Atlases
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Guides to Historical Research
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Maps
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Newspapers
Primary Sources
Reviews
Statistics/Data
Transcripts
Translations of the Foreign Press
Video/DVD
Web Sites
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
China Academic Journals (CAJ) and Century Journals Project
The China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database is a cross-searchable full-text database of the China Academic Journal (CAJ) containing more than 7,200 journals paired with the Century Journals Project, an archive of the most important academic journals published in China, dating back to 1887. Middlebury's current collections focus on economics, education and social sciences, literature, philosophy, history, and politics, military affairs, and law. A Chinese search is also available.
GeNii (Japanese Databases)
The NACSIS-IR and ELS Japanese databases have changed/migrated to a new search platform called GeNii. Middlebury does NOT have a subscription, thus our users can only view free bibliographic content (mostly in Japanese).
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Zasshi kiji sakuin
Article index to journals deposited to the National Diet Library. As of Jan. 2004, 10,000 journals are indexed. All subject fields are covered; humanities and social sciences, technology, science, medicine and pharmacology. It is not available during 4:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m. Japan time. Click on NDL-OPAC and then Zasshi Kiji Sakuin no Kensaku/Moshikomi.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Yomiuri Shinbum
Full-text access to Yomiuri Shinbum (1874 to present) and Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), the largest newspaper in Japan and its English counterpart.
South China Morning Post
The largest English language newspaper in Hong Kong. Its readership is roughly 60 per cent Chinese and 40 per cent non-Chinese.
Shen Bao, Shanghai News 1872–1949
Shen Bao, formerly transliterated as Shun Pao or Shen-pao (申報). Full-text access (1872–1949) covering politics, military, economy, culture and society from the later Qing Dynasty to the Republican Period.
Times of India 1838-2002 (ProQuest)
Search and view digital full-text images of the newspaper. Includes Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859); Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861); Times of India (1861-2002). Also searchable with other ProQuest Newspapers.
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Illustrated London News
A fully digitized run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 thru 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.
World-Newspapers.com
Website that provides links to online newspapers (some papers may require a subscription).
Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide. Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
MIDCAT Asian Studies Subject Headings Sample subject headings for East Asian or Asian Studies (use a subject search):
east asia
(China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan, and Macao)
japan--history
asia, southeastern
(Burma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, Philippines)
korea, south--politics and government
south asia
(India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan, Sri Lanka and the Maldives)
asia, central
(inland parts of Asia)
art, chinese
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
Universal Digital Library
Access to over 1 million digitized books. Most titles are in Chinese or English, but other languages are included, such as Arabic.
Western Books on Asia. Japan
Comprehensive collection of printed materials written in Western languages about Japan from the 16th century to 1941.
Microfiche: Davis Family Library - microfiche cabinet (8000 sheets of microfiche in 8 units + Guide).
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
Asia for Educators
From Columbia University. Educational resources for teachers and students including museum resources, modules on Song and Qing Dynasty, China & Europe, the Mongols in World History, and more.
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
LInks to other websites focused on Asia. Useful for finding region or country-specific sites.
East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
A good starting point for browsing internet resources for the countries in this region.
Internet East Asia History Sourcebook
Provides direct links to online historical documents as well as secondary sources and other websites.
Portal to Asian Internet Resources (PAIR)
"More than 6000 professionally selected, cataloged and annotated online resources."
Silk Road Online
A GIS cultural map project from University of Michigan's China Data Center. Under "Slideshow" there's a map with the silk route illustrated. Click on each location to bring up cultural images of Chinese Buddhist monuments.
South China Sea (WWW Virtual Library)
Edited by Professor David Rosenberg, Middlebury College. Focuses on South China Sea regional development, environment, and security issues. See Also the South China Sea Research Guide.
Tibetan and Himalayan Digital Library
Provides a variety of resources for studying these areas.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Asia Yearbook
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HC411 .F19 (1962 - 2002)
Former title: Far Eastern Economic Review Yearbook.
China Facts and Figures Annual
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4636 C48 (1978 - 2005)
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
MIDCAT List - Asian Atlases and Maps This search does an advanced keyword search in midcat for maps for Asia regions. SUBJECT: Southeast Asia -- maps
For additional atlases or maps try these examples [substitute your country or region]:
SUBJECT: Asia, Central --maps
SUBJECT : China -- historical geography -- maps (this finds historical atlases)
KEYWORD: India and atlas
MIDCAT List - China Atlases This search does a KEYWORD search in midcat for China and atlas.
