Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Congressional Information
Country Information
Crime
Dictionaries
eBooks
Elections
Elections - Statistics
Elections - Campaign Finance
Encyclopedias
Foreign Policy
Government Information
Government Information – International
Handbooks and Guides
Human Rights, Freedom, and Democracy
International Security and Arms Control
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Maps
Newspapers
Presidential Information
Public Opinion
Public Policy
Reviews
Statistics/Data - International
Statistics/Data - U.S.
Transcripts
Translations of the Foreign Press
Web Sites
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
CQ Weekly
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
Bluebook Abbreviations of Law Review Titles
From the University of Washington School of Law Library.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
ABSEES
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Also includes Eurasian Studies. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. The majority of content originally published in the US and Canada. 1939 - present. See also the European version EBSEES.
AfricaBib AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
Congressional Research Service Reports (on Open CRS)
CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Open CRS provides citizens access to Congressional Research Service Reports already in the public domain. NCSE provides an alternative site (focusing on environmental issues).
CQ Researcher
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, which follows current and controversial issues of the day. For each issue it includes a summary, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
Fuente Académica Premier
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
HAPI- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi.
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Index to Military Periodicals
"The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals." 1988 - present.
International Political Science Abstracts
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA36 .I5 (1951 - current).
2007 - present available online.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Philosopher's Index
1940 - present. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
An index of over 300 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) from 29 African countries which are acquired regularly by the U.S. Library of Congress Office in Nairobi, Kenya. Publication began in 1991.
Rohatyn Center for International Affairs Working Papers
Based here at Middlebury College.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
SRRN contains "an abstract database containing abstracts on over 305,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 245,100 downloadable full text documents." Requires free registration to download.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
This database contains bibliographical references on books and articles dealing with women in politics.
CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
Keesing's Record of World Events
News summaries. Full-text access for latest year (archive goes back to 1931, which is searchable, but Midd only has access to partial text). Back issues in print.
The New York Times (Proquest)
Searchable full text back to the first issue (1851 until 5 years ago). The collection includes digital reproductions of text and images, providing access to every page from every available issue.
Note: Digital full-text edition from Proquest
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
El Pais
![]()
Major newspaper from Spain, now available online. 1983- current.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
ProQuest Newsstand
Includes Chicago Tribune (1985 - present); Los Angeles Times (1985 - present); + ProQuest Newsstand (1423 newspapers including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. and the world.)
Note: formerly National Newspapers Premiere and before that, ProQuest Newspapers (current)
The Times of London
This international newspaper may be relevant to many other country topics, or its indexing may help you find subjects in other papers.
Full-Text:
Current Newspapers section and Microfilm #194
Online: Lexis Nexis 1985 - present. Choose from the Sources option.
Online: Times of London Digital Archive 1785 - 1985.
Indexing:
Print Index, 1850 - current. (several months delay) REF AI 21 .T35.
Online Index (from the Times website). 1985 - present. Note: searching is free. Online articles are not. You can get the articles for free from our microfilm or Lexis-Nexis.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
World-Newspapers.com
Website that provides links to online newspapers (some papers may require a subscription).
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
European Union Internet Resources
Web Guide and links from the University of California Berkeley Library. Categories include: EU Institutions & Bodies; EU by Subject; EU Documents by Type; and other information.
Foreign Affairs Online
Web guide with links related to International Relations, International Law, and U.S. Foreign Policy.
Greg's List: Useful Links for Political Info
For additional resources, see this collection of links from CQ Politics.
South China Sea (WWW Virtual Library)
Edited by Professor David Rosenberg, Middlebury College. Focuses on South China Sea regional development, environment, and security issues. See Also the South China Sea Research Guide.
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
Gateway to U.S. government documents which includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications; the Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, Laws, and Reports; Federal Register and CFR; Budget of the U.S. Government; Supreme Court decisions; Public Papers of the Presidents; and much more.
MetaLib
Search engine for more than 50 U.S. Government databases covering a broad range of subjects, including energy, the environment, health, defense, geodata, statistics, and more.
U.S. Federal Government Information (Frequently Used Sites)
Compiled by Larry Roman (Vanderbilt University) in partnership with the Federal Documents Task Force (part of GODORT Gov Docs Roundtable).
US Government Online Resources by Subject
A list of online resources compiled by Middlebury College Government Documents staff.
USA.gov
"The U.S. government's official web portal."
Book of the States
Includes directory of state elected officials and numerous statistical tables on state finances and more.
Print Resource: Davis Family Library Reference JK2403 .B6 (earlier years in stacks).
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. Useful for identifying government documents not owned by Middlebury (and thus not in Midcat) but available via interlibrary loan. 1976 - present.
Congressional Research Service Reports (on Open CRS)
CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Open CRS provides citizens access to Congressional Research Service Reports already in the public domain. NCSE provides an alternative site (focusing on environmental issues).
CQ Historic Documents
Published since 1972, each volume includes approximately 100 primary source documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports. For CQ Electronic Library, Go shortcut = go/cq.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Government Information Web Guide (UC Berkeley)
Library subject guide with links to free and subscription-based resources. Includes foreign governments and international organizations.
National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states. Their website includes information on state-related issues; elections; and links to state legislative websites. Helpful resources include their Ballot Measures Database and Initiative & Referendum Legislation Database and Campaign Finance section.
State and Local Government on the Net
A directory of official state, county, and city government websites.
State and Local Government [year]
Collection of articles on a variety of topics (ex. politics, legislatures, governors, media, courts, bureaucracies) currently affecting state politics and government.
Print Resource: Davis Family Library Stacks JK2403 .S715 [year].
State and Local Source Book
Data and directory information from Governing magazine. To access Contacts Directory, get the code from the mailing label of Governing magazine in the Current Periodicals section. It's the number before /CB/6#
United States Government Manual
"Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches..." and quasi-official agencies, international organizations, etc. including descriptions and contact information. Davis Family Library Reference JK421 .A3, previous years in Gov Docs. Also available online.
