Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
arXiv
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the archive represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis.
Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Subjects include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Coverage: 1948 - current.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
IoP Electronic Journals (Institute of Physics)
---
NASA Astrophysics Data System References to articles published in scholarly journals, bulletins and conference publications in Astronomy and Physics. This is not a subscription resource, but accessing it from a library page might help to enable linking to full-text articles. To connect to Middlebury's journal collections from NASA ADS: Tips:
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
1893 - 4 years ago. Includes all American Physical Society (APS) journal content.
ProQuest Science Journals
1986-current. References to articles on a wide variety of topics in the sciences including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. The database includes over 660 titles, with more than 540 available in full text.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
Middlebury College Libraries Interlibrary Loan Department
Advice on how to request books and articles from other libraries.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Futurity
News about scientific research at research at 35 universities in the United States and Canada.
ScienceDaily
News culled from journals, magazines and other online sources about scientific research.
Scientific Commons
A searchable database of freely available scientific publications stored in online archives around the world.
Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Subjects include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Coverage: 1948 - current.
Science Accelerator
Searches resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Smaller in scope than, but not necessarily replicated in, Science.gov.
Science.gov
Selective coverage, as far back as 1948. Science.gov is a search engine for government science information from the Departments of Agriculture; Commerce; Defense; Education; Energy; Health and Human Services; and Interior. Also the Environmental Protection Agency, Library of Congress, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the US Government Printing Office. Results are authoritative and selective and may include scientific or technical data, publications, databases, documentation, or other forms of information.
Tip: To limit your search to a subset of the database, click on the "Advanced Search" link
WorldWideScience
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals containing results of scientific research conducted by government agencies.
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
American Women in Science
Armstrong Ref Q141 .B254 1998
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Black Women Scientists in the United States
Armstrong Ref Q141 .W367 1999
Note: Print Resource
Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Documents original and important contributions to physics made by 20th century women. Includes biographical information regarding these women's lives, work, and achievements.
Wilson Current Biography Illustrated replaced by Gale Biography in Context
Gale Biography in Context includes 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .D5
Note: Print Resource
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
Armstrong Ref Q141 .D535 1996
Note: Print Resource
Emilio Segrè Visual Archives
span id="mainContent" style="display: inline;">More than 30,000 historical photographs, slides, lithographs, engravings, and other visual materials, on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century. Includes many scientists in Europe and elsewhere, in other fields related to physics, and in earlier times.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Note: Print Resource
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Biocurious / a biophysics blog
Biocurious is a weblog about biology, physics, open access, and academics in general.
Climate Debate Daily
Essays and research from both sides of the debate over the significance of global climate change.
Abbreviations.com
Directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business.
American Institue of Physics - Scitation
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Citation and Style Guides
Created by Middlebury College librarians. A guide to writing papers & citing sources.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)
Examples online at:
Periodical title abbreviations
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1264657%7ES2">Armstrong Ref PN4832 .P47
Note: Print resource
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
CSE (Council of Science Editors)
Examples online at:
eigenfactor
A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, eigenfactor attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, SCImago attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it. It also tries to measure the scientific productivity of a country using the same factors.
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Free collection of articles about the Earth, its environment, and the interaction between society and the environment. Articles are contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, and other experts who review one another's work.
Eric Weisstein's World of Physics
Compiled by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community, this growing encyclopedia provides explanations for technical subjects with illustrative examples.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
The Physics Hypertextbook A work in progress. Introduces key concepts and addresses conceptual, historical, and mathematical aspects of physics, with links to resources with additional information.
Wolfram Alpha
This is a new search engine that attempts to answer factual questions (eg, what is the density of lead, where was Venus on May 13, how many calories would be burned with 30 minutes of jogging). It is still under development (by the makers of Mathematica); read the About document, watch the video, or check out the search examples for details.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics The contents can be searched online at CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Search results will include section number and section title. We do not have an online subscription, so once you know the section number and title of the information you seek, you'll need to consult the print edition (at Armstrong Ref QD65 .H3).
Also consult Tables Relocated or Removed from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, as information is sometimes removed or rearranged in subsequent editions.
Note: Print resource
WebElements
Web-based periodic table of the elements
The Periodic Table of Videos
A clickable version of the periodic table that opens a short YouTube video about each element.
Science Animations
Links to movies & interactive tutorials for scientific topics.
Scitalks
Links to recorded lectures on scientific topics. Viewers can vote on the quality of the lectures and ratings are visible to all.
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Progress in biophysics and molecular biology In print 1968-2005 at Armstrong Periodicals.
Online 1995-current at ScienceDirect.
Review of scientific instruments In print 1930-current at Armstrong Periodicals
Online 1985-current via EBSCOHost
Reviews of modern physics In print 1930- at Armstrong Microfilm and Armstrong Periodicals
Online 2005-current via EBSCOHost
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
Mathematica for Senior Thesis Projects [Requires Mathematica] A 15-minute tutorial for research paper writers on how to use Mathematica to: Also consult the Mathematica Guide.
