Archives
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Comprehensive Reference
Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Handbooks and Guides
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Local
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
America: History and Life
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Repertoire international de litterature musicale (RILM)
Index and abstracts for music journals and magazines, 1969 - current. Includes abstracts of scholarly articles and books. Especially good for finding resources related to ethnomusicology.
Atlanta Constitution 1868 - current
Full-text from ProQuest.
Burlington Free Press
Vermont's largest newspaper. Select free recent articles available on their website. Also see current and historical issues (in print, microfilm, and historical online archives) and Indexes (online, print, and microfilm).
Rutland Herald
Online access back to 2000 of the second largest daily newspaper in Vermont (after the Burlington Free Press). Create a free Middlebury account when prompted. The Rutland Herald is the sister paper of the Barre Montpelier Times Argus and is the oldest family-owned newspaper in continuous operation. It is the main source of news geared towards the southern part of the state. Also see current and historical issues (in print, microfilm, and historical online archives) and indexes (online, print, and microfilm).
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Newspapers in Microform. Foreign Countries
Comprehensive listing by country and city of newspapers available in microform. Middlebury does not have historical runs of most international newspapers (except The Times, LeMonde, PAIS, and several Russian ones - check Midcat for holdings). However, you may be able to borrow several months of a newspaper through Interlibrary Loan if it is on microfilm. You can use the index to another newspaper to help identify dates of important events. If you need assistance, ask a librarian.
Note: Located in Interlibrary Loan Office. Ask at the Circulation Desk.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
Henry Sheldon Museum Catalog
Search books, archival and manuscript documents related to Middlebury and Addison County history in the Museum's Research Center.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Describes archival and manuscript collections held by repositories located throughout the United States and its territories.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Vermontiana Guide
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Edited by Mary Beth Norton. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995. Use Index in vol. 2
Print: Davis Family Library Ref D20 A1 A55 1995
Genealogical and Biographical Research; A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications
-
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
Vermont: A Bibliography of its History
F49.A1 V4
Note: Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-present
Also available in print - Main Library Reference JK1010 U5.
Note: Online and Print Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
Dictionary of American History
Also available in print in Ref. E174 .D52 2003 10 volumes
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1993.
REF D9 H87 1993
Note: Print Resource
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Handbook of North American Indians
Print: Davis Family Library E76.2 .H36 17 volumes
Published by the Smithsonian Institution
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (UXL)
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Journals/Magazines of the Period
American Periodicals Series Online - 1740-1940
APS collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection and features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Includes publications such as Vanity Fair, Life, and Ladies Home Journal.
Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include American broadsides, ephemera, historical newspapers and much more.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Part of Archive of Americana. This digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period listed in the bibliography by Charles Evans. Publications include: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Part of Archive of Americana. Early 19th Century books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. It is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1889
Searchable full-text of the famous 19th century womens' magazine, which today is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
Harpers Weekly
Full content images of Harper's Weekly from 1857 - 1912. Browse by date or search using the index or within full-text. See printing instructions before proceeding.
International Index to Periodicals
1920 - 1965. Later title: Social Sciences & Humanities Index (no holdings) then split into the separate Social Sciences Index (no holdings) and Humanities Index (have 1974-1980). Use to locate articles in English-language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. For 1907 - 1919, see the earlier title: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement (same call number). For articles after 1980, see Academic Onefile.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 1920 - 1965
The Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
The 19th Century in Print presents 23 popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines such as Atlantic Monthly, North American Review, Scribner's, Harper's, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and more.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Vermontiana Guide
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Maps were produced for over a century. More than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities marking businesses, residences, bakeries, etc. Sanborn Maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. We've expanded our collection which was previously limited to towns in Vermont to the entire U.S.
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century
Full-text newspapers articles from: Freedom's Journal; Colored American; The North Star; The National Era; Frederick Douglass Paper; Provincial Freeman; and The Christian Recorder.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From Library of Congress and the Nat'l Endowment for the Humanities. "Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present." When complete, coverage will include all 50 U.S. states. Select Vermont newspapers have already been digitized, with more to come.
U. S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present
Can help to identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them.
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
Part of Archive of Americana. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922.
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Full-text coverage from Nov. 1860 - April 1865 of The Charleston Mercury; The New York Herald; and the Richmond Enquirer. Major events are described in detail in both Union and Confederate papers.
The New York Times (Proquest)
Searchable full text back to the first issue (1851 until 5 years ago). The collection includes digital reproductions of text and images, providing access to every page from every available issue.
