Laws and Cases, U.S.
Lectures & Speeches
Presidential Information
Regional
Informedia (Carnegie Mellon University) An initiative to achieve machine understanding of video and film media, including all aspects of search, retrieval, visualization and summarization in both contemporaneous and archival content collections. The base technology developed under Informedia-I combines speech, image and natural language understanding to automatically transcribe, segment and index linear video for intelligent search and image retrieval. Informedia-II seeks to improve the dynamic extraction, summarization, visualization, and presentation of distributed video, automatically producing “collages” and “auto-documentaries” that summarize documents from text, images, audio and video into one single abstraction.
British Film Institute/National Film Theatre Interviews
![]()
Audio interviews from National Film Theatre interviews presented by the British Film Institute, featuring some of the greatest names in film and television history.
Note: Transcripts from 2001- are also available.
Vietnam Center & Archive Oral History Project (Texas Tech U.)
![]()
Primary source materials on the Vietnam War include oral histories and interviews of veterans. Site sponsored by Texas Tech University. Some interviews include transcripts.
The Complete Index To World Film Since 1985
A searchable film index of over 300,000 films, compiled by Alan Goble. Particularly strong with foreign language and short films.
Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. For additional years, see the print index, Ref PN1994 .F45 (1973 - 2004).
A Selective Bibliography Of On‐Demand Academic Public Lectures / George Wrenn
This selective bibliography, intended for librarians, provides access to and information about university and other web sites in the United States offering online, on-demand public lectures. Created Aug. 18, 2008.
Fair Use & Copyright (for Documentary Film and Online Video)
Helpful guide that explains fair use for using video, film clips, etc. and best practices for documentary film makers, among other topics.
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
Center for Creative Photography
The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. Including the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great 20th-century photographers--over fifty archives in all.
Google Art project
Google Art Project is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums.
National Gallery of Art: NGA Images
NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 22,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Historic Campus Architecture Project
A national architecture and landscape database of independent college and university campuses. This project presents information about significant buildings, landscapes, campus plans, and heritage sites of American higher education and identifies sources for further research. The website documents nearly 2,000 places of historical significance on nearly 370 private college and university campuses, and includes more than 4,300 images relating to these sites. Users can search for institutions or places in a particular state or region; find information about specific types of architecture, designers, or time periods; or gather data for future research.
The Image Project
A list of image resources and tools, subdivided by 13 subject areas, created as part of the Image Project report Using Digital Images In Teaching And Learning: Perspectives From Liberal Arts Institutions, published in 2006.
International Space Archives
The International Space Archives is a growing online archive of still and video imagery captured by national and private space agencies and programs worldwide, including NASA ( the United States National Aeronautics and Space Administration) and the space programs of Russia, Japan, China, India, the European Union and others.
Life Magazine Images
Available via Google Images. Browse by decade or topic or search across all images.
National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library
The National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library is an online vault where a comprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures are securely stored and available for searchable access and download.
PanImages
Search Google Images and Flickr in 100s of languages using automatic query translation.
Prints and photographs online catalog
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress.
IWM (Imperial War Museum) Collections Online
A resource covering all aspects of 20th- and 21st-century conflict involving Britain and the Commonwealth. Includes over 219,000 collection records online, with over 33,000 photographic images, 11,000 records of works of art, 27,000 records related to audio recordings, 14,000 records related to document collections and almost 100,000 records of material held the library.
KIKO: Kiswahili kwa Komputa (Kiswahili Using The Computer).
![]()
A multimedia course integrating the use of video, audio, and text, designed to facilitate gradual learning of Kiswahili in both the traditional classroom setting and independently. KIKO is a content-based course divided into units, each unit having several lessons and exercises, along with accompanying grammar and cultural notes.
Warung Sinema: Indonesian Language Project Twenty, interactive, multimedia, listening-comprehension lessons for students of Indonesian, ranging from the intermediate-low to the advanced level on the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) listening proficiency scale. This project was funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The lessons, which are based on authentic clips from contemporary Indonesian television and film footage, are developed using schema theory (Carrell and Eisterhold 1983, and Schank and Abelson 1977) and a communicative pedagogical approach (Omaggio Hadley 1993).
Annenberg Media
Teacher resources and teacher professional development programming across the curriculum. Sign up is required for first-time users.
Archive Of American Television
A joint venture of Google Video and the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation offers video interviews with many of television's best actors, writers, producers and directors.
Booknotes
A permanent online archive for C-SPAN’s author interview program, Booknotes. From 1989 to 2004, C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives. The resulting archive of 800 interviews is a valuable collection of late twentieth century American scholarship.
Note: Searchable video, with written transcripts.
C-Span Video Library
"Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives."
CBC Digital Archive
Over 1,500 hours of archival news stories from the Canadian Broadcasting Company.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Offers primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale, including a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. Also includes educator resources and contextual materials, including Freedom on Film, relating instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, delivering engaging online articles and multimedia.
