Recent coverage of 10 black newspapers from 1989 - present, depending on the title. Includes: Afro-American Red Star; Call and Post; Chicago Defender; Houston Post; Michigan Chronicle; Muslim Journal; New Journal and Guide; New York Amsterdam News; Los Angeles Sentinel; Washington Informer.
Brattleboro Reformer
Vermont Newspaper - Online via Lexis Nexis. See MIDCAT record for dates of coverage.
Vermont Newspapers-Burlington Free Press and Rutland Herald
Burlington Free Press Online Current & Archival Selections (page image) Current Newspapers, Level 1 Microfilm #205. Library has 1848 to date. Index for 1848-67: Reference AI21 B8 Index for 1959-83: Microfilm #591 Index for 1984 to 1992: on Microfiche Online Index for 1984 - May 2009
Rutland Herald Online Selections from Current Issue (page image) Additional online access by special password for Midd users. Contact a librarian for details. Current Newspapers, Level 1 1792-1820, 1835-present: Microfilm #27 Online Index, 1984 - present. Index for 1970 - 1983: Microfilm #27 Online Index for 1984 - April 2009
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
InfoTrac Newsstand
Full-text collection, of articles from over 1,000 newspapers. Coverage: 1980 - present. Click on browse to see the list of available newspapers.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Middlebury Campus
"The student newspaper of Middlebury College." Weekly during academic year.Online via the Middlebury Campus website (Oct. 2001 - ) and via LexisNexis (1999 - ).1905-1985 (Digital Collections at Middlebury)
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest)
Includes Chicago Tribune (1985 - present); Los Angeles Times (1985 - present); + National Newspapers Premier (24 newspapers including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, along with a selection of titles from across the U.S.)
Newspaper Direct
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
World News Connection
Full-text translations of world press and broadcasting, 1995 to current.
Aggregates
Newspaper Direct45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Kidon Media Link
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
Arabic
AljazeeraMajor news source in Arabic
Chinese
Links to electronic Chinese Language Newspapers, compiled by MITFrench
Links to electronic French Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.Monde (Online)
Available through LexisNexis Academic 1987-current.
German
Links to electronic German Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.
Italian
Links to electronic Italian Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.
Japanese
Links to electronic Japanese Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.
Portuguese
Links to electronic Portuguese Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.
Onlinenewspaper.com: Brazil Portal site for Brazilian online newspapers
Russian
Links to electronic Russian Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
Russian Central Newspapers
Eastview database of Russian Newspapers, including several English-language newspapers.
Spanish
Links to electronic Spanich Language Newspapers, compiled by MIT.Pais
Major newspaper from Spain, now available online. 1983- current.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Keesing's Record of World Events
News summaries. Full-text access for latest year (archive goes back to 1931, which is searchable, but Midd only has access to partial text). Back issues in print.
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century
Full-text newspapers articles from: Freedom's Journal; Colored American; The North Star; The National Era; Frederick Douglass Paper; Provincial Freeman; and The Christian Recorder.
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
Part of Archive of Americana. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Over 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published from 1836 to 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Select Vermont papers will be digitized by July 2011 with more to come.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Full-text coverage from Nov. 1860 - April 1865 of The Charleston Mercury; The New York Herald; and the Richmond Enquirer. Major events are described in detail in both Union and Confederate papers.
Google News Archive SearchKeyword index of the full text of newspaper content for the past 200 years. Mostly English language newspapers to date, but non-English newspapers are being added. Especially useful is the show timeline link at the upper right of screen, which displays results in chronological order.
To read the full text of the articles--without charge--search Middlebury’s holdings. If Middlebury doesn't own the article, request it through ILL.
Harpers Weekly
Full content images of Harper's Weekly from 1857 - 1912. Browse by date or search using the index or within full-text. See printing instructions before proceeding.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Middlebury Campus
"The student newspaper of Middlebury College." Weekly during academic year.Online via the Middlebury Campus website (Oct. 2001 - ) and via LexisNexis (1999 - ).1905-1985 (Digital Collections at Middlebury)
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728 - 1800
Published in Philadelphia, it is considered the New York Times of the 18th Century. Provides a firsthand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Times of India, 1838-2002
Search and view digital full-text images of the newspaper. Includes Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859); Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861); Times of India (1861-2002). Also searchable with other ProQuest Newspapers.
Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
Check accuracy of holdings information by searching for the following titles in the Journals A-Z
Weekly. 1999-present.
Past issues MF# 882
Bi-weekly. 1955-1958, 1970 - present.
Past issues MF# 678
Daily. Tokyo.
Current month only.
Daily. 2001-present.
Past issues MF# 707
Daily. 1983-present.
Past issues MF# 636
Daily. 1848-present.
Past issues MF# 205
7 times/year. Current 3 months only.
Chicago DefenderDaily. Current month only.
Chicago TribuneDaily. 1985-present.
Past issues MF# 706
Daily, escept weekends & holidays.
Current month only.
1945-2004 MF# 604
Daily, except Sunday. Quebec.
Current month only.
Daily, except Sundays & holidays.
Current month only.
Daily, except Sundays & holidays. Frankfurt.
Current month only.
Daily, except Sunday. Toronto.
Current month only.
Weekly. Manchester, England.
Current six months.
Daily, except Monday. 1986-present.
Past issues MF# 755
Weekly. Moscow, Russia.
Past issues MF# 697
Daily, except Monday. 1982-present.
Past issues MF# 649
Weekly during academic year. 1905-present.