MIDCAT List - Japan Atlases
This search does a KEYWORD search in midcat for Japan and atlas.
Catalogue of Pre-1900 printed books on Japan in European languages
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks Z3306 .K65 1998 (3 volumes + index)
Chinese History: A Manual
Comprehensive guide to identifying primary and secondary Chinese sources.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DS735 .W695 2000 (1998 edition in stacks)
Finding Additional Bibliographies in Midcat In Midcat, combine your keywords with the term bibliography, for example: cultural revolution and bibliography
India and bibliography
Japan and the Japanese : A Bibliographic Guide to Reference Sources
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS835.A1 M35 1996.
Japanese History and Culture From Ancient to Modern Times: Seven Basic Bibliographies
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS835 A1 D6 1995.
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Foreign Information by Country
University of Colorado at Boulder website with extensive links to country information available free on the web or through subscription databases.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
China: A Cultural and Historical Dictionary
Davis Family Library Reference DS733 .C585 1998
Note: Print Resource
MIDCAT List - Japanese History Dictionaries
This is a midcat keyword search for japan and history and dictionaries.
Note: Print Resources
MIDCAT List - Korean History Dictionaries
This is a midcat keyword search for korea and history and dictionaries.
Note: Print Resources
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DS31 E53 1998 (4 volumes)
Additional asian encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DS4 .E53 2002 (6 volumes)
Additional asian encyclopedias
MIDCAT List - China -- Encyclopedias
Midcat subject search: China -- Encyclopedias
Cambridge History of China
Each volume includes extensive bibliographical essays which guide the reader to primary and secondary sources.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS735 C3145 (14 volumes)
Online: via Cambridge Histories Online.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DS805 C36 1993
Additional encyclopedias on Japan are in the DS805's or do a MIDCAT subject search Japan -- Encyclopedias.
Cambridge History of Japan
Each volume includes extensive bibliographical essays which guide the reader to primary and secondary sources.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS835 .C36 1988 (6 volumes)
Online: via Cambridge Histories Online.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DS805.K633 1983 (9 volumes + supplement). Also in stacks.
Kokushi Daijiten
Major 15 volume Japanese encyclopedia (in Japanese).
Davis Family Library Japanese Collection Reference DS833 .K64 1979
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of India Online
4-volume set searchable as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of India
32 volumes. Published in New Delhi, India.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS405 .E53 1992 (circulating)
Encyclopedia of Contemporary ________ Culture
London, New York: Routledge, 1998 -
British Culture: REF DA589.4 .E53 1999
French Culture: REF DC33.7 .E53 1998
German Culture: REF DD290.26 .E53 1999
Italian Culture: REF DG450 .E53 2000
Spanish Culture: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999
Japanese Culture: REF DS822.5 .E52 2002
Chinese Culture: REF DS779.23 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Covers each region of the world and the ethnic groups within those regions.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference GN550 .E53 1991 (10 volumes)
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Digital South Asia Library
Digitized primary and secondary sources including books & journals; statistics; maps; images; bibliographies; and more.
Fine Prints: Japanese, pre-1915
A Library of Congress digital collection. Click on new search , then browse by subject or search for terms.
A Visual Sourcebook for Chinese Civilization
Educational materials for introducing students to Chinese civilization. Includes a timeline. Provides units on: geography, archaeology, religion, calligraphy, military technology, painting, homes, gardens, clothing, and the graphic arts.
Digital South Asia Library
Digitized primary and secondary sources including books & journals; statistics; maps; images; bibliographies; and more.
Examples of Primary Source Material in Midcat
This wiki lists example resources that can be found searching Midcat, the Middlebury Libraries online catalog. It is not a comprehensive listing of all primary source material. Most of these resources are re-published in books or on microfilm and the links lead to the midcat record for location information. A few online resources are included if they are part of our subscriptions.
Finding Primary Sources in the Library Using Midcat
Handout which shows how to search midcat to find a variety of primary source material - collections of reprinted primary source documents, biographies and autobiographies, letters, correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, speeches, etc.
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats."
Afghanistan Materials in English from the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection
English-language titles digitized from the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Library, which houses the largest collection of Afghan materials in the country.
