Laws and Cases, U.S.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
LegalTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals plus law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Coverage: 1980 - present.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Bluebook Abbreviations of Law Review Titles
From the University of Washington School of Law Library.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Insurance and Liability Collection
Gale
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
Gateway to U.S. government documents which includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications; the Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, Laws, and Reports; Federal Register and CFR; Budget of the U.S. Government; Supreme Court decisions; Public Papers of the Presidents; and much more.
Bluebook : A Uniform System of Citation
How to cite legal documents and cases.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KF245 .B58
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Online guide for citing legal materials by Peter W. Martin at Cornell University Law School.
Black's Law Dictionary
Provides more than 43,000 definitions, almost 3,000 quotations, and more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Available via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the LAW Tab.
Legal Dictionary
From Lawyers.com. Based on Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law ©2001.
MIDCAT List - Law Encyclopedias
This is a midcat keyword search that searches law and encyclopedias in the subject field.
Also browse KF's in the Main Library Reference Collection .
Note: Print Resources
American Jurisprudence. 2nd.
Multiple-volume legal encyclopedia consisting of over 400 entries. Available via Lexis-Nexis or via Westlaw Campus Research. Choose the Law tab.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KZ4968 .O84 2003 (4 volumes)
Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
Print: Davis Family Library Reference K48 .L44 2002 (4 volumes)
Historic U.S. Court Cases : An Encyclopedia
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KF385.A4 J64 2001 (2 volumes). See Also:
The Justices of the United States Supreme Court : Their Lives and Major Opinions
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KF8744 F75 1995 (5 volumes)
CQ Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court
Covers the Court's entire history; its operations; its power in relation to other branches of government; major decisions affecting the other branches, the states, individual rights and liberties; and biographies of the justices. Appendices provide additional information such as a list of Acts of Congress found by the Court to be unconstitutional. For additional Supreme Court resources, see Main Library Reference KF's.
ProQuest Congressional
Fomerly called Lexis-Nexis Congressional. Index and with some full-text for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. For dates of coverage, see contents coverage chart.
A Century of Lawmaking...U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774 - 1875
Includes early congressional debates (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe, House and Senate Journals; Bills; Resolutions; Statutes at Large, and more. (From Library of Congress American Memory Project).
Thomas Legislative Information
Full-text ('89 to present) and summaries ('73 to present) of Bills; the Congressional Record (back to 1989); Committee reports & info; Roll call votes; House floor now & this week (shows what's currently before congress), and more.
Laws and Cases, International (including Treaties)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
MIDCAT List - Treaties--Collections
This is a Midcat SUBJECT search for Treaties--Collections. See Also these specific resources:
EISIL: Electronic Information System for International Law
Web guide to "the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet." See Also ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law.
Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World
Provided by the Law Library of Congress. Has links to sources of international, country, and U.S. Federal and State legal information. Includes link to GLIN (Global Legal Information Network).
GlobaLex
"An electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law." The guides and articles published are written by scholars. The site is divided into International, Comparative, and Foreign Law Research. Also useful for information on foreign government structures.
UK Legislation
Official UK source. Includes legislation of various UK parliaments (UK, England, Great Britain, Scotland, Wales, N. Ireland) selectively from 1267. UK public general acts 1988- present (complete).
UN International Law Website
Links to relevant sources of information within the UN and International Courts & Tribunals.
UN Research Guide (Columbia University Law Library)
Explanations of the UN organization and publishing system; links to UN sources of information (including official documents). Includes print resources Middlebury may not own (check Midcat for our holdings). See also their other Law Research Guides.
UN Treaty Collection
Find the text and status of international treaties deposited with the UN.
World Legal Information Institute
"Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law."
Yearbook of the United Nations
Online from the United Nations.
Print: Davis Family Library JX1977 .A37 Y4 (current in Reference, older issues in stacks) 1946 - present.
Also see Annual Review of United Nations Affairs (subscription cancelled).
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
U.S. Statutes at Large
The official source for the laws and resolutions as passed by Congress. This constitution.org website has digital copies from 1789 - present. The American Memory online collection covers the first forty-three Congresses, 1789-1875. GPO's Statutes at Large digital site covers 1951 - recent. For most current see Lexis-Nexis. For all other years, see print holdings: Davis Family Library KF50 .U5.
United States Courts
Information and background on federal courts, including organization, rules, judges, statistics, and more!
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Includes a collection of key documents (text only, not a scan of original) arranged by century.
Legal Information Institute (Cornell Law School)
Provides links to a variety of online legal resources including U.S. Supreme Court Collection, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Uniform Commercial Code, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, international law resources, and more.
Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Media
![]()
A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Shepard's Citations (via Lexis-Nexis)
Allows one to check a citation to identify prior and subsequent history and all citing references.
Print Resources:
Shepard's Vermont Citations - Davis Family Library Stacks KFV59 .S54 1994 + supplements
Supreme Court Briefs (via Lexis-Nexis)
(1936 - Current) on Lexis-Nexis.
Also in Print: Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court (1793 - 2007) Davis Family Library Stacks KF101.9 L36
The Supreme Court Database
Search Supreme Court cases by a number of variables and perform online analysis. "Contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms."
The Supreme Court in Conference (1940-1985) : the Private Discussions Behind Nearly 300 Supreme Court Decisions
Print: Davis Family Library Reference KF8742 .S917 2001
Supreme Court of the U.S. Homepage
Learn more about the U.S. Supreme Court and access court documents such as opinions, etc. See scotusblog.com for additional information such as forthcoming cases.
U.S. Constitution (CRS Annotated)
Provides links to Supreme Court opinions, the United States Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations; and footnotes. Also see GPO Access version.
United States Reports (Supreme Court Opinions)
The official version of the Supreme Court reports are in bound volumes, call number KF101 .A2. Online versions can be found on the U.S. Supreme Court website (1991 - present) on Westlaw and Lexis-Nexis and various legal websites. Scanned images of the bound volumes can be found on Justia.com's U.S. Supreme Court Center.

