Google Scholar Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
Addison County Regional Planning Commission (ACRPC)
ACRPC develops and maintains GIS (Geographic Information Systems) data for the Addison Region. ACRPC provides mapping services to member municipalities and to organizations within the region.
Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Vermont, 1867-1970
Sanborn Maps were produced for over a century. More than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn Maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property.
Sharing Vermont History
Vermont Maps provided by the Middlebury College Library. This archive site provides digital images of Middlebury College's historic Vermont map collection.
Vermont Center for Geographic Information (VCGI)
VCGI is a public non-profit chartered by the State of Vermont to assist the local GIS Community.
Vermont Center for Rural Studies (CRS)
The Center for Rural Studies (CRS) is a nonprofit, fee-for-service research organization that addresses social, economic, and resource-based problems of rural people and communities. Based in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at the University of Vermont, the Center provides consulting, research, and program evaluation services in Vermont, the United States, and abroad. The Center also serves as the U.S. Census Bureau's Vermont State Data Center.
Connecticut GIS
The Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection website provides maps and spatial data for the state of Connecticut. Also, be sure not to miss the link to the Connecticut Library's Map and Geographic Information Center (MAGIC) on the right hand side of the page.
Geographic Resources by State from the University of Arkansas Libraries
Data sources have been organized into two broad classifications: State and Local Aggregations and National Aggregations.
Historic Topographic Maps of New England and New York
Historic topographic maps provided by the UNH Library Government Information Department.
Maine GIS
The Maine office of GIS (MEGIS) provides data and technical support for the Maine GIS community.
Massachusetts GIS
MassGIS is the official website for the Commonwealth's Office of Geographic and Environmental Information.
New Hampshire GIS
New Hampshire Granit is a statewide GIS clearinghouse.
New Jersey GIS
This is the official website of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP), the Office of Information Resources Management (OIRM), and the Bureau of Geographic Information Systems (BGIS).
New York GIS
The New York State GIS Clearinghouse provides GIS datasets and imagery for the state of New York.
Rhode Island GIS
The Rhode Island Geographic Information System (RIGIS) is a consortium of government and private organizations employing computer and communications technology to manage and use a collective database of comprehensive geographically related information. The mission of the RIGIS is to monitor, coordinate, and provide leadership for activities related to the use of GIS technology within Rhode Island, to support initiatives to implement or use the technology, and to manage and provide access to a common database of geographically referenced information.
Union List of Sanborn and Other Fire Insurance Maps from UC Berkeley
The Western Association of Map Libraries publishes the Union List of Sanborn & Other Fire Insurance Maps, which identifies libraries holding collections of these materials primarily for the western states, British Columbia, and Mexico.
Sanborn Historical Fire Insurance Maps from Environmental Data Resources Inc.
Digital copies of Sanborn fire insurance maps can be purchased from the existing company EDR, whose contact information is at the end of the website.
International Geographic Resources
16th - Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
This site offers online viewing of antique maps of Africa collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University. The collection includes Ptolemic maps of North Africa by Ruscelli, French government maps of Algeria, and maps by other notable cartographers such as Mercator, Blaeu, Hondius, Jansson, de L'Isle, Ortelius, Sanson, Forlani, Carey, and Arrowsmith.
Afghanistan Information Management System (AIMS)
The AIMS project is building information management capacity in government and delivers information management services to organisations across Afghanistan. AIMS seeks to build appropriate skills in government to manage information management systems. AIMS seeks to exit from information system activities once capability exists within government to manage line activities with the specific information systems concerned.
The Africa and Central America Map Library
This site maintains administrative boundaries or areas (DRA, SHP, MIF, KMZ) and satellite images (TIF) of countries in Africa and Central America.
Africa Geomaps
GEOMAPS AFRICA, a progressive and well established consultancy provides a professional and comprehensive service in all Geomatics Engineering and Geographic Information Services being one of the largest such Consultancy in East and Central Africa. The Company was founded in February 1983 by Mr. Lenny Kivuti, a professional Geo-Information Specialist, providing a wide range of services for various development projects both at design and implementation stages.
The North Africa Research Group (NARG)
This online database contains images, maps and data. All items are free for use in academia and education.
The Asian Spatial Information and Analysis Network
The Australian Consortium for the Asian Spatial Information and Analysis Network (ACASIAN) is an academic and applied research activity specializing in Geographical Information System (GIS) databases for Asia (China in particular) and the former Soviet Union.
The Atlas of Global Inequality provided by the University of California
The mission of the UC Atlas of Inequality is to provide online teaching resources and tools to enable student exploration of global change. Aspects of 21st Century global integration and inequality present great challenges to university teaching. The UC Atlas of Global Inequality attempts to address these challenges using the Internet, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) technology and new graphical capabilities of digital media to enhance learning in Geography, Sociology, Economics, Health, Technology and Environmental Studies. The Atlas integrates data, maps, and graphs to create an interactive website for accessing and analyzing information addressing global change and inequality.
Australia Geoscience Homepage
Within the portfolio of Resources, Energy and Tourism, Geoscience Australia plays a critical role by producing first-class geoscientific information and knowledge. This can enable the government and the community to make informed decisions about the exploration of resources, the management of the environment, the safety of critical infrastructure and the resultant wellbeing of all Australians.
Atlas of Canada
The Atlas of Canada Web site will provide the most interesting, dynamic and comprehensive collection of maps and related information about Canada available anywhere on the Internet, with effective and intuitive tools for users to access them.
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) Poverty Mapping Project
The Global Poverty Mapping Project seeks to enhance current understanding of the global distribution of poverty and the geographic and biophysical conditions of where the poor live. Additionally, the project aims to assist policy makers, development agencies, and the poor themselves in designing interventions to reduce poverty.
China Data Online (China Data Center)
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with the yearbooks. The separate census data is not included in our subscription.
Country Information provided by the Middlebury College Library
This site contains a number of links, and it may be especially useful for students planning to study abroad.
Digital South Asia Library
Digitized primary and secondary sources including books & journals; statistics; maps; images; bibliographies; and more.
EuroGI
EuroGI is the umbrella organization that represents the European Geographic Information community. It is an independent, non-governmental, and non-profit organization. EuroGI is convinced that good governance, economic and social development, and informed public participation depend upon the availability and widespread use of reliable and spatially-referenced information.
European Environment Agency
Interactive tools enabling you to examine environmental data and to explore maps of Europe.
Gapminder.org
Visualize international statistics changing over time through a dynamic, innovative map and graph interface.
GeoGratis (GIS data for Canada)
GeoGratis is a portal provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which provides geospatial data at no cost via your Web browser.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
GBIF is a global network of data providers that builds biodiversity information infrastructure and promotes the growth of biodiversity information content on the Internet by working with partner initiatives and coordinating activities worldwide.
Global Land Cover Facility
The GLCF is a center for land cover science with a focus on research using remotely sensed satellite data and products to assess land cover change for local to global systems.
Global Soil Map.net We have formed a consortium that aims to make a new digital soil map of the world using state-of-the-art and emerging technologies for soil mapping and predicting soil properties at fine resolution. This new global soil map will be supplemented by interpretation and functionality options that aim to assist better decisions in a range of global issues like food production and hunger eradication, climate change, and environmental degradation. This is an initiative of the Digital Soil Mapping Working Group of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS).
Globalis
An interactive world map that lets you view current UN statistics.
HealthMap Global Disease Alert Map
a href="http://www.healthmap.org/">HealthMap brings together disparate data sources to achieve a unified and comprehensive view of the current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. This freely available Web site integrates outbreak data of varying reliability, ranging from news sources (such as Google News) to curated personal accounts (such as ProMED) to validated official alerts (such as World Health Organization). Through an automated text processing system, the data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location for user-friendly access to the original alert. HealthMap provides a jumping-off point for real-time information on emerging infectious diseases and has particular interest for public health officials and international travelers.
Holy Land Maps
This beautiful collection of ancient maps of the Holy Land is part of a much larger collection that includes ancient maps of the world, early printed atlases and travel books. The entire extraordinary collection was donated by its renowned owner, Eran Laor in 1975 to the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem.
International Hydrological Program
Due to water shortage problems on local, regional and even global levels, the interest in groundwater has increased considerably during the past decades. In order to support the sustainable management of groundwater resources, it is necessary to map, model and quantify the stored volume and average annual replenishment of groundwater, while determining its chemical quality.
Eye on Israel
Interactive web map of Israel.
