Atlases
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Blogs
Books: other Catalogs
Chronologies
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Handbooks and Guides
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Newspapers
Newspapers--International
Primary Sources
Resources for Thesis Students
Reviews
Statistics/Data
Translations of the Foreign Press
Web Sites
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Summon
Summon is our newest and most effective tool for searching many resources at once, so we’ve put it right at the center of the library home page (look for the “Summon” tab in the “Library Quick Search” box). Summon searches most library resources including MIDCAT, full-text newspapers and journals, and most of our library databases. Read more about it in the LIS blog. Watch a video tutorial.
ABSEES
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Also includes Eurasian Studies. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. The majority of content originally published in the US and Canada. 1939 - present. See also the European version EBSEES.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
EBSEES
The European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies covers publications from countries other than the US and Canada. Articles written in the language of the publishing country or of the area studied. 1991 to 2007. Also in Print (1976-95) DJK9 A1 E9
Note: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Humanities Index, 1974-1980
To locate articles in English language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. Earlier title: International Index to Periodicals and before that Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Tables of contents and author index to 43 major British periodicals.
Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .W4
Note: Print Resource
Newspapers in Microform. Foreign Countries
Comprehensive listing by country and city of newspapers available in microform. Middlebury does not have historical runs of most international newspapers (except The Times, LeMonde, PAIS, and several Russian ones - check Midcat for holdings). However, you may be able to borrow several months of a newspaper through Interlibrary Loan if it is on microfilm. You can use the index to another newspaper to help identify dates of important events. If you need assistance, ask a librarian.
Note: Located in Interlibrary Loan Office. Ask at the Circulation Desk.
Russian Central Newspapers
Database of 65 Russian language newspapers, with various starting dates. The longest run is for Izvestiia, which goes back to 1980.
The Times of London
This international newspaper may be relevant to many other country topics, or its indexing may help you find subjects in other papers.
Full-Text:
Current Newspapers section and Microfilm #194
Online: Lexis Nexis 1985 - present. Choose from the Sources option.
Online: Times of London Digital Archive 1785 - 1985.
Indexing:
Print Index, 1850 - current. (several months delay) REF AI 21 .T35.
Online Index (from the Times website). 1985 - present. Note: searching is free. Online articles are not. You can get the articles for free from our microfilm or Lexis-Nexis.
European Library
Online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe.
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
If you want to search a particular Library's online catalog, use LibWeb to find the link.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
17th-19th Century British Religious, Political and Legal Tracts
This collection brings together key documents that tell the story of British religious, legal, and political history from the 1600s to the 1800s.
BBC History
![]()
Covers from ancient times to current news.
European History Primary Sources
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.
12 Byzantine Rulers
![]()
This history lecture podcast covers the little known Byzantine Empire through the study of twelve of its greatest rulers. Mr. Lars Brownworth presents this series for free through this website and the podcast section of the iTunes store.
Note: Also available at the iTunes store.
L' album des sciences sociales (WWW Virtual Library-French History)
This is a meta-site with categorized links to other sites.
Note: French language site
British History Online
Digital Library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
The British Studies Web
The British Studies Web aims to provide scholarly information pertaining to the British Isles (the nations of England, the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales).
Center for Thomas More Studies
Includes full-text online versions of works by and about Thomas More.
Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
Gallica
![]()
Digital books, periodicals, and other documents from the Bibliotheque Nationale
Historische Geschichtswerke des 16. bis 18. Jahrunderts
Digital versions of 17th and 18th century German periodicals and sources.
Holocaust Encyclopedia
Part of the larger United States Holocaust Memorial Museum site.
Holocaust History Project
![]()
Free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust
Holocaust Links
Compiled by the Holocaust History Project
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The IMHS Project is located at the Fordham University History Department and Center for Medieval Studies. It is a web site with modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music. Paul Halsall is the editor, with Jerome S. Arkenberg as the contributing editor. It was first created in 1996, and is used extensively by teachers as an alternative to textbooks.