Note: Online and Print Resource
USA Government Documents (Internet Archive)
Digital versions of United States Government documents available from the Internet Archive.
Vermont.gov website
Official state website for Vermont. See also the Vermontiana Guide for additional resources in the Main Library Vermont Collection and online.
Government Information – International
British Cabinet Papers, 1915 - 1981
Search by keyword or browse by theme.
British Official Documents
Includes Command Papers and House of Commons Papers published since May 2005.
Archive of European Information
Electronic repository for EU documents and independently-produced research materials.
Europa (European Union)
The portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration...all legislation currently in force or under discussion, .. the websites of each of the EU institutions and .. policies administered by the European Union..." Also see Archive of European Integration.
European Union Internet Resources
Web Guide and links from the University of California Berkeley Library. Categories include: EU Institutions & Bodies; EU by Subject; EU Documents by Type; and other information.
Almanac of American Politics
Searchable online thru Lexis Nexis. Older issues also in print Main Library Reference JK1012 .A44.
Note: Online and Print Resource
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. See also Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
European Political Facts
Various volumes cover 1648 - 1999. Includes election statistics, heads of state, defence, parliaments, and other political facts.
Note: Print Resource
Russia & Eurasia Documents Annual
Includes a summary of foreign policy for the year and reprinted documents. Also includes information on military and security forces, the government, economy, and more.
Note: Print Resource
Social Panorama of Latin America
Published by the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). Online 1997 - present.
Southeast Asian Affairs
"An annual review of significant trends and developments in the region." It has two sections: a regional section and then sections on the ten individual countries of Southeast Asia.
Davis Family Library Stacks DS502 . S76 1978-1980; 1999 - present. Also online 1974 - 1995; 2008 - present.
See Also Regional Outlook. Southeast Asia
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Yearbook of the United Nations
Online from the United Nations.
Print: Davis Family Library JX1977 .A37 Y4 (current in Reference, older issues in stacks) 1946 - present.
Also see Annual Review of United Nations Affairs (subscription cancelled).
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Main Library Reference HD57.7 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-present
Also available in print - Main Library Reference JK1010 U5.
Note: Online and Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the U.S. Congress. Online 1997 - present. Includes short biographies, committee assignments, contact information, etc. Also includes other federal officials and agencies, DC government, independent agencies, statistics, and much more.
CQ Politics in America
Searchable directory of information on members of Congress and their districts. Includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results and key votes. Also in Print: Main Library Reference JK1012 P64. For CQ Electronic Library, Go shortcut = go/cq.
Note: Online and Print
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Online guide for citing legal materials by Peter W. Martin at Cornell University Law School.
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
Background Notes
Country information from the U.S. State Department.
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom
Published by the U.S. Dept. of State. "Supplements the most recent Human Rights Reports by providing additional detailed information with respect to matters involving international religious freedom. It includes individual country chapters on the status of religious freedom worldwide."
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of maps, surveys, polls, and other data, providing demographic and religious membership information about the U.S. and other nations. Includes national (i.e. country) profiles.
BBC Country Profiles
Provides current overview, facts, leaders, etc. along with links to news stories.
Coface Country & Sector Risk Information
Free web source. Coface continuously monitors 154 countries using a spectrum of indicators incorporating political factors; risk of currency shortage and devaluation; ability to meet financial commitments abroad; risk of a systemic crisis in the banking sector; cyclical risk; and payment behavior for short term transactions. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
Country Commercial Guides
Part of the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library. Choose Country Commercial Guides from the Report Type drop-down menu.
Country Information on the Economics Subject Guide
For more detailed economic information on countries, see several sections of the Middlebury Economics Subject Guide:
Statistics - International section
Country Information (similar to this page but a few more resources).
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Failed States Index
Compiled by the Fund for Peace. Along with the rankings, it provides country profiles.
Foreign Information by Country
University of Colorado at Boulder website with extensive links to country information available free on the web or through subscription databases.
globalEDGE
Web portal for international business resources from Michigan State Univ. Country Insights provides country background, statistics, and links. Also includes state information; industry information; news & views; and much more.
IMF Papers and Country Profiles
International Monetary Fund working papers, policy papers, country profiles and more.
Note: Choose publication type from SERIES drop-down menu.
Inter-American Development Bank Country Pages
Information on Latin American and Caribbean countries and the IADB projects for those countries.
International Country Risk Guide Researcher's Dataset CD-Rom
Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
Latin American Regional Reports
Monthly reports providing "in-depth analysis of political, economic and social issues affecting Latin America's individual sub-regions." Latest issues in Current Periodicals (alphabetically arranged). Earlier issues in Bound Periodicals as Latin American Newsletters. Call Number HC121 .L28
Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles
Part of Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (under the Business Tab). Country information from a variety of sources.
ReliefWeb
"Humanitarian information on complex emergencies and natural disasters."
Southeast Asian Affairs
"An annual review of significant trends and developments in the region." It has two sections: a regional section and then sections on the ten individual countries of Southeast Asia.
Davis Family Library Stacks DS502 . S76 1978-1980; 1999 - present. Also online 1974 - 1995; 2008 - present.
See Also Regional Outlook. Southeast Asia
The Territories of the Russian Federation
Provides an overview, chronology, statistics, and surveys of each of the 89 territories.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DK510 .T47 2004.
Black's Law Dictionary
Provides more than 43,000 definitions, almost 3,000 quotations, and more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Available via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the LAW Tab.
MIDCAT List - International Relations Dictionaries This is a midcat subject search for International relations -- Dictionaries.
MIDCAT List - Political Science Dictionaries
This is a midcat subject search for United States -- Politics and government -- Dictionaries. Mostly in Main Library Reference JK9's.
Oxford Reference Online - Politics and Social Sciences Use the link above to simultaneously search all of the titles (and more) listed below, or click on an individual title to search only that volume:
American Jurisprudence. 2nd.
