Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Art Index (Wilson)
Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1984-current. Preceding years covered by Art Index Retrospective.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Humanities Index, 1974-1980
To locate articles in English language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. Earlier title: International Index to Periodicals and before that Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
From 1996 to current. Selective coverage and citations only for articles 1874-1995. Includes indexing to magazines such as Billboard, as well as scholarly journals. Now on the ProQuest platfrom.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
12 Byzantine Rulers
![]()
This history lecture podcast covers the little known Byzantine Empire through the study of twelve of its greatest rulers. Mr. Lars Brownworth presents this series for free through this website and the podcast section of the iTunes store.
Note: Also available at the iTunes store.
British History Online
Digital Library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Creating French Culture: Treasures from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France
The website Creating French Culture traces the history of this relationship from Charlemagne (b. 742?-d. 814) to Charles de Gaulle (b. 1890-d. 1970), through the prism of more than 200 magnificent "treasures" on loan from the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Note: Hosted by the Library of Congress
The Dartmouth Dante Project
The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.
Dresden: Treasures from the Saxon State Library The Library of Congress displays these treasures loaned from Dresden and shown in the United States for the first time in order to provide an insight into the cultural riches of Central Europe -- from the Middle Ages through the nineteenth century.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.
History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
This is a subset of EuroDocs.
Images of Medieval Art and Architecture
A collaboration with the University of Pittsburgh's Digital Research Library. Searchable image databases for Chartres and Vézelay. The Chartres database, which contains over 3,000 images, is coordinated with web pages to allow for a more structured approach to these images. The old version of the Vézelay site is here.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
By Paul Halsall, ORB sources editor. The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is located at the Fordham University Center for Medieval Studies.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The IMHS Project is located at the Fordham University History Department and Center for Medieval Studies. It is a web site with modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music. Paul Halsall is the editor, with Jerome S. Arkenberg as the contributing editor. It was first created in 1996, and is used extensively by teachers as an alternative to textbooks.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web. This project not only provides an organizational structure for electronic resources in medieval studies, but also serves as a model for similar, collaborative projects in other fields of study. The Labyrinth project is open-ended and is designed to grow and change with new developments in technology and in medieval studies.
Medieval Bestiary
Links to over 3,00 pages dealing with aspects of "animals in the Middle Ages," particularly bestiaries.
Medieval Resources
Links to discussion lists, websites, archives, etc. about Medieval studies.
NetSERF
The Internet connection for medieval resources.
The ORB
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers. Authors are held to high standards of accuracy, currency, and relevance to the field of medieval studies. NOTE: ORB'S OCLC number is 35987956.
Note: The On-line Reference Book for Medieval Studies
SUL Medieval Pages
Stanford University Libraries' guide to medieval resources.
WWW Virtual Library - Medieval Europe
This list of on-line references is maintained by The Michigan State University Graduate Student Medieval and Renaissance Consortium, under the sponsorship of ORB, for The World Wide Web Virtual Library History Section. Please send any comments, corrections, or additions to Michael W. George. This section is currently listed alphabetically within subject categories.
Digital atlas of Roman and Medieval civilizations
Makes available the best material for a GIS approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.
Atlas of Medieval Europe
By Donald Matthew. NY: Facts on File, 1983. Oversize CB351 M293
Note: Print Resource
The Atlas of Medieval Man
By Colin Platt. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1980. Oversize CB351 P55 1980
A Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe Part I: Early medieval period (to 13th century) -- Part II: Late medieval period (13th-15th centuries) -- Part III: Early modern period (16th-18th centuries) -- Part IV: Period of nationalism (19th century-1918) -- Part V: Period of ideological conflicts (1918-94)
G2081.S1 H8 1996
Note: Print Resource
Historical Atlas of East Central Europe Covers "the lands between the linguistic frontier of German- and Italian-speaking peoples on the west and the political boundaries of the former Soviet Union on the east ... roughly the territory between 10°E and 35°E longitude ... from about 400 C.E. (common era) to the present"--Introduction
"Treated in depth are the Poles, Czechs, Slovaks, Hungarians, Romanians, Yugoslav peoples, Albanians, Bulgarians, and Greeks" -- Forward
REF DJK4 .M3 1993
Note: Print Resource
Historical Atlas of the World Rand McNally. Skokie, Il : Rand McNally, 1997.
G1030 .R35 199
Note: Print Resource
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Russia Includes bibliographical references, index, and timeline of the Russian state from 6th cent. AD to 1993.
G2111.S1 C4 1995b
Note: Print Resource
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Edited by Mary Beth Norton. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995. Use Index in vol. 2
Print: Davis Family Library Ref D20 A1 A55 1995
Guide to the Sources of Medieval History
By R. C. Van Caenegem. Amsterdam: North Holland Publishing, 1979. D117 C2213.
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to the Study of Medieval History Louis John Paetow. Older (circulating) copies in Main Stacks.
Millwood, NY: Kraus Reprint, 1980.
REF D112 P19 1977
Note: Print Resource
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web. This project not only provides an organizational structure for electronic resources in medieval studies, but also serves as a model for similar, collaborative projects in other fields of study. The Labyrinth project is open-ended and is designed to grow and change with new developments in technology and in medieval studies.
Medieval Narrative Sources: a Chronological Guide
Janos M. Bak. NY: Garland, 1987. Oversize D113 A1 B33 1987
Note: Print Resource
Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide By Crosby, Bishko and Kellogg. NY: Garland, 1983.
REF CB351 A1 C8
Note: Print Resource
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
ADB/NDB: Allgemeine deutsche Biographie, Neue deutsche Biographie
Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
The New Century Cyclopedia of Names International in scope. 3 vols. NY: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1954.