Connie Martinson Talks Books (Claremont Colleges Digital Library) Over 2,500 television interviews with prominent authors of fiction and nonfiction taped over the last 30 years. Included in the collection are interviews with Maya Angelou, Ray Bradbury, Al Gore, Rosa Parks, Gore Vidal, Barack Obama, Studs Terkel and Joyce Carol Oates. The "Connie Martinson Talks Books" television series originates from L.A. CityView Channel 35 and can be seen on government-access cable outlets around the country and PBS in New York.
Focus On Animation (National Film Board Of Canada)
Searchable database of animated short films.
FORA.tv
Speeches, discussions, interviews and debates from public forums including American University, The World Affairs Council, Brookings Institute, C-Span, The Times of London, and many others.
Frontline Online (PBS)
Includes full programs from the PBS public affairs series Frontline.
MIT World On-demand video of significant public events at MIT, containing more than 600 videos from lectures, panel discussions, and symposia presented on the MIT campus. MIT World videos are scholarly, relevant, and accessible to a wide audience. Content may include the latest discoveries in science, engineering, architecture, humanities, technology, and management, as well as technical seminars in emerging fields and presentations that illuminate trends in society, the arts, and humanities. MIT World commentary provides an intellectual context for the lecture and links to relevant sites. Founded in 2001, MIT World is a project of the Office of the Vice President for Institute Affairs. Some MIT World videos can also be downloaded from Apple's iTunes U site.
National Film Board of Canada
Large collection of free streamed videos produced by NFB.
New Television Workshop Collection Project (WGBH)
The New Television Workshop (NTW) was a major experimental video art production center at WGBH. Materials in the NTW Collection include early video arts works that pre-dated the organization of the Workshop and ancillary but related video art works produced by WGBH.
NOVA (PBS)
Selected programs from this PBS's documentary science series.
The Open Video Project
A project to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.
Theatre in Video
![]()
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video.
The Vega Science Trust Videos
Science video programs from a UK-based non-profit trust.
The Video Encyclopedia Of The 20th Century Call No.: MCTR 399L. Laserdisc collection of primary material from documentary film and television. Over 2,300 full-motion video units record social, political and cultural history from as far back as 1893 to 1988. The clips vary in length from one to nine minutes and do no include added commentary or sound effects. The collection is accompanied by several volumes of carefully researched background information and a comprehensive master index arranged either alphabetically or by date. Facilities for viewing and/or copying can be easily arranged. Ask at the Circulation desk for further assistance. The Video Encyclopedia can be searched online here.
Moving Image Archive (Internet Archive) This section of the Internet Archive offers free movies, films, and videos, and contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users, ranging from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. Many are available for free download. The Internet Archive is a library founded to provide access to historical collections that exist in digital format including texts, audio, and video.
The Library of Congress American Memory Collection
![]()
American Memory, a constantly growing searchable database of scanned historical documents from the collections of the Library of Congress, includes a wealth of historical maps and photographs. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded as MrSID files, which tend to be quite large. One of the advantages of this site is that it provides full bibliographic information about each map.
OAIster.org
OAIster is a union catalog of open access digital resources. It provides access to digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting), and includes records for audio, image, video, digitized text, and dataset content. OAIster does not provide digitized content directly, but includes metadata with links to content hosted elsewhere.
ResearchChannel
3,500 programs exploring a variety of research topics at a deep level, ranging from technology and science innovations to arts and humanities subjects. All are shared in their original form -- unmediated and without interruption.
UCLA Film & Television Archive The catalog of the UCLA Film and Television Archive, one of the largest collections of media materials in the United States, second only to the Library of Congress. This is a catalog to content available in the Archive; most content is not directly available over the web.
Laws and Cases, International (including Treaties)
United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law The Lecture Series contains a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law, given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different regions, legal systems, cultures and sectors of the legal profession. Each lecture is linked to a lecture card giving further details about the lectures. The card includes: the name, professional affiliation, a photograph and brief biography of the lecturer; and the lecture title(s), a brief summary and the recorded lecture. Additional materials (lecture outline, power point slides or recommended reading list) are provided for some lectures.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media
![]()
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Academic Earth
A user-friendly educational "ecosystem" featuring full video courses and lectures from the world’s leading scholars.
Middlebury Digital Lecture Archive
![]()
Collection of university and topical lecture archives; includes both audio and video.
UChannel (University Channel) UChannel, of which Middlebury College is a charter member, offers a collection of lectures and events from academic institutions all over the world, with a primary focus on public and international affairs. It is a place where academics can air their ideas and present research in a full-length, uncut format. The UChannel project is an initiative of Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.
![]()
Academic Earth
A user-friendly educational "ecosystem" featuring full video courses and lectures from the world’s leading scholars.
American Rhetoric
![]()
A database of 5000+ full-text, audio and streaming video versions of public speeches, lectures, debates, interviews, and speeches in movies. This award-winning site is maintained by Michael E. Eidenmuller, Ph.D. Contains a number of audio excerpts from 9/11.
BBC Four Audio Interviews
![]()
Over 150 audio interviews with artists, scientists, political activists and writers, including Gandhi, Gropius, Auden, Warhol and Yeat. No longer maintained, but the site appears to be still active.