Multiple-volume legal encyclopedia consisting of over 400 entries. Available via Lexis-Nexis or via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the Law tab.
CQ Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Covers the Court's entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices. Appendices provide additional information such as a list of Acts of Congress found by the Court to be unconstitutional. For additional Supreme Court resources, see Main Library Reference KF's.
Encyclopedia of American Political History
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183 .E48
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Also in print: Davis Family Library Reference BP40 .E525 2004 (2 volumes)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1410 .E56 2002
See also: Encyclopedia of the Inter-American System; Latin America: A Political Dictionary
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Main Library Reference HD57.7 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003 (4 volumes)
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183.7 .E53 1997 (4 volumes).
European Political Facts
Various volumes cover 1648 - 1999. Includes election statistics, heads of state, defence, parliaments, and other political facts.
Note: Print Resource
MIDCAT List - Democracy Encyclopedias
This is a midcat subject search for Democracy -- Encyclopedias.
MIDCAT List - Human Rights Encyclopedias
Active Midcat Search. Generally Reference JC571's.
MIDCAT List - Law Encyclopedias
This is a midcat keyword search that searches law and encyclopedias in the subject field.
Also browse KF's in the Main Library Reference Collection .
Note: Print Resources
MIDCAT List - Political Science Encyclopedias
This is a midcat keyword search that searches politics and encyclopedias in the subject field.
Also browse JA's - JX's and E183's in the Main Library Reference Collection.
Oxford Reference Online - Politics and Social Sciences Use the link above to simultaneously search all of the titles (and more) listed below, or click on an individual title to search only that volume:
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Open access philosophy encyclopedia maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field.
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JF511 .W67 1998 (2 volumes)
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JF2011 .W67 2006 (3 volumes)
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
The Craft of Political Research
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JA71 .S45 2005
How to Research the Presidency
Print: Davis Family Library Reference Reference JK516 A1 M38 1996
Information Sources of Political Science
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA71.A1 H64 2005
Political Science Research Methods
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JA71 .J55 2008
The Political Science Student Writer's Manual
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA86 .S39 1998
Research Methods for Political Science
Print: Davis Family Library stacks JA71.5 .M35 2010
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy
Print: Davis Family Library Reference UA23 .C5135 2004
Journals/Magazines of the Period
American Periodicals Series Online - 1740-1940
APS collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection and features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Includes publications such as Vanity Fair, Life, and Ladies Home Journal.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
PAIS Archive
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. Coverage = 1915 -1976. For 1972 - current switch to PAIS International (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS International).
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Maps & GIS Guide
Search for a wide variety of maps and GIS information, both print and online. Also includes resources on historical maps and U.S. government information.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
Statistics/Data - International
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Datasets and Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Statista
A quantitative statistics portal with over 60,000 topics on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more. Search in either German or English.
Africa Development Indicators
Now free online from the Worldbank. Provides data from 1961 to latest for 53 African countries "Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators."
Print copies: Main Library Reference HC800.A1 A49 2008/09 (earlier years in stacks)
Also on CD-Rom titled World Bank Africa Database / African Development Indicators
Main CD-ROMS-Circ Desk HC800.A1 W677 2008/09
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II. Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files.
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Correlates of War (COW)
Access to a variety of conflict-related datasets. Data is coded and users will need to consult codebooks to interpret the variables. See also World Handbook of Politics IV for another set of country-level contentious politics event data.
DataGov: Governance Indicators Database
Provided by the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB). Includes indicators from key public databases. Categories include democratic and market systems; public managment; rule of law; socioeconomic indicators. Additional statistics from IADB.
Data Sets Links
From International Studies Online, compiled by Paul R. Hensel. Includes a variety of political and economic data sources including those related to conflicts and disputes, human rights, terrorism, trade, investment, environment, countries, treaties, democracy, and much more.
Eastview Russian and CIS Statistical Publications
Covers Russian and English-language publications, reports & data sets from the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. See their Search Guide. Part of the Universal Databases from Eastview publishing.
European Political Facts
Various volumes cover 1648 - 1999. Includes election statistics, heads of state, defence, parliaments, and other political facts.
Note: Print Resource
Eurostat
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. It provides free publications and statistics that enable comparisons between European countries and regions. Includes economic, social, population, health, environment, and other topics.
Global Link
From the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB). "Over 500 indicators consolidating data on macroeconomics, social issues, trade, capital flows, markets, and governance." Covers North, South, Central American, and Caribbean countries. Additional statistics from IADB.
Human Development Reports
The online reports from UN Development Programme, or just access statistical tables. Also in Print. Latest edition in Davis Family Library Reference, earlier editions in stacks HD87 .H8
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
International Country Risk Guide Researcher's Dataset CD-Rom
Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
Social Panorama of Latin America
Published by the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). Online 1997 - present.
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
UN Demographic Yearbook
Published by the United Nations Statistical Office. Online (PDF) 1948 - present.
Main Library Oversize HA42 .D45 1948; 1959 - 2005. Latest (2006) in Reference.
Note: Online and Print Resource
UN Millennium Development Goals Reports
"This annual report presents the most comprehensive global assessment of progress to date". Online 2005 - present. See also regional reports.
Uppsala Conflict Database (UCDP)
Commentary and facts on armed conflicts around the world since 1989. Updated annually (free database from Uppsala Universitet). Alternative version (structured for quantitative analysis).
World Drug Report
Published annually by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
From the World Bank Governance & Anti-Corruption section. "Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the period 1996– , for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence; Government Effectiveness; Regulatory Quality; Rule of Law; Control of Corruption."
Library Economics Subject Guide - Statistics/Data International section
Additional international statistics resources can be found in this section of the longer Economics guide.
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Datasets and Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Millennial Edition - updated and expanded online version with data updated to the 1990's+ (additional 30 years worth and triple the number of data series than its predecessor).
