Midcat, the online catalog provides subject, author, and title access to books, regardless of whether they are shelved in the Vermont Collection or in the stacks. Start with a subject search if you are looking for books on a specific subject but don't have a particular author or title in mind. Use the most specific subject heading possible, especially when you are looking for information on a geographic area. Broad subject headings are often subdivided by time or aspect of the subject. Examples of subject headings used in our online catalog are given below:
- Abenaki Indians--Vermont
Addison County (Vt.)--Biography - Addison County (Vt.)--History
Indians of North America--Vermont - Middlebury College--History
- Middlebury (Vt.)--History
- Vermont--Biography
- Vermont--Census--1810
- Vermont--Census--1810--Indexes
- Vermont--History--to 1791
- Vermont--History--Revolution, 1775-1783
- Vermont--History--Civil War, 1861-1865
- Vermont--Maps
- Vermont--Officials and employees--Biography
- Vermont--Statistics, Vital
Books shelved in the Vermont Collection are shelved on the lower floor of the Main Library and are arranged by Library of Congress classification number. A few useful call numbers are given below if you would like to browse portions of the collection:
- F48 Biography
- F52 Vermont History to 1791
- F53 Vermont History, 1791-1865
- F54 Vermont History, 1865-1950
- F55 Vermont History, 1951-
- F57 Vermont county histories
- F59 Vermont town histories
You may find it easier to look up Vermont state documents by their title since the proper author form of entry for many state agencies may not be easy to determine.
- Basic Sources for Vermont Historical Research.
- Vt. Coll. F49 A1 B3 1981
- Bibliographical Guide to the Vermont Legal System.
- Vt. Coll. KFV1 W57 1989
- Guide to the Papers of Vermont's Governors.
- Vt. Coll. JK3051 G8 1985
- Guide to Vermontiana Collections at Academic, Special and Selected Libraries.
- Ref. Z688 .L8 C37 1994
Vt. Coll. Z688 .L8 C37 1994
- Guide to Vermont's Repositories.
Inventory of the Town,Village and City Archives of Vermont.
Vt. Coll. CD3550 H47
Vermont, A Bibliography of its History.
Ref. F49 A1 V4
Vermont Business Magazine.
Current year: Periodicals
Previous years: Vt. Coll. Oversize HF5065 V5 V25
Includes special issues, such as the annual Book of Lists, which provides lists of Vermont trade associations, chambers of commerce, radio and TV stations and statistics on colleges, banks, income taxes, tax rates by town, employment by industry, etc. Indexed by LexisNexis Academic Universe, 1986 to date and available online from computers on campus or through our proxy server.
- Vermont Environmental Report.
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
Library has: 1976 to date.
Starting with 1990 this is indexed in Environment Abstracts Annual (Ref. Index Area GF1 E57)
Vermont History.
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
Library has most years, 1860 to date.
Former titles: Vermont Historical Society. Proceedings and Vermont Quarterly. Cumulative indexes for vols. 1-10, 11-20, 21-45, and 46-55 are shelved with the bound volumes. From 1907 to 1990 it was indexed in Writings in American History (Ref. Index Area E174 A1 W7) and since 1964 it has been indexed in America: History and Life, (Ref. Index Area E171 M6) Since 1982 it has also been indexed on the online version of America: History and Life, which is accessible through computers on campus or through our proxy server for off-campus students.
Since 2000 it is available full-text online.
Vermont Labor Market.
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
Library has 1986 to date
- Vermont Law Review.
Periodicals
Library has 1976 to date
Since 2005 issues are available full-text online to all users.
Since 1998 issues are available full-text online to members of the Middlebury academic community through LexisNexis.
This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted.
- Vermont Life
Periodicals
Library has 1946 to date.
Has cumulative indexes for vols. 1-20 and 21-32.
Vermont Magazine
Periodicals
Library has Sept. 1989 to date.
Vermonter
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
Library has 1895-1945
Has cumulative indexes for vols. 18-44.
From 1906 to 1940 it was indexed in Writings on American History (Ref E174.A1 W7)
The Library has extensive microfilm runs and indexes for recent years of the two leading newspapers in Vermont.
The Library's collection guide to newspapers contains a list of about 20 additional discontinued Vermont newspapers for which we have partial runs on microfilm and in print. Runs of additional Vermont newspapers are available in paper at the Sheldon Museum and in microfilm at the Ilsley Public Library in town.
Burlington Free PressRutland HeraldMicrofilm #205
- Library has 1848 to date.