The Earth Institute (Columbia University)
Features lectures on issues related to sustainable development, environmental decision-making, and climate change
Forum Network (WGBH)
![]()
Audio and video streaming of public lectures and panel discussions from venues around Boston, including Wheaton, Wellesley, MIT, Harvard and UMass. The archive covers a broad range of topic categories, including art, politics, economics and sports.
Georgetown Univeristy Webcasts
Broadcast-quality broadband video of a wide variety of panel discussions and noted speakers.
Harvard University Institute Of Politics Multimedia Center A searchable multimedia center featuring nearly 1,300 John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum events, Q&A sessions, and student produced pieces on politics, policy, culture, and academic life.
Media Resources Center: Online Media Collections (UC Berkeley)
![]()
One of the largest and oldest audio and video archives; these records of UC Berkeley events include lectures and interviews with Bill Clinton, Carlos Fuentes, James Baldwin, Malcolm X and Robert Oppenheimer, to name just a few. Also includes material related to social activism and activist movements in California in the 1960s and 1970s, including the Free Speech Movement, Black Panther Party, Anti-Vietnam War protests in the San Francisco Bay Area & beyond, and LGBT History
New Media (UFM)
Close to 1,000 lectures, many with transcriptions, from the Universidad Francisco Marroquín in Guatemala. 65% of the content is in English. Many of the speakers focus on international and theoretical economics.
Princeton University: WebMedia
Archived lectures from 1998 to the present, on a wide range of topics.
Stanford Humanities Center Video & Podcasts
Archived video of lectures, seminars, and panel discussions.
TED: Ideas Worth Spreading Includes more than 450 TEDTalks from annual TED conferences in Long Beach, Calif., and Oxford, England, all of which are only 18 minutes or shorter. The talks include closed captions in English, and many have subtitles in various languages. These videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted. TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It began in 1984 as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technolody, Entertainment, and Design, but the scope has since broadened.
Videolectures.net
![]()
Free on-demand educational video lectures from world's leading and prominent scientists, research institutions, EU research projects.
VMath (Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI))
This site, funded in part by the National Science Foundation, offers a large video archive of mathematics lectures, available for download or streaming. includes lecture notes and other associated documents.
Word For Word (American Public Media)
span class="body">Archives from American Public Media's Word for Word program, which ran from 2006-2008 and featured speeches and conversations with policymakers and opinion leaders. Speeches were drawn from venues such as the National Press Club, the Chautauqua Institution, and the Aspen Institute.
A World Of Ideas
![]()
Video and audio lectures on academic topics according to discipline, theoretician and topic, maintained by Darrell Arnold, an editor and translator at the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods in Bonn, Germany.
History of Televised Presidential Debates
From the Museum of Broadcast Communication.
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
From the Museum of the Moving Image. "An online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired."
C-SPAN's Presidential Libraries: History Uncovered
![]()
Rare audio and video recordings from all twelve of the nation's presidential libraries, presented by C-SPAN and the National Archives.
Presidential Recordings Program (University Of Virginia, Miller Center Of Public Affairs) Between 1940 and 1973, six American presidents from both political parties secretly recorded just under 5,000 hours of their meetings and telephone conversations. Through a combination of historical research and annotated transcripts the Miller Center's Presidential Recordings Program aims to make these remarkable historical sources more accessible to scholars, teachers, students, and the public.
![]()
BBC SoundFX Library
![]()
A large collection of sound effects from the BBC, including exterior atmospheres, household, interior backgrounds, comedy, fantasy, humor, communications, water, industry, cars, hospitals, equestrian events, livestock, agricultural machinery, horses, dogs, schools and crowds.
Sound Ideas Sound Effects Library. Series 2000 Call no.: MCTR 1742C 22 CD-ROMs of sound effects. Categories include an extensive animal collection, transportation sounds, crowds, weather, aviation, military, musical, sports, and much more. The Sound Effects Library can be searched online here. Please note that Middlebury only has access to the 2000 and 6000 series.
![]()
Sound Ideas Sound Effects Library. Series 6000 Call no.: MCTR 1865C 40 CD-ROMs of sound effects. Categories include an extensive animal collection, transportation sounds, crowds, weather, aviation, military, musical, sports, and much more. The Sound Effects Library can be searched online here. Please note that Middlebury only has access to the 2000 and 6000 series.
![]()
Blinkx
Video search engine that uses a conceptual search, speech recognition and video analysis software to find and qualify online video. Note: this site points to video content hosted on external sites; it does not host any content itself.
TV Archive (Internet Archive)
Streaming video clips of U.S. television news programs from the past 3 years. Transcripts are searchable. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.
Lumerias
A video search engine.
Snipp.TV A multimedia search engine designed to search for content on the web. Snipp.TV provides its users with highly relevant and comprehensive search results in which the searched term is actually spoken in the video or audio file, or appears as text in the title or description. Snipp.TV has a friendly user interface that enables users to quickly sort search results and obtain useful results with minimal effort and time. Snipp.TV is operated by Natural Speech Communication Ltd (NSC).
