of social movements and organizations; a chronology of U.S. women's history; and teaching tools.
Women Working 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images.
Women Writers Online
A collection of over 200 texts dating from the 16th to the 19th century which are important examples of early women's writing.
Gender Statistics Website
This website aims to bring together both gender statistics and policies. Focus is on the production, dissemination and use of gender related data. In addition to statistics, this site outlines some of the main gender issues relevant to the UNECE region (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe), and provides examples of policies and other initiatives. It also contains thematic pages on topics consisting of important methodologies and examples of survey instruments.
GenderStats
GenderStats (from The World Bank Group) is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. The data in each module is presented in ready-to-use format. Users have the option of saving the country views in Excel (or another spreadsheet software) to customize them for their own reports.
Statistics and Indicators on Women and Men
This web site provides the latest statistics and indicators on women and men in six specific fields of concern: Population, Women and men in families, Health, Education, Work, Political decision making. Includes World's Women reports.
US Census Bureau American FactFinder Data Gateway
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data compiled by the government.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Gifts of Speech
Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.