Israel Social Sciences Data Center (ISDC)
The Israel Social Sciences Data Center (ISDC) was established by the Faculty of Social Sciences at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, with a mission to collect, preserve and distribute data of interest to the academic community. The ISDC is a major infrastructure for quantitative research of Israeli social and economic issues.
Ancient Maps of Jerusalem
The site contains maps of Jerusalem, and basic information concerning the map-makers and the history of cartography in Jerusalem. In the very near future we will index many of the maps and upload aerial photographs and modern maps and paintings of the city.
Jerusalem Maps
Compiled by the Palestinian Academic Society for the Study of International Affairs (PASSIA), Jerusalem.
MAPCO
MAPCO's aim is to provide genealogists, students and historians with free access to high quality scans of rare and beautiful antique maps and views. The site displays a variety of highly collectable 18th and 19th century maps and plans of London and the British Isles, and also 19th century maps and engravings relating to Australia.
Maplecroft Maps
Maplecroft maps is a highly visual, web-based resource which contains detailed country information for over 200 states and maps key social, economic, environmental and political issues and their significance to business and society. This innovative tool is designed to raise awareness amongst corporations, government and non-governmental organizations, academics, students and the general public of how an organization's operations interact with wider society, and how the risks and opportunities generated can be responsibly managed through stakeholder engagement and partnership.
Maps Relating to Islam's Historical Development
From the University of Pennsylvania.
Maps of the Middle East and Islamic History
Created by Barbara R. von Schlegell.
Middle East Map Collection
Maps from the Middle East compiled by the State University System of Florida.
MidEast Web Maps
Provides a drill-down map of the Middle East.
The World Freedom Atlas
The World Freedom Atlas is a geovisualization tool for world statistics. It was designed for social scientists, journalists, NGO/IGO workers, and others who wish to have a better understanding of freedom, democracy, human rights, and good governance. It covers the years 1990-2006.
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Historic maps of the United Kingdom
old-maps.co.uk
United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization Africover Project
The purpose of the Africover Project is to establish a digital georeferenced database on land cover and a geographic referential for the whole of Africa. The Multipurpose Africover Database for the Environmental Resources (MADE) is produced at a 1:200,000 scale (1:100,000 for small countries and specific areas).
World Bank
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the common sense. We are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries—the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). Each institution plays a different but supportive role in our mission of global poverty reduction and the improvement of living standards. The IBRD focuses on middle income and creditworthy poor countries, while IDA focuses on the poorest countries in the world. Together we provide low-interest loans, interest-free credit and grants to developing countries for education, health, infrastructure, communications and many other purposes.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
ArcGIS Desktop Help
Any Arc user will need to consult this site at some point.
ArcGIS Explorer
ArcGIS Explorer is a lightweight desktop client for ArcGIS Server, providing a way for you to publish ArcGIS Server capabilities within your organization, or to anyone on the Web. Using ArcGIS Explorer you can connect to content published by ESRI and others, and fuse it with your own ArcGIS services or local data. You can create your own content or tasks for ArcGIS Explorer by authoring globes and tasks using ArcGIS Desktop, then publishing it to ArcGIS Explorer via ArcGIS Server.
ArcGIS Online
ESRI's answer to Google Earth and World Wind; this program has support for shapefiles.
Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs
The Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs Web Site provides interactive maps, graphs (which are accessible to the blind and visually-impaired), text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.
DataPlace.org
a href="http://www.dataplace.org/index.html">DataPlace aims to be your one-stop source for housing and demographic data about your community, your region, and the nation. The site not only assembles a variety of data sets from multiple sources, but it also provides tools and guides to assist you in analyzing, interpreting, and applying the data so you can make more informed decisions. DataPlace is a KnowledgePlex® initiative sponsored by the Fannie Mae Foundation. KnowledgePlex® is an online resource serving affordable housing and community development professionals.
East View Cartographic
Authoritative Worldwide Maps, Geospatial Data & GIS Services.
Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc. (ESRI)
Official website of the current market leading GIS software producer.
GeoCommons Data Finder
Finder is a browser-based application for finding, organizing and sharing GeoData in common formats (SHP, KML, CSV). Search the world's geodata or upload your own. IMPORTANT: Many layers on this site don't contain sufficient MetaData. Be sure you view descriptive information on the attributes and sources before using these layers.
