Audio Files
Biographical Information
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
Directories
Encyclopedias
Government Information
Handbooks and Guides
Health and Medicine
Images
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Local
Maps
Measurements and Converters
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Primary Sources
Quotations
Reviews
Statistics/Data
Time and Dates
Video/DVD
Weather and Climate
Newspapers Subject Guide
Search for a title in the collection of print, microform, and electronic subscriptions in the Libraries at Middlebury. Read articles online, or find out their library location.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.
General Reference Center Gold
"A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications."
Vermont Online Library (Gale)
The Vermont Online Library (Gale) provides access to over a dozen different databases ranging from business, health, computer, and newspaper databases to K-12 resources. Both academic and popular materials are included as well as some full-text. See individual database descriptions for details.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Middlebury Libraries Government Documents homepage
Provides additional resources and information on Middlebury's government documents collection. For e-ref sources see the list of resources by subject and by title on their site.
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. See also Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
The World Almanac and Book of Facts
Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.
PowerSpeak Languages
An online language program with an introductory video, a course overview, and the course itself. Current languages are Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Korean, ESL (for Mandarin speakers), and English for Spanish speakers.
Video, Image, and Sound Effects Subject Guide
![]()
Search for videos, audio files, images, sound effects, and more.
ADB/NDB: Allgemeine deutsche Biographie, Neue deutsche Biographie
Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
Focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present (c2004). Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Background Notes
Country information from the U.S. State Department.
globalEDGE
Web portal for international business resources from Michigan State Univ. Country Insights provides country background, statistics, and links. Also includes state information; industry information; news & views; and much more.
BBC Country Profiles
Provides current overview, facts, leaders, etc. along with links to news stories.
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
International Travel Information (U.S. State Dept.)
Includes country information, travel advisories, passport & visa info, and more.
Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles
Part of Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (under the Business Tab). Country information from a variety of sources.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Abbreviations.com
Directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business.
Acronym Finder
With more than 900,000 human-edited definitions, Acronym Finder is the world's largest and most comprehensive dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms
Available through NetLibrary. Houghton Mifflin, 1997.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Houghton Mifflin, 4th ed., 2006
Black's Law Dictionary
Provides more than 43,000 definitions, almost 3,000 quotations, and more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Available via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the LAW Tab.
OneLook Dictionaries
Search over 1,000 dictionaries
The Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The OED online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition and the latest progress towards the next, Third, edition.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Phrase Finder
Phrases, sayings, idioms
Wordsmyth
Dictionary-Thesaurus Suite
Your Dictionary
![]()
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
College Results Online
Research colleges and universities to see graduation rates and related information along with information about a comparison group of 15, 25 or 50 similar schools.
Peterson's Graduate Schools
Research graduate schools by program and/or location. Provides basic information about programs along with admissions, financial aid, and other information.
UlrichsWeb Global Serial Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Address & Phone Numbers
A useful list of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL). Also try other popular sites like Switchboard and Anywho.
ARTFL
Includes the Main ARTFL Database, French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.
Includes Webster's and Roget's Thesaurus, and well as the French dictionaries and multilingual bibles.
College Navigator
Information on nearly 7,000 colleges and universities in the United States from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). Also search other types of schools.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the U.S. Congress. Online 1997 - present. Includes short biographies, committee assignments, contact information, etc. Also includes other federal officials and agencies, DC government, independent agencies, statistics, and much more.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Provides descriptive and holdings information on international newspapers. Some newspapers may be borrowed on microfilm by submitting requests via Interlibrary Loan.
Private Schools
Information on U.S. private schools (K-12) from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES). For private colleges see College Navigator.
United States Government Manual
"Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches..." and quasi-official agencies, international organizations, etc. including descriptions and contact information. Davis Family Library Reference JK421 .A3, previous years in Gov Docs. Also available online.
Note: Online and Print Resource
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
American Civil War Reference Library
Multivolume reference work. Part of Gale Virtual Library. Volumes 1-2: Biographies; Volume 3: Almanac; Volume 4: Primary Sources (excerpts); Volume 5: Index.
American Jurisprudence. 2nd.
Multiple-volume legal encyclopedia consisting of over 400 entries. Available via Lexis-Nexis or via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the Law tab.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs
Springer, 2012.