Birth of the Constitution of Japan
"Major events and important documents involved in the framing and enactment of Japan's Constitution". From the National Diet Library.
Britain in India, 1765 - 1905
Contains reprinted primary source materials, such as reports, correspondence, acts, regulations, and more.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS463 .B73 2006 (6 volumes).
Catalogue of Pre-1900 printed books on Japan in European languages
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks Z3306 .K65 1998 (3 volumes + index)
The China Collection
National Intelligence estimates from the CIA/National Intelligence Council. Also available in print/CD-Rom entitled: Tracking the Dragon: National Intelligence Estimates on China during the era of Mao, 1948-1976. Main Library DS777.55 .U563 2004 and Gov Dcos PREX 3.21:C 44
Note: Online and Print/CD-Rom Resource
China Documents Annual
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS703 .C44 (1989 - 2000).
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "Provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period."
Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China
"Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954."
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
CRL Topic guides: Asian Studies
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan. Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Topic Guides include China; Japan; Korea; South Asian Studies; Southeast Asian Studies among other topics. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
"The Densho Digital Archive holds over 300 visual histories (600 hours of recorded video interviews) and over 9,500 historic photos, documents, and newspapers." Also includes readings and lesson plans.
Note: Free registration required
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Digital South Asia Library
Digitized primary and secondary sources including books & journals; statistics; maps; images; bibliographies; and more.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Final Reports of the United States Strategic Bombing Survey, 1945- 1947
Reproduction of the 325 final reports and appendixes of the United States Strategic Bombing Survey (USSBS) on the impact of strategic bombing on Germany and Japan and the effect of the atom bomb, naval bombardment, and use of Allied photographic intelligence in the Pacific war theater. Main Library Microfilm # 799 (25 rolls + index).
Note: On Microfilm
Fine Prints: Japanese, pre-1915
A Library of Congress digital collection. Click on new search , then browse by subject or search for terms.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Three archival collections drawn from the British Foreign Office files on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. The archival documents are divided into the following sections: (1) Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964, (2) South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-1971 (3) Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan, 1972-1980.
Foreign Relations of the United States
U.S. State Department - Document record of major policy decisions, 1861-1970s. Only Recent volumes are online (Truman +) For earlier print editions see: Main Library JX233 .A3 and Govt Docs. For editions back to 1861 see the Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
Foundations of Pakistan: All-India Muslim League documents, 1906-1947
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS448 .P38 (2 volumes).
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
History of the Nonmilitary Activities of the Occupation of Japan
Tokyo: Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP), 1952?
Microfilm: Davis Family Library Microfilm #740 (13 reels).
In the First Person (personal narratives)
![]()
Index to thousands of oral histories and other personal narratives from archives and repositories all over the world. Provides links to full-text content (text, audio, video) when available free. Also indexes Alexander Street collections (Midd does not subscribe to full-text). Check Worldcat for collections not available for free that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Intercepted Japanese messages (Operation MAGIC)
Microfilm: Davis Family Library Microfilm #795 (15 rolls + index).
Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan
Full-text digital access to these historic documents. "This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats." Continues Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan, 1910-1929 (on microfilm).
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
"This site provides access to official documents—dating from the Meiji era through 1945". Website is in English, but currently most documents are originals (in Japanese).
Note: Mainly in Japanese
Japanese Camp Papers
Also called Japanese Relocation Camp and Assembly Center Newspapers. Contains variety of newsletters and newspapers published from 1942 to 1945 in camps in various locations by interned Japanese Americans.
Microfilm: Davis Family Library Microfilm #797.
Japanese Data Archive
The Roper Center's Japanese Data Archive includes: JPOLL the on-line, question-level database of Japanese public opinion; and Japanese Data Library, which is made up of thousands of Japanese survey research studies.
Japanese-American Internment Camp Collections
A selection of online images and documents from collections at the University of the Pacific.
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
"Personal and official documents, transcribed oral histories, and works of art bring viewers inside the Japanese-American internment experience during World War II."
MIDCAT List - British Parliament Publications
A number of parliamentary documents and papers can be found in some of our online archive subscriptions and books listed in midcat. Click on title to run a Midcat author search: Great Britain. Parliament.
The Meiji Japan Through Contemporary Sources
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS881.9 .M394 (3 volumes).
