Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
Dissertations
SocINDEX
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
The database includes over 565 titles, with more than 330 available in full text.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Medline (PubMed)
"Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals."
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Social Sciences Citation Index
1985-2011. Part of ISI Web of Science. NOTE: Backfile only. No new articles as of January 2012. Cited reference searches will not refer to articles published after the last 2011 update. For current (and older) articles and cited reference searches, use Scopus (shortcut: go/scopus).
Note: access through Web of Science
AfricaBib AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
NCJRS Abstracts (National Criminal Justice Reference System)
From the U.S. Dept. of Justice. "Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection."
ATLA Religion Database
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide. Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
ProQuest Newsstand
Includes Chicago Tribune (1985 - present); Los Angeles Times (1985 - present); + ProQuest Newsstand (1423 newspapers including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. and the world.)
Note: formerly National Newspapers Premiere and before that, ProQuest Newspapers (current)
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
If you want to search a particular Library's online catalog, use LibWeb to find the link.
Intute: Social Sciences
The best web resources for education and research, selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists. The Social Science section was created by combining Altis and SOSIG (Social Science Information Gateway). University of Bristol & other UK institutions.
New Religious Movements Gateway
Gateway page to a variety of other religious movement sites. Compiled by Librarian Mike Madin, Academic Info site.
Sociology - WWW Virtual Library
Gateway to web resources relevant to sociology.
SocioSite (Social Science Information System)
font>From the University of Amsterdam. Provides links to information and resources which are relevant for sociologists and other social scientists.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
ASA (American Sociological Association)
Examples online at:
ASA Style Guide
Quick reference guide to the American Sociological Association style format. (Cal State LA guide)
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Quick Style Guide for Students Writing Sociology Papers
From the American Sociological Association. Based on the ASA Style Guide.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Is it Protected by Copyright?
Copyright information. American Library Association slide rule tool providing easy links to descriptions of public domain status for works published from before 1923 to the present.
Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom
Published by the U.S. Dept. of State. "Supplements the most recent Human Rights Reports by providing additional detailed information with respect to matters involving international religious freedom. It includes individual country chapters on the status of religious freedom worldwide."
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of maps, surveys, polls, and other data, providing demographic and religious membership information about the U.S. and other nations. Includes national (i.e. country) profiles.
CultureGrams
Main Library Reference GT150 .C85
Note: Print Resource
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
A Dictionary of Sociology
Search just this dictionary or across all dictionaries in Oxford Reference Online.
MIDCAT List - Sociology Dictionaries
This is an active Midcat subject search: Sociology--dictionaries
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
b>Main Library Reference HM17 .E5 2000 (5 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary ________ Culture
London, New York: Routledge, 1998 -
British Culture: REF DA589.4 .E53 1999
French Culture: REF DC33.7 .E53 1998
German Culture: REF DD290.26 .E53 1999
Italian Culture: REF DG450 .E53 2000
Spanish Culture: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999
Japanese Culture: REF DS822.5 .E52 2002
Chinese Culture: REF DS779.23 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of Social Theory
b>Main Library Reference HM425 .E47 2005 (2 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Covers Pre-Hispanic (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples), colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Subjects include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region. Search just this title or with other sources in Oxford Reference Online.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Life Magazine Images
Available via Google Images. Browse by decade or topic or search across all images.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
PAIS Archive
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. Coverage = 1915 -1976. For 1972 - current switch to PAIS International (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS International).
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Maps & GIS Guide
Search for a wide variety of maps and GIS information, both print and online. Also includes resources on historical maps and U.S. government information.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Annual Review of Sociology
Part of Annual Reviews. The series "critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research."
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Statistics/Data - International
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries)
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II:
- Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment
- Identify spatial patterns and trends
- Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports
- Dynamic charts, tables and maps
- Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of maps, surveys, polls, and other data, providing demographic and religious membership information about the U.S. and other nations. Includes national (i.e. country) profiles.
Eastview Russian and CIS Statistical Publications
Covers Russian and English-language publications, reports & data sets from the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. See their Search Guide. Part of the Universal Databases from Eastview publishing.
GenderStats
GenderStats (from The World Bank Group) is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. The data in each module is presented in ready-to-use format. Users have the option of saving the country views in Excel (or another spreadsheet software) to customize them for their own reports.
Guttmacher Institute
Reports, policies, and statistics on sexual and reproductive health including contraception, pregnancy, abortion, HIV/AIDS, and much more. Includes state-specific info as well as US level and other countries.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
International Data Base (IDB)
Demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries available from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population pyramids.
Social Panorama of Latin America
Published by the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). Online 1997 - present.
UN Demographic Yearbook
Published by the United Nations Statistical Office. Online (PDF) 1948 - present.
Main Library Oversize HA42 .D45 1948; 1959 - 2005. Latest (2006) in Reference.
Note: Online and Print Resource
UN Social Indicators
Includes a variety of indicators such as: child-bearing, child and elderly populations, contraceptive use, education, health, population, housing, human settlements, literacy, income, unemployment, and more.
UN Statistical Yearbook
Population, social, and economic statistics from the United Nations.
Latest edition in Reference HA12.5 U63. Earlier editions in Oversize Stacks. Statistics also available online from UNData.
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Millennial Edition - updated and expanded online version with data updated to the 1990's+ (additional 30 years worth and triple the number of data series than its predecessor).
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
Minority Links
Latest centus data on social and economic characteristics of the nation's African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian/Pacific Islander, and Native American inhabitants.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Datasets and Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
US Census - Historical Census Browser
Access to the decennial U.S. Census of Population and Housing data from 1790 - 1960, down to the county level. Create custom tables for display (download option not given, but can copy/paste to excel). The available data differ somewhat from decade to decade, according to what was collected in the census and the items chosen for transcription to electronic form. Provided by the University of Virginia using data from ICPSR.
US Census Bureau - Homepage
Access recent U.S. Census statistics, from population, housing, and poverty statistics to business statistics and much more! Start with American Factfinder for recent census data or within that, the Decennial census page (for 2000 and 1990 data). For the 1990 Census - choose it from the tab at the top of the decennial census page.
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Some surveys also available on ICPSR.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Research, news, and public opinion polls covering four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs.