- Index for 1848-67 is bound in the Reference Index Area. (Ref. AI21 .B8)
- Index for 1959-83 is on 16 mm microfilm in the Microforms Area
- Index for 1984 to date is available on microfiche in the Microforms Area.
- Online index for 1985 to 2009 is available.
Microfilm #27
- Library has 1835 to date.
- An index for 1970-83 is on 16 mm microfilm in the Microforms Area.
- Online index for 1984 to 2009 is available.
The Vermont Newspaper Project has digitized more than a dozen early Vermont newspapers and they are available online from the Library of Congress through their Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers website
- Biographical Encyclopedia of the Nineteenth Century
- Not in alphabetical order. Use table of contents.
Vt. Coll. F48 B61
- Biographical Sketches of State Officers and Members of the General Assembly.
- Library has 1931, 1945 to date.
Vt. Coll. JK3030 V39
- Biographical Sketches of Vermonters.
- Vt. Coll. F46 V53
- Encyclopedia, Vermont Biography: A Series of Authentic Biographical Sketches of the Representative Men of Vermont and Sons.
- Vt. Coll. F48 D64
- Vermont Historical Gazetteer; A Local History of all the Towns in the State, Civil, Educational, Biographical, Religious and Military.
- By Abby Hemenway. Five volumes plus index.
Vt. Coll. F46 V51
- Men of Progress: Biographical Sketches and Portraits of Leaders in Business and Professional Life in and of the State of Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. F48 M53 1898
- Men of Vermont: An Illustrated Biographical History of Vermonters and Sons of Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. F48 U41
- Successful Vermonters: A Modern Gazetteer of Caledonia, Essex, and Orleans Counties.
- Vt. Coll. F57 C2 J4
- Successful Vermonters: A Modern Gazetteer of Lamoille, Franklin, and Grand Isle Counties.
- Vt. Coll. F48 J463
- Heads of Families of the First Census of the United States, taken in the Year 1790. Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. HA671.5 1790b
- Heads of Families of the Second Census of the United States, taken in the Year 1800. Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. F48 U55
- Second Census of the United States [1800]
- Microfilm #598
- Third Census of the United States [1810]
- Microfilm #599
- Fourth Census of the United States [1820]
- Microfilm #600
- Fifth Census of the United States [1830]
- Microfilm #592
- Sixth Census of the United States [1840]
- Microfilm #593
- Seventh Census of the United States [1850]
- Microfilm#594
- Eighth Census of the United States [1860]
- Microfilm #595
- Ninth Census of the United States [1870}
- Microfilm #596
- Tenth Census of the United States [1880]
- Microfilm #597
- Twelfth Census of the United States [1900]
- Microfilm #624
- Thirteenth Census of the United States [1910]
- Microfilm #625
- Fourteenth Census of the United States [1920]
- Microfilm #741
- Fifteenth Census of the United States [1930]
- Microfilm #868
- Vermont 1800 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 V56 2000
- Vermont 1810 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 J3
- Vermont 1820 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 J32
- Vermont 1830 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 J325
- Vermont 1840 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 J33
- Vermont 1850 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 J332
- Vermont 1870 Census Index
- Vt. Coll. F48 S74 2000
- Area Wage Survey. Vermont.
- Library has 1985, 1988, 1990, 1992
Govt. Docs. L2.122/45:
- County Business Patterns. Vermont.
- Provides statistics on employment and payrolls, number and employment, size of establishments by detailed industry. 1971-73 classed in Govt. Docs. C56.233:
Govt. Docs. C3.204:
Library has 1971 to date
- Demographic and Political Guide to Vermont: Towns, Cities and Places.
- Ref. HA675 .D45 1995
- Financial Statistics: Vermont School Systems
- Includes school and enrollment data
Vt. Coll. L208 B37
Library has 1976 to date
- 2010 Census of Population
- Govt. Docs. C3.223/5:990/A47
Population and Housing Unit Counts
- Summary Population and Housing Characteristics
- Govt. Docs. C3.223/18:990/B47
- Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics
- Govt. Docs. C3.223/23:990/C47
- Summary Characteristics for Governmental Units and SMSA's
- Govt. Docs. C3.223/23:990/D47
More detailed statistics for Vermont are available on several CD-ROM series, known as Summary Tape Files, which are available at the CD-ROM workstations in the Government Documents area. Census information for previous decennial censuses is also available in Government Documents. Ask at room 211 or 216 for assistance in finding and using these.
Public Health Statistics Bulletin
Vt. Coll. Periodicals - Library has 1977 to date
- State of Vermont Economic Indicators
- Library has Sept. 1990 to date
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
- Vermont Facts and Figures
- Source notes lead to more detailed information sources.
