Atlases
Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
Directories
eBooks
Government Information
Guides to Historical Research
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Maps
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Newspapers
Resources for Thesis Students
Reviews
Statistics/Data
Transcripts
Translations of the Foreign Press
Video/DVD
Web Sites
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
AfricaBib AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
An index of over 300 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) from 29 African countries which are acquired regularly by the U.S. Library of Congress Office in Nairobi, Kenya. Publication began in 1991.
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
RAMBI: the index of articles on Jewish studies
RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly materials pertaining to the study of European and other cultures between A.D. 400 and 1700. Currently indexes articles, books, and reviews.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Illustrated London News
A fully digitized run (1842 - 2003) of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Includes over 260,000 pages in full color. Browse print issues from 1855 thru 1858 in Special Collections. (click here for the catalog record).
CRL Newspapers Catalog
Search the Center for Research Libraries' catalog for newspapers. Browse by country and other options. Midd users can request issues via our Interlibrary Loan service. Note the CRL number in your request.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide. Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.
Keesing's Record of World Events
News summaries. Full-text access for latest year (archive goes back to 1931, which is searchable, but Midd only has access to partial text). Back issues in print.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
South Africa Newspapers
To search multiple newspapers, try Lexis Nexis. Use the source menu to find african resources. Also see Mail and Guardian (most recent 45 days on Newspapers Direct) and find newspaper websites using WorldNewspapers.com.
World-Newspapers.com
Website that provides links to online newspapers (some papers may require a subscription).
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
Universal Digital Library
Access to over 1 million digitized books. Most titles are in Chinese or English, but other languages are included, such as Arabic.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
African Studies Internet Resources (WWW Virtual Library)
From Columbia University Libraries. Links to Africa-related resources arranged by region, country, organization, and topics.
Middle East Studies Internet Resources (WWW Virtual Library)
From Columbia University Libraries. Links to Middle East and North Africa-related resources arranged by region, country, organization, and topics.
Academic Guide to Jewish History
![]()
Major Print and internet Resources. (University of Toronto Library)
The Jewish History Resource Center
The Jewish History Resource Center is a project of the Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History. Over 6000 links to websites in more than 30 categories dealing with Jewish History were visited by our team and have been found to be of value to those interested in Jewish History.
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) website
Information on UNDP programs; links to publications, country offices, and more. See their websites for African Countries and for Arab Countries
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Cultural Atlas of Africa
Main Library Reference DT14 .M84 1998
Note: Print Resource
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Includes maps, images, and text.
Historical Atlas of the Middle East
Main Library Reference G2206.S1 F7 1993
Note: Print Resource
Penguin Atlas of African History
Main Library Stacks G2446 .S1 M34 1995
Note: Print Resource
Children in Conflict in Africa: A Selected Resource Guide for Educators
Web guide by the African Studies Program - Univ. of Wisconsin Madison. Lists films, books, organizations and a variety of web resources. Includes resources on child soldiers, refugees, "the lost boys", child slavery, and much more.
Finding Additional Bibliographies in Midcat In Midcat, combine your keywords with the term bibliography, for example: cultural revolution and bibliography
India and bibliography
Literature of Islam: A Guide to the Primary Sources in English Translation
Main Library Stacks BP161.3 .A1 S585 2006
Note: Print Resource
MIDCAT List - Africa Bibliographies
This is a midcat SUBJECT search for Africa--bibliography.
MIDCAT List - Middle East Bibliographies
This is a Midcat SUBJECT search for Middle East--bibliographies.
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide
Print: Davis Family Library Reference D20 A1 F72 2004 (Earlier edition in stacks).
Research, Reference Service, and Resources for the Study of Africa
Main Library Stacks Z675 .A55 R47 2004
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Foreign Information by Country
University of Colorado at Boulder website with extensive links to country information available free on the web or through subscription databases.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Directory of Graduate & Undergraduate Programs & Courses in Middle East Studies
Provides information on institutions, courses and faculty in Middle East studies, in all parts of the world.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Also in print - Davis Family Library Reference DS43 .E53 2004 (4 volumes)
Note: Online and Print
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
Also in print: Davis Family Library Reference BP40 .E525 2004 (2 volumes)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Encyclopaedia Iranica
Main Library Reference DS253 .E53
Online version is a free work in progress.
