Audio Files
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Chronologies
Comprehensive Reference
Digital Sheet Music
Discographies
Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Handbooks and Guides
Journals/Magazines
Musical Terms
Organizations
Primary Sources
Transcripts
TV Stations
Web Sites
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Proquest Arts: Journals & Dissertations
Includes these databases: American Periodicals; British Periodicals; CBCA Complete: The Arts; Ethnic NewsWatch; Index Islamicus; International Index to Music Periodicals; MLA International Bibliography; ProQuest Career and Technical Education: The Arts; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts; ProQuest Research Library: The Arts
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Billboard Online
![]()
News and info about the popular music scene.
BMS Online (Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums)
Provides bibliographic data from 1986 to the present. It includes monographs and articles from journals, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies, critical reports and interdisciplinary writings as well as reviews.
Canadian Music Periodical Index
CMPI is an index of articles from Canadian Periodicals. Texts of articles are not available through this site but can be obtained by interlibrary loan.
Note: citations only
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
The History of Music
by Ernst C. Krohn. Index to selected music periodicals from the late 19th century to 1952. Ref ML113.K77 1958.
Note: Print publication in the Music Library
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
From 1996 to current. Selective coverage and citations only for articles 1874-1995. Includes indexing to magazines such as Billboard, as well as scholarly journals. Now on the ProQuest platfrom.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy
![]()
The Journal of Music History Pedagogy is a bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Keyboard Magazine
News and information for jazz keyboardists.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Music Index
Detroit: Information Coordinators; Warren Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1949- . Index Ref ML118.M84 This is the most comprehensive index for materials about music. It primarily includes citations for periodical articles, articles in conference proceedings, Festschriften, etc. as well as citations for books.
No Depression
![]()
Americana/alt-country/roots music magazine.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Répertoire international de la presse musicale (RIPM)
Indexes to selected 19th century music periodicals. Oversize ML128.P24 R4
Note: Print Resource
Repertoire international de litterature musicale (RILM)
Index and abstracts for music journals and magazines, 1969 - current. Includes abstracts of scholarly articles and books. Especially good for finding resources related to ethnomusicology.
RoJaRo Index
An individually maintained index to find references to articles, discographies, live-/record reviews etc related to a specific artist/group.
Jazz Improvisation Primer
Online textbook by jazz musician Marc Sabatella, with information on all topics related to jazz improvisation.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Sibelius Academy: Music Resources
![]()
Collection of links to journals and websites maintained by the Sibelius Academy in Finland.
Boosey & Hawkes - composers
Video interviews with contemporary composers.
Jazz Online
![]()
A robust website/blogzine geared to both the knowledgeable jazz listener and the novice who wants to know more about jazz.
Online resources for music scholars (Harvard College Library)
![]()
The following guide provides a basis for beginning electronic research on a wide variety of topics in music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice. It collects links to archival collections, online scores and sound recordings; article indexes, discographies and bibliographies; scholarly societies; musical reference works; and a miscellany of useful websites. Each entry includes a brief description of the resource, with tags for subjects and resource types. The guide is necessarily selective, and other important research resources are available only in printed form. As with most arts and humanities topics, it is important to investigate your research options across all formats. Some resources are only available to students at Harvard.
Ovtur
International database of musicals
Aria Database
![]()
A diverse collection of information on over 1000 operatic arias. Designed for singers and non-singers alike, the Database includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles.
Beatles
![]()
Website for the Fab Four.
Center for Black Music Research (Columbia College, Chicago)
![]()
The Center for Black Music Research at Columbia College Chicago was founded in 1983 and is the only organization of its kind. The CBMR documents and preserves information and materials related to the black music experience throughout the world
Classical Music Navigator
font class="Apple-style-span" size="2">This service consists most basically of five compilations of material: (1) a master, alphabetically-arranged, "Composers" list (containing basic data, major works, and influences) of 444 individuals; (2) a "Basic Library" list of works culled from this master list (and re-arranged by musical genre); (3) a "Geographical Roster" in which the names of the 444 composers are listed under the names of the countries with which they were (/are) associated; (4) an alphabetically-arranged "Index of Forms and Styles" listing the names of composers associated with each subject entry; and (5) a "Glossary," which defines terms used here. Each of these lists is scrollable and accessible from the same window; to switch entirely from one list to another to begin a different kind of browsing one need only click on one of the light blue links provided on the top frame.
