Atlases
Audio Files
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Government Information
Guides to Historical Research
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Newspapers
Primary Sources
Resources for Thesis Students
Reviews
Statistics/Data
Transcripts
Translations of the Foreign Press
Video/DVD
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
America: History and Life
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
![]()
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Fuente Académica Premier
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
HAPI- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Indexes journals, book reviews, and documents in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Focuses on Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics in the U.S. Go shortcut = go/hapi.
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American Journals in the sciences and humanities. Includes Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals. 1975 - present.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
Latin American Periodicals Table of Contents (LAPTOC)
(LAPTOC) provides the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. Articles indexed are primarily in Spanish & Portuguese.
Note: Do not use the ILL link in the records. Instead, use Midd ILL to request articles we do not own.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Illustrated London News
A fully digitized run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 thru 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
World Newspaper Archive, Latin America
Formerly: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922. Full-text page images from Newsbank/Readex. Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. More than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.
Granma Archive Index (Cuban Newspaper)
From LANIC. "A searchable Spanish-language list of articles published from 1965 to 1992 in the official daily newspaper of Cuba." Use Interlibrary loan to request text of articles.
Independent Mexico in Newspapers, The 19th Century: Guide to the Microfilm Set
Guide to Mexican newspapers on Microfilm at University of Texas at Austin. Newspapers are mainly in Spanish. Microfilm may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. Page 29 of the PDF explains the symbols used.
Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900 - 1929: Guide to the Microfilm Set
Guide to Mexican newspapers on Microfilm at University of Texas at Austin. Newspapers are mainly in Spanish. Microfilm may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
World-Newspapers.com
Website that provides links to online newspapers (some papers may require a subscription).
Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide. Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Latin American History, A Teaching Atlas
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks G1541.S1 L6 1983
MIDCAT List - Latin American Atlases and Maps This search does an advanced keyword search in midcat for maps for Latin American regions. In addition, for regular atlases, use a SUBJECT search in midcat: [region or country] -- maps For historical atlases showing changes over time or historical themes, use a SUBJECT search in midcat: [region or country] -- historical geography -- maps
Latin American Music Guide
A Middlebury College Library Guide with resources available to Middlebury students, faculty, and staff.
Smithsonian Global Sound
![]()
Audio collection of the world's musical and aural traditions--including spoken words and natural and human-made sounds--from recordings of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels.
Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources
Includes brief essays on topics and extensive annotated bibliography.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1408 .A1 L27 1992
Latin American Studies: A Basic Guide to Sources
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1408 .A1 L324 1990
Latin American Studies: An Annotated Bibliography of Core Works
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks F1408 .A1 C536 2002
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
Finding Additional Bibliographies in Midcat In Midcat, combine your keywords with the term bibliography, for example: cultural revolution and bibliography
India and bibliography
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Foreign Information by Country
University of Colorado at Boulder website with extensive links to country information available free on the web or through subscription databases.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
2nd Ed., Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008, 6 volumes. "Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Older edition in Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .E53 1996
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .C36 1992.
Cambridge History of Latin America
Each volume includes extensive bibliographical essays which guide the reader to primary and secondary sources.
Print: Davis Family Library F1410 .C1834 (11 volumes).
Online: via Cambridge Histories Online.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas
6-volume set searchable as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Covers the U.S., Canada, Latin America, and the Caribbean. MIDCAT List of all volumes
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .E515 2000.
Encyclopedia of Cuba
Davis Family Library Reference F1754 .E53 2003.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Covers each region of the world and the ethnic groups within those regions.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference GN550 .E53 1991 (10 volumes)
Hispanic Culture of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1234 .H794 1996.
Hispanic Culture of South America
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F2237 .H57 1995.
Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1234 .C67 2004.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Covers Pre-Hispanic (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples), colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Subjects include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region. Search just this title or with other sources in Oxford Reference Online.
A Reference Guide to Latin American History
Topics arranged chronologically followed by biograpical entries.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference F1410 .R395 2000.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
PAIS Archive
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. Coverage = 1915 -1976. For 1972 - current switch to PAIS International (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS International).
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Examples of Primary Source Material in Midcat
This wiki lists example resources that can be found searching Midcat, the Middlebury Libraries online catalog. It is not a comprehensive listing of all primary source material. Most of these resources are re-published in books or on microfilm and the links lead to the midcat record for location information. A few online resources are included if they are part of our subscriptions.
Finding Primary Sources in the Library Using Midcat
Handout which shows how to search midcat to find a variety of primary source material - collections of reprinted primary source documents, biographies and autobiographies, letters, correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, speeches, etc.
American State Papers, 1789 - 1838
This digital collection contains legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses and more. It is an essential complement to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, which begins with the 15th U.S. Congress.
Americas Archive
Select digitized documents from Rice University's Americas Collection. Covers the U.S., Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present. "Contains original letters and government publications such as constitutions, decrees, presidential and congressional messages, broadsides and pamphlets..."
Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include American broadsides, ephemera, historical newspapers and much more.
Archive of Early American Images
"A Database of pictures of the colonial Americas...based entirely on primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825."
Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project
"Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire in 1889." Includes Provincial Presidential Reports; Presidential Messages; Almanak Laemmert, Ministerial Reports. Also a Statistical Subject Guide.
Castro Speech Database: Speeches, Interviews, Articles 1959-1996
"Full text of English translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)..."
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
CRL Topic Guide: Latin American Studies
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Latin American resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan. Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.
Cronicas de America (in Spanish)
Madrid: Historia, dates vary. This is a series of reprinted primary sources which are scattered throughout the library collection. To find locations, Search by the series title in Midcat, and then choose individual titles of interest.
Cuban Heritage Collection
"...digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection."
Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages
"Digital images of over 75,000 pages of presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present from Mexico and Argentina." See also Presidential Messages (from the Latin American Government Documents Archive on LANIC).
Digital Library of the Caribbean
"...a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Early Americas Digital Archive
"A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820." Click on Archive, then Advanced Search to search by other criteria such as geographic location, time period, genre, or full-text search. The Gateway page links to texts both within the archive and on other internet sites.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. This collection covers foreign relations interactions between Central America, South America, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic. It includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Foreign Relations of the United States
U.S. State Department - Document record of major policy decisions, 1861-1970s. Only Recent volumes are online (Truman +) For earlier print editions see: Main Library JX233 .A3 and Govt Docs. For editions back to 1861 see the Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
History Theses: Searching for Primary Sources--Some Questions to Ask Yourself
Handout which explains types of primary source documents and where these can be found along with search examples. Find information on individuals vs. events, etc.
In the First Person (personal narratives)
![]()
Index to thousands of oral histories and other personal narratives from archives and repositories all over the world. Provides links to full-text content (text, audio, video) when available free. Also indexes Alexander Street collections (Midd does not subscribe to full-text). Check Worldcat for collections not available for free that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: 19th Century and Colonial Latin America
Links to primary sources and excerpts. Above link is to the 19th Century. See also the Colonial Latin America page.
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. It's the best gateway for finding Latin American resources on the web. See all categories as well as the section for history. Also see the E-Text section (books, documents, papers in Spanish & English) and Latin American Government Documents Archive.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries from Harvard's Widener Library.
Latin American Travelogues
Digital collection from Brown University's Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Choose BROWSE to see resources by country.
New Iberian World: A Documentary History of the Discovery and Settlement of Latin America to the early 17th Century
Print: Davis Family Library Oversize F1411 .N4 1984 (5 volumes)
OAIster.org
OAIster is a union catalog of open access digital resources. It provides access to digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting), and includes records for audio, image, video, digitized text, and dataset content. OAIster does not provide digitized content directly, but includes metadata with links to content hosted elsewhere.
Princeton University Latin American Microfilm Collection
This collection features "works written by, or for, those at the margins of economic, political, and social power"..."balanced by the inclusion of available government and other 'official' agencies publications, (including constitutions), and by studies from research institutes." Library holds selections from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Haiti, Panama, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and the West Indies. Mainly mid-20th Century through 1980's. Microfilm 757-784. See Guide to the Collection in the Microfilm area. Search by the series title in Midcat to see which reels we have.
Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age: Nineteenth and Early Twentieth-Century Perspectives
U.S. Library of Congress digital collection. "The collection comprises 11 monographs scanned from printed copies and 39 political pamphlets and 2 monographs and a journal scanned from microfilm." "All pamphlets are in Spanish. Four of the books are in English and the rest in Spanish."
Records of the Department of State relating to Internal Affairs of Nicaragua, 1910-1944
Davis Family Library Microfilm # 679 and # 680 (106 reels + index).
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Text Archive (Internet Archive)
Check here for materials not in copyright that have been digitized and put on the web.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Contains: "Search the Voyages Database" (by a variety of variables); "Examine Estimates of the Slave Trade"; "Explore the African Names Database" and other special features.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures
From the Library of Congress, it "explores the history of Brazil, interactions between Brazil and the United States from the eighteenth century to the present, and the parallels and contrasts between Brazilian and American culture and history."
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
World Digital Library
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.
World History Sources
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
![]()
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-2000
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA175 M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)
Statistical Abstract of Latin America
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA935 .S8 v.38 2002 (1960 -2001 in stacks, some gaps)
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA751 .A58 2003 ( 1989, 1996 in stacks)
Online 1999 - present.
Library Economics Subject Guide - Statistics/Data International section
Additional international statistics resources can be found in this section of the longer Economics guide.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
Fair Use & Copyright (for Documentary Film and Online Video)
Helpful guide that explains fair use for using video, film clips, etc. and best practices for documentary film makers, among other topics.
e-libro: Spanish full-text ebooks and more
Over 50,000 original texts of Spanish language books, research papers, and doctoral thesis, all available in full-text. View a full list of titles here.
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
Translations of the Foreign Press
Castro Speech Database: Speeches, Interviews, Articles 1959-1996
"Full text of English translations of speeches, interviews, and press conferences by Fidel Castro, based upon the records of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)..."
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use the Index to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. For coverage 1994+ use World News Connection . See also JPRS reports.
Note: UVM has better FBIS holdings than Midd, including coverage of the Mideast
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean
![]()
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean plus academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