Past issues MF# 200
Daily. 1944-present. Paris.
Past issues MF# 382
Monthly. 1999-present. Paris.
Past issues MF# 862
Daily, except Sundays. Montreal.
Current three months only.
Weekly. 1987-present. Moscow.
Past issues MF# 792
Weekly. Moscow.
Current month only.
Daily. 1851-present.
Past issues MF# 8
Three times/ week. 1991-present. Moscow.
Past issues MF# 754
Daily. Italian
Current month only.
Weekly. Current three months only.
PravdaDaily. 1979-present. Moscow.
Past issues MF# 663
Daily, except Sundays. Beijing.
Current month only.
Daily. 1792-present.
Past issues MF# 27
Weekly. Past three months only.
StampaDaily, except Mondays. Turin, Italy/
Current month only.
Daily, except Sunday. Bombay.
Current month only.
Daily. 1850-present.
Past issues MF# 194
Times Literary Supplement. 1969-present
Past issues MF# 244
Daily, except Saturday, Sundays, & holidays.
Current month only.
Weekly. 1974-present.
Past issues MF# 473
Weekly. Current month only.
Wall Street JournalDaily. 1959-present.
Past issues MF# 447
Daily. Current month only.
1974-2004 MF# 504
Weekly. German.
Current month only.
Check accuracy of holdings information by searching for the following titles in the Journals A-Z list.
| Title | Location |
|---|---|
| Brandon Union 1873-1876 (issues missing) | VT Coll Locked |
| Brattleboro Messenger (Bound with Vermont Chronicle--after the Dec.26, 1828 issue). Brattleboro.
| VT. Coll. |
| Christian Herald (Continued by Christian Messenger). Middlebury.
| VT. Coll. |
| Christian Messenger (Continues Christian Herald). Middlebury.
| MF 540 |
Farmer's Library. Rutland.
| MF 683 |
Green Mountain Patriot. Peacham.
| MF 682 |
Herald of Vermont. Rutland.
| MF 683 |
Middlebury Free Press. Middlebury.
| VT. Coll. |
Middlebury Mercury. Middlebury.
| MF 684 |
National Standard. Middlebury.
| VT. Coll. |
North Star. Danville.
| MF 685 |
Post Boy. Windsor.
| MF 686 |
Religious Reporter (Bound with Vermont Mirror). Middlebury.
| MF537 VT. Coll |
| Vermont Chronicle. Bellows Falls 1826-1828, Windsor 1828-1874, Montpelier 1874-1895, St.Johnsbury 1895-1898. Also see Vermont Chronicle Index (marriage and death notices). 1875-1895 (7 reels)
| MF 816 VT. Coll. Locked (Special Collections) |
Vermont Courier. Rutland.
| MF 687 |
Vermont Intelligencer. Bellows Falls.
| MF 688 |
Vermont Mercury. Rutland
| MF683 |
| Vermont Mirror (Bound with the Religious Reporter). Middlebury.
v.1 #1, Sept.30, 1812-v.4 #5, Sept.11, 1816 | MF 539 VT. Coll. |
Vermont Precursor. Montpelier.
| MF 689 |
Vermont Telegraph. Brandon.
| VT. Coll. |
Baltimore Sun, 1867-1887. MF 627
Birth of America: the Year in Review, 1763-1783. MF 589. 52 newspapers and 60 broadsides from the mid-18th century colonial American press. Indexed by Birth of America. A Chronological Guide & Index to the Contemporary Press, 1763-1783. Last shelf in Microfilm Section.
Boston Evening Transcript, 1830-1896. MF 198.
Boston Recorder, 1817-1849. MF 213.
Charleston Courier, 1845-1873. MF 213.
Chicago Daily, 1852-1881. MF 271.
Early English Newspapers. MF 719. 59 titles from a microfilmed collection of 17th & 18th century colonial American press. Indexed by Early English Newspapers.
Harbottle Dorr Collection of Annotated Massachusetts Newspapers, 1765-1776. MF 203
Illustrated London News, 7/1856 - 1858. Rare Books & Manuscripts-Oversize (Special Collections)
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Provides descriptive and holdings information on international newspapers. Some newspapers may be borrowed on microfilm by submitting requests via Interlibrary Loan.
World News Connection
Full-text translations of world press and broadcasting, 1995 to current.
Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 2001 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.
JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service)
After 1994, use World News Connection. Translations of books, reports, and periodical articles. Library receives selected series for Russia, China, East Asia, Japan, Europe, Latin America. See the JPRS handout for details. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.13 Index on microfiche (Transdex) Govt Docs Reference AI3 .T7
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use the Index to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. For coverage 1994+ use World News Connection . See also JPRS reports.
Search MIDCAT by title for detailed holdings information for the following translations and digests of international publications:
Current Digest of the Soviet Press
All titles, except for Current Digest of the Soviet Press, are on microfiche in the Government Documents section of the library and are English translations of newspapers, journals, and broadcasts of the countries cited. With the exception of the Current Digest of the Soviet Press, they are the work of FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) and JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service)
The Transdex microfiche (GovDoc Ref AI 3. T 7) serve as indexing for all of the JPRS items from 1984-1996. Other indexes are listed in MIDCAT.
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. Especially see Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
CQ Researcher
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, which follows current and controversial issues of the day. For each issue it includes a summary, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
CQ Weekly
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints covers current controversies and hot topics. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Available via Google Images. Browse by decade or topic or search across all images.