Classical Net
em>Classical Net features more than 7500 files including more than 5200 CD, SACD, DVD and Book reviews and over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.
European Free Imporvisation Pages
![]()
Begun in January 1995, EFIP was intended to be a comprehensive information resource for all aspects of the type of music known as European free improvisation. From January 2007 it is being updated approximately every two months
Infomine Visual and Performing Arts
![]()
An online library of scholarly internet resources.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Official source for Broadway theatre information, with records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
Librarian Internet Index Music
well organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, liibrarian-selected sites.
Lied and Song Texts Page
Welcome! The Lied and Art Song Texts Page is an archive of texts used in 69,383 Lieder and other classical art songs (Kunstlieder, mélodies, canzoni, романсы, canciones, liederen, canções, sånger, laulua, písně, piosenki, etc.) as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces. The collection currently indexes 41,811 texts and includes 8,648 translations to English, French, Italian, Dutch, German, Spanish, Portuguese, and other languages.
Metropolitan Opera
![]()
Includes historical information about the Metropolitan Opera in NYC, photos and summaries of the plots of major operas
Now What a Time
![]()
Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943. From the American Folklife Center, Library of Congress.
Oddmusic
![]()
Oddmusic is home to unique, odd, ethnic, experimental and unusual musical instruments and resources
One more once
![]()
A centennial celebration of the life and music of Count Basie (Rutgers University Site)
Operabase
Information on Performances, Artists, Managers, Companies and Rentals related to contemporary opera.
Sixteenth Century Ballads
Virtual Instrument Museum
![]()
Online Museum of Musical Instruments host by Wesleyan University, Middletown CT.
William P. Gottlieb: Photographs from the Goldent Age of Jazz
Section of the American Memory Stie, Library of Congress.
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
Maintained and updated by Indiana University.
Concerts on Demand (CBC Radio)
![]()
From CBC Radio more than 850 concerts available as streaming audio, including 99 devoted to Canadian composers, 186 devoted to classical music, 107 to jazz, and 102 to world music
DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
![]()
A database of streaming, CD-quality audio recordings, original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. DRAM's primary focus is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace.
National Jukebox
![]()
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress
Naxos Music Library
![]()
The world´s largest online classical music library. Offers streaming access to more than 52,677 CDs. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels. In addition, users can create playlists.
Naxos Music Library - Jazz
![]()
Offers streaming access to jazz music. In addition, users can create playlists.
Oregon Bach Festival
![]()
Includes "Exploring Bach's Goldbrg Variations" - The site features complete performances on Harpsichord (Matthew Halls) and piano (David Korevaar), synchronized with a 1741 first-edition copy of the score, once owned by Bach's first biographer, Forkel
African American Song
![]()
Merged into American Song package in 2009. 16,000 tracks of great historical recordings from the Library of Congresss historical collection, includes jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, narratives and other genres. (An Alexander Street Press streaming music database.)
Classical Music Library
![]()
Streamed library of classical music allows you to listen online, anytime! (An Alexander Street Press streaming music database.)
Contemporary World Music
![]()
Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and traditional genres such as Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. (An Alexander Street Press streaming music database.)
Jazz Music Library
![]()
The Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online - with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. (An Alexander Street Press streaming music database.)
Judaica Sound Archive
![]()
The Judaica Sound Archives is a major center for the collection, preservation and digitization of Judaica audio recordings. The JSA is located in the Wimberly Library on the Boca Raton campus of Florida Atlantic University.
Music Online Listening
![]()
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)
Public Domain Music
![]()
Royalty- free sheet music - available for purchase. Downloads of public domain recordings.
Smithsonian Global Sound
![]()
Audio collection of the world's musical and aural traditions--including spoken words and natural and human-made sounds--from recordings of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels.
Bach Bibliography
For the community of Bach scholars.