US Census Bureau - Homepage
Access recent U.S. Census statistics, from population, housing, and poverty statistics to business statistics and much more! Start with American Factfinder for recent census data or within that, the Decennial census page (for 2000 and 1990 data). For the 1990 Census - choose it from the tab at the top of the decennial census page.
FedStats
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Includes such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
Policy Agendas Project
Joint effort between UT-Austin, Penn State, U Washington funded by the NSF. The project tracks policy changes in the United States. It "collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
Library Economics Subject Guide - Statistics/Data U.S. section
Additional U.S. Statistics resources can be found on this section of the longer Economics subject guide.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
ProQuest Congressional
Fomerly called Lexis-Nexis Congressional. Index and with some full-text for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. For dates of coverage, see contents coverage chart.
Thomas Legislative Information
Full-text ('89 to present) and summaries ('73 to present) of Bills; the Congressional Record (back to 1989); Committee reports & info; Roll call votes; House floor now & this week (shows what's currently before congress), and more.
Congressional Record
Published daily when Congress is in session. Contains proceedings of the House and Senate, including text of debates; Extensions of Remarks; and the Daily Digest. The 101st (1989/90) - present are available online through Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet. Also available 1985-present on Lexis Nexis Congressional Universe. All years are available in print in Govt Docs, X1.1/a:
A Century of Lawmaking...U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774 - 1875
Includes early congressional debates (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, House and Senate Journals; Bills; Resolutions; Statutes at Large, and more. (From Library of Congress American Memory Project).
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838
This digital collection contains legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses and more. It is an essential complement to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which begins with the 15th U.S. Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
British House of Commons Debates
Includes archived Commons Hansard debates back to 1803 under Historic Hansard link. To search the House of Commons and the House of Lords together, see Hansard 1803-2005.
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
Gateway to U.S. government documents which includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications; the Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, Laws, and Reports; Federal Register and CFR; Budget of the U.S. Government; Supreme Court decisions; Public Papers of the Presidents; and much more.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-present
Also available in print - Main Library Reference JK1010 U5.
Note: Online and Print Resource
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the U.S. Congress. Online 1997 - present. Includes short biographies, committee assignments, contact information, etc. Also includes other federal officials and agencies, DC government, independent agencies, statistics, and much more.
House Staff Directory
From the Sunlight Foundation.
Almanac of American Politics
Searchable online thru Lexis Nexis. Older issues also in print Main Library Reference JK1012 .A44.
Note: Online and Print Resource
CQ Politics in America
Searchable directory of information on members of Congress and their districts. Includes biographical data, committee assignments, election results and key votes. Also in Print: Main Library Reference JK1012 P64. For CQ Electronic Library, Go shortcut = go/cq.
Note: Online and Print
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. See also Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
CQ Congress and the Nation
Review and analysis of legislation and policy during each Congressional session and presidential term from 1945 - 2004 - organized by policy area. For all CQ Electronic resources see go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. Especially see CQ Almanac for annual summaries of issues.
CQ Guide to Congress
Provides extensive background on the history, powers, and procedures of the institution. Includes related subjects such as pressures on Congress; pay, housing, qualifications, and ethics of members; and how Congress is elected.
CQ Researcher
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, which follows current and controversial issues of the day. For each issue it includes a summary, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
CQ Weekly
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
Congressional Digest: A Pro & Con Monthly
Current and Bound Periodicals JK1 .C65
Note: Print Resource
Congressional Research Service Reports (on Open CRS)
CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Open CRS provides citizens access to Congressional Research Service Reports already in the public domain. NCSE provides an alternative site (focusing on environmental issues).
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
Davis Family Library Reference JK1067 .E63 1995 (4 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JF511 .W67 1998 (2 volumes)
Global Report on Trafficking in Persons
PDF. Published by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC). Also see their section on Human Trafficking and Migrant Smuggling.
World Drug Report
Published annually by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime.
e-libro: Spanish full-text ebooks and more
Over 50,000 original texts of Spanish language books, research papers, and doctoral thesis, all available in full-text. View a full list of titles here.
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
Google Politics & Elections page (U.S. edition)
Follow top election news stories and news by candidate or issue. Also see election results, search trends, and more. Note: Google also offers an Egypt version.
Commission on Presidential Debates
Includes transcripts of debates from current and previous elections (some debates available on video for a fee).
CQ Guide to Political Campaigns in America
Provides background and analysis covering the evolution of political campaigns; laws and regulations; voters and voting; key players and strategies; campaign reform; and coverage of specific types of campaigns.
CQ Guide to U.S. Elections
Provides coverage of every major aspect of federal and gubernatorial elections throughout U.S. history, including the evolution of U.S. elections, the development of the party system, and campaign finance. It also provides extensive election data.
Election 2008 Resources
Although this guide to online resources was created for 2008, a number of the resources mentioned are still relevant. From the Association of College & Research Libraries.
Electionline.org
A project of the Pew Center on the States (nonpartisan). Provides news and analysis on election reform.
Elections Encyclopedias
The following encyclopedias may provide useful background information:
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms - Davis Family Library Reference E176.1 .R6 2004
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics - Davis Family Library Reference P95.82 .U6 E47 2007
Political Parties & Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia - Davis Family Library Reference JK2261 .P633 1991
International Encyclopedia of Elections - Davis Family Library Reference JF1001.I57 2000
FactCheck.org
Annenberg Political Factcheck - a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center. "Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S.
The FactChecker (Washington Post)
Weekly blog from the Washington Post.
History of Televised Presidential Debates
From the Museum of Broadcast Communication.
Initiative and Referendum Almanac
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KF4881 .A4 2003
For more recent information, see the Initiative & Referendum Institute website or the National Conference of State Legislatures website (see separate entry).
Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
From the Museum of the Moving Image. "An online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired."
National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states. Their website includes information on state-related issues; elections; and links to state legislative websites. Helpful resources include their Ballot Measures Database and Initiative & Referendum Legislation Database and Campaign Finance section.
Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC)
"PARC is a nonpartisan informational Web site that analyzes the television advertisements used in local, state, and national political campaigns." From the University of Maryland.
PolitiFact.com
From the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly. Has a "Truth-O-Meter" scorecard checking the attacks on the candidates (includes explanations).
Presidential Power Blog
Middlebury College Professor Matt Dickinson's blog with non-partisan analysis of presidential politics.
Project Vote Smart
Provides factual information on candidates for public office. Covers: backgrounds, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances, and performance evaluations made by over 100 liberal to conservative special interest groups.
United States Election 2000 Web Archive
From the U.S. Library of Congress. "Includes sites archived almost daily between August 2000 and January 2001, covering the United States national election period for President and Members of Congress." For other election years and other topics (9/11; Iraq War; Darfur; etc.) see LC Web Archives page.
Voting Registration
A guide aimed primarily for Middlebury College students but with resources of interest to anyone.
America Votes
Presidential, Congressional, & Gubernatorial election statistics, 1954 to current
Davis FamilyLibrary Reference JK1967.A8
Note: Print Resource
American National Election Studies (ANES) "Data on Americans' social backgrounds, enduring political predispositions, social and political values, perceptions and evaluations of groups and candidates, opinions on questions of public policy, and participation in political life." (from IPCSR description).
Also on CD-Rom (1948-1997) Main Library Stacks JK1967 .A82 or download from ICPSR (1948-2000)
Electoral College Website (U.S.)
Includes historical election results and an electoral college calculator, which allows you to choose winning parties by state and see how the overall electoral votes will tally.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
MIDCAT List - Election Statistics
This is an advanced keyword seach of the subject field for elections and statistics. Also browse Main Library Reference JK274 - Jk2447
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787 - 1825
Available from theTufts Digital Library, A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy.
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Statistics of the Presidential and Congressional Election of [year] From the Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives. 1920 - present.
Alternate title (non-Presidential election years): Statistics of the Congressional Election of [year].
Voter Turnout Database
From IDEA: Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance. Provides a "global collection of political participation statistics."
CampaignMoney.com
Information on financial donors to federal political campaigns. Includes PAC's; 527's; lobbyists; and more.
Influence Explorer
From the the Sunlight Foundation. Another interface for exploring data from the Center for Responsive Politics, the National Institute for Money in State Politics, Taxpayers for Common Sense and USASpending.gov.
Sunlight Foundation - Multiple Campaign Finance Tools
Includes Influence Explorer, Transparency Data, Lobbyist Registration Tracker, House Expenditure Database, Party Time, and so much more!
Federal Election Commission (FEC)
Provides a variety of information including campaign finance data and candidate and PAC financial disclosure reports.
FollowTheMoney.org
From the National Institute on Money in State Politics - "the only nonpartisan, nonprofit organization revealing the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states."
MIDCAT List - More on Campaign Finance This is a midcat SUBJECT search that searches for the materials using the Library of Congress Subject heading "Campaign Funds", which is the term used for campaign finance.
OpenSecrets.org
Sponsored by The Center for Responsive Politics, a non-partisan, non-profit research group that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Provides financial info on politicians, PAC's, 527's, industries, lobbyists, etc. as well as info on private travel, the "revolving door" and more.
Vermont Campaign Finance Disclosure Reports
For other states, check the state government agency that overseas elections and campaign finance. The Election Assistance Commission maintains a list.
Historical Dictionary of United States Political Parties
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JK2261 .B345 2000.
MIDCAT List - Political Party Encyclopedias
This is an advanced keyword search of midcat. Additional encyclopedias on political parties can be found in Main Library Reference and Stacks generally in call number JK2255 - JK2391. Also see:
Encyclopedia of the Republican Party, Davis Family Library Reference JK2352 .E56
Encyclopedia of the Democratic Party, Davis Family Library Reference JK2312 .E55
National Party Conventions
Coverage since 1831. Print: Davis Family Library Reference JK2255 . C66 2000
See Also: National Party Platforms, Davis Family Library Stacks JK2255 .J64 1978 + 1980 Supplement .
Political Parties and Elections in the United States: An Encyclopedia
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JK2261 .P633 1991.
Political Parties by Country (Wikipedia)
Information on political parties and links to party websites, when available.
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JF2011 .W67 2006 (3 volumes)
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
House Committee on Foreign Affairs (U.S. House of Representatives)
Responsible for oversight and legislation relating to foreign affairs. See committee statements, hearings, committee prints (reports accompanying legislation), etc.
Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
"Responsible for overseeing the foreign policy agencies of the U.S. government...reviews and considers all diplomatic nominations and international treaties, as well as legislation relating to U.S. foreign policy. See their reports and hearings, etc.
American Foreign Policy: Basic Documents
See also the Current Document series.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JX1417 .A33 1950/55; 1977/80.
American Foreign Policy: Current Documents
Published by the U.S. Dept. of State. Subject approach to principal statements, addresses, reports, etc. relating to U.S. foreign policy. Includes documents from other organizations (such as the UN) that pertain to U.S. foreign policy.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JX1417 .A33 1956 - 1967; 1977 - 1990.
American Foreign Relations Since 1600: A Guide to the Literature
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2nd. edition, 2003.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183.7 .A1 A44 2003 (2 volumes).
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
A Decade of American Foreign Policy : Basic Documents 1941-1949
Covers period before American Foreign Policy Basic Documents.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JX1416 .A47.
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838
This digital collection contains legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses and more. It is an essential complement to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which begins with the 15th U.S. Congress.
Cold War International History Project
"The Project supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War..." - in particular the former Communist world.
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. See also Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
CQ Weekly
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
Department of State Bulletin While published, it was the official record of news conferences, speeches, and statements by the President, Secretary of State, and other officials. Included selected White House press releases and listings of publications related to foreign policy.
1939-1959 - Main Library Bound Periodicals JZ6.5 .D37
1959-1989 - Microfilm #231
1990 - 1999 - Continued by Dispatch Magazine, Microfilm # 231 or online
For recent years, see the Foreign Policy Bulletin or the State Department Website
Documents of American Diplomacy: From the American Revolution to the Present
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183.7 .D63 2002.
Documents on American Foreign Relations
Boston: World Peace Foundation and later published for the Council on Foreign Relations. Narrative on U.S. foreign relations and documents. Continued by American Foreign Relations: A Documentary Record (1971 - 1976). See Also The United States in World Affairs (1931-1940; 1945 - 1970)
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JX231 .D6 1938 - 1970.
Documents on British Foreign Policy, 1919-1939
London: H.M. Stationery Office, 1946 -
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DA566.7 .A18
Series 1, 25 volumes; Series 2, 20 volumes, Series 3, 6 volumes
See also: Midcat Subject search: Great Britain--Foreign Relations
Documents on German Foreign Policy, 1918-1945
Subtitle: From the Archives of the German Foreign Ministry. London: H.M. Stationery Office, 1949 -
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JX691 .A46. Series C, 6 volumes; Series D, 13 volumes
See Also Midcat Subject search: Germany--Foreign Relations
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
New York : Scribner, c2002.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183.7 .E52 2002 (3 volumes).
Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997
Print: Davis Family Library Reference E183.7 .E53 1997 (4 volumes).
Foreign Affairs Online
Web guide with links related to International Relations, International Law, and U.S. Foreign Policy.
Foreign Policy Bulletin
Published commercially by Cambridge, it continues and expands the earlier Department of State Bulletin and Dispatch Magazine (see separate entries). In addition to U.S. foreign policy materials, it includes texts and reports from international organizations and representatives. 1990 - present.
Print: Davis Family Library Current and Bound Periodicals, E840 .F676 Also online.
Foreign Policy Reports
Published by the Foreign Policy Association. Later title: Foreign Policy Bulletin (not to be confused with the current periodical of the same title).
Print: Davis Family Library Bound Periodicals D410 .F65 (1931-1951).
Foreign Relations of the United States
U.S. State Department - Document record of major policy decisions, 1861-1970s. Only Recent volumes are online (Truman +) For earlier print editions see: Main Library JX233 .A3 and Govt Docs. For editions back to 1861 see the Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
ProQuest Congressional
Fomerly called Lexis-Nexis Congressional. Index and with some full-text for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. For dates of coverage, see contents coverage chart.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Online covers Hoover to Clinton. For presidents before Hoover, do an author search in Midcat using the president's last name, first name [author search].
Also in Print: Davis Family Library Stacks J80 A283, except FDR which is J82 D64.
Survey of International Affairs
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks D442 .S8 (1920/23 - 1963)
See also supplement: Documents on international affairs. 1958-1963
The United States in World Affairs
An account of American foreign relations. Absorbed in part by: American Foreign Relations: A Documentary Record (1971 - 1976). Preceeded by Survey of American Foreign Relations (1928 - 1931). See Also Documents on American Foreign Relations (1938 - 1970).
Print: Davis FamilyLibrary Stacks E744 .U66 (1931 - 1940; 1945 - 1970).
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. 1993 - present online. 1965+ available in print in the Bound Periodicals section.
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats."
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "Provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period."
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Digital full-text access to these historic documents. "This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II."
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Three archival collections drawn from the British Foreign Office files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. The archival documents are divided into the following sections: (1) Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964, (2) South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-1971 (3) Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan, 1972-1980.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. This collection covers foreign relations interactions between Central America, South America, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic. It includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats." Continues Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-1929 (on microfilm).
Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations between the United States and Japan, 1910-1949
b>Microfilm 798 (9 reels) 1910 - 1929
Microfilm 737 (5 reels) 1930 - 1939
Microfilm 738 (8 reels) 1940 - 1944
Microfilm 739 (19 reels) 1945 - 1949
Russia & Eurasia Documents Annual
Includes a summary of foreign policy for the year and reprinted documents. Also includes information on military and security forces, the government, economy, and more.
Note: Print Resource
Human Rights, Freedom, and Democracy
African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
Site contains official documents.
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Full-text digital access to these historic documents from the FBI Library.
Amnesty International Report
HV6254 .A45 Latest in Reference, previous in stacks. Latest issue also online via Amnesty Int'l website.
Note: Online and Print Resource
Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom
Published by the U.S. Dept. of State. "Supplements the most recent Human Rights Reports by providing additional detailed information with respect to matters involving international religious freedom. It includes individual country chapters on the status of religious freedom worldwide."
Arab Human Development Report
Also available in print: Main Library Stacks HN766 .A85 A73
Note: Print and Online Resource
Bertelsmann Transformation Index (BTI)
BTI publishes 2 rankings. "The Status Index ranks the countries according to their state of democracy and market economy; the Management Index ranks them according to their leadership's management performance..." Also see their detailed country reports.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Non-partisan think tank. Provides policy briefs and papers on a range of topics including democracy; rule of law; nonproliferation; trade & development; global policy; role of the U.S. and more.
Commission on Security & Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) Reports
Provides reports on a variety of democratization issues relating to implementation of the Helsinki Accords and more.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
State Department has reports online on current site since 1999. Also 1996-1999 on old site. Earlier years (1979+) in Davis Family Library Gov. Docs.
Note: Online and Print Resource
CPJ (Committee to Protect Journalists)
See their annual report: Attacks on the Press [year]: A Worldwide Survey and their country summaries.
DataGov: Governance Indicators Database
Provided by the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB). Includes indicators from key public databases. Categories include democratic and market systems; public managment; rule of law; socioeconomic indicators. Additional statistics from IADB.
Freedom in the World
Subtitle: The Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties. Main Library stacks JC571 .F66 2001 - 2007. Available online from Freedom House
Freedom of the Press
Subtitle: A Global Survey of Media Independence. Main Library stacks PN4736 .F74 2003, 2004 Available online from Freedom House
Human Rights Watch
Great for current awareness. Browse by regions and topics.