Notes from the Japanese Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1858-1906
Also referred to as: Nineteenth-century diplomatic records relating to Japan : notes from the Japanese Legation, 1858-1906.
Microfilm: Davis Family Library Microfilm # 800 (9 reels + index).
OAIster.org
OAIster is a union catalog of open access digital resources. It provides access to digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting), and includes records for audio, image, video, digitized text, and dataset content. OAIster does not provide digitized content directly, but includes metadata with links to content hosted elsewhere.
Omar Pound Collection
A new collection in the library's Special Collections. Do a search in midcat with local call number search = (pound). The collection includes materials relating to islamica, the Middle East, and colonial Indian history (especially the 1857 mutiny). See full description on the Special Collections Rare Books & Manuscripts page.
Note: Print resource in Special Collections
Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of Japan
Microfilm: Davis Family Library Microfilm #867 (18 rolls, portion of 1910-1929 coverage).
Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political Relations between the United States and Japan, 1910-1949
b>Microfilm 798 (9 reels) 1910 - 1929
Microfilm 737 (5 reels) 1930 - 1939
Microfilm 738 (8 reels) 1940 - 1944
Microfilm 739 (19 reels) 1945 - 1949
Reports of General MacArthur
v. 1. The campaigns of MacArthur in the Pacific -- v. 1, suppl. MacArthur in Japan: The occupation, military phase -- v. 2, pts. 1-2. Japanese operations in the southwest Pacific Area compiled from Japanese Demobilization Bureau records.
Print: Davis Family Library Government Documents D 114.2:M 11
Print: Davis Family Library Oversize Stacks D735 .S8
The Search for Modern China: A Documentary Collection
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks DS753.86 .S33 1999.
Ten Years in Japan : a Contemporary Record Drawn from the Diaries and Private and Official Papers of Joseph C. Grew, United States Ambassador to Japan, 1932-1942
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks E183.8 .J3 G72.
Text Archive (Internet Archive)
Check here for materials not in copyright that have been digitized and put on the web.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
The Vietnam Collection
National Intelligence estimates from the CIA/National Intelligence Council. Also available in print/CD-Rom entitled: Estimative Products on Vietnam, 1948-1975.
Note: Online and Print/CD-Rom Resource
Virtual Museum of the "Cultural Revolution"
In CHINESE. From China News Digest International. An English language version is being developed, which includes titles of the documents in English.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 - 1975
A Vassar College site which provides an overview and copies of short official documents or excerpts from longer ones.
Western Books on Asia. Japan
Comprehensive collection of printed materials written in Western languages about Japan from the 16th century to 1941.
Microfiche: Davis Family Library - microfiche cabinet (8000 sheets of microfiche in 8 units + Guide).
White Papers of the Government (Chinese)
Chinese government position papers on a variety of issues (ex. human rights; national defense; environmental protection and much more).
World Digital Library
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.
World History Sources
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II. Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files.
China Facts and Figures Annual
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4636 C48 (1978 - 2005)
Digital South Asia Library
Digitized primary and secondary sources including books & journals; statistics; maps; images; bibliographies; and more.
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4675 .M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks).
Japan Statistical Yearbook
Latest online. Additional statistics available from Japan's Statistics Bureau.
See also Japan Monthly Statistics; Historical Statistics of Japan; Statistical Handbook of Japan
Older print volumes available for some years.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HA4621 .J36 1990, 1994 - 1998.
Note: Print and Online Resource
Library Economics Subject Guide - Statistics/Data International section
Additional international statistics resources can be found in this section of the longer Economics guide.
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific Data Centre
UNESCAP Provides access to several databases and publications including: Annual Core Indicators; Short-Term Indicators...; Statistical Indicators...; Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
Fair Use & Copyright (for Documentary Film and Online Video)
Helpful guide that explains fair use for using video, film clips, etc. and best practices for documentary film makers, among other topics.
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
Translations of the Foreign Press
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use the Index to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. For coverage 1994+ use World News Connection . See also JPRS reports.
Note: UVM has better FBIS holdings than Midd, including coverage of the Mideast
JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service)
After 1994, use World News Connection. Translations of books, reports, and periodical articles. Library receives selected series for Russia, China, East Asia, Japan, Europe, Latin America. See the JPRS handout for details. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.13 Index on microfiche (Transdex) Govt Docs Reference AI3 .T7
Note: Microfiche + print index
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.