The Jewish History Resource Center
The Jewish History Resource Center is a project of the Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History. Over 6000 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History were visited by our team and have been found to be of value to those interested in Jewish History.
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures
From Library of Congress. Events of the war are detailed alongside society news and advertisements touting products of the day, creating a pictorial record of both the war effort and life at home. The collection includes an illustrated history of World War I selected from newspaper rotogravure sections that graphically documents the people, places, and events important to the war.
Tudor England
Includes detailed biographies of all the Tudor monarchs, their royal relatives and other notable citizens of the era.
Tudor History
Includes biographies, chronologies, electronic texts, maps, images, and a bibliography
The Victorian Web
The Victorian Web is the WWW translation of Brown University's Context 61, which served as a resource for courses in Victorian literature. These materials ultimately derive from Context 32, the Intermedia web that provided contextual information for English 32, "Survey of English literature from 1700 to the Present." Context 32 was begun in Spring 1987 as part of Brown University's Institute for Research in Information and Scholarship (IRIS) Intermedia project, which IBM, Apple Computers, the Annenberg/CPB Project, and other sources funded.
Virtual Library Geschichte - Frühe Neuzeit (WWW Virtual Library - Early Modern History)
Die Sektion Frühe Neuzeit / Early Modern History der Virtual Library Geschichte (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) und des internationalen History Network (University of Kansas) erschließt und bewertet Internet-Ressourcen nach qualitativen Kriterien. Der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt liegt auf wissenschaftlichen Datenquellen. Zeitlich werden Online-Angebote vom ausgehenden 15. Jahrhundert bis zum Ende des Alten Reichs und der Napoleonischen Ära verzeichnet. Gleichzeitig finden thematisch und zeitlich korrespondierende Institutionen und Organisationen sowie methodische und hilfswissenschaftliche Ressourcen Eingang in den Katalog.
Note: German and English language site
WESSWEB
![]()
Web pages selected and maintained by the Western European Studies Section of ACRL.
WWW Virtual Library - Russian History
The Russian History Index is made of different pages which are always under construction. You will find Virtual Resources produced in Russia together with world-wide Resources if they are dealing with the history of Russia.
WWW Virtual Library - Spanish History
The Spanish History Index provides Internet resources on the History of Spain, whether from Spain and abroad, in Spanish, English and other languages.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A Concise Historical Atlas of Eastern Europe Part I: Early medieval period (to 13th century) -- Part II: Late medieval period (13th-15th centuries) -- Part III: Early modern period (16th-18th centuries) -- Part IV: Period of nationalism (19th century-1918) -- Part V: Period of ideological conflicts (1918-94)
G2081.S1 H8 1996
Note: Print Resource
Historical Atlas of East Central Europe Covers "the lands between the linguistic frontier of German- and Italian-speaking peoples on the west and the political boundaries of the former Soviet Union on the east ... roughly the territory between 10°E and 35°E longitude ... from about 400 C.E. (common era) to the present"--Introduction
"Treated in depth are the Poles, Czechs, Slovaks, Hungarians, Romanians, Yugoslav peoples, Albanians, Bulgarians, and Greeks" -- Forward
REF DJK4 .M3 1993
Note: Print Resource
Historical Atlas of the World Rand McNally. Skokie, Il : Rand McNally, 1997.
G1030 .R35 199
Note: Print Resource
The Historical Atlas of World War I By Anthony Livesey; H.P. Willmott, consultant. 1st ed.
New York: H. Holt, 1994.
G1037 .L55 1994
Note: Print Resource
Muir's Historical Atlas: Ancient and Classical By Ramsay Muir. London: Philip, 1976, c1963.
REF G1033 M85 1976
Note: Print resource
Past Worlds: the Times Atlas of Archaeology Edited by Chris Scarre. Maplewood, NJ: Hammond, 1988.
REF G1046 E15 P3 1988
Note: Print Resource
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Russia Includes bibliographical references, index, and timeline of the Russian state from 6th cent. AD to 1993.
G2111.S1 C4 1995b
Note: Print Resource
Shepherd's Historical Atlas By William R. Shepherd.