HuriSearch
Human Rights search engine that searches over 4,500 human rights websites.
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Publications include country reports, annual reports, resolutions. Home page has additional information.
International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA)
IDEA is an intergovernmental organization that supports Democracy worldwide. Also see their Voter Turnout Database and other databases.
International Organization for Migration Publications
Many reports available for free download. Includes World Migration [year] reports; reports dealing with various aspects of migrants/migration including health and human trafficking.
MIDCAT List - Democracy Encyclopedias
This is a midcat subject search for Democracy -- Encyclopedias.
MIDCAT List - Human Rights Encyclopedias
Active Midcat Search. Generally Reference JC571's.
National Endowment for Democracy
See their publications and research sections.
Nations in Transit: Democratization from Central Europe to Eurasia "A comprehensive, comparative, multidimensional study focusing on 29 countries and administrative areas from Central Europe to Eurasia." Includes Country reports and ratings tables. Older issues in print, Main Library stacks JN96 .A58 N384 2004; 2002. Available online from Freedom House
Summary of UN Agreements on Human Rights
Includes Universal Declaration of Human Rights; Geneva Conventions; and many more.
The Torture Archive
"More than 83,000 pages of primary source documents (and thousands more to come) related to the detention and interrogation of individuals by the United States, in connection with the conduct of hostilities in Iraq and Afghanistan as well as in the broader context of the "global war on terror." Part of George Washington University's National Security Archive.
UN Human Rights webpage
Includes links to UN agencies and criminal tribunals.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
From the World Bank Governance & Anti-Corruption section. "Reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 212 countries and territories over the period 1996– , for six dimensions of governance: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence; Government Effectiveness; Regulatory Quality; Rule of Law; Control of Corruption."
International Security and Arms Control
Annual Review of Global Peace Operations
Published by Center on International Cooperation. Provides descriptions of UN missions and gives detailed statistics (troops, fatalities, expenditures, etc.) on UN missions and some statistics on non-UN missions.
Main Library Reference JZ6374 .A56 2006 (check NExpress for more recent issues)
Note: Print Resource
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Non-partisan think tank. Provides policy briefs and papers on a range of topics including democracy; rule of law; nonproliferation; trade & development; global policy; role of the U.S. and more.
CIA's China Collection
Historical national intelligence estimates from the CIA/National Intelligence Council. Also available in print/CD-Rom entitled: Tracking the Dragon: National Intelligence Estimates on China during the era of Mao, 1948-1976. Davis Family Library DS777.55 .U563 2004 and Gov Docs PREX 3.21:C 44
Note: Online and Print/CD-Rom Resource
CIA's National Intelligence Council Collection
Contains hundreds of intelligence reports (once classified), including many National Intelligence Estimates.
CIA's Vietnam Collection
Historical national intelligence estimates from the CIA/National Intelligence Council. Also available in print/CD-Rom entitled: Estimative Products on Vietnam, 1948-1975. Check midcat for availability.
Note: Online and Print/CD-Rom Resource
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Correlates of War (COW)
Access to a variety of conflict-related datasets. Data is coded and users will need to consult codebooks to interpret the variables. See also World Handbook of Politics IV for another set of country-level contentious politics event data.
Data Sets Links
From International Studies Online, compiled by Paul R. Hensel. Includes a variety of political and economic data sources including those related to conflicts and disputes, human rights, terrorism, trade, investment, environment, countries, treaties, democracy, and much more.
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Encyclopedia of Arms Control & Disarmament
Main Library Reference JX1974 .E57 1993
Note: Print Resource
Failed States Index
Compiled by the Fund for Peace. Along with the rankings, it provides country profiles.
FIRST: Facts on International Relations & Security Trends
A country profiles database from SIPRI and ISN that compiles international relations and security information from a variety of sources. Topics include armed conflicts, peacekeeping, weapons and other military data, human rights reports, etc.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Provides "access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents...and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies."
Human Security Report Project
The HSRP conducts research on global and regional trends in political violence, their causes and consequence. Publications include reports & briefs by year.
International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks JZ1305 .A1K34 2008
The Military Balance (Int'l Institute for Strategic Studies)
Provides an assessment of the military forces and defense expenditures for 169 countries. Reference UA15 .L65 2006/2007; (1967 - 2005/06 editions in stacks).
Note: SUBSCRIPTION CANCELLED. See SIPRI resources instead.
Regional Guide to International Conflict and Management from 1945 to 2003
Main Library Reference D842 .B464 2004
Note: Print Resource
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy
Print: Davis Family Library Reference UA23 .C5135 2004
SIPRI International Security Databases
Databases include military expenditures for 165 countries since 1988; arms transfers since 1950; SIPRI 100 (largest arms producing companies); mulitlateral peace operations; and more.
SIPRI Yearbook (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute)
Covers developments in arms control, disarmament, military spending, and international security. Main Library Reference UA10 .S69 (previous editions in stacks, 1984+)
Note: Print Resource
South China Sea (WWW Virtual Library)
Edited by Professor David Rosenberg, Middlebury College. Focuses on South China Sea regional development, environment, and security issues. See Also the South China Sea Research Guide.
Strategic Survey
Published by the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Provides a review and assessment of security-related events around the world. Main Library Reference U162 .S77 (previous editions in stacks).
Also online from 1997 - present.
U.S. Institute of Peace
Includes full-text of peace agreements; documents on inter- and intra-state conflicts; and documents on truth commissions (see the Library link). Site also contains many links to websites on foreign affairs topics such as terrorism, human rights, peacekeeping, etc.
UN Peace & Security webpage
Topics include peacekeeping, disarmament, decolonization, electoral assistance, and more.
Uppsala Conflict Database (UCDP)
Commentary and facts on armed conflicts around the world since 1989. Updated annually (free database from Uppsala Universitet). Alternative version (structured for quantitative analysis).