The Geography Network
The Geography Network is a global network of geographic information users and providers. It provides the infrastructure needed to support the sharing of geographic information among data providers, service providers, and users around the world. Through the Geography Network, you can access many types of geographic content including dynamic maps, downloadable data, and more advanced Web services.
GIS Data Depot
This site features free or low-cost GIS data.
Google Earth
Download a free virtual globe from Google. Also includes Google Sky, with photographic images of the universe.
Google Earth Community
Here you can connect and learn from other Google Earth users all over the world.
Google Earth Graph
Easily create 3D graphs on the surface of the earth.
Google Earth Hacks
Download user created KML files for Google Earth.
Google Mapper provided by ACME Labs
Quick and easy Google Map interface that lets you view topographic maps and different kinds of satellite imagery.
Google Maps
Free interactive maps, driving directions, satellite imagery, and more are all available in your browser.
GPS Visualizer
GPS Visualizer is a free, easy-to-use online utility that creates maps and profiles from GPS data (tracks and waypoints), street addresses, or simple coordinates. Use it to see where you've been, plan where you're going, or visualize geographic data (business locations, scientific observations, events, customers, real estate, geotagged photos, etc.).
Harvard Library
Cartography and GIS links
International Hydrological Program
Due to water shortage problems on local, regional and even global levels, the interest in groundwater has increased considerably during the past decades. In order to support the sustainable management of groundwater resources, it is necessary to map, model and quantify the stored volume and average annual replenishment of groundwater, while determining its chemical quality.
Map History / History of Cartography
Old maps, early maps - non-current maps in general - are the subject of this site. Whether you are an academic, family historian, collector, teacher, parent or surfer - WELCOME! Use this site to find the worthwhile information about old maps, both on the web and in the real world. The site's 100 'pages' offer comment and guidance, and 4,500 annotated links - selected for relevance and quality.
Map Link
Map Link is the largest independent wholesale distributor of maps, atlases, globes, and guidebooks in North America.
Microsoft Live Search Maps
Live Search Maps combines road and aerial as well as unique bird's eye and 3D view maps for select areas.
Middlebury College Department of Geography
This is the official site of the Middlebury College Geography Department.
Minnesota Population Center
The MPC is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources. We provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
NASA World Wind
Download a free virtual globe from NASA.gov and explore their rich scientific data in 3D.
NatureServe
NatureServe is a non-profit conservation organization whose mission is to provide the scientific basis for effective conservation action. NatureServe and its network of natural heritage programs are the leading source for information about rare and endangered species and threatened ecosystems.
Notes and Study Materials for GIS and the Geographer's Craft
Provided by the University of Colorado.
Oddens' Bookmarks
A compilation of thousands of searchable geographic resources.
Omnimap
Omnimap has over 250,000 map items on our web site and is one of the world's largest specialty retailers of paper and digital maps, hiking guides, travel accessories, map pins, globes, flags, and more. Our specialty is international maps and we offer maps for nearly all countries and regions of the world.
Oregon Explorer Natural Resources Digital Library
This is a great resource provided by Oregon State University. Here you can access imagery, land use, and wildfire risk layers for the state of Oregon (and much more).
Spatial Information Clearinghouse
This site is devoted to the understanding of the many facets of spatial data, and how that data can be implemented to increase efficiency and streamline workflow. The Spatial Data Issues section is a primer for the usage and understanding of spatial data. This site is also dedicated to the acquisition of spatial data. A Clearinghouse of metadata is provided to assist in the process of finding international data sources.
TerraServer
TerraServer has assembled the largest variety of aerial photos, satellite images and USGS topo maps on the Internet. You can search and view online imagery and then purchase a digital image download or a high quality print.
US Demographics Visualizer
A quick and easy way to visualize US demographic information. Produced by IDV Solutions.
Wikimapia
Connect wikipedia knowledge with its spatial context.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. Useful for identifying government documents not owned by Middlebury (and thus not in Midcat) but available via interlibrary loan. 1976 - present.
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) National Aeronautical Charting Office (NACO)
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Aeronautical Charting Office (NACO), publishes and distributes United States government civil aeronautical charts and flight information publications. Public sales of these charts and publications are available through a network of Chart Agents conveniently located at or near principal civil airports. NACO is also responsible for the public distribution of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/National Ocean Service (NOAA/NOS) U.S. nautical charts and National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) worldwide aeronautical and hydrographic charts and publications.
Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)
The FGDC is tasked by Executive Order 12906 to develop procedures and assist in the implementation of a distributed discovery mechanism for national digital geospatial data. Geospatial metadata are critical to data discovery and serves as the fuel for both the Geospatial One-Stop data portal and the NSDI Clearinghouse.
FedWorld
FedWorld is a clearinghouse established by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) for the U.S. Department of Commerce. This is the threshold site for all on-line US Government data and information.
Geospatial One Stop
Federal, state, and local geographic data provided by geodata.gov
Government Data Clearinghouse Links
This list of websites is referenced from registered NSDI Clearinghouse Nodes, derived automatically from the Clearinghouse registry service.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.
The Library of Congress American Memory Collection
![]()
American Memory, a constantly growing searchable database of scanned historical documents from the collections of the Library of Congress, includes a wealth of historical maps and photographs. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded as MrSID files, which tend to be quite large. One of the advantages of this site is that it provides full bibliographic information about each map.
The Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room
The Geography and Map Division (G&M) has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world with collections numbering over 5 million maps, 72,000 atlases, 6,000 reference works, over 500 globes and globe gores, and numerous plastic relief models, and a large number of cartographic materials in other formats, including electronic. The online Map Collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are in public domain, meaning those which are not covered by copyright.
National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
The goal of the Gap Analysis Program (GAP) is to keep common species common by identifying those species and plant communities that are not adequately represented in existing conservation lands. Common species are those not currently threatened with extinction. By identifying their habitats, GAP Analysis gives land managers and policy makers the information they need to make better-informed decisions when identifying priority areas for conservation.
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
The National Oceanographic Data Center is a national repository and dissemination facility for global oceanographic data which acquires and preserves a historical record of the Earth's changing environment to be used for operational applications and ocean climate research. NODC is an organization made up of the Oceanographic Data Center, National Coastal Data Development Center, World Data Center for Oceanography, and the NOAA Central Library which are integrated to provide access to the world's most comprehensive sources of marine environmental data and information.
National Park Service Maps
Here you will find maps and data in three formats: Adobe Acrobat PDF (for general browser viewing and printing), Adobe Illustrator (the same maps as the PDFs, but intended for professional print production and not viewable in browsers), and JPEG shaded relief (large high-resolution topography for professional print production).
Mapping the National Parks
The Mapping the National Parks collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks. The collection consists of approximately 200 maps dating from the 17th century to the present, reflecting early mapping of the areas that would become four National Parks, as well as the parks themselves. Production of this collection is being supported by a generous gift from The Rockefeller Foundation.
National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)
NSIDC distributes many data sets that incorporate spatial data. This site describes a sample of products that are directly compatible with and easily imported into GIS software, in formats such as Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI) Shapefiles, ArcInfo coverages and export files, and binary grids.
NationalAtlas.gov
Provides maps of the United States from more than 20 Federal organizations that can be viewed, printed, or downloaded. These maps capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life including history, people, government, environment, agriculture, etc. You can also build your own maps; use interactive maps online; order large classroom maps; download data for GIS applications; and find articles on U.S. geography.
NationalMap.gov
From the U.S. Geological Survey. The National Map provides public access to high-quality, geospatial data and information from multiple partners. It provides access to the National Atlas of the U.S. (make your own maps), topographic maps, the National Map viewer, and more.
Navigational Charts from NOAA
The Navigational Chart is one of the most fundamental tools available to the mariner. A Nautical Chart is a graphic portrayal of the marine environment showing the nature and form of the coast, the general configuration of the sea bottom including water depths, locations of dangers to navigation, locations and characteristics of man-made aids to navigation and other features useful to the mariner.
National Weather Data from NOAA
The National Weather Service produces several data sets that are available in formats available to import into Geographic Information Systems (GIS). This page lists many of these data sets.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Geospatial Data Gateway
The Geospatial Data Gateway provides One Stop Shopping for natural resources or environmental data at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD
U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Soil Data Mart
The NRCS Soil Data Mart provides a single source for official soil survey data and information.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Links to Federal Government Spatial Data Sources
A great list of federal GIS data resources provided by many different government departments and agencies.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Wetlands Inventory
The National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service produces information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation’s wetlands and deepwater habitats.
