Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Government Information
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Newspapers of the Period
Fuente Académica Premier
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
Portal de Revistas Académicas de la Universidad de Chile
Collection of digital journals
Proquest Arts: Journals & Dissertations
Includes these databases: American Periodicals; British Periodicals; CBCA Complete: The Arts; Ethnic NewsWatch; Index Islamicus; International Index to Music Periodicals; MLA International Bibliography; ProQuest Career and Technical Education: The Arts; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts; ProQuest Research Library: The Arts
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American Journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals. 1975 - present.
Compludoc
Interdisciplinary journal database from the Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense, Madrid.
Dialnet Portal
Portal of the Universidad de La Rioja. There are a few fulltext journals, but many more TOC, and book listings. Be sure to search MidCat before ordering anything by ILL.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
EconLit with Full Text
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.
ERIC Database
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
HAPI- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) is a project of the Latin American Research Resources Project, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents and other difficult to access materials from the "deep web".
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal
Searchable database providing full-text access to an expanding collection of Latin American and Iberian journals in the social sciences and the humanities.
University of Cadiz Online Journal Collection
This collection contains full text of all journals published by the University of Cadiz.
El Dorado : Biblioteca Virtual
A virtual library put together by the Association of the National Libraries of Latin America.
European Library
Online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
International Geographic Resources
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
Association for Hispanic Classical Theater
Portal site for resources associated with Spanish Classical Theater
Latin American Studies
Portal site from the WWW Virtual Library
WESSWEB
![]()
Web pages selected and maintained by the Western European Studies Section of ACRL.
Wikilengua
Un sitio abierto y participativo sobre las dudas prácticas del castellano y un medio para reflejar la diversidad de una lengua hablada por cientos de millones de personas
Yamada Language Guides
Web Portal for numerous language related sites
Governments on the WWW
![]()
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.
Moncloa
Official website of the Spanish Government
Political Database of the Americas
Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region
AudioLibros
![]()
listen to streamed audio in Spanish from Albalearning
Naxos Music Library
![]()
The world´s largest online classical music library. Offers streaming access to more than 52,677 CDs. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels. In addition, users can create playlists.
Project Gutenberg - audiobooks
![]()
Computer read audiobooks in many languages.
Music Online Listening
![]()
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
English-Spanish Dictionary
online dictionary from the University of Granada
Larousse dictionaries
Includes a number of free dictionaries
MIDCAT List - Spanish Dictionaries
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Real Academia Espanola
Online version of the Spanish dictionary
WordReference.com
![]()
Language dictionaries
Your Dictionary
![]()
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Britannica’s Global Reference Center
A collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Photos, detailed maps,and other images accompany the text.
MIDCAT List - Encyclopedias, Spanish
Active catalog search
Note: Print resources
Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers: Women's Magazine Digital Collection (University of Connecticut)
This rich collection reflects the complex history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century.
World Newspaper Archive, Latin America
Formerly: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922. Full-text page images from Newsbank/Readex. Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. More than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
EUfeeds
![]()
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Foreign Language News and Magazines
![]()
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Kidon Media Link
![]()
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Newspapers24
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news
El Pais
![]()
Major newspaper from Spain, now available online. 1983- current.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio
![]()
Provides access through a single search to digitized materials from the national libraries of Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, Panama and Portugal.
CRL Topic Guide: Latin American Studies
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Latin American resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan. Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. It's the best gateway for finding Latin American resources on the web. See all categories as well as the section for history. Also see the E-Text section (books, documents, papers in Spanish & English) and Latin American Government Documents Archive.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
![]()
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Biblioteca Virtual Cervantes
The full-text library of materials, includes works on Latin American and Brazil in Spanish, English and Portuguese.
Parallel Histories, Spain, the United States and the American Frontier
This site is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries.
Radio-Locator
![]()
Find radio stations by country
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
International TV
![]()
Portal site to TV stations from around the world
e-libro: Spanish full-text ebooks and more
Over 50,000 original texts of Spanish language books, research papers, and doctoral thesis, all available in full-text. View a full list of titles here.
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
Libro
The Library of Iberian Resources Online