Biographisch-Bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten christlicher Zeitrechnung bis Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts
Robert Eitner. 2. verb. Aufl. Graz: Akademische Druck- u. Verlagsanstalt, 1959-1960. 11 Bd. in 6. Ref ML105.E4 1959.
Note: Print resource
Early American Secular Music and its European Sources, 1589-1839: An Index
This is a series of indexes derived from a data base of musical information compiled from primary sources covering the 250 years of the initial exploration and settlement of the United States. It consists of over 75,000 entries that are sorted by text (titles, first lines, recitatives, chorus and burden), by music incipits (represented in scale degrees, stressed notes and interval sequences), with additional indexes of names and theater works. Now in electronic format, the data can be fully searched, not only for initial strings, but also for internal words and melody sections.
Folk Song Index
An index to folk song anthologies - a collaboration between Oberlin College Libraries and Sing Out!
Music and Dance Reference (Brigham Young University)
![]()
Includes bibliographies for music and dance.
Music in Print (Emusiquest)
This online resource lists citations for printed music. Searching in divided according to instrumentation.
Popular Music
strong>An Annotated Guide to American Popular Songs, Including Introductory Essay, Lyricists and Composers Index, Important Performances Index, Chronological Index, and List of Publishers. Bruce Pollock, ed. and others. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1960- . Ref ML120.U5 S5 This is a listing of popular American sheet music from 1900 to the present. Songs are listed by title and the composers, lyricists, and publication information is given for each.
Note: Print resource
Popular Song Index Patricia Pate Havlice. 4 v. Metuchen, N.J.: The Scarecrow Press, 1975-1989. Ref ML128.S3 H4
This is not a bibliography but an index to the contents of song books published beginning in 1940. The index contains a bibliography of all of the books indexed; entries for the titles, first lines, and the first lines of the chorus; and an index to the names of composers and lyricists. Supplements are issued at irregular intervals to bring the work up to date.
Note: Print resource
Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM)
Bibliographic information and location for music manuscripts created before 1800.
Song Index Minnie Earl Sears and Phyllis Crawford, eds. 2 v. in 1. New York: H.W. Wilson, 1926-1934. Ref ML128.S3 H4
The Sears index also indexes songbooks and covers publications before 1934.
Note: Print resource
Universal handbook of musical literature
The Universal handbook of musical literature. Practical and complete guide to all musical publications ([190-?]) by Franz Pazdirek.
UT Song Index
This database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, located in Knoxville. Use this citation index to determine which anthologies contain the song(s) you need.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians Ref ML105.B16 2001 Baker's is widely regarded as the most authoritative source of biographical information for musicians. Selective lists of works are included for most composers and discographies for popular and jazz musicians. The last volume contains a special index of women composers and musicians, a genre index, and an index by nationality.
Note: Print Resource
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
Focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present (c2004). Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Ref ML105.S612 1997 This work is similar to the above publication except that it covers only twentieth-century musicians in greater depth and detail.
Note: Print Resource
Baroque Music Homepage
Portraitsof major composers, and exxays of the aspects of Baroque.
Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians
Ref ML105.S7
Note: Print Resource
Contemporary Composers Ref ML105.C75 1992 This book contains listings for 1,000 composers who were alive at the time of publication.
Note: Print Resource
Großes Sängerlexikon Ref ML105.K83 1987 This is the most comprehensive listing of biographies of singers, primarily in the classical field, from all time periods and countries
Note: Print Resource
Hector Berlioz Website
![]()
A website devoted to the music, life and works of this composer.
International Encyclopedia of Women Composers
Aaron I. Cohen. 2nd. ed., rev. and enl. 2 vols. New York: Books and Music, 1987. Ref ML105.C7 1987.
Note: Print resource
International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory Ref ML105.I5 1996/97 and Ref. ML105.I58 1996/97 While Baker's includes musicians from all time periods, this work emphasizes biographies of musicians who are currently active throughout the world. Vol. 1. In the Classical and Light Classical Fields. Vol. 2. Popular Music
Note: Print Resource
Open directory project: Music
Collection of links to scholarly journals and other academic websites related to aspects of music.