U.S. Forest Service Geodata Clearinghouse
The FSGeodata Clearinghose is registered as a Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) node on the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) Clearinghouse Network, a consortium of clearinghouse across Federal, State, and local agencies. It is also a registered contributor of metadata information to the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Geospatial One Stop initiative. The FS Geodata Clearinghouse is sponsored by the Forest Service Geospatial Advisory Committee (GAC), and is maintained jointly by the Geospatial Service and Technology Center (GSTC) and the Remote Sensing Applications Center (RSAC).
US Census - Historical Census Browser
Access to the decennial U.S. Census of Population and Housing data from 1790 - 1960, down to the county level. Create custom tables for display (download option not given, but can copy/paste to excel). The available data differ somewhat from decade to decade, according to what was collected in the census and the items chosen for transcription to electronic form. Provided by the University of Virginia using data from ICPSR.
US Census Bureau American FactFinder Data Gateway
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data compiled by the government.
US Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources
Government agencies are an excellent source for GIS data layers; the US Census provides one example of free GIS data.
US Census Bureau TIGER Data
Highly accurate Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing (TIGER) system shapefile data is provided by the Census Bureau
US Census Bureau TIGER Map Server
This mapping engine uses 1998 TIGER/Line® data and 1990 Decennial Census data.
USGS Center for Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
The Center for Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) is a data management, systems development, and research field center for the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) Geography Discipline. Organizationally, the USGS is a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Interior.
USGS GEODE
Originally started as a means of displaying energy data for the USGS, GEODE has recently been adopted as the data delivery system of the Geologic Discipline and continues to provide unbiased scientific and energy related data to the public via a fully functional, web accessed GIS map server.
USGS Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
The U.S. Board on Geographic Names is a Federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government. The Board comprises representatives of Federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands. Sharing its responsibilities with the Secretary of the Interior, the Board promulgates official geographic feature names with locative attributes as well as principles, policies, and procedures governing the use of domestic names, foreign names, Antarctic names, and undersea feature names.
USGS Global Visualization Viewer
Browse USGS satellite images from all over the world.
USGS Landsat Image Mosaic of Antarctica (LIMA)
LIMA brings the coldest continent on Earth alive in greater detail than ever before through this virtually cloudless, seamless, and high resolution satellite view of Antarctica.
USGS Maps, Imagery, and Publications
Presented here is a collection of geospatial data derivatives obtained from many sources including maps, aerial photographs, and remote sensors. Included is a list of public-domain software developed by USGS scientists and partners to support a wide variety of natural science research and mapping activities.
USGS National Geologic Map Database
A catalog of geologic and other geoscience maps.
USGS Seamless Data Distribution Center
The National Map Seamless Server is the ultimate location to explore and retrieve data. U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the EROS Data Center (EDC) are committed to providing access to geospatial data through The National Map. An approach is to provide free downloads of national base layers, as well as other geospatial data layers.
Concise Bibliography of the History of Cartography
A selected, annotated list of works on old maps and their makers, and on their collection, cataloging, care, and use. Compiled in 1997 by Robert W. Karrow, Jr.
U.S. Serial Set Index and Carto-Bibliography of Maps Gov Docs Reference-Main Z1223.Z9 C65
This resource provides subject access to about 50,000 maps, many of which are available in the early U. S. Serial Set volumes and which can also be searched through go/usss
Note: Print Resource
World Mapping Today
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/search/t?SEARCH=world+mapping+today&searchscope=2">Armstrong Ref GA105.3 .P37 2000
Note: Print Resource
Free GIS Data and Imagery GeoBlog
Public domain GIS data and Free GIS data repositories and clearinghouses. Are you still paying commercial data resources for Free, public domain GIS data? If so STOP IT and WAKE UP! For even more free data sources see also www.GISuser.com
Google Earth Blog
This blog is not officially affiliated with Google. Google Earth Blog is dedicated to sharing the best news, interesting sights, technology, and happenings for Google Earth. You will find the most amazing and interesting Google Earth files and network links you can download right off the site. Learn how to take data from your GPS, map it into Google Earth, and share it with friends or the world. Learn when new releases of Google Earth come out, hear about new technologies and features, or check out the links to dozens of other Google Earth web sites.
Google Earth Lessons
GELessons.com - A Free Public Resource - Providing Teachers with the tools needed to enhance their instruction using Google Earth®, the free program that brings the world to the classroom! A Website By and For Teachers.