NY: Barnes & Noble, 1976.
REF G1030 S4 1976
Note: Print Resource
The Times Atlas of World History Edited by Geoffrey Barraclough.
Maplewood, NJ: Hammond, 1993.
REF G1030 T54 1993
Note: Print Resource
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Edited by Mary Beth Norton. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995. Use Index in vol. 2
Print: Davis Family Library Ref D20 A1 A55 1995
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
ADB/NDB: Allgemeine deutsche Biographie, Neue deutsche Biographie
Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Dictionnaire de Biographie Française French. Paris: Letouzey et An'e, 1933-current.
Incomplete. Some entries include bibliographies for further reading.
REF CT143 D5
Note: Print Resource
The New Century Cyclopedia of Names International in scope. 3 vols. NY: Appleton-Century-Crofts, 1954.
REF CT103 C43
Note: Print Resource
Rulers and Governments of the World
3 vols. NY: Bowker, 1978. REF D11 R84
Note: Print Resource
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Wilson Current Biography Illustrated replaced by Gale Biography in Context
Gale Biography in Context includes 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia
Waterford, CT : Yorkin Publications, 1999. REF HQ1115 .W6 (16 volumes, set not yet complete)
Note: Print Resource
Cliopatria
George Mason University's History News Network gropu blog.
Europe Endless: Modes of Life and Other Places
Blog focuses on European history, particularly France and Germany.
Sean's Russia Blog
Blog written by a graduate student in the History Department at UCLA whose dissertation is on the Young Communist League in NEP Russia. Interests include youth movements and culture, social and cultural theory, Marxism, social history, left and right wing radicalism, and political movements. He also writes a monthly column in the eXile.
The Victorian Peeper
span>Nineteenth-century Britain through the looking glass.
World History Blog
Miland Brown's blog featuring different aspects of world history. "I cannot cover it all, but sites dealing with any historical issue or topic are possible future posts. Also includes sites which discuss teaching history. I am an academic in North America."
The Oxford Companion to World War II Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
REF D740 .O94 1995
Note: Print Resource
The Timetables of History
NY: Simon & Schuster. REF D11 G78 1991
Note: Print Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Dictionary of Historic Documents
NY: Facts on File, 1990. REF D9 K63 1990
The Hutchinson Dictionary of World History Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1993.
REF D9 H87 1993
Note: Print Resource
Larousse Dictionary of World History
NY: Larousse, 1994. REF D9 L33 1994
The New Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History
2 vols. NY: H.Abrams, 1975. REF D21 L276
Note: Print Resource
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Oxford Art Online
Contains Grove Art Online, today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) - the landmark reference work containing more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online articles and bibliographies are regularly updated. It also includes images and provides access to The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world - Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman - from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Cambridge Ancient History I. Egypt and Babylonia to 1580 B.C.--II. The Egyptian and Hittite Empires to c. 1000 B.C.--III. The Assyrian Empire.--IV. The Persian Empire and the West.--V. Athens, 478-401 2. 3.--VI. Macedon, 401-301 B.C.--VII. The Hellenistic monarchies and the rise of Rome.--VIII. Rome and the Mediterranean, 218-133 B.C.--IX. The Roman Republic, 133-44 B.C.--X. The Augustan Empire, 44 B.C.-A.D. 70.--XI. The imperial peace, A.D. 70-192.--XII. The imperial crisis and recovery, A.D. 193-324. London: Cambridge UP, 1970-.
D57 C252
Note: Print Resource
Cambridge Medieval History
I. The Christian Roman empire and the foundation of the Teutonic kingdoms. 1911. --II. The rise of the Saracens and the foundation of the Western empire. 1913. --III. Germany and the Western empire. 1922. --IV. The eastern Roman empire (717-1453). 1923. --V. Contest of empire and papacy. 1926. --VI. Victory of the papacy. 1929. --VII. Decline of empire and papacy. 1932. --VIII. The close of the middle ages. 1936.
Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1964-67. D117 C3 1964
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Contemporary ________ Culture
London, New York: Routledge, 1998 -
British Culture: REF DA589.4 .E53 1999
French Culture: REF DC33.7 .E53 1998
German Culture: REF DD290.26 .E53 1999
Italian Culture: REF DG450 .E53 2000
Spanish Culture: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999
Japanese Culture: REF DS822.5 .E52 2002
Chinese Culture: REF DS779.23 .E53 2005
The Encyclopedia of Historic Places
2 vols. NY: Facts on File, 1984. REF D9 C29 1984
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment 4 vols. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
REF B802 .E53 2003
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance 6 vols. NY: Scribner's, 1999.
REF CB361 .E52 1999
Note: Print Resource
The Longman Companion to the First World War: Europe, 1914 - 1918
New York: Longman, 2001. REF D521 .N48 2001
Note: Print Resource
New Cambridge Modern History
v. 1. The Renaissance, 1493-1520.--v. 2. The Reformation, 1520-1559.--v. 3. The counter-reformation and price revolution, 1559-1610.--v. 4. The decline of Spain and the Thirty Years War, 1609-48/59.--v. 5. The ascendancy of France, 1648-88.--v. 6. The rise of Great Britain and Russia, 1688-1715/25.--v. 7. The old regime, 1713-63.--v. 8. The American and French Revolutions, 1763-93.--v. 9. War and peace in an age of upheaval, 1793-1830.--v. 10. The zenith of European power, 1830-70.--v. 11. Material progress and world-wide problems, 1870-1898.--v. 12. The era of violence, 1898-1945.--v. 13. Companion volume.--v. 14. Atlas.
Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1957-79. D208 N4
Note: Print Resource
The Oxford Companion to World War II Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
REF D740 .O94 1995
Note: Print Resource
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
Rulers and Governments of the World
3 vols. NY: Bowker, 1978. REF D11 R84
Note: Print Resource
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Journals/Magazines of the Period
British Periodicals (parts 1 and 2)
Now on the ProQuest platform, this database offers facsimile page images and searchable full-text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Part One consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Part Two consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
International Index to Periodicals
1920 - 1965. Later title: Social Sciences & Humanities Index (no holdings) then split into the separate Social Sciences Index (no holdings) and Humanities Index (have 1974-1980). Use to locate articles in English-language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. For 1907 - 1919, see the earlier title: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement (same call number). For articles after 1980, see Academic Onefile.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 1920 - 1965
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
(Special Collections) Ref AI3.P732 1971
Note: Print Resource. Some volumes in Main Reference area.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers: Women's Magazine Digital Collection (University of Connecticut)
This rich collection reflects the complex history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Tables of contents and author index to 43 major British periodicals.
Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .W4
Note: Print Resource
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Early English Newspapers Microfilm #719 Bibliography and Guide located on the bookshelves in the Microfilm Area of the Main Library. Middlebury does not have all reels. Check the Microfilm drawers for holdings. "Contains numerous and rare series of newspapers, from 1603 to 1818, amounting in whole to 700 volumes". A very few of these newspapers are available electronically. Follow the main link of this record to the MIDCAT list; look at individual records for access.
Note: Active MIDCAT search.
Illustrated London News
A fully digitized run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 thru 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
Le Monde
Microfilm #382 and Current Newspapers section.
Print Index. 1944 - . REF AI 21 .M58.
Online access info.
Note: Print Resource
Le Monde (Online)
Available through LexisNexis Academic 1987-current.
The New York Times (Proquest)
Searchable full text back to the first issue (1851 until 5 years ago). The collection includes digital reproductions of text and images, providing access to every page from every available issue.
Note: Digital full-text edition from Proquest
Newspapers in Microform. Foreign Countries
Comprehensive listing by country and city of newspapers available in microform. Middlebury does not have historical runs of most international newspapers (except The Times, LeMonde, PAIS, and several Russian ones - check Midcat for holdings). However, you may be able to borrow several months of a newspaper through Interlibrary Loan if it is on microfilm. You can use the index to another newspaper to help identify dates of important events. If you need assistance, ask a librarian.
Note: Located in Interlibrary Loan Office. Ask at the Circulation Desk.
El Pais
![]()
Major newspaper from Spain, now available online. 1983- current.
The Times of London
This international newspaper may be relevant to many other country topics, or its indexing may help you find subjects in other papers.
Full-Text:
Current Newspapers section and Microfilm #194
Online: Lexis Nexis 1985 - present. Choose from the Sources option.
Online: Times of London Digital Archive 1785 - 1985.
Indexing:
Print Index, 1850 - current. (several months delay) REF AI 21 .T35.
Online Index (from the Times website). 1985 - present. Note: searching is free. Online articles are not. You can get the articles for free from our microfilm or Lexis-Nexis.
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
EUfeeds
![]()
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
NewsLink - European Newspapers
Index to various online editions to European newspapers on the NewsLink.org website.
British Cabinet Papers, 1915 - 1981
Search by keyword or browse by theme.
British House of Commons Debates
Includes archived Commons Hansard debates back to 1803 under Historic Hansard link. To search the House of Commons and the House of Lords together, see Hansard 1803-2005.
British Official Documents
Includes Command Papers and House of Commons Papers published since May 2005.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files
Digital full-text access to these historic documents. "This collection documents the creation of the Third Republic, which was established after World War II."
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
MIDCAT List - British Parliament Publications
A number of parliamentary documents and papers can be found in some of our online archive subscriptions and books listed in midcat. Click on title to run a Midcat author search: Great Britain. Parliament.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
EuroDocs
These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible. These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.
Note: eurodocs.lib.byu.edu
French Revolutionary Pamphlets
Collection includes papers from wealthy planters,
Gallica
![]()
Digital books, periodicals, and other documents from the Bibliotheque Nationale
Historische Geschichtswerke des 16. bis 18. Jahrunderts
Digital versions of 17th and 18th century German periodicals and sources.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The IMHS Project is located at the Fordham University History Department and Center for Medieval Studies. It is a web site with modern, medieval and ancient primary source documents, maps, secondary sources, bibliographies, images and music. Paul Halsall is the editor, with Jerome S. Arkenberg as the contributing editor. It was first created in 1996, and is used extensively by teachers as an alternative to textbooks.
Newspaper Pictorials: World War I Rotogravures
From Library of Congress. Events of the war are detailed alongside society news and advertisements touting products of the day, creating a pictorial record of both the war effort and life at home. The collection includes an illustrated history of World War I selected from newspaper rotogravure sections that graphically documents the people, places, and events important to the war.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. All links have been tested for correctness and appropriateness. Links added or revised within the last thirty days or so are marked {New}.
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
World History Sources
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
The World War I Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
WWW-VL History: Electronic Texts
Includes links specific languages and repositories.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Book Review Index
Davis Family Library Reference Z1035 .A1 B6 1965 - 2007
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Abstract of British Historical Statistics
(2 vol).
Davis Family Library Ref HA1135 .M5
Davis Family Library Ref HA1135 .M52 1971
The Dictionary of Statistics Common and unusual 19th century statistics, worldwide. 4th ed., rev. to Nov., 1898. London, G. Routledge, 1899;
REF HA17 M8 1969
Economic Survey of Europe
United Nations. Annual. 1953,1956,1958 - present.
Davis Family Library Ref HC240 .A1 U477 (current edition). Previous editions in stacks.
Gapminder.org
Visualize international statistics changing over time through a dynamic, innovative map and graph interface.
International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000
Main Library Reference HA1107 M5 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)
Note: Print Resource
State, Economy and Society in Western Europe, 1815-1975: a Data Handbook in Two Volumes v.1. The growth of mass democracies and welfare states -- v.2 The growth of industrial societies and capitalist economies.
REF JN94 A58 F55 1983
Statistics Sources
An index to statistics on a worldwide basis, mainly 20th century.
Davis Family Library Ref HA36 A1 S84
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
Translations of the Foreign Press
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 2001 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.
Note: Online, Print, and Microfiche
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