REF CT103 C43
Note: Print Resource
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints By David H. Farmer. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1992. REF BX4659 G7 F37 1992
Note: Print Resource
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Waterford, CT : Yorkin Publications, 1999. REF HQ1115 .W6 (16 volumes, set not yet complete)
Note: Print Resource
Got Medieval
A[n intermittently updated] tonic for the slipshod use of medieval European history in the media and pop culture.
The Medieval Warfare Blog
This is the official blog for De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History. We are an academic association representing scholars interested in warfare during the Middle Ages. Our blog will be used to let readers know about updates to our website (www.deremilitari.org) and any news about medieval history and society.
World History Blog
Miland Brown's blog featuring different aspects of world history. "I cannot cover it all, but sites dealing with any historical issue or topic are possible future posts. Also includes sites which discuss teaching history. I am an academic in North America."
The Timetables of History
NY: Simon & Schuster. REF D11 G78 1991
Note: Print Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
ARTFL
Includes the Main ARTFL Database, French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.
Includes Webster's and Roget's Thesaurus, and well as the French dictionaries and multilingual bibles.
Dictionary of Historic Documents
NY: Facts on File, 1990. REF D9 K63 1990
Dictionary of Medieval Civilization
By Joseph H. Dahmus. NY: Macmillan, 1984. REF CB351 D24 1984
Note: Print Resource
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
13 volumes. Edited by Joseph R. Strayer. NY: Scribner, 1982-89. REF D114 D5 1982
Note: Print Resource
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1993.
REF D9 H87 1993
Note: Print Resource
The New Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History
2 vols. NY: H.Abrams, 1975. REF D21 L276
Note: Print Resource
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints By David H. Farmer. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1992. REF BX4659 G7 F37 1992
Note: Print Resource
The Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The OED online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition and the latest progress towards the next, Third, edition.
Cambridge Ancient History I. Egypt and Babylonia to 1580 B.C.--II. The Egyptian and Hittite Empires to c. 1000 B.C.--III. The Assyrian Empire.--IV. The Persian Empire and the West.--V. Athens, 478-401 2. 3.--VI. Macedon, 401-301 B.C.--VII. The Hellenistic monarchies and the rise of Rome.--VIII. Rome and the Mediterranean, 218-133 B.C.--IX. The Roman Republic, 133-44 B.C.--X. The Augustan Empire, 44 B.C.-A.D. 70.--XI. The imperial peace, A.D. 70-192.--XII. The imperial crisis and recovery, A.D. 193-324. London: Cambridge UP, 1970-.
D57 C252
Note: Print Resource
Cambridge Medieval History
I. The Christian Roman empire and the foundation of the Teutonic kingdoms. 1911. --II. The rise of the Saracens and the foundation of the Western empire. 1913. --III. Germany and the Western empire. 1922. --IV. The eastern Roman empire (717-1453). 1923. --V. Contest of empire and papacy. 1926. --VI. Victory of the papacy. 1929. --VII. Decline of empire and papacy. 1932. --VIII. The close of the middle ages. 1936.
Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1964-67. D117 C3 1964
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Contemporary ________ Culture
London, New York: Routledge, 1998 -
British Culture: REF DA589.4 .E53 1999
French Culture: REF DC33.7 .E53 1998
German Culture: REF DD290.26 .E53 1999
Italian Culture: REF DG450 .E53 2000
Spanish Culture: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999
Japanese Culture: REF DS822.5 .E52 2002
Chinese Culture: REF DS779.23 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance 6 vols. NY: Scribner's, 1999.
REF CB361 .E52 1999
Note: Print Resource
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization
By Aryeh Grabois. NY: Mayflower Books, 1980. REF CB353 G7
Note: Print Resource
Medieval France: An Encyclopedia
Edited by William W. Kibler. NY: Garland, 1995. DC33.2 .M44 1995.
Note: Print Resource
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia
Contains some information on the medieval Netherlands. Edited by John M. Jeep. New York : Garland Pub., 2001. REF DD157 .M43 2001
New Cambridge Modern History
v. 1. The Renaissance, 1493-1520.--v. 2. The Reformation, 1520-1559.--v. 3. The counter-reformation and price revolution, 1559-1610.--v. 4. The decline of Spain and the Thirty Years War, 1609-48/59.--v. 5. The ascendancy of France, 1648-88.--v. 6. The rise of Great Britain and Russia, 1688-1715/25.--v. 7. The old regime, 1713-63.--v. 8. The American and French Revolutions, 1763-93.--v. 9. War and peace in an age of upheaval, 1793-1830.--v. 10. The zenith of European power, 1830-70.--v. 11. Material progress and world-wide problems, 1870-1898.--v. 12. The era of violence, 1898-1945.--v. 13. Companion volume.--v. 14. Atlas.
Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1957-79. D208 N4
Note: Print Resource
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Exploring Ancient World Cultures - Electronic Text Index: Medieval Europe
This is a text index of the Medieval Europe EAWC subsite.
History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
This is a subset of EuroDocs.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The IMHS Project is located at the Fordham University History Department and Center for Medieval Studies. It is a web site with modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music. Paul Halsall is the editor, with Jerome S. Arkenberg as the contributing editor. It was first created in 1996, and is used extensively by teachers as an alternative to textbooks.
Medieval Studies Text, Image and Archival Databases
This index is a subset of the Labyrinth website.
MIDCAT List -- Subject Search "Middle Ages -- Sources"
Middle Ages -- Sources
Note: Active MIDCAT search
NetSERF
The Internet connection for medieval resources.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Book Review Index
Davis Family Library Reference Z1035 .A1 B6 1965 - 2007
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