Google Maps Mania
An unofficial Google Maps blog tracking the websites, mashups and tools being influenced by Google Maps.
Juicy Geography’s Google Earth Blog
A blog dedicated to disseminating knowledge about teaching with Google Earth.
Making Maps: DIY Cartography
Resources and Ideas for Making Maps
National Institute for Technology in Liberal Education (NITLE) GIS Blog
NITLE (pronounced "nightly") is a community-based, non-profit initiative that provides professional development programs, managed information services, and peer networking opportunities to independent, undergraduate-centered institutions of higher education that participate in our Network. We are dedicated to advancing learning through the effective use of digital technologies. Faculty members, librarians, instructional and information technologists, and other staff members from our participating institutions use our offerings to promote innovation in institutional and individual practices to enrich undergraduate education. In all its activities, NITLE leverages the expertise inherent in its participant community and provides a forum and resources to enable the strategic understanding and effective adoption of digital technologies. Find out more.
Planet Geospatial
Planet Geospatial is a window into the world of geospatial technology. The list of RSS feed contributors changes over time.
The AnyGeo Blog - Anything Geospatial
Following The Geospatial Web - A GISuser's blog about GIS, the Geo web2.0, GPS, maps, google maps, google earth & anything geospatial - for GIS / Geospatial users and enthusiasts - from the Founder/Managing Editor of GISuser.com and LBSzone.com
The Map Room
A weblog about maps.
Cartographic Citations: A Style Guide
Note: Print Resource
GIS Data Sources
E-Book G70.212 .D44 2000eb
Note: E-book
Map Librarians' Toolbox
This page has been compiled to organize information on frequently asked questions related to Map Librarianship into one resource. The Alphabetic Keyword Index is organized alphabetically by keyword and links directly to the section on that topic. In some cases, a single item has multiple subject headings.
Map Librarianship
Note: Print Resource
Map Projections - A Working Manual
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1261074">Armstrong Ref GA110 .S577 1987
Note: Print Resource
Maps for America Provides an in-depth explanation of U.S. Geological Survey maps and mapping programs.
Main Ref GA405 T46 1987 c. 1
Armstrong Ref GA405 T46 1987 c. 2
Note: Print Resource
Middlebury College Libraries Geography Guide
A good place to start your research.
Middlebury College Libraries Geology Guide
Another good place to start your research.
Online Map Catalogs in North America and Europe
Learn about some great of the great online library catalogs to easily search for maps all over the world.
University of Colorado
Information for getting started with GIS.
The Vermont Landscape Change Program at UVM
The Landscape Change Program at the University of Vermont is a virtual collection of images that documents 200 years of Vermont's changing face. It includes thousands of views of Vermont as it was and as it is, online and free to everyone.
NASA Outline Maps
Blank maps with borders for countries and regions of the world. Courtesy of Arizona Geographic Alliance.
National Map: Historical Topographic Map Collection
Includes more than 90,000 historical topographic maps from the U. S. Geological Survey, some dating back as far as 1884. Collection will grow to 200,000 maps.
NationalMap.gov
From the U.S. Geological Survey. The National Map provides public access to high-quality, geospatial data and information from multiple partners. It provides access to the National Atlas of the U.S. (make your own maps), topographic maps, the National Map viewer, and more.
World and Regional Maps Collection, 16th to 19th Centuries
More than 170 color digital images from the University of Washington Libraries Special Collections Division's Rare Map Collection.
1895 U.S. Atlas
This website provides images of historic maps for every state in the country ~1895.
Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs
The Cancer Mortality Maps and Graphs Web Site provides interactive maps, graphs (which are accessible to the blind and visually-impaired), text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 17,400 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin)
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (PCL 1.306) is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world.
University of Alabama's Map Library
Explore the UA map collection.
USGS Education Map Catalog
Catalog of educational maps available for purchase.
The Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a scientific and educational society founded in 1904. Its 10,000 members share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography and geographic education. The AAG holds annual meetings and regional events and publishes a newsletter, journals, and books. The association supports and recognizes its members through its grants and awards programs.Learn more about geography and geographers, find out about jobs and careers in geography, and discover the AAG. Whether you are an individual, organization, or corporation, you can join the AAG.