Vt. Coll. HA671 O33
Library has 1972, 1973, 1975
- Vermont Higher Education Information Sourcebook
- Earlier editions are in the Vermont Collection.
Ref. LB2331.73 V5 V4
Library has 1979, 1982 to date.
- Vermont Population and Housing Estimates
- Library has 1989 to date.
Vt. Coll. HA671 .E85
- Vermont Tax Statistics
- Library has 1978 to date.
Vt. Coll. HJ11 V557
- Annual Bulletin of Vital Statistics
- Library has 1951to date.
Vt. Coll. RA407.4 V4 A32
- Demographic and Political Guide to Vermont
- Ref. HA675 D45 1995
- Vermont; A Guide to the Green Mountain State
- Ref. F54 F45 1968
- Vermont Almanac
- Ref. HC107.5 V49
- Library has 1989 to date
- Vermont Almanac and Government Guide
- Ref. JK2358 V52
- Library has 1970 to date
- Vermont Business Directory
- Ref. HF5065 .V5 V47
- Library has 1993/4 to date
- Vermont Buyer's Guide
- Ref. T12 V45
- Library has 1974 to date. Former title: Vermont Directory of Manufactures.
Earlier editions are in the Vermont Collection.
- Vermont Educational Directory
- Vt. Coll. L903 V5 A3
- Library has 1978 to date
- Vermont Environmental Directory
- Ref. HC107 V53 V47
- Vermont Legislative Directory and State Manual
- Ref. JK3031 A1
- Library has 1867 to date.
- An online version of this covers the current session.
- Earlier editions are in the Vermont Collection.
- Vermont Yearbook
- Ref. F47.5 V45
- Library has 1811 to date.
- Former title: Walton's Vermont Register. Earlier editions are in the Vermont Collection.
- Acts and Resolves Passed by the General Assembly of the State of Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. KFV25 A3
- Volumes for 1798 to 1898 are shelved in Vt. Coll. Restrict.
- Each volume has an index. An online version of this covers the current session
- Shepard's Vermont Case Names Citator
- KFV59 .S5 1991
- A compilation of case names and citations of Vermont cases decided from 1789 to present.
- Shepard's Vermont Citations
- KFV59 .S54
- A compilation of citations to Vermont cases reported in various series of Vermont reports and in the Atlantic Reporter.
- Vermont Key Number Digest; Covering Cases From State and Federal Courts.
- KFV47.1 V4
- This is a topical digest of cases from the courts of Vermont as well as all reported federal cases arising in Vermont. Entries are arranged alphabetically by topic. Kept up to date by pocket parts and quarterly supplements. Includes a defendant-plaintiff table of cases, a descriptive word index and a words and phrases index.
- Vermont Statutes Online.
- VSO is a consolidation of all Vermont laws currently in force, arranged under 33 subjects or "titles." The official version of this title is available on LexisNexis Academic Universe.
- Vermont Supreme Court. Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of the State of Vermont.
- KFV45 A2
- Library has vol. 3 to date.
- Each volume includes a table of cases in that volume.
- Current Opinions
- Atlas of Addison Co., Vermont.
- Vt. Coll. Oversize G1228 A2 B4 1971
- This is one of a series of atlases originally printed in the 1870's by F. W. Beers. The town plans show individual residences with the names of the owners.
- Critical Habitat Maps.
- Vt. Coll. G1226 D4 V4
- Flood Insurance Study...Vermont.
- Govt. Docs. FEM1.209:
- Studies are done for individual towns and include maps. Some studies are issued in microfiche.
- Historic U. S. Geological Survey Maps of Vermont (from the University of New Hampshire)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Vermont, 1867-1970.
- An unrivaled source of information about the structure and use of buildings in Vermont. The arrangement is alphabetical by name of town or city. Within each town or city the maps are arranged chronologically. Access is restricted to the Middlebury College community.
- Vermont Atlas and Gazetteer.
- Ref. Atlas Case G1225
- Vermont Place Names
- Vt. Coll. F47 S84
- Vermont Road Atlas and Guide
- Ref. G1226 .P2 N6 1989
- Water Resources Development...Vermont.
- Govt. Docs. D103.35:V
- Library has 1981, 1989, 1991, 1993.
- Includes maps and photographs
- Vermont Climate
Vt. Coll. Periodicals
Library has May 1982 to date.
Title changed to Northern New England Climate in July 1987.
- Vermont Monthly Local Climatological Data.
Govt. Docs. Microfiche C55.286/6-47: Library has 1984 to date.
