Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Dissertations
Government Information
Images
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Maps
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
EconLit with Full Text
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.
ERIC Database
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Foreast: The Internet East Asian Library
200+ Free Resources for East Asian Studies.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Shakai Shisoshi Kenyu (1977-1986)
The journal called "Shakai Shisoshi Kenkyu" (ミvzj、), published by Shakai Shisoshi Kenkyu Gakkai, from the 1st issue to 10 th (1977 - 1986) publications can be viewed as a full text. You can click on to the index located at right hand side top corner of the page. Then you choose any archives from the year 1977 to 1986. From 1987 onwards are not yet made available with full text format.
Zasshi kiji sakuin
Article index to journals deposited to the National Diet Library. As of Jan. 2004, 10,000 journals are indexed. All subject fields are covered; humanities and social sciences, technology, science, medicine and pharmacology. It is not available during 4:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. Japan time. Click on NDL-OPAC and then Zasshi Kiji Sakuin no Kensaku/Moshikomi.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
International Geographic Resources
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
JGuide
Stanford University guide to Japan resources.
Yamada Language Guides
Web Portal for numerous language related sites
Governments on the WWW
![]()
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.
Music Online Listening
![]()
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Your Dictionary
![]()
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Britannica’s Global Reference Center
A collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Photos, detailed maps,and other images accompany the text.
Kokushi Daijiten
Major 15 volume Japanese encyclopedia (in Japanese).
Davis Family Library Japanese Collection Reference DS833 .K64 1979
Note: Print Resource
MIDCAT List - Encyclopedias, Japanese
Active catalog search
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection (University of Pittsburgh)
The collection consists of 126 wood block prints. While the earliest print dates to 1760, most of the prints were produced in the 1800s, while others were created in the 1900s. The work of over forty artists is represented in the collection.
High definition image database of old photographs of Japan
Image database hosted by Nagasaki University.
Japan, maps Digitized maps from the Perry-Castañeda Library
Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin
Yomiuri Shinbum
Full-text access to Yomiuri Shinbum (1874 to present) and Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), the largest newspaper in Japan and its English counterpart.
Foreign Language News and Magazines
![]()
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Newspapers24
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news
Newspapers24: Tokyo
![]()
Links to the major Newspapers in Tokyo
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Internation Research Center for Japanese Studies
Portal site for primary sources.
Japanese Text Initiative
A Portal site hosted by the University of Virginia in collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh.
Modern Diet Library
Portal full text site hosted by the National Library of Japan.
Prange Digital Children's Book Collection
This digital archive contains more than 8,000 children's books published in Japan between 1945 and 1949. To date, 1,600 picture books have been digitized and are available here
Radio-Locator
![]()
Find radio stations by country
Japan Statistical Yearbook
Latest online. Additional statistics available from Japan's Statistics Bureau.
See also Japan Monthly Statistics; Historical Statistics of Japan; Statistical Handbook of Japan
Older print volumes available for some years.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HA4621 .J36 1990, 1994 - 1998.
Note: Print and Online Resource
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
International TV
![]()
Portal site to TV stations from around the world
