Airiti Library for Chinese journals, dissertation, etc. (trial access through May 31)
Please send feedback to Rebekah Irwin.
Airitibooks Chinese eBooks (trial access through May 31)
Please send feedback to Rebekah Irwin.
American Newspaper Archives (trial access through May 31)
Search American newspapers published from 1690 to the early 20th century. Choose the "Newspaper Titles" tab to search a specific title such as the Evening Star, the Boston Herald, and many others.
American West (trial access May 21 through June 25)
A research database from the British publisher Adam Matthew with original manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and printed sources from the Newberry Library, Chicago. The documents detail frontier life, Native Americans, the growth of urban centres, the environmental impact of westward expansion, and life in the borderlands. Please send comments to Rebekah Irwin (rirwin@middlebury.edu).
Cambridge Histories Online (trial access May 21 through June 19)
Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies. Please send comments to Rebekah Irwin (rirwin@middlebury.edu).
Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920 (trial access May 21-June 25)
An archival research collection from Adam Matthew with documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including the study of families and home life in the South and in the North, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment. Please send comments to Rebekah Irwin (rirwin@middlebury.edu).
GREENR Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (trial through June 14)
![]()
A site for research on sustainability and the environment. News, video, interactive maps, and original documents covering energy systems, healthcare, food and others. Send feedback to Rebekah Irwin.
National Geographic Magazine Archive (trial access through June 15)
The complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to the mid-1990s, including every page and every photograph. Please send comments and National Geographic fanmail to Rebekah Irwin.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO (trial access ends May 31)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a digitization project to provide full-text, searchable content from a wide range of primary sources for the 19th century including monographs, newspapers, manuscripts, photographs, maps, ephemera, and statistical data.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice (trial access May 21 through June 25)
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Please send comments to Rebekah Irwin (rirwin@middlebury.edu).
Statista (trial access until May 31)
A quantitative statistics portal with over 60,000 topics on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more. Search in either German or English.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean (trial access until May 28)
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
BuildingGreen.com (trial access until August 2012)
Provides information on environmentally responsible building design and construction, including the leading monthly newsletter Environmental Building News, and the GreenSpec® Directory with 2000 green building product listings.
CNKI Chinese Databases (trial access through May 31)
Through CNKI (Chinese National Knowledge Infrastructure) we have access to all China Academic Journals (1915 onward), dissertations (1984 onward), theses, proceedings, and newspapers. Send feedback to Rebekah Irwin.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E)
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is a "leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets." Included publications are Environment and Energy Daily (E&E Daily), Greenwire, and Land Letter.
Proquest Digital Microfilm
ProQuest Digital Microfilm provides access to selected local and national microfilmed newspapers with full graphics without the need of traditional microfilm equipment. Currently, our access includes The Burlington Free Press (2010-forward), Boston Globe (Jan 2008-forward) and The New York Times, east coast late edition (Jan 2008-forward).
Shakespeare Online Plays (BBC)
Thirty-seven full-length online videos of Shakespeare plays originally presented by the BBC. Find all of the plays in MIDCAT.
ProQuest Digital National Security Archive DNSA
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Brill's Annual of Afroasiatic Languages and Linguistics
Brill's Annual of Afroasiatic Languages and Linguistics is a new peer-reviewed international forum devoted to the descriptive and theoretical study of Afroasiatic languages. Its target audience comprises specialists in Afroasiatic languages and general linguists.
Archives Unbound (Gale)
Access to 6 digital collections of historical, primary source documents (State Dept. records, etc.). Includes collections covering Afghanistan, China, Japan, Czechoslovakia, Latin America, and the U.S. (Freedom Riders in the South). Click on Browse Collections to see all.
China Academic Journals
CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. It contains more than 7,200 journals starting from 1915. As of September 2007, the full-text article count reached 23.5 million. Middlebury's subscription gives you access to Literature, History and Philosophy journals. Chinese Interface.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It is similar to Web of Science (Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index) but also includes arts and humanites resources.
New Acquisitions List
Lists of the Middlebury College Libraries' recently acquired materials. These lists are arranged by call number (Library of Congress Classification) and are updated monthly.