Issues for 1984 are classified in Govt. Docs. C55.287/48.
- Addison County Information Resources
- Addison County Solid Waste Management District
- Addison Independent
- Archives can be searched for articles from October 1999 to date
- Atlas of Vermont Life
- Bennington Banner
- Burlington Free Press
- Burlington, Vt. Home Page
- Cemetery Indexes
- Center for Research on Vermont
- Center for Rural Studies
- Central Vermont; A National Register of Historic Places Travel Itinerary
- Civil War Roll of Honor Middlebury College
- Crown Point Road Association
- Dairy and the US Congress
- Early Vermont Maps and Atlases
- Farm Security Administration Photographs: Vermont, 1936-1942
- Farmers Markets
- Frog Hollow Vermont State Craft Centers
- Green Mountain Daily
- Green Mountain Railroad
- Guide to Vermontiana Collections at Academic, Special and Selected Public Libraries
- Hildene -- Historic Home of Robert Todd Lincoln
- Historic Photographs Taken in the Vicinity of Bolton
- History of Addison County
- Lake Champlain Maritime Museum
- Landscape Change Program (UVM)
- League of Women Voters of Vermont
- Maple Syrup Research Website
- Men to Match the Mountains: Vermont Civil War Photographs
- Middlebury Area Land Trust
- Middlebury Town
- Montshire Museum of Science
- National Museum of the Morgan Horse
- Nye Index
- Photographs of Vergennes
- Preservation Trust of Vermont
- Records of the Council of Censors of the State of Vermont
- Renewable Energy Vermont
- Rep. Peter Welch Home Page
- Rokeby Museum
- Rutland Herald
- Rutland Railroad Archives
- Sen. Bernie Sanders Home Page
- Sen. Patrick Leahy's Home Page
- Seven Days; Vermont's Independent Voice
- Sharing Vermont History
- Shelburne Museum
- Sheldon Museum
- Soil Surveys of Vermont
- Includes search function for articles from October 1999 to date
- University of Vermont. Center for Digital Initiatives
- University of Vermont. Special Collections
- Vermont; A Guide to the Green Mountain State
- Vermont Archaeological Society
- Vermont Chronicle Index
- Index to marriage and death notices, 1826-1880
- Vermont Collection Books and Pamphlets (Online)
- Vermont Community Data Bank
- Vermont Daily Briefing
- Vermont Directory of Foundations Online
- Vermont eBird
- Vermont Enviro-Source
- Vermont Eugenics: A Documentary History
- Vermont Folklife Center
- Vermont Geographic Information Center
- Vermont Guardian; For the Independent Mind
- Vermont Historical Society
- Vermont History FAQ
- Vermont Home Page
- The official State of Vermont home page
- The official State of Vermont home page
- Vermont In the Civil War Home Page
- Vermont Indicators Online
- Social and Economic Indicators
- Vermont Labor Market Information
- Vermont Land Trust
- Vermont Lyme Network
- Vermont Population and Housing Estimates
- Vermont Postcards (Online)
- Vermont Swimming Holes
- Vermont Public Radio Public Newsroom
- Vermont State Archives and Records Administration
- Vermont Vacation
- Vermont Weathervane--A Journal of Vermont Country Life
- Virtual Vermont
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 1999
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2000
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2001
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2002
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2003
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2004
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2005
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2006
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2007
- Vital Statistics of Vermont, 2008
- WCAX
- WPTZ News
- Weathering Heights
- Weather forecasts for Vermont
Our Vermont Collection attempts to complement rather than compete with other collections of Vermontiana in the state:
- Special Collections at the University of Vermont. Papers of Vermont governors, archives and manuscript material of early Vermont businessmen and organizations, and early Vermont imprints.
- Vermont Historical Society. Vermont Collection, genealogical research, Royall Tyler manuscripts.
- Rokeby Museum in Ferrisburg [Home of author Rowland Robinson] Mary Stevens Putnam letters, 1850-1900; Robinson family letters, 1770-1960; Stevens family letters; Ferrisburgh history. http://www.rokeby.org/home.html
- State Library in Montpelier: Vermont state documents and newspapers.
- Sheldon Museum in Middlebury: All Addison County newspapers since 1801. Many books, account books, diaries, letters, business and organization records, and family papers from Middlebury and Addison County. The online catalog of their research archives is available at http://biblio.middlebury.edu/search~S16
- Vermont State Archives in Montpelier The Archives hold various state government records dating from the mid- 18th century to the present. An online union catalog of their holdings, ARCCAT, is available at http://arccat.uvm.edu/