The Association of American State Geologists
The Association of American State Geologists (AASG) represents the State Geologists of the 50 United States and Puerto Rico. Founded in 1908, AASG seeks to advance the science and practical application of geology and related earth sciences in the United States and its territories, commonwealths, and possessions.
GIS Linx
GISlinx.com has the most cutting-edge business resources on the Internet. Whether you're a COO looking to streamline your processes, a job-seeker ready to polish up your resume and take your career to new heights, or a small-business owner aiming to take on a new market, you've come to the right place.
GIScience
GIScience is a pan-global conference series that began in 2000 with over 300 researchers attending. GIScience brings together scientists from academia, industry, and government to explore emerging topics and basic research findings across all sectors of geographic information science. The conference program aims to attract leading GIScience researchers from all fields to reflect the interdisciplinary breadth of the field including cognitive science, computer science, engineering, geography, information science, mathematics, philosophy, psychology, social science, and statistics.
International Map Trade Association (IMTA)
The International Map Trade Association (IMTA) is the foremost worldwide organization of the mapping, geospatial and geographic information industry. IMTA is a voice and resource for individuals, companies, firms and institutions who are engaged directly or indirectly in the production and sale of maps, globes, travel guides, spatial information and related products and materials. Membership in the IMTA can help you to increase your business, network with your peers and further your knowledge and understanding of the mapping industry. Join members from more than 50 countries on six continents, representing over 800 companies and organizations, in shaping, supporting and promoting individual and industry growth!
National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis
The National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis (NCGIA) is an independent research consortium dedicated to basic research and education in geographic information science and its related technologies, including geographic information systems (GIS).
Northeast Arc Users Group
The Northeast Arc Users Group (NEARC) is one of several independent regional organizations that represent users of Geographic Information System (GIS) software developed by Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI) of Redlands, California. Since its inception, one of NEARC's primary functions has been to host an annual fall users conference in one of the Northeast NEARC states.
Batch Geocode Locate multiple addresses internationally - North America & Europe - calculate distances - make your own mashup map - instantly. Take any kind of street address list, for example copied from Excel, and geocode the addresses to get latitude and longitude coordinates using the tool below. The data can then be mapped in your browser, downloaded into Google Earth, saved to a web page, or transferred back into your spreadsheet. You can also use this tool to calculate distances to multiple addresses from a single point, or get quick driving directions to multiple destinations. Mapping multiple locations with your own custom data takes seconds, just follow the 6 steps below to plot your own data on a fully interactive multi-point map. It's fast, easy, and - free to use!
DataPlace.org
a href="http://www.dataplace.org/index.html">DataPlace aims to be your one-stop source for housing and demographic data about your community, your region, and the nation. The site not only assembles a variety of data sets from multiple sources, but it also provides tools and guides to assist you in analyzing, interpreting, and applying the data so you can make more informed decisions. DataPlace is a KnowledgePlex® initiative sponsored by the Fannie Mae Foundation. KnowledgePlex® is an online resource serving affordable housing and community development professionals.
FedStats
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Includes such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
GeoCommons Data Finder
Finder is a browser-based application for finding, organizing and sharing GeoData in common formats (SHP, KML, CSV). Search the world's geodata or upload your own. IMPORTANT: Many layers on this site don't contain sufficient MetaData. Be sure you view descriptive information on the attributes and sources before using these layers.
Middlebury College Libraries Economics Guide: U.S. Statistics
This guide identifies statistics sources available through the Middlebury College Libraries. Also see the International Statistics section.
Minnesota Population Center
The MPC is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources. We provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
PRISM Climatological Data
The data sets available on this web site were created using the PRISM (Parameter-elevation Regressions on Independent Slopes Model) climate mapping system, developed by Dr. Christopher Daly, PRISM Group director. PRISM is a unique knowledge-based system that uses point measurements of precipitation, temperature, and other climatic factors to produce continuous, digital grid estimates of monthly, yearly, and event-based climatic parameters. Continuously updated, this unique analytical tool incorporates point data, a digital elevation model, and expert knowledge of complex climatic extremes, including rain shadows, coastal effects, and temperature inversions. PRISM data sets are recognized world-wide as the highest-quality spatial climate data sets currently available. PRISM is the USDA's official climatological data
United Nations Common Database
Data collected by the United Nations and its associated organizations.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi

