Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
arXiv
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the archive represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. MathSciNet® contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
LibX Middlebury College Edition
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:
Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.
Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.
Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)
Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.
UlrichsWeb Global Serial Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
The Chaos Hyperbook
This resource is for anyone with an interest in chaos, fractals, or non-linear dynamics, or mathematics in general. "It's a moderately heavy piece of work, requiring a bit of mathematical knowledge, but it is definitely not aimed at mathematicians."
DMOZ Open Directory Calculator Listing
A listing of online calculators, including scientific calculators and graphing calculators.
Geometry in Action
Links to real world applications of ideas from discrete and computational geometry.
The MacTutor History of Mathematics archive
Indexes the history of mathematics. Includes biographies and maps.
MathDL
MathDL is an online resource published by the Mathematical Association of America. The site provides online resources for both teachers and students of mathematics. MathDL is a component of the National STEM Digital Library (NSDL) and is supported by National Science Foundation grant.
Mathworld
MathWorld is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
MathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from thousands of contributors. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers. Its entries are extensively referenced in journals and books spanning all educational levels, including those read by researchers, elementary school students and teachers, engineers, and hobbyists.
Note: Wolfram Mathworld
Multi-Repository Mathematics Collections
From the Multi-Repository Mathematics Collections site you will gain access to three of the most significant mathematics collections digitally available: The Mathematics Collection from Cornell, the Mathematics Collection from Göttingen, and the University of Michigan's Historical Math Collection.
The Prime Page
A source of prime number research, records and resources. The "Guinness book" of prime number records.
Videolectures.net
![]()
Free on-demand educational video lectures from world's leading and prominent scientists, research institutions, EU research projects.
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians
Multi-volume
Ref QA28 B534 1991
Note: Print Resource
Biographies of Women Mathematicians
An on-going project at Agnes Scott College to illustrate the numerous achievements of women in the field of mathematics. Here you can find biographical essays or comments on the women mathematicians profiled on this site, as well as additional resources about women in mathematics.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Go To: The Story of the Math Majors, Bridge Players, Engineers, Chess Wizards, Maverick Scientists and Iconoclasts, the Programmers who Created the Software Revolution
by Steve Lohr
QA76.2.A2 L64 2001
Note: Print Resource
Mathematical People: Profiles and Interviews
QA28.M37 1985
Note: Print Resource
Women of Mathematics: a Biobibliographic Sourcebook
QA28 W66 1987
Note: Print Resource
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Dictionary of Mathematics in Four Languages, English, German, French, Russian
Ref QA5 E35 1982
Note: Print Resource
A Dictionary of Statistical Terms
Ref HA17 K4 1990
Note: Print resource
Mathematics Dictionary
Ref QA5 J33 1992
Note: Print Resource
MIDCAT List - Math Dictionaries
MIDCAT subject search for Mathematics Dictionaries
MIDCAT List - Statistics Dictionaries
MIDCAT subject search for Statistics Dictionaries
MIDCAT List - Math Encyclopedias
MIDCAT subject search for Mathematics Encyclopedias