Renaissance, Baroque, and Classical Era Music: Composers
Links to biographical information
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Colin Larkin, ed. 6 vols. Enfield, England: Guinness Publishing; New York: Stockton Press, 1995. Ref ML102.P66 G84 1995 Virtually all of the entries are for popular music performers or groups and most include a discography There are also a few entries for popular musical topics
Note: Print resource
Who's who in American Music: Classical
Jaques Cattell Press, ed. 2nd. ed. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1985. Ref ML106.U3 W6 1985.
Note: Print resource
Women in Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography
Don L. Hixon and Don A. Hennessee. 2nd. ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993. 2 vols. Ref. ML105.H6 1993 This work "serves as an index to the biographies of women musicians of all periods and countries, as found in a representative selection of significant music dictionaries and encyclopedias. . . . , and other sources not confined to musicians." (p. iv)
Note: Print resource
Renaissance and Baroque Music Chronology
Chronology of early music history
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
![]()
This is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
H. Wiley Hitchcock and Stanley Sadie, eds. 4 vols. New York: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1986. Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986.
Note: Print resource
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Barry Kernfeld, ed. 2 vols. London: Macmillan Press; New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1988.
Ref ML102.J3 N48 1988
Note: Print resource
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Stanley Sadie, ed. 3 vols. London: Macmillan Press; New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984.
Ref ML102.I5 N48 1984
Note: Print resource
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Stanley Sadie, ed. 4 vols. London: Macmillan Press; New York, NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1992.
Ref ML102.O6 N5 1992
This work is also included in the New Grove Dictionary of Music Online in the Oxford Music online.
Note: Print resource
Jazz Discography Tom Lord. West Vancouver, B.C.: Lord Music Reference; Redwood, N.Y.: Cadence Jazz Books, 1992-
Ref ML156.4.J3 L6 1992
This discography includes jazz recordings beginning in 1898 through the present. It is arranged alphabetically by lead performer with each recording listed under the name in chronological order. All of the titles of the pieces and names of the perfomers are listed along with the label name and number. Indexes to the names of performers and to the titles of pieces on albums provide access to this information
Note: Print resource
MusicHound World: The Essential Album Guide Adam McGovern, ed.Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 2000. Ref ML156.4.W63 M87 2000
This recording selection guide covers world music musicians of all types and genres.
Note: Print resource
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology -- Online
Thomas J. Mathiesen and Nicholas M. Butler, eds. Philadelphia: American Musicological Society, 1995-. Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online is intended eventually to include all dissertations recorded in all the printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology, as well as all new records. The pages showing new records will be updated once each month throughout the academic year.
Music Theory Online Dissertation Index
(Society for Music Theory) a component of Music Theory Online, provides peer-reviewed articles in msuic theory.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Diccionario Akal - Grove de la musica
![]()
Translation of Grove dictionary of music
Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana
span class="note">This is the leading comprehensive music encyclopedia in Spanish.
Note: Print resource
Dictionnaire de la musique Ref ML100 .D48 1986 and ML100 .S393 1976 This is the most recent French music encyclopedia. The articles are shorter than other foreign language encyclopedias and generally does not include bibliographic information. It is also divided into terminological and biographical sequences.
Note: Print Resource
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart [MGG] Ref ML100 .M92 1994 MGG is a comprehensive encyclopedia of music in German and contains extensive scholarly articles with selective bibliographies on the whole range of musical topics. The 2nd ed. is still being issued; the 1st ed. was begun in 1949.
Note: Print Resource
Dizionario enciclopedico universale della musica e dei musicisti Ref ML100 .D63 1983 and ML105 .D65 1985 This is the leading comprehensive music encyclopedia in Italian. It is divided into two parts: a dictionary of terms and a biographical dictionary.
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
Describes the full breadth and depth of Canada’s musical culture, including the historical and current aspects of popular, folk, religious, concert and other forms of music.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Also available in print. Colin Larkin. 8 vols. New York: Muze UK, 1998. Ref ML102.P66 G84 1998.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre
Kurt Gänzl. 2 vols. New York, NY: Schirmer Books, 1994. Ref ML102.M88 G3 1994.
