Russian Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
All Items by Source
Audio Files
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Government Information
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Maps
Newspapers
Newspapers--International
Primary Sources
Radio Stations
Statistics/Data
TV Stations
Web Sites

Journals/Magazines

ABSEES Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Also includes Eurasian Studies. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. The majority of content originally published in the US and Canada. 1939 - present.  See also the European version EBSEES.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.

Directory of Open Access Journals Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary.  Includes several English-language newspapers.

EBSEES Unrestricted Resource Link to Article
The European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers publications from countries other than the US and Canada.  Articles written in the language of the publishing country or of the area studied.  1991 to 2007.  Also in Print (1976-95) DJK9 A1 E9
Note: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

EconLit with Full Text Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit. 
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.

ERIC Database Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.

Historical Abstracts Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.

JSTOR Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.  The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present.  Now on the ProQuest platform.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)

PAIS International (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais

Social Sciences and Humanities Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
 ---

Newspapers

Russian Central Newspapers Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Database of 65 Russian language newspapers, with various starting dates.  The longest run is for Izvestiia, which goes back to 1980.

Books: other Catalogs

European Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
 Online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe and leading European Research Libraries.

WorldCat Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)

International Geographic Resources

Columbia Gazetteer of the World Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Library of Congress Country Studies Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Web Sites

Europeana Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

REENIC Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Russian and Eastern European Network Center (University of Texas at Austin)

REESweb Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The virtual World Wide Web library for Russian and Eastern European Studies (University of Pittsburgh)

Sher's Russian Index Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A portal site for Russian Culture and Language

Yamada Language Guides Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Web Portal for numerous language related sites

Government Information

Governments on the WWW Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.

Audio Files

Russian Audio Books Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
From UCLA - download using quicktime. 

Music Online Listening Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Resource contains audio
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)

Biographical Information

Literature Resource Center Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals.  When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.

Citation and Style Guides

RefWorks On-campus use only Link to Article
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at  http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.

Dictionaries

Russian Dictionary Tree Unrestricted Resource
 a learner's grammitical dictionary, created at Cornell University.

MIDCAT List - Russian Dictionaries Unrestricted Resource
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search

WordReference.com Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Language dictionaries

Your Dictionary Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.

Encyclopedias

MIDCAT List - Encyclopedias, Russian Unrestricted Resource
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search

Maps

History of Imperial Russia - Maps Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A portal site to digitized map collection of Russia

Newspapers--International

Foreign Language News and Magazines Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.

Kidon Media Link Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.

Library PressDisplay Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.

Newspapers24 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news

Primary Sources

CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog Unrestricted Resource
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.

Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).

Radio Stations

Radio-Locator Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Find radio stations by country

Statistics/Data

Russia & CIS Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
 Covers Russian and English-language publications, reports & data sets from the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee.

CIA - The World Factbook Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.

TV Stations

International TV Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Portal site to TV stations from around the world



Key to Icons (Click to open)

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio

Subject Specialist
Picture: Joy Pile

Joy Pile
Reference & Instruction Librarian for Foreign Languages & Music
Office: Lib 210
(802) 443- 5140
pile@middlebury.edu


Subject Specialist
  • Slavic
Tips

List of videos (DVD &VHS) in Russian

List of Russian CDs (pop, traditional & classical) in the Davis Family Library

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus