
What is RefWorks? RefWorks can organize your citations and create footnotes and bibliographies for you. More details here.
CREATE AN ACCOUNT at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks (shortcut: go/refworks). Watch this very brief tutorial about how to create an account.
For off-campus access, use the Group Code: The group code link below links to a page that is password protected (Midd students, faculty, staff only).
- Group Code for off-campus access to Middlebury College's subscription to RefWorks is here. Use your Middlebury username and password to view the group code. The group code allows off-campus access to Middlebury College's subscription to RefWorks. After you log in with the group code, you can log in with your RefWorks username and password.
Back to top
Every database vendor has a different interface with different features. Learn how use RefWorks with the specific databases YOU use.
- Search and then mark articles you want to save.
- Click Marked items link near top of page.
- Click Citation tools.
- Under Export to 3rd party software, choose RefWorks; then click Export button.
- Once your references are in RefWorks, click View Last Imported Folder and check the references for accuracy. Then you may wish to move them to a specific folder.
ACS (American Chemical Society
Direct export. more...
Agricola (FirstSearch version)
Import .txt file using Endeavor Voyager as the data source and Agricola as the database. more...
Alternative Press Index
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using Biography Index filter under Middlebury College data source more...
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using America History and Life filter under Middlebury College data source more...
American Meteorological Society (AMS) Journals
[To find a specific AMS journal, search for the title of the journal in Journals A-Z.]
Direct export. more...
AnthroSource
Direct Export: Mark Records; send to citation mgr; choose RefWorks; hold down ctrl key and click on download article citation data. (Firefox browser sometimes blocks this export; IE browser recommended.) more...
Art Index Retrospective
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using Wilson filter under Middlebury College data source more...
ATLA - Religion Database
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using ATLA EBSCOhost filter under data source more...
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Direct Export. more ...
Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Web
Import text or .txt file using CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the data source. more...
EconLit
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using EconLit filter under Middlebury College data source more ...
Ethnic NewsWatch
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using Wilson filter under Middlebury College data source more...
Geobase
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using GEOBASE filter under Middlebury College data source more...
GeoRef
Direct Export. more ...
Direct export. more...
Historical Abstracts
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using Historical Abstracts filter under Middlebury College data source more...
JSTOR
Prefered Method: From JSTOR, use the Export Option "Export this citation". Then click on the RefWorks link.
Alternate Method: Import text or .txt file, using JSTOR filter under Middlebury College data source more...
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Direct export. more...
Back to top
MIDCAT (Library Catalog)
Easy Method for MIDCAT - Direct Export
At the item record, look for the "Export to RefWorks" button and click.

See also: Troubleshooting and Tips: MIDCAT (below)
Alternative Method for MIDCAT
Midcat: Search and save text file
- Type go/midcat or go/library in your browser’s URL box
- Search MIDCAT; mark records by clicking in the Save boxes.
- Click the Save marked records button.
- Click the View saved button at top of screen.
- Click the Export saved button
- Choose both: Endnote/RefWorks ; Screen.
- Click Submit .
- In the new browser window, copy all text
(text in browser window should look like this: %A Baldwin, Robert E. )
RefWorks: Import text file
- In a new browser window, open your RefWorks account.
- Go to the References menu and select Import .
- These are the settings necessary to import a text file into RefWorks:
- Import filter: “Innovative Interfaces (Endnote/RefWorks format).” Be careful to make this exact choice-- not the filter with shorter title “Innovative Interfaces Innopac.”
- Database: “Endnote/RefWorks format.”
- Import references into: Leave setting as is.
- Encoding: “Unicode.” (If Unicode doesn’t display characters correctly then try "UTF-8")
- Select Import Data from the following text ( not Import Data from the following text file ).
- Paste text into blank field below Import Data from the following text
- Click the Import button; then click View last imported folder to verify that information is complete.
- Once your references are in RefWorks, click View Last Imported Folder and check the references for accuracy. Then you may wish to move them to a specific folder.
MLA Bibliography
Direct Export. more ...
PAIS Archive
Direct export or import text or .txt file using PAIS filter under Middlebury College data source more...
PAIS International
Direct export or import text or .txt file using PAIS filter under Middlebury College data source more...
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Direct Export. more . . .
Philosopher's Index
Direct Export. more ...
Project Muse
Direct export more...
PsycINFO
Direct Export. more ...
PubMed
Copy and paste a single record or import multiple records in a .txt file.
A. Copy and paste single record (here is a short screencast showing the steps below)
Perform a search and view the record you want to export.
Change Display Settings (upper left) from Abstract to MEDLINE.
A window opens with just that reference in MEDLINE format. Copy this text.
Log in to RefWorks.
Select References > Import from the toolbar.
- Select NLM/PubMed as the Input Filter/Data Source, and PubMed as the Database.
- Click on "From Text"
- Paste the text from PubMed into the open window
- Click Import
- Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
- Import text or .txt file more...
Direct export OR import text file. more...
SciFinder Web (aka Chemical Abstracts)
Import text or .txt file using CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the data source. more...
Scopus
Direct Export or import files. more...
SocIndex
Direct Export. more (under EBSCOhost) ...
Summon
Direct export is available from Summon's "Saved Items" folder. From the results screen, put records into the "Saved Items" folder by clicking on the folder icon beside the item's title. Then, click on the "Saved Items" link in the lower right.
Web of Science
Import text or .txt file using Web of Science filter under Middlebury College data source more ...
WorldCat
Direct export OR import text or .txt file using WorldCat filter under Middlebury College data source OCLC FirstSearch more ...
Back to top
Middlebury Computing Labs
To use the Microsoft Word Write-n-Cite add-in in Middlebury Computing Labs, each user must activate the add-in. Follow the instructions here Write-N-Cite-Word_add-in_activation.pdfWrite-N-Cite Alternative
If the Write-N-Cite plugin for Microsoft Word seems too cumbersome (or if you don't use Microsoft Word), use the One Line/ Cite method instead. Instructions are here.Get it @ Midd Screen
The Get it @ Midd screen only lists one author of a journal article, even if there are multiple authors. Therefore when you export a citation to RefWorks from this screen, you only get one author for your bibliography, which is not correct. To avoid this problem, follow the instructions here..jpg)
MIDCAT
Edited works, no single author: RefWorks does not pull in the editor's name for edited works. You must type that in yourself. In the Edit Reference mode, change Ref type from "Book" to "Book, edited." Then the "Editors" box appears above title.

Page Numbers (in footnotes or in-text citations)
In Write-N-Cite, click the Edit Citation link in the upper-right corner. This launches the Citation editor, which allows you to modify your citation, including adding/changing the page number(s), which are automatically pulled in if they appear in your citation list (e.g., for a magazine, journal, or newspaper)


More details about Modifying page numbers other citation elements can be found here
Can't Create Bibliography (list of characters and symbols)
What happens:
When trying to create a bibliography using Write-n-Cite, clicking on "Bibliography" produces a list of characters and symbols.
Solution:
Save your .docx file as a .doc file, then create the bibliography again.Also try the solutions on this page from the Duke University Libraries.
Can't Create Bibliography (Error: Reference can't be found)
What happens:
When trying to create a bibliography using Write-n-Cite, clicking on "Bibliography" produces an error message that indicates that a particular reference can't be found.
What caused this problem:
A reference was cited in the paper, then deleted in the paper and in the RefWorks account. An embedded code for the reference remained in the paper, however. RefWorks can't process the bibliography without the deleted reference.
Solution:
- First, to expose the embedded code, please open the document in MS Word and activate and access Write-n-Cite (WNC). Once both are running, select the Revert to WNC v.2 Document option from the Tools menu in WNC (Tools > Revert to WNC v.2 Document) and process the entire document.
- Then, using the Find feature in MS Word (Ctrl+F) attempt to locate the numbers reported in your document’s text.
- For each occurrence, simply remove the number, the author, and the pub year including the semi-colon that follows by deleting it. If the information needs to be updated, you should only need to replace the RefID number with the correct number that correlates to the correct entry in your database.
- Once the entire document has been processed, save the changes in MS Word and then return to WNC and select Convert to WNC III Document from the Tools menu (Tools > Convert to WNC III Document) and process the document again saving the changes when complete.
This process will rewrite the embedded code relying upon only that which is actually in the text of the document. Because the WNC III formatting process relies on embedded code in the MS Word document, we have seen instances where the code becomes corrupt from multiple editing sessions, the use of the Track Changes feature in MS Word, and incomplete conversions of WNC II to WNC III formatting.
How to avoid this problem
Do not create the bibliography until the paper is finished. This isn't always possible of course, but waiting until the final stages of revision will decrease the likelihood of this error.
Browser Pop-ups
Some databases sometimes have trouble connecting with RefWorks. When you try to export to RefWorks, nothing seems to happen. Here's what to do:
- Edit browser popup preferences to allow www.refworks.com
- Firefox: Tools > Options > Content >Block pop-up windows--Exceptions
- Internet Explorer: Tools > Internet Options > Privacy > Pop-up Blocker: Settings
- Restart the browser
- Go through the export process again. You might find that you also need to get a "security certificate" and "create an exception".
Multiple References for One Sentence
Question:
How can we get Write-and-Cite to format references like this:
(Alban et al. 2000; Anderson and Dombrowski 2009; Ayotte et al. 2007)
instead of like this:
(Alban et al. 2000)(Anderson and Dombrowski 2009)(Ayotte et al. 2007)
Answer:
The issue your user is experiencing here is that after they’ve cited in the document, they are either clicking outside of the citation or pressing the spacebar. If they want to insert multiple citations in the same location, they need to continually click the ‘Cite’ links in Write-N-Cite. Or, insert the cursor within the last set of curly brackets before clicking on 'Cite' link. The program will automatically add the citations in correctly without having to do anything else. Don't use .docx files -- Use .doc instead
What happens:
When trying to create a bibliography using "Format Paper and Bibliography" from a Word document with file extension "docx" a flawed document, or no document at all, is created.
Solution:
Don't use the format docx. Save the Word document as a .doc file.
Changing a Word document from .docx to .doc seems to solve the problem of the “Final-whatever.doc” not being generated correctly when formatting a document and bibliography in RefWorks. The docx causes either an error message or a “Final-” document to NOT be created.
Output Style Modifications
When you modify an output style, if your changes aren't applied when you create endnotes (or footnotes), check your modifications.
You might have modified the style for only the "Generic" Reference Type (look for the drop-down located above the "Fields for this Type" and "Output Field Order" boxes). You also should modify the style for other types of sources, e.g., Book and Journal Article.
Citation & Style Guide
See this guide for more information on citing references.
Back to top







