1940 - present. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
ATLA Religion Database
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.
Use the button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
If you want to search a particular Library's online catalog, use LibWeb to find the link.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Is it Protected by Copyright?
Copyright information. American Library Association slide rule tool providing easy links to descriptions of public domain status for works published from before 1923 to the present.
International Directory of Philosophy & Philosophers
The International Directory of Philosophy & Philosophers is an online database containing names and contact information on university philosophy departments and programs, philosophical societies, associations, research centers and institutes, journals, and philosophy publishers around the world.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Browse the index or search for a particular term or phrase. Subject guides are provided for philosophical themes, world philosophies, periods, and world religions.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Open access philosophy encyclopedia maintained and kept up to date by experts in the field.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Middlebury Digital Lecture Archive
Collection of university and topical lecture archives; includes both audio and video.