Encyclopedia of the Sixties
Debolt, Abbe A.; Baugess, James S. Encyclopedia of the Sixties: A Decade of Culture and Counterculture. Santa Barbara : Greenwood, 2011. Ebook Library.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Presents information on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 endangered or threatened species. Includes an image of the species.
Biology
Gale encyclopedia. 4-volume encyclopedia that explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science.
Canadian Encyclopedia
Canadian people, events, geography, history, arts, innovation and more.
CQ Electronic Library
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: CQ Weekly & Almanac (issues in Congress); CQ Researcher (hot topics); Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Print versions
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of educational technology
A collection of short multimedia articles on a variety of topics related to the fields of instructional design and education and training. The primary audiences for the EET are students and novice to intermediate practitioners in these fields, who need a brief overview as a starting point to further research on specific topics. Authors are graduate students, professors, and others who contribute voluntarily. Articles are short and use multimedia to enrich learning rather than merely decorate the pages.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
5 vol., 2007. 1,200 entries on topics related to the overlap between people and nature. Biographies, policy discussions, and essays about problems, processes, and theoretical concepts.
Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence, and Security
E-Book. Detroit: Gale, 2004 (3 volumes)
Encyclopedia of Evolution (Oxford)
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's "Macroevolution" and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on "Culture in Chimpanzees." (2 volumes, 1234 pages)
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
Entries range from (long): the domain of GISci and its major subdomains, such as cartography and geodesy and core themes, such as spatial analysis, ontology, and data modeling; (medium): significant topics, such as network analysis, spatialization, and polygon operations. (short): specialized concepts and techniques, such as the ecological fallacy, spatial weights, and open standards; (very short ): key organizations in GIS and definitions of fundamental topics, such as legend and extent.
Encyclopedia of Geology
5 vols, 2004 ed. Covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
Encyclopedia of India Online
4-volume set searchable as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Also in print: Davis Family Library Reference BP40 .E525 2004 (2 volumes)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
2nd Ed., Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008, 6 volumes. "Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Older edition in Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Population
2 vols, 2003. Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
4 vols, 2006 ed. Includes a broad range of articles on the major topics in the field. Chapters include: Paleoclimatology, Dating Techiniques, Quaternary Stratigraphy, Quaternary Glaciation, Fluvial Environments, History of Quaternary Glaciations, Sea Level Studies, Paleosols and Wind-Blown Sediments, Lake Level Studies, Paleobotany, Paleolimnology, Vertebrate Studies, Insect Fossil Studies, Paleoceanography, Ice Core Studies, Stable Isotope Research-Carbonates, Humans in the Quaternary.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Also in print at Main Library Ref BL31 E46 1986
Encyclopedia of Small Business
Topics include financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning, and human resource issues.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Background information, definitions and data on Environment, Soil Science & Conservation, Geoecology/Natural Processes, Agriculture, Physical Geography and Geotechnical Engineering.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Also in print - Davis Family Library Reference DS43 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Note: Online and Print
The Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Jeffrey Lehman, Ed. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 1974 pp. 3 vols.
152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
The Gale Encyclopedia of US Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC102 .G35 1999
Note: Online and Print
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
![]()
This is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
2nd ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 5 vols. Part of the Gale virtual Reference Library. "Addresses the entire history of African cultures...covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism".
Oxford Art Online
Contains Grove Art Online, today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) - the landmark reference work containing more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online articles and bibliographies are regularly updated. It also includes images and provides access to The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, literary movements, periods, and themes. The articles offer historical perspective and social context along with critical approaches.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC15 .O94 2003 (5 volumes)
Note: Online and Print
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Covers Pre-Hispanic (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples), colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Subjects include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region. Search just this title or with other sources in Oxford Reference Online.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Online access to the history and culture of Islam. Full-text access to Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.
Oxford Music Online
The new gateway into music research and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products. Includes: Grove Dictionary of Music; Encyclopedia of Popular Music; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Note: Includes Grove's Music Online
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Browse the index or search for a particular term or phrase. Subject guides are provided for philosophical themes, world philosophies, periods, and world religions.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast, Eds. Detroit: St. James Press, 2000. 3065 pp. 5 vols.
Grants/Scholarships/Financial Aid
Middlebury College Grants and Sponsored Research
Find information related to faculty support for research.
Grant Forward
Searchable grant database for federal and non-federal sources. See the Grants & Sponsored Research Office for additional resources.
IRIS (Illinois Researcher Information Service)
Searchable funding opportunities database for both federal and non-federal sources.
SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Service)
From InfoEd. "Tracks the funding programs (e.g. research grants; fellowships; publication support; sabbatical support; curriculum development; etc.) of over 6,000 government, private, and non-profit funding sources worldwide."
Occupational Outllook Handbook
Career information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections."
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Video, Image, and Sound Effects Subject Guide
![]()
Search for videos, audio files, images, sound effects, and more.
Addison County, Vermont
Find information about shopping, dining, lodging, activities, and other information for Middlebury and other towns in Addison County.
Local Transportation Options
CCAL (Center for Campus Activities and Leadership ) maintains this site of bus, train, taxi, airport, ride share, and other transportation options.
Middlebury, Vermont
Official government website for the Town of Middlebury. Information includes town ordinances and plan, road maps, links to local organizations, and much more.
Trail Around Middlebury (TAM)
Includes a link to the trail map.
Vermontiana Guide
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Maps & GIS Guide
Search for a wide variety of maps and GIS information, both print and online. Also includes resources on historical maps and U.S. government information.
NationalAtlas.gov
Provides maps of the United States from more than 20 Federal organizations that can be viewed, printed, or downloaded. These maps capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life including history, people, government, environment, agriculture, etc. You can also build your own maps; use interactive maps online; order large classroom maps; download data for GIS applications; and find articles on U.S. geography. Also see The National Map.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Middlebury History Online
A digital archive of documents related to the history of Middlebury College beginning with its founding in 1800 through the first quarter of the 20th century. These documents include manuscript letters, journals, diaries, and archival records, as well as books, journals, other published works, and photographic images that directly relate to the College’s founders, faculty, students,alumni, and its relationships with town and state entities. Middlebury History Online is a work in progress. As digitized archival materials are created, this online archive will continue to grow.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 - the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the first name in quotations.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
MPG-o-Matic
Current statistics and reports on car, truck, van, and SUV mileage.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Datasets and Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistics Section of Economics Guide
More comprehensive list of resources for socio-economic statistics.
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
Video, Image, and Sound Effects Subject Guide
![]()
Search for videos, audio files, images, sound effects, and more.
Medline Plus
The National Library of Medicine's authoritative and current database of health information for consumers and health professionals.
A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia (from Medline Plus)
"The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations." Part of MedlinePlus.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
4 vols, 3rd ed., 2009. Presents information on alternative and complementary medical practices, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda, and osteopathy. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, and results of studies on efficacy.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
2 vols, 3rd ed, 2010. Comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
2 vols, 3rd ed, 2010. Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
5 vols, 3rd ed, 2006. Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia and epilepsy.
WebMD
A health resource for consumers, physicians, nurses, and educators. Includes news, chat forums, health quizzes and consumer product updates.
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Legal Information Library Subject Guide
US and international court cases, laws, and treaty resources can be found on this Middlebury library subject guide.
OnlineConversion.com
Convert all sorts of measurements (over 5,000 units). Includes everything from weights to temperature; energy; cooking measurements; financial calculators; and much more.
Universal Currency Converter (XE)
Convert dollars to euros and so forth. See their tools menu for more options such as historical rates.
X-rates.com
Provides currency rates, currency converters, currency graphs, and more.
Time and Date.com
Besides perpetual calendars and clocks, it provides additional resources such as time zone calculators, sun and moon calculators, and more.
World Time Zones
From the U.S. Naval Observatory.
National Weather Service
National Weather Service forecasts for Middlebury, VT. Includes detailed 7-day forecast.
The Weather Channel
Current conditions, forecasts, severe weather alerts, and maps.
Weather (Middlebury College)
Collection of links to US Government sources on Weather and Climate.
Weather at the Fairbanks Museum
The detailed and extended forecast for all of Vermont, and adjoining New Hampshire, New York, Quebec, and Massachusetts.
Weatheroffice
The site for Canadian weather.