Note: Digital full-text edition from Proquest
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728 - 1800
Published in Philadelphia, it is considered the New York Times of the 18th Century. Provides a firsthand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Search the digital full-text editions of the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
Wall Street Journal 1889-1992 (ProQuest)
1889-1992 (Full-text from ProQuest) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
The Washington Post 1877-1993 (ProQuest)
1877-1993 (Full-text from ProQuest) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Searchable images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports.
American West
A research database from the British publisher Adam Matthew with original manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and printed sources from the Newberry Library, Chicago. The documents detail frontier life, Native Americans, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion, and life in the borderlands.
ArcCat
ArcCat is a cooperative catalog describing archival and manuscript collections held by various Vermont institutions. It is similar to a library catalog, but instead of telling you about books and periodicals, it lists unpublished material. In this catalog you will find descriptions of the records of governmental entities, individuals, organizations, and businesses. ArcCat does not contain descriptions for everything at the participating repositories.
Archives Unbound (Gale)
Access to 6 digital collections of historical, primary source documents. Includes collections covering Afghanistan, China, Japan, Czechoslovakia, Latin America, and the U.S. (Freedom Riders in the South). Click on "Browse Collections" to see all.
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
An archival research collection from Adam Matthew with documents from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the lives of Americans from 1800 to 1920 including the study of families and home life in the South and in the North, religion, race, education, employment, politics, marriage, sexuality, health, childhood, fashion, travel, and entertainment.
The Library of Congress American Memory Collection
![]()
American Memory, a constantly growing searchable database of scanned historical documents from the collections of the Library of Congress, includes a wealth of historical maps and photographs. Maps can either be viewed on the website or downloaded as MrSID files, which tend to be quite large. One of the advantages of this site is that it provides full bibliographic information about each map.
Lily: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper
The first newspaper for women, the Lily was published in Seneca Falls, New York from 1849 until 1853. The Lily originated as a temperance journal for the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society and was edited by Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894).
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the U.S. and Brazil, 1945–1959
"This collection comprises a portion of the State Department's Central Files relating to U.S.-Brazilian relations between 1945 and 1959."
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the U.S. and Haiti, 1945–1959
"This collection documents the turbulent period that includes 1950 coup by General Paul Magloire, the 1957 elections in which Francois Duvalier (Papa Doc) was first elected on a populist platform and the beginnings of the creation of the Duvalier dynasty (1957-1986)."
Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the U.S. and the Dominican Republic, 1945–1959
"Documents in these files illuminate the Dominican Republic's relations with the U.S. for the period 1945-1959."
Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations between the United States and Japan, 1910-1949
b>Microfilm 798 (9 reels) 1910 - 1929
Microfilm 737 (5 reels) 1930 - 1939
Microfilm 738 (8 reels) 1940 - 1944
Microfilm 739 (19 reels) 1945 - 1949
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include American broadsides, ephemera, historical newspapers and much more.
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Full-text coverage from Nov. 1860 - April 1865 of The Charleston Mercury; The New York Herald; and the Richmond Enquirer. Major events are described in detail in both Union and Confederate papers.
American County Histories
From Accessible Archives. Access histories from Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island. County histories from Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine will be added in the coming months.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Part of Archive of Americana. This digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period listed in the bibliography by Charles Evans. Publications include: advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Part of Archive of Americana. Early 19th Century books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. It is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
Early Americas Digital Archive
"A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820." Click on Archive, then Advanced Search to search by other criteria such as geographic location, time period, genre, or full-text search. The Gateway page links to texts both within the archive and on other internet sites.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1889
Searchable full-text of the famous 19th century womens' magazine, which today is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
Henry Sheldon Museum Catalog
Search books, archival and manuscript documents related to Middlebury and Addison County history in the Museum's Research Center.
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Full-text digital access to these historic documents from the FBI Library.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Historical Census Browser
Includes state and county statistics for 1790 - 1960 for general population, education & literacy, the economy, manufacturing, employment, ethnicity, race, place of birth, agriculture, and slave population. It can also generate maps of selected data.
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States
Based on historical data from the decennial Census of Population
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Millennial Edition - updated and expanded online version with data updated to the 1990's+ (additional 30 years worth and triple the number of data series than its predecessor).
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
Accessible Archives
The Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Full text search capability and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate information in ways never before possible.
American Memory
![]()
Online access to some of the foremost historical treasures of the Library of Congress and other major research archives. Includes books, spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Includes more than 9 million items that document U. S. history and culture.
Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States
Print resource
Gov. Docs. AE1.108:G94
3 volumes