Note: Print and Online Resource
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Print versions
Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Main Library Reference BL2462.5 .E53 2001
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of African History
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DT20 .E53 2005 (3 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of African Literature
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks PL8010 .E63 2003
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Islam (print copy)
Main Library Reference DS37 .E523 (12 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments
Main Library Reference DT2 .E53 1997
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Main Library Reference DT29 .E53 2003
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Covers each region of the world and the ethnic groups within those regions.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference GN550 .E53 1991 (10 volumes)
Jewish Encyclopedia
The website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations
Medieval Islamic Civilization : An Encyclopedia
Main Library Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 (2 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
New Encyclopedia of Africa
2nd ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 5 vols. Part of the Gale virtual Reference Library. "Addresses the entire history of African cultures...covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism".
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Online access to the history and culture of Islam. Full-text access to Oxford reference and scholarly works, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, and the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
British Periodicals (parts 1 and 2)
Now on the ProQuest platform, this database offers facsimile page images and searchable full-text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Part One consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Part Two consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
PAIS Archive
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. Coverage = 1915 -1976. For 1972 - current switch to PAIS International (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS International).
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
16th - Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
This site offers online viewing of antique maps of Africa collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University. The collection includes Ptolemic maps of North Africa by Ruscelli, French government maps of Algeria, and maps by other notable cartographers such as Mercator, Blaeu, Hondius, Jansson, de L'Isle, Ortelius, Sanson, Forlani, Carey, and Arrowsmith.
Examples of Primary Source Material in Midcat
This wiki lists example resources that can be found searching Midcat, the Middlebury Libraries online catalog. It is not a comprehensive listing of all primary source material. Most of these resources are re-published in books or on microfilm and the links lead to the midcat record for location information. A few online resources are included if they are part of our subscriptions.
Finding Primary Sources in the Library Using Midcat
Handout which shows how to search midcat to find a variety of primary source material - collections of reprinted primary source documents, biographies and autobiographies, letters, correspondence, diaries, personal narratives, speeches, etc.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
CRL Topic Guide: Middle Eastern Studies
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Middle Eastern resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan. Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.
CRL Topic Guide: African Studies
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) African resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan. Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Online archive (from publisher Adam Matthew) to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. Coverage includes: European conquest and colonization, the early stages of imperial expansion and indigenous resistance in the interior of western and southern Africa, the European scramble for the continent in the late 19th century, the expansion of settler colonialism in southern and eastern Africa, the rising challenges to imperialism in the 20th century, and European withdrawal from the continent in the 1950s and 1960s.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Digized archives (from publisher Adam Matthew) based on ‘Confidential Print’ documents issued by the United Kingdom Foreign and Colonial Office and detailing the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 19th century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, upwards to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA)
"Southern African material of high sociopolitical interest concerning the Struggles for Freedom". "At present, the collection consists of more than 190 000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print and other particularly relevant books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches." - from website.
Digital National Security Archive DNSA (Proquest)
A database containing over 500,000 pages of declassified documents gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The DNSA archive contains a range of policy documents including presidential memos, meeting notes, briefing papers, White House communications, email, letters, and other secret material detailing U.S.foreign and military policy since 1945. Topics include the Koreas, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Cuba, nuclear proliferation, among many others. See also smaller open access version from George Washington University.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Foreign Relations of the United States
U.S. State Department - Document record of major policy decisions, 1861-1970s. Only Recent volumes are online (Truman +) For earlier print editions see: Main Library JX233 .A3 and Govt Docs. For editions back to 1861 see the Univ. of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the digital collections (including scanned books) from major research university libraries. More scholarly focus than Google Books. Full-text available only for items no longer in copyright.
In the First Person (personal narratives)
![]()
Index to thousands of oral histories and other personal narratives from archives and repositories all over the world. Provides links to full-text content (text, audio, video) when available free. Also indexes Alexander Street collections (Midd does not subscribe to full-text). Check Worldcat for collections not available for free that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Provides links to primary and secondary sources available from various websites on the internet.
Literature of Islam: A Guide to the Primary Sources in English Translation
Main Library Stacks BP161.3 .A1 S585 2006
Note: Print Resource
The Middle East 1916 - present: A Documentary Record
Part of the Avalon Project at Yale Law School. Provides links to agreements, resolutions, official statements, and much more.
OAIster.org
OAIster is a union catalog of open access digital resources. It provides access to digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting), and includes records for audio, image, video, digitized text, and dataset content. OAIster does not provide digitized content directly, but includes metadata with links to content hosted elsewhere.
Omar Pound Collection
A new collection in the library's Special Collections. Do a search in midcat with local call number search = (pound). The collection includes materials relating to islamica, the Middle East, and colonial Indian history (especially the 1857 mutiny). See full description on the Special Collections Rare Books & Manuscripts page.
Note: Print resource in Special Collections
Question of Palestine (UN site)
Provides UN documents and information relating to the question of Palestine.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Text Archive (Internet Archive)
Check here for materials not in copyright that have been digitized and put on the web.
TIMEA: Travels in the Middle East Archive
"TIMEA provides online access to texts, maps, and images documenting travel to the Middle East (primarily Egypt) between the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. These materials range from travel guides, travel narratives, and museum catalogs to stereocards, advertisements and postcards."
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
Using Primary Sources on the Web
Along with describing what they are and where to find them, this site created by librarians tells you how to evaluate and cite them. Click on the examples links for more websites.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
World Digital Library
Digital library of multilingual, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Developed by UNESCO and the U.S. Library of Congress with materials from institutions around the world.
World History Sources
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
Africa Development Indicators
Now free online from the Worldbank. Provides data from 1961 to latest for 53 African countries "Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators."
Print copies: Main Library Reference HC800.A1 A49 2008/09 (earlier years in stacks)
Also on CD-Rom titled World Bank Africa Database / African Development Indicators
Main CD-ROMS-Circ Desk HC800.A1 W677 2008/09
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4675 .M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks).
Library Economics Subject Guide - Statistics/Data International section
Additional international statistics resources can be found in this section of the longer Economics guide.
Vital Speeches of the Day
1934 - present. Microfilm no. 60; Current Periodicals; and online (partial).
Note: Print, microfilm and online resource
African Video in Middlebury College Collection
Partial list last updated in 2003. Also search Midcat using the VIDEOS tab and do a SUBJECT search for Africa
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film
Each country has an overview essay describing film history followed by a filmography and other information.
Main Library Reference PN1993.5.A65 C66 2001
Note: Print Resource
Fair Use & Copyright (for Documentary Film and Online Video)
Helpful guide that explains fair use for using video, film clips, etc. and best practices for documentary film makers, among other topics.
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
The Craft of Research
By Wayne C. Booth
Main Library and Armstrong Stacks Q180.55 .M4 B66
Note: Print Resource
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing
Main Library Stacks D16 .B893 2002
Note: Print Resource
A Guide to Historical Method
Chicago: Dorsey, 1980.
Main Library Stacks D16 S47 1980.
Note: Print Resource
The Modern Researcher
By Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff.
NY: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1992.
Main Library Reference LB2369 B28 1992.
Note: Print Resource
A Short Guide to Writing about History
Main Library Stacks D13 .M294 2007
Note: Print Resource
Writing History: A Guide for Students
Main Library Stacks D16 .S864 2004
Note: Print Resource
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
Translations of the Foreign Press
FBIS Daily Report (on microfiche)
Translations of radio and TV broadcasts, newspaper and magazine articles, wire services and speeches. The library has reports on microfiche for Latin America ('90+), Sub-Sahara Africa ('91+), Asia & Pacific/East Asia ('85+), USSR & East Europe/Central Eurasia ('78-'96), China ('79+), Eastern Europe ('87+). Use the Index to the FBIS Daily Reports - Govt Docs Reference DJ - DS. Reports issued on microfiche, located in Gov Docs microfiche cabinets under PREX 7.10. For more detail, see the FBIS handout. See also JPRS reports.
Note: UVM has better FBIS holdings than Midd, including coverage of the Mideast
World Press Review
Provides articles reprinted and/or translated from the foreign press, as well as originally written material. Latest issues online (now a website). Older issues in Bound Periodicals AP2 .A83 2001 - 2004 and Microfiche 1980-2000.
