Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Comprehensive Reference
Encyclopedias
Handbooks and Guides
ATLA Religion Database
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.
Philosopher's Index
1940 - present. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
alt.muslim
Progressive Muslim news site
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
If you want to search a particular Library's online catalog, use LibWeb to find the link.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Henry Sheldon Museum Catalog
Search books, archival and manuscript documents related to Middlebury and Addison County history in the Museum's Research Center.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Articles from popular and general interest magazines and journals. A Gale InfoTrac database.
The Jewish History Resource Center
The Jewish History Resource Center is a project of the Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History. Over 6000 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History were visited by our team and have been found to be of value to those interested in Jewish History.
Monastic Matrix
A collaborative scholarly effort that documents women's religious communities in medieval Europe. It is arranged in several sections, the largest being the Monasticon, a database of about 3,200 establishments that can be explored by place; name; saint, person, or idea to which they were dedicated; or by time period.
New Religious Movements Gateway
Gateway page to a variety of other religious movement sites. Compiled by Librarian Mike Madin, Academic Info site.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Is it Protected by Copyright?
Copyright information. American Library Association slide rule tool providing easy links to descriptions of public domain status for works published from before 1923 to the present.
CultureVision (Proquest)
Religion and Ethnicity database.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Print versions
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Also in print at Main Library Ref BL31 E46 1986
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Browse the index or search for a particular term or phrase. Subject guides are provided for philosophical themes, world philosophies, periods, and world religions.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Open access philosophy encyclopedia maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies.
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
Chartres: Cathedral of Notre-Dame
Religious architecture & ornament. A web site devoted to Chartres, with elevations, maps, diagrams, and illustrations of ornamental details, in addition to photographs.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Ancient Maps of Jerusalem
The site contains maps of Jerusalem, and basic information concerning the map-makers and the history of cartography in Jerusalem. In the very near future we will index many of the maps and upload aerial photographs and modern maps and paintings of the city.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of maps, surveys, polls, and other data, providing demographic and religious membership information about the U.S. and other nations. Includes national (i.e. country) profiles.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Research, news, and public opinion polls covering four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs.
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
12 Byzantine Rulers
![]()
This history lecture podcast covers the little known Byzantine Empire through the study of twelve of its greatest rulers. Mr. Lars Brownworth presents this series for free through this website and the podcast section of the iTunes store.
Note: Also available at the iTunes store.
Middlebury Digital Lecture Archive
![]()
Collection of university and topical lecture archives; includes both audio and video.
alt.muslim
Progressive Muslim news site
Compendium of Muslim Texts
Search the Qur'an and Hadith.
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Comprehensive site from Fordham University. Sources from historic, geographic, and theological perspectives.
Islam Links from Hofstra University
Links for art and architecture, history, sects & regions, issues, and media.
Islam Resources (Saudi)
Saudi (Wahhabi) site run by the Ministry of Islamic Affairs
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Print versions
RAMBI: the index of articles on Jewish studies
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