Note: Print resource
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Bruno Nettl, Ruth Stone, et al. 10 vols. New York: Garland and Routledge, 1998.
Ref ML100.G16 1998
Each volume of this work is devoted to a different region of the world and contains signed articles on different aspects of the music of that region. A compact disc accompanies each volume illustrating the music.
Note: Print resource
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
![]()
This is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 1st edition
A digitized version of the 1st edition of the Grove Dictionary.
Musicals101.com
![]()
Cyber Encyclopedia of Musicals, Theatre, and Film
Musipedia
![]()
The open music encyclopedia for finding tunes.
Oxford Music Online
The new gateway into music research and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products. Includes: Grove Dictionary of Music; Encyclopedia of Popular Music; Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Note: Includes Grove's Music Online
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
![]()
Explore music, theater and dance at the Library of Congress
General Bibliography for Music Research
by Keith Mixter.3rd ed. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1996. xxii, 200 p. (Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, 75). This book lists general reference materials that are of use to those doing research in music. Many of the items cited here can be found in the Main Library.
Note: Print Resource
Information on Music: A Handbook of Reference Sources in European Languages by Guy A. Marco, et al. Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1984. 3 v.
This work supplements Duckles as a bibliography of music reference materials. It is far more detailed and specialized and includes citations to articles as well as books. It also covers popular and folk music more extensively. Vol. 1: Basic and Universal Sources; vol. 2: The Americas; vol. 3: Europe.
Note: Print resource
Music - A Guide to the Reference Literature by William S. Brockman.Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1987. 254 p. (Reference Sources in the Humanities Series). Ref ML113.B85 1987
A bibliogrpahy patterned on Duckles but less comprehensive in scope and focussing on English language material. It is intended more for the practicing musician or student of music rather than graduate students and scholars.
Note: Print resource
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography by Vincent H. Duckles and Michael Keller. 4th ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 1988. 714 p. Ref ML113.D83 1988 This work, commonly known as Duckles, is a classic in the field of music bibliography. It contains citations to virtually all of the scholarly reference sources in music.
Note: Print resource
Sourcebook for Research in Music by Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. Foster.Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1993. xiii, 236 p.
This selected annotated bibliography serves as an introduction to research in virtually all fields of music. Essays for each discipline in music preceed an essential bibliography for that field.
Note: Print resource
Dictionary of Musical Terms Th. Baker. 22nd ed. New York: G. Schirmer, 1923.
This is a listing of over 9,000 musical terms with short definitions.
Note: Print Resource
Dictionary of Terms in Music: English-German, German- English
Horst Leuchtmann. 4th rev. and enl. ed. München; New York: K.G. Saur, 1992.
Note: Print Resource
Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary Michael C. Thomsett. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1989.
This dictionary is intended for the layman or beginning musician. The definitions are clear and simple to understand.
Note: Print Resource
New Harvard Dictionary of Music Don Michael Randel, ed. Cambridge: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1986. Ref ML100.N485 1986
This work is the standard source for definitions of musical terms. The entries are thorough and authoritative and many include brief bibliographies.
Note: Print Resource
Selected Musical Terms of Non-Western Cultures: A Notebook-Glossary
Walter Kaufmann. Warren, Michigan: Harmonie Park Press, 1990. (Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, no. 65)
Note: Print Resource
Terminorum Musicae Index Septem Linguis Redactus: Polyglottes Woerterbuch der musikalischen Terminologie
Horst Leuchtmann, and others, ed. Budapest: Akadémiai Kiadó; Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1978.
Musical terms in seven languages (English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Russian, and Spanish) are translated and cross listed. Translations of each term appear in all seven languages under the German musical term, while musical terms in the other languages refer to the German term where the complete listing is to be found. There is also a separate section for Russian terms because they appear in the Cyrillic alphabet.
Note: Print Resource
Virginia Tech Multimedia Music glossary
![]()
Created by Virginia Tech Music Department/New Media Center. A multimedia dictionary of music with sound files and musical examples.
Vermont Composers Consortium
![]()
Organization of Vermont Composers
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Lied, Art Song and Choral Texts Page
An archive of texts used in 84,512 Lieder and other classical art songs (Kunstlieder, mélodies, canzoni, романсы, canciones, liederen, canções, sånger, laulua, písně, piosenki, etc.) as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces.
On stage at Curtis
![]()
View significant recitals by students at Curtis institute of Music promoted by WHYY TV.
NetHymnal
The #1 Hymn site on the web, featuring over 10,000 Christian hymns, Author Bios, Composer Biographies, Hymn Histories and Gospel songs from many denominations. You’ll find lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, history, & more.
Texts on Music in English
The database will eventually comprise all relevant manuscript and printed matherials written in English from the Middle Ages through the seventeenth century.
Thesaurus musicarum latinarum
from Indiana University) (TML) is an evolving database of the entire corpus of Latin music theory written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst
Digital edition of this set hosted by the Munich Library.
Early Music Online
A pilot project to put 300 of the earliest surviving volumes of music in the British Museum online.
Edward MacDowell Piano Music (Wellesley College)
This online collection reproduces the sheet music for the majority of MacDowell's character pieces for piano, most of which are not available in print anthologies of his piano music. All these works are in the public domain
International Guitar Research Archives (Califormia State Northridge)
The International Guitar Research Archive (IGRA) is one of the world’s largest collections of guitar sheet music.
Oregon Music Collection
A historical collection of digital sheet music including music by women composers.
Royal Library: digitized scores
Digitized music collection from the Danish National Library.
Themefinder
Have a tune running through your head? Use this database to identify the work.
19th-Century California Sheet Music
font style="font-family: sans-serif;" size="-1">A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music from eleven locations have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.
Ashford Sheet Music Collection
The collection largely contains music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest.
Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music Collection (Mississippi State University)
Collection of ragtime sheet music.
Chopin Early Editions
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center.
Choral Public Domain Library Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites.
You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
Digital Mozart Online
Mozart Neue Ausgabe. The most efficient way to search is by typing a Koechel number in the search box, if you're not sure of the number check the Works list, in Oxford Music Online.
Digital Scores Collection (Harvard University)
Havard University's List of Digital Score and Libretti Collections.
Digital Sheet Music (University of Colorado at Boulder)
strong>The University of Colorado at Boulder Music Library has a large sheet music collection with approximately 150,000 items including examples from the late 18th through the 20th centuries
FreeHandMusic
span id="_ctl0_ContentPlaceHolder_LeftPanel_Intro_Text_Label3">We're proud to provide the most extensive selection of legal Digital Sheet Music and Guitar Tab Downloads available for musicians online.
IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library
International Music Score Library Project! IMSLP attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana
10,000 pages of sheet music from Indiana.
Inventions of Note Sheet Music Collection (MIT)
The Inventions of Note Sheet Music Collection was established in 1997 by the Lewis Music Library at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. This sheet music collection consists of popular songs and piano compositions that portray technologies (old and new alike) as revealed through song texts and/or cover art.
JW Pepper eprint
Purchase and print digital sheet music.
Maine Music Box (University of Maine)
span class="bodytext"> The music chosen for the Maine Music Box ranges from vocal popular music to uniquely valuable violin and piano scores. It consists of five major collections: Vocal Popular Sheet Music Collection, Parlor Salon Collection, Music for Two Pianos, Eight Hands, Maine Music, the Haywood Jones Collection of original turn-of-the-century manuscripts, and an instructional collection concentrating on violin. The entire collection is fully searchable through a simple but powerful set of search interfaces.
Music for the Nation (Library of Congress)
contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years 1870-1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra. The collection documents the attitudes and tastes of a bygone era with music of many varieties and sources, all of it published in the United States.
Music Library Association Sheet Music Collections
A portal site maintained by the Music Library Association.
Music Library digital Scores Collection (University of Washington)
The Music Library Digital Scores Collection contains manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries. The majority of the collection is comprised of 17th and 18th century operas, opera excerpts, and other vocal music.
Music-scores.com
![]()
Classical sheet music site.