Warfare and Armed Conflicts : a Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1500-2000
Davis Family Library Reference D214 .C54 2001
Note: Print Resource
Weapons of Mass Destruction: An Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History
Main Library Reference U793 .W427 2005 (2 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
World Almanac of Islamism
This database focuses on the nature of the contemporary Islamist threat around the world, and on the current activities of radical Islamist movements worldwide." Browse by Country/Region or Movement.
Print: Davis Family Library BP173.5 .W66 2011.
Yearbook of the United Nations
Online from the United Nations.
Print: Davis Family Library JX1977 .A37 Y4 (current in Reference, older issues in stacks) 1946 - present.
Also see Annual Review of United Nations Affairs (subscription cancelled).
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Legal Information Library Subject Guide
US and international court cases, laws, and treaty resources can be found on this Middlebury library subject guide.
The American Presidency Project
Includes presidential papers, documents, proclamations, executive orders, addresses, and much more. Useful for searching for terms in everything said by a president in these publications.
American President: An Online Reference Resource
From the Miller Center of Public Affairs. Features facts and essays about the President's life before, during, and after each presidential term. It additionally provides information about the First Lady and cabinet officials of each administration.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. 1993 - present online. 1965+ available in print in the Bound Periodicals section.
CQ Guide to the Presidency
In-depth coverage of the institution and U.S. presidents as well as its analytical chapters that explain the structure and operations of the office and the executive's relationship to the other, co-equal branches of government.
CQ Historic Documents
Published since 1972, each volume includes approximately 100 primary source documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports. For CQ Electronic Library, Go shortcut = go/cq.
Documentary History of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidency
Main Library Stacks E806 .D614 (20 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Documentary History of the Truman Presidency
Main Library Stacks E813 .D56 (35 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JK511 E53 1994 (4 volumes)
Homeland Security Digital Library
Provides "access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents...and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies."
POTUS: Presidents of the United States
From the Internet Public Library. Provides "background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included."
Presidential Elections
For information on Presidential Elections, see the Elections section of this guide.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Online covers Hoover to Clinton. For presidents before Hoover, do an author search in Midcat using the president's last name, first name [author search].
Also in Print: Davis Family Library Stacks J80 A283, except FDR which is J82 D64.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
The White House
Information from and about the current U.S. administration.
Polling the Nations
"Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and 100 other countries around the world." Logout when done (1 user limit).
Note: 1 user limit - logout when done
Afrobarometer
"A comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets, and civil society in Africa." Also includes briefing papers and working papers.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
A collection of maps, surveys, polls, and other data, providing demographic and religious membership information about the U.S. and other nations. Includes national (i.e. country) profiles.
L' Etat de l'opinion
French Public Opinion.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HN440 .P8 O684 (1988 - present)
Eurobarometer
European Public Opinion Surveys on a variety of topics, back to 1973. From the European Commission. Some Eurobarometer Surveys also available from ICPSR.
Gallup Polls
Gallup's website provides free access to their more recent polls. Middlebury does not subscribe to their achive database. Some polls online via Lexis-Nexis and Academic Onefile. For older polls see print volumes. Also see the CD-Rom (1935 - 1997).
Note: Some polls only available to subscribers
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Some surveys also available on ICPSR.
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
Japanese Data Archive
The Roper Center's Japanese Data Archive includes: JPOLL the on-line, question-level database of Japanese public opinion; and Japanese Data Library, which is made up of thousands of Japanese survey research studies.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
"Survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. It presently includes 23 countries..."
National Network of State Polls
"The National Network of State Polls (NNSP) is a confederation of organizations that conduct state-level surveys...The NNSP archive of state polls is the largest available collection of state-level data." - website
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Research, news, and public opinion polls covering four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs.
Pew Hispanic Center - Surveys and Data
Access reports, download datasets, search questions, and more.
PollingReport.com
Current public opinion polls by a a variety of polling organizations (many are free but some are only available to subscribers).
Note: Some polls only available to subscribers
Pollster.com
Political races and presidential approval polls.
The Question Bank (UK)
Provides information on major survey topics and access to questionnaires. The top section of the overview pages contains links to the main source for that survey, usually the Office for National Statistics or the National Centre for Social Research.
World Values Survey
Surveys on values and beliefs in 80 societies around the world. Some surveys also available on ICPSR.
Note: Registration required to access survey data
WorldPublicOpinion.org
"An international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues." Sponsored by University of Maryland.
ZACAT
European social science polling data. "A social science data portal allowing you to search for, browse, analyse and download social science survey data, provided by GESIS - Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences"
Additional Policy Resources
Other policy-related resources can be found in these sections of this guide:
Foreign Policy section
Congressional section
Presidential section
International Security & Arms Control
CQ Researcher
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, which follows current and controversial issues of the day. For each issue it includes a summary, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Policy Agendas Project
Joint effort between UT-Austin, Penn State, U Washington funded by the NSF. The project tracks policy changes in the United States. It "collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
Rand Health Compare
Provides information and analysis of health policy proposals and options. See also Kaiser Family Foundation's Side-by-Side Comparison of Major Health Care Reform Proposals.
Translations of the Foreign Press
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 2001 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.
Note: Online, Print, and Microfiche
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use the Index to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. For coverage 1994+ use World News Connection . See also JPRS reports.
Note: UVM has better FBIS holdings than Midd, including coverage of the Mideast
JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service)
After 1994, use World News Connection. Translations of books, reports, and periodical articles. Library receives selected series for Russia, China, East Asia, Japan, Europe, Latin America. See the JPRS handout for details. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.13 Index on microfiche (Transdex) Govt Docs Reference AI3 .T7
Note: Microfiche + print index
Watching America.com
Non-partisan internet site that translates into English foreign news articles about the U.S. Great for getting a non-U.S. perspective on events involving the U.S. and for monitoring world opinion of the U.S. The site uses a combination of machine translation and human editors.
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.
