Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints covers current controversies and hot topics. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Directory of Open Access Journals: Education
span class="note">The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
ERIC Database
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Professional Collection, Gale
A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Now on the ProQuest platform. Index and abstracts for psychology journals from 1806-current, and books, 1967-current. Note: The "Target Audience" limit will find only books and encyclopedias.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Annenberg Media
Teacher resources and teacher professional development programming across the curriculum. Sign up is required for first-time users.
Education World
A resource that includes a search engine for educational Web sites only, a place where educators can find information without searching the entire Internet; original content, including lesson plans, practical information for educators, information on how to integrate technology in the classroom, and articles written by education experts; site reviews; daily features and columns; teacher and principal profiles; Wire Side Chats with the important names in education; employment listings.
Eduhound
A directory of resource links for K-12 education. The site is organized into 60 categories of educational resources. Users can choose a category or an alphabetical list of keywords.
Lesson Plans Library (Discovery Education)
Links to hundreds of original lesson plans, all written by teachers for teachers. Use the pull-down menus below to browse by subject, grade, or both.
National Archives Teachers' Resources
A resource by the National Archives that makes sense of the stories, events and ideas of the past through the analysis and close study of primary and archival documents. A resource for educators and students of history.
PBS Teachers
Website with links to preK-12 educational resources including lesson plans, teaching activities, on-demand video assets, and interactive games and simulations.
Thinkfinity
Free educational resources, hosted by Verizon.
U.S. Dept. of Education ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Vermont Dept. of Education
The site provides information about the VTDOE’s programs, services, and initiatives to all who are interested in Vermont’s education community.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Includes brief biographies of major authors and illustrators throughout the world, paying attention to international trends. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, various individual works, and prominent themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world. Over 3,200 entries.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA Format (Purdue University OWL)
Purdue University's MLA format guide.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Includes brief biographies of major authors and illustrators throughout the world, paying attention to international trends. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, various individual works, and prominent themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world. Over 3,200 entries.
Encyclopedia of American Education
LB17.U54 2007
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Education
Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of educational technology
A collection of short multimedia articles on a variety of topics related to the fields of instructional design and education and training. The primary audiences for the EET are students and novice to intermediate practitioners in these fields, who need a brief overview as a starting point to further research on specific topics. Authors are graduate students, professors, and others who contribute voluntarily. Articles are short and use multimedia to enrich learning rather than merely decorate the pages.
American Federation of Teachers
The American Federation of Teachers was founded in 1916 to represent the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers. It is an affiliated international union of the AFL-CIO.
National Education Association
The National Education Association is an organization dedicated to advancing the cause of public education in America. While the membership of the NEA is comprised of anyone who works for a public school district, a college or university, or any other public institution devoted primarily to education, this site has much information for parents and communities interested in improving America's public schools.
NCTM (National Council of Teachers of Mathematics)
NCTM supports the professional development of mathematics educators through publications and research, such as the Principles and Standards for School Mathematics.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
