Psychology Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Try These First
  • PsycINFO Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only
  • PubMed Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
  • Scopus Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only
  • ProQuest Psychology Journals Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
  • Academic OneFile Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
All Items by Source
Biographical Information
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Journals/Magazines
Newspapers
Resources for Thesis Students
Statistics/Data
Web Sites

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited.  Shortcuts:  go/onefile (on campus),  http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource Link to Article
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.

  • Enclose phrases in quotes " "
  • To prompt Google Scholar to display links to resources in Middlebury's collection: 1) Go to "Scholar Preferences" (click on the cogwheel in the upper-right), 2) Search "Library Links" for "Middlebury," 3) Select all displayed Middlebury locations, and 4) "Save Preferences."

JSTOR Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.

ProQuest Psychology Journals Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 575 titles, with over 485 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

PsycARTICLES Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
All articles indexed in PsycARTICLES are also indexed and linked in PsycINFO.Includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals linked to every record.

Psychology Collection Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Articles from popular and general interest magazines and journals. A Gale InfoTrac database.

PsycINFO (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Now on the ProQuest platform.  Index and abstracts for psychology journals from 1806-current, and books, 1967-current.  Note:  The "Target Audience" limit will find only books and encyclopedias.
 

PubMed Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
1950s-current. A major source for scholarly biomedical literature. 

  • Access PubMed from a library page or via the 'go' link [go/pubmed (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/pubmed (off-campus)].  This will prompt PubMed to link its results to Middlebury collections and our interlibrary loan form.
  • To search for a phrase, enter it without quotation marks so that PubMed's  Automatic Term Mapping (ATM) feature will be activated. 
  • PubMed automatically places the AND operator between your search terms. When you want to be sure the correct Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) is used, enter it in uppercase.
  • Truncation turns off ATM and the automatic addition of MeSH terms. For example, heart attack* will not prompt a search for the MeSH term Myocardial Infarction. 

ScienceDirect Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier.  The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-.  (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.)  Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon.  To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list.  Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.

Scopus Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.

  • Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide.  70% of content is pulled from international sources.  Includes MEDLINE.
  • Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
  • Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off-campus)

SocINDEX Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.  It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.

Newspapers

Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide Unrestricted Resource
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.

Web Sites

American Psychological Association Unrestricted Resource
Official APA Web Site.

Middlebury College Department of Psychology Unrestricted Resource
Middlebury College Department of Psychology Web Site.

ScienceDaily Unrestricted Resource
News culled from journals, magazines and other online sources about scientific research.

Biographical Information

American National Biography Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology Unrestricted Resource
Print resource: BF109.A1 Z85 1984

Biography in Context Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available Resource contains images
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.  Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.

Dictionary of National Biography Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford

Women in Psychology: a Bio-bibliographic Sourcebook Unrestricted Resource
Armstrong Ref BF109.A1 W65 1990

Citation and Style Guides

Zotero Unrestricted Resource
Browser plug-in that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.  For Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.  Similar to RefWorks, but slightly easier to learn. Check our guide to get started.

Middlebury Citation and Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.

APA (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association) Unrestricted Resource
Examples online at:

  • Frequently Asked Questions About APA Style  (Publisher)
  • APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University)

RefWorks On-campus use only Link to Article
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at  http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.

Writing Papers in Psychology Unrestricted Resource
Print Resource: Armstrong Ref BF76.7 .R67 2001

Dictionaries

All Psychology Dictionaries at Middlebury Unrestricted Resource
This is an active search of the library catalog MIDCAT.

Encyclopedias

Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide) Unrestricted Resource
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more.  Go shortcut = go/eref.

Access Science Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites.  Shortcuts:  go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).

All Psychology Encyclopedias at Middlebury Unrestricted Resource
This is an active search of the library catalog MIDCAT.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia and epilepsy.

Encyclopedia of Stress Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Covers nearly every conceivable aspect and ramification of stress including a wide range of related topics such as neuroimmune interactions, cytokines, enzymatic disorders, effects on the cardiovascular system, immunity and inflammation, and physical illnesses. Expanded sections include Animal Studies, Anxiety and Depression, Drugs, Depression, Disasters, and Psychological and Other Therapies.

Statistics/Data

ERIC/AE Test Locator Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The Test Locator was a joint project of the Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation, the Library and Reference Services Division of the Educational Testing Service, the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln, the Region III Comprehensive Center at GW University, and Pro-Ed test publishers.

Statistics Guide Unrestricted Resource
For statistics on a broad range of topics arranged A-Z (crime, demographics, children, labor, etc.) this statistics guide has links to both national and international resources.

Measurement and Testing Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Finding Information About Psychological Tests (from the APA)
ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center
Educational Testing Service
Performance Assessment Network (e-testing for professionals)
Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Code of Fair Testing Practices in Psychology Education (from the APA)

Resources for Thesis Students

Thesis Guide Unrestricted Resource
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students.  Follow the link above to access the guide.



Key to Icons (Click to open)

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carrie Macfarlane

Carrie Macfarlane
Head of Research & Instruction
Office: Lib 209
(802) 443- 5018
cmacfarl@middlebury.edu


Helpguides
  • Scholarly vs Popular
  • Critically Analyzing Information Sources
  • Find Articles
  • Find Books
  • Citation and Style Guides
Call Numbers
  • BF1-990 Psychology
Browse Journals
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus