Citation and Style Guides Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
All Items by Source
Citation and Style Guides
Citation Tools
Images
Video/DVD
Writing and Plagiarism

Citation Tools

RefWorks On-campus use only Link to Article
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian.  Middlebury  College students and faculty may use RefWorks by creating a RefWorks account.  For more info, follow the RefWorks link or email refworks@middlebury.edu.

Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at  http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.

EndNote Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only

EndNote will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Middlebury College students and faculty may use EndNote Web by creating an ISI Web of Knowledge account at ISI Web of Knowledge.  Middlebury College faculty may request EndNote for their College-owned computers by sending a request to  helpdesk@middlebury.edu.

For help, visit EndNote Tutorials.

BibMe Unrestricted Resource
Bibme is a free automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formatting.

Citation Machine Unrestricted Resource
Free tool that formats citations, one-at-a-time, in any of 4 styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian). 

Zotero Unrestricted Resource
Zotero is a free Firefox browser extension that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.

Citation and Style Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Unrestricted Resource
Active MIDCAT search.

Examples online at:

  • MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide - From Purdue University.

The Chicago Manual of Style Unrestricted Resource
Print and Online.

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) Unrestricted Resource

In print at:

  • Armstrong Ref BF76.7 .P83
  • Armstrong Stacks BF76.7 .P83
  • Main Library Ref BF76.7 .P83

Examples online at:

  • Frequently Asked Questions About APA Style - From the publisher.
  • APA Formatting and Style Guide - From Purdue University.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) - 7th edition Unrestricted Resource

Note: Like the Chicago Manual of Style on which it is based, Turabian offers those in the natural and social sciences the option of using an author-date system with notes and parenthetical references.

In print at:

  • Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007 
  • Main Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007 
  • Main Library stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)

Examples online at:

  • Turabian Quick Guide - From the publisher.

Citing sources (Duke University) Unrestricted Resource
Gives clear, concise examples of in-text citations and bibliographies, referencing 5 major style guides: MLA, AP, Turabian, Chicago, and CSE. Includes brief examples of source types (books, articles, web sites, etc.) and citation styles.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
Quick help on finding and documenting sources in the humanities, social sciences, history, and sciences. Includes sample papers.

American Anthropological Association Style (AAA) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Abbreviated style guide from the American Anthropological Association.  For more detailed information refer to the Chicago Manual of Style, which AAA style is based on.

The American Chemical Society Style Guide (ACS) Unrestricted Resource

In print at:

  • Armstrong Ref QD8.5 .A25

Examples online at:

  • ACS Style Guidelines - From the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
  • ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Guidelines Quick Guide  - From UC Berkeley.

American Sociological Association Style (ASA) Unrestricted Resource
From Purdue University, this guide covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, and formatting the references page. The bibliographical format described in the guide is taken from the American Sociological Review.

Brief Guide to Citing Government Documents Unrestricted Resource
From the University of Memphis Government Publications Dept. "These examples are based on the Chicago/Turabian standard bibliographic style and not reference-list form."

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers Unrestricted Resource
By Maurice Crouse, Department of History, The University of Memphis

Elements of Style (Strunk) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available

Guide to the principal requirements of plain English style.  Concentrates attention on the rules of usage and principles of composition most commonly violated.

Online at:

  • The Elements of Style (full-text)

In print at:

  • Armstrong Ref PE1408 .S772 2000
  • Main Library Ref PE1408 .S772 2000
  • Main Library Stacks PE1408 .S772 2000

Middlebury Editorial Style Guide Unrestricted Resource Some full text available

When you are trying to decide whether to capitalize a person’s title, whether to hyphenate certain words, how to format a vertical list, and other questions related to form, refer to this guide. It addresses the most commonly asked questions about Middlebury’s editorial style (from College Communications)

Scientific Style and Format (CSE) Unrestricted Resource

In print at: 

  • Armstrong Ref T11 .S386 2006

Examples online at:

  •  Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper -  From Duke University Libraries

American FactFinder: Citations for tables and maps Unrestricted Resource
Examples of how to cite tables and maps generated from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder.

Images

Resources Providing Guidance on Academic Use of Images Unrestricted Resource
From the Visual Resources Association.  Links to resources that describe the copyright and intellectual property issues that should be considered when using images in papers and presentations.  Includes a link to a Digital Image Rights Computator.

Video/DVD

Fair Use & Copyright (for Documentary Film and Online Video) Unrestricted Resource
Helpful guide that explains fair use for using video, film clips, etc. and best practices for documentary film makers, among other topics.

Writing and Plagiarism

Annotated Bibliographies Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Middlebury College Libraries handout describing annotated bibliographies with examples.

Writing Center (Middlebury College) Unrestricted Resource
Situated in the Center for Teaching, Learning, and Research (Davis Family Library), the Writing Center provides students the opportunity to meet with writing program faculty and peer writing tutors at every stage of the writing process.

How to Recognize Plagiarism Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Tutorial from the School of Education at Indiana University Bloomington. Gives examples of what is plagiarism and shows how to avoid it.

Middlebury Student Handbook: Academic Honesty, Honor Code, Disciplinary Policies Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
What is plagiarism and why students should avoid it.

OWL at Purdue Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) provides guides to writing and creating citations.

Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing Guide Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Guide from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).



Key to Icons

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio

Subject Specialist
Picture: E-mail Reference

E-mail Reference
or call:
Tel: (802) 443- 5496



Helpguides

  • Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide
  • EndNote Tutorials
  • La guia de citas de MLA html
  • Annotated Bibliographies pdf

Last updated: March 13, 2012
This page maintained by: Electronic Services Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus