Government Documents Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Introduction

The Government Documents Collection, located on the main level of the Davis Family Library, contains more than 250,000 publications published by various agencies of the United States Government from 1832 to the present. These publications provide information on a vast range of subjects and in many formats, including print, microfiche, CD-ROM and floppy disks, videotapes, and online resources. Most government documents are shelved by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number, which groups them by issuing agency rather than by subject. Assistance in finding and using government publications may be obtained from staff members in offices 211 and 212. Most government documents we have received since 1976 have been cataloged and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk unless they are stamped "Not to be taken from the Library."   The general public is welcome to use all material we have received as a federal depository library.

The finding tools and resources included below and in the Government Information Resources Moodle Site should help you to identify and locate the publications included in our Government Documents collection.

Guides to the Literature
Guide to U. S. Government Publications
Govt Docs Ref. Z1223 Z7 A574 2007

Guide to U. S. Government Statistics.

Govt Docs Ref. Z7554 U5 G8 1996
 
Introduction to United States Government Information Sources.
Online version available to the Middlebury College community.
Ref. Z1223 .Z7 .M67 1999
Excellent introduction on how to use government documents and how to trace legislation, etc.

Popular Names of U. .S. Government Reports.
Gov. Docs. Ref. Z1223 .A199

read more »
Catalogs

Our online catalog, MidCat, contains the complete holdings of the Middlebury College libraries and is available from terminals in the library or from remote sites. A subject search identifies books about a topic or writer and is based on a controlled Library of Congress vocabulary. A keyword search finds books that have the requested search words in their titles, subjects, authors, or descriptions.
Many of our government documents may be found in our online catalog, especially those received since 1976. All U. S. government documents published since 1976 may be found through the Catalog of U. S. Government Publications. 

You may find it easier to look up government documents by their title since the proper author form of entry for many federal agencies may not be easy to determine.

Indexes

Catalog of the Public Documents, 1893-1940 .
Govt Docs Ref Z1223 .A13

Catalog of U. S. Government Publications
An index to all unclassified and published federal government documents published since 1976.

Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909 .

CIS Index to U. S. Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1909: A Guide to Documents Listed in Checklist of U. S. Public Documents, 1789-1909, Not Printed in the U. S. Serial Set.

Govt Docs Ref Z1223 Z7 C64

Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the U. S. Government, 1881-1893.
Govt Docs Ref Z1223 .A12

ProQuest Congressional
This is an online index and abstracting service for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. Access is limited to the Middlebury College community. 

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1900-1971.
15 volumes.
Govt Docs Ref Z1223 .A182

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 .
16 volumes
GovtDocs Ref Z1223 Z7 L47

Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774 - March 4, 1881.
Govt Docs Ref Z1223 .A12

FDsys: Federal Digital System
Access to many federal government information resources that are online.

Newsbank Indexes to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.
Central Eurasia  Govt Docs Ref. DK1 D342a 1978-1996
China  Govt Docs Ref. DS701 U572 1978-1996
East Asia  Govt Docs Ref. DS1 U592 1985-1996
East Europe  Govt Docs Ref. DJK1 D34 1988-1996
Pathfinder

Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes.
Library has: 1933-current.
An important index in accessing bound Serial Set volumes.
GovtDocs Ref Z1223 .A16

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical tables from federal agencies, U. S. Congress, United Nations, international organizations.

Transdex Index to the Joint Publications Research Service Reports
An index to selected English translations of articles and documents from all regions of the world.
Gov. Docs. Ref. AI3.T7  1984-1996
Pathfinder

U. S. Congressional Committee Prints Index.
Committee prints are the background information for congressional committees. Many prints are not available to depository libraries, such as Middlebury College. Those that we own are shelved with our congressional hearings. Sometimes a committee print will be revised and issued as a document or report in the Serial Set. This index covers from the 1830's to 1969. After that year you should use the CIS Index to the Publications of the U. S. Congress to identify committee prints. Govt Docs Ref Z1223 .Z7 .C66

U. S. Congressional Serial Set
This is a full text database of all Congresional documents and reports published from 1789 to 1980.  Access is limited to the Middlebury College community.

U. S. Serial Set Index. Library has: 1789-1969.
Congressional documents and reports comprise most of the collection known as the Serial Set. The reports are issued by congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation or contain findings on matters under investigation. The documents included are reports of the executive departments and agencies and presidential messages as well as material on a wide range of topics. This index covers from the first American State Papers up to 1969. 
Govt Docs Ref. Z1223 Z9 C65

World News Connection. 1995-
This online index and database provides English translations of recent news coverage gathered from thousands of foreign media sources. It includes political speeches, television programs, radio broadcast, and articles from newspapers, periodicals, and books. The predecessors of this service were the Transdex Index and the Index to the Foreign Broadcast Information Service, both of which are available in the Government Documents Reference collection.
 

read more »
Congressional Information Resources

Journals of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789.
Stacks J10 .A5 

American State Papers. Documents, legislative and executive, of the Congress of the United States, 1784-1838. 
Access to the online version is limited to the Middlebury College community.  Also available in print
Govt Docs Restrict

National State Papers of the United States: Texts of Documents (1789-1817)
.
A facsimile collection of executive and legislative documents under the first four presidents. Much more comprehensive than the American State Papers, listed above.
Stacks J33 .A238

Debates and proceedings in the Congress of the United States.

This is the earliest predecessor of the Congressional Record and covers the 1st Congress to 18th Congress, 1st Session, 1780-1824. Spine title is Annals of Congress. This is also available on microfilm #395 for 1789-1795 and in print at 
Govt Docs Restrict J11 .A5

Register of Debates

Covers the 13th Congress, 2nd Session through the 25th Congress, 1st Session, 1824-1838.  Also available on
Microfilm 405

Congressional Globe
.
Covers 23rd to 42nd Congresses, 1834-1873.
This was the direct predecessor of the Congressional Record, described below.  Also available in print in
Govt Docs Restrict X: 
 

Congressional Record. Library has: 1894-current.
This is a daily record of the proceedings of Congress from the 43rd Congress, 1874, to date. There is a separate index volume for each session of Congress. Since there are two editions of the Congressional Record (the daily edition and the permanent edition), it is important to ascertain which edition is being cited, since the pagination differs.
Texts of bills and resolutions are not usually reported in the Congressional Record. There are separate issues which include a section on the "History of Bills and Resolutions." for 1954-1967 the appendices to the Congressional Record were not included in the permanent edition but are available separately on microfilm 432. Starting with the 95th Congress, 1977, the permanent edition is available on microfiche in the microforms area.  Govt Docs X
Internet access from 1995 to date for the Congressional Record.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Library has online access: 1945-current.
Summarizes and indexes the previous year in Congress. Detailed coverage of political campaigns and election results for the presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial contests are included. Updated by the CQ Weekly Report.

ProQuest Congressional
This is an online index and abstracting service for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents, beginning with 1970. Access is limited to the Middlebury College community.

U. S. Congressional Serial Set
This full-text database provides online access to Congressional Reports, Documents and Journals. When completed is will cover from 1817 to 1969, but as of 12/07 it only covers up to 1930.  Access is limited to the Middlebury College community.  Most volumes are also available in print in
Govt Docs Restrict

Please see staff members in rooms 211 or 212 for access to publications that are shelved in Govt Docs. Restrict.

read more »
Other Statistical Resources

Below are listed some of the most basic and popular statistical compendia produced by the U. S. Government.  Additional statistical resources may be found through the online catalog by doing a keyword search using relevant terms, e.g., "Crime and statistics," or "Housing and Statistics."

Agricultural Statistics  
Library has: 1936 - current
Also available on CD-ROM, 1994 - current
Govt Docs A1.47/2:
Govt Docs CD-ROM A1.47

American Factfinder

Business Statistics of the United States
.
(Biennial)
Library has: 1955 - current
1955-1971 are shelved in Govt Docs C43.8/4:
1973 is shelved in Govt Docs C56.109/3:
1975-91 are shelved in Govt Docs C59.11/
Latest in Ref. HC101 .A131222

County and City Data Book .
Library has: 1947-current.
Govt Docs C3.134/2: 
 

Digest of Education Statistics .
Library has: 1975-current.
1975-79 shelved in Govt Docs HE19.315:
1980-87 are shelved in Govt Docs ED1.113:
1988- latest are shelved in Govt Docs ED1.326:

Economic Report of the President
Library has: 1954-current
Appendix B includes statistical tables relating to income, employment, and production.
Earlier in Govt. Docs Pr

FEDSTATS  
Provides Internet access to publicly available statistics from more than 70 federal agencies. Information can be searched through an alphabetical index of 275 categories or through keyword searching.

Handbook of Labor Statistics.
Library has: 1924-1989.
Govt Docs L2.3:

Health United States .
Library has: 1976 - current
Gov Docs HE20.7042/6

Historical Statistics of the United States
Print version: Ref HA202 A385 2006

International Data Base
Contains statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for all countries of the world. 

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics .
Library has: 1973-current
1973 is shelved in Govt Docs J1.2:C86/24/
1974-77 are shelved in Govt Docs J1.42/3:
1978-79 are shelved in Govt Docs J26.10:
1980-84 are shelved in Govt Docs J29.9:
1985- latest are shelved in Govt Docs J29.9/6:
 

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
1979-1991 are shelved in Govt Docs C3.134/5
Latest in Ref. HA202 U54

Statistical Abstract of the United States .
Library has: 1894 - current
1894-1938 shelved in Govt Docs C18.14:
1939- latest shelved in Govt Docs C3.134:
Also available on CD-ROM in Govt Docs CD-ROM C3.134/7:

Uniform Crime Reports . 
Govt Docs J1.14/7:

USA Counties .
Biennial
Library has: 1992-current.
Govt Docs CD-ROM C3.134/6:

Vital Statistics of the United States  .
Library has: 1937-current.
Govt Docs HE20.6210:
 

read more »
General Reference Resources

Biographical Directory of the American Congress  
Online version covers 1774 - current
Print version covers 1774 - 1996
Ref JK1010 A5 1997

Congressional Directory
Library has 1887 - current in print
Available online 1995 - current
Earlier editions are shelved in Govt Docs Y4.P93/1:1/
Latest in Ref. JK1011 .A1

Congressional District Atlas.
Library has: 1964 - current
Earlier editions are shelved in Govt Docs. C3.62/5:
Latest in Ref. JK1342 A34

Congressional Pictorial Directory.

Library has: 1975 - current
Earlier editions are shelved in Gov Docs Y4.P93/1:1P/
Latest in Ref. JK1011 A32

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to Congress
.
Ref JK1021 C559 2000
Congressional Staff Directory
.
Library has latest edition.
Ref JK1012 C65 

County and City Databook
Latest edition in Ref. HA202 .A36
Earlier editions in Govt. Docs C3.134/2:

Country Reports on Human Rights.
Available online 1999 - current
Library has: 1979 - current in print
Earlier editions are shelved in Govt Docs. Y4.In8/16-15
Latest in Ref. JC571 U48a

Diplomatic List
(Foreign embassy personnel in the U. S.)

Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
. 4 vols.
Ref. JK1067 E63

Foreign Consular Offices in the United States

Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Latest edition also in print in Ref. HF5381 .U62

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Latest edition also in print in Ref. HA202 .U54
Earlier editions in Govt. Docs C3.134/5:

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Latest in Ref. HA202
Earlier editions in Govt. Docs. C3.134

United States Government Manual
.
Earlier editions are shelved in Govt Docs GS