Musicnotes.com
Downloadable sheet music site.
Musikhandschriften - Staatsbibliothek Berlin
Links to digital images of musical manuscripts
Mutopia Project
Free sheetmusic for everyone, classical and contemporary
Piobaireachd Manuscripts
Bagpipe music.
Piorbaireachd Society
Digitized images of early bagpipe tune books.
Score on Line
Classical Piano Sheet Music in PDF.
Scores of Juan Crisostomo de Arriaga
A collection of scores by Arriaga, digitized by the Municipal Library of Bilbao.
Sheet Music Archive
font color="Black" face="Arial">Printable sheet music scores for piano, orchestra, choir and many classical instruments.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium is a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music using the Open Archives Initiative:Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI:PMH)
Sheet Music from Canada's Past
Sheet music digitized by the National Library of Canada
Sibelius Music.com
Over 3,000 titles of self published music. Can be viewed by downlaoding Scorch free software from Sibelius.
Sibley Music Library Digital Repository (University of Rochester)
Sibley Library digital repository.
UNT Digital Library
This site provides full-text image files of early music prints and manuscripts, most housed in the UNT Music Library's Rare Book Room, and background information about those works
Note: http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/collections/vrbr/browse/
WIMA: Werner Icking Music Archive
![]()
This archive contains a miscellany of subject-specific musical material - both PDF files of scores, and streamed digital recordings.
Yiddish Sheet Music Collection (Brown University)
Most of the Yiddish sheet music in the collection came from the collection of Menache Vaxer, a Yiddish writer and Hebraist of Russia, and was acquired by the Library in 1968, which included over 850 pieces of piano-vocal or instrumental music, dating from the 1890s through the 1940s. This core collection has been added to by purchase and gift since that time, and the entire Yiddish sheet music collection now totals approximately 2000 items.
Beethoven-Haus Bonn
Digital Archives
Carl Maria von Weber Gesamtausgabe
Weber-Complete-Edition Projekt alone, but is now based on the content of the Digital Edition of Weber's writings, diaries, letters and surrounding documents
Ernesto Nazareth
![]()
Catolog of Ernesto Narzareth - a Brazilian composer. Includes both pdf scores and audio files of his works.
Internet Archive
![]()
This website includes not only a way to search for websites that are no longer visible, but also a number of digital texts and other materials. Search by title or author, and choose a genre from the menu tab on the right.
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
An international inventory of musical sources.
Archive of Popular American Music (UCLA)
Covers the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present, with a particular strength in the 20th century.
Archives of African American Music and Culture (Indiana University)
![]()
Established in 1991, the Archives of African American Music and Culture (AAAMC) is a repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop. The AAAMC also houses extensive materials related to the documentation of black radio.
Bach Digital
A library of digitatized Bach Manuscripts from Staatsbibliothed zu Berlin and Bach Archiv Leipzig.
Center for the history of music theory and literature
Sponsored by Indiana University.
Hoagy Carmichael Collection
![]()
This multimedia web site is part of an 18-month project to catalog, digitize, and preserve every item in Indiana University's extensive collections pertaining to the life and career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael.
Mahler Archives
Online database created abd maintained by The Chicago Mahlerites and Colorado MahlerFest.
Milken Archive of Jewish Music
![]()
Milken Archive is the largest collection of American Jewish music ever assembled—more than 700 recorded works, including over 500 world premier recordings. But the Milken Archive, known primarily up to now for its groundbreaking 50-CD series released on the Naxos label, is far more than a recording project. The Milken Archive’s collection consists of 800 hours of oral histories, 50,000 photographs and historical documents, and thousands of hours of video footage from recording sessions, interviews, and live performances, plus an extensive collection of program notes and essays.
Red Hot Jazz Archives
A history of jazz before 1930.
William Ransom Hogan Archive of New Orleans Jazz
The Hogan Jazz Archive, a department within Tulane University's Special Collections Division is a renowned resource for New Orleans Jazz research. Our collection includes oral histories, recorded music, photographs and film, and sheet music and orchestrations. We also maintain files of manuscripts, clippings, and bibliographic references.
