Tips for Peer Writing Tutors Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Library Research
Emergency Research Assistance

Photo from Peer Writing Tutors page.

This guide is for Peer Writing Tutors.

When you're helping a student with a paper and you realize they need better sources to back up their claims, what should you do? What if the paper is due the next day? 
  1. Refer the student to a librarian.  We're here most days and evenings. Find our hours and locations at Ask Us. (shortcut: go/askus)
  2. Does the student need something that's common to all kinds of research? (eg, citing sources, evaluating sources) Try the FAQ at Find Books, Articles and More.
  3. Does the student have more specific needs for outside sources? (eg, scholarly, discipline-specific) Try our subject guides. There's one for every academic department. (shortcut: go/guides)
Finding Journal Articles
Many print and online journals can be found through Summon, but additional articles can be found by checking  Databases A - Z or databases for specific disciplines in our Subject Guides.

More advice: Find Articles [go/findarticles]
Finding Books
Middlebury College Libraries
  1. Summon: Find articles, books, videos and more in our collections.
  2. MIDCAT: Find books and journal titles in our collections
  3. NExpress: NExpress Consortium (books from 7 libraries including Middlebury)
National and International Libraries
  • WorldCat: world's largest library catalog [go/worldcat]
More advice:  Find Books [go/findbooks]
Research Process
Tip: Students may use the Research Process doc handout. It includes a worksheet to track progress.

1. Craft a research question 


Write your research topic as a question. This will help you narrow your topic and give you a few search words. You'll find synonyms when you're searching. Write these down, too!

2. Search for background info

Background information will help you begin to understand your topic. Look for encyclopedias, newspapers, popular magazines and books.

3. Preview, evaluate and refine
  1. Take a quick look at your sources. Preview each by reading the abstract/summary, introduction and conclusion. If you’re still not sure what the source is about, skim the beginning of each section. 
  2. Evaluate the sources. Are they useful?
  3. Refine your research topic. Now that you know more, what would points would you like to make in your paper? Have your research questions changed? What more do you need to know?
4. Answer new or revised research questions

Scholarly journal articles can provide answers to more specific research questions.
  • You can limit a search in Summon to articles from scholarly publications.
  • Other subject guides will help you find discipline-specific research databases.
5. Read, organize, write and revise

After you’ve read all of your sources more carefully, you’re ready to organize your thoughts and start writing. Consider getting in touch with a peer writing tutor for advice. Also consult Writing Guides, created by the Peer Writing Tutors.

6. Cite

Keep a record of your sources throughout the research process. Write down – or better yet, store electronically – the citation information for each source, including author, title, page numbers, date, and publisher. Take notes on what each source says (don't forget the page numbers so that you can find and cite the information later), and how you might use the source in your paper. Citation tools like Zotero and RefWorks make it easy to collect and organize your sources; find them in the Middlebury Libraries Citation and Styles Research Guide. When you’re done writing, citation tools also will help you create your notes and bibliography.
 
The “Honor Code and Academic Honesty” section of the College Handbook describes the honor code and why it's important.

If you have questions at any point, ask a librarian! http://go.middlebury.edu/askus


Chat with Librarian
Subject Specialist
Picture: Reference Librarian

Reference Librarian
Reference Librarian
Office:
(802) 443- 5496
refdesk@middlebury.edu


Picture: Carrie Macfarlane

Carrie Macfarlane
Head of Research & Instruction
Office: Lib 209
(802) 443- 5018
cmacfarl@middlebury.edu


Library & Technology Basics
General Library Information
  • Library Home Page [go/lib]
  • Library Hours  [go/hours]
  • Library Borrowing and Use  [go/borrow]
  • Course Reserves  [go/reserves]
  • Quick-start Guide to Library Research
Technology Help
  • Technology Helpdesk  [go/helpdesk]
  • Top Tech Questions from Midd Students
  • Connect to middfiles & other file servers [go/middfiles]
  • Portal [go/portal]
    Your customized version of the Middlebury web site.
  • Digital Media Tutors  [go/dmt]
    Located in the Wilson Media Lab on the main floor of the Davis Family Library, tutors offer help for all our media editing programs..
  • Lynda [go/lyndainfo]                       
    Web-based tutorials to learn new software skills, including Microsoft Office
Research Help
  • Ask a Librarian  [go/askus]
    Contact a librarian in person, by email, telephone, text message or social media
  • Subject Guides  [go/researchguides]
  • Research Advice  [go/researchadvice]
Locating Resources
  • Map of Armstrong Library (for the Sciences)
  • Map of Davis Family Library (Main Library)
Evaluating Resources
  • Evaluating Resources
    This is a good place to find out how to critically evaluate a resource for:
    -authority
    -bias/objectivity
    -accuracy
    -intended audience/purpose
    -depth of coverge.
  • Scholarly vs. Popular Magazine Articles
Citing your sources

RefWorks
Keep track of your sources with RefWorks, & create endnotes (or footnotes) and bibliographies. 
  • RefWorks login page
  • RefWorks help documents
Also check our Citation and Style Guide for advice on how to cite sources without RefWorks, and how to avoid plagiarism.

Zotero
Free plugin for Firefox & also works with Chrome & Safari. Similar to RefWorks, but slightly easier to learn. Check our guide to get started.

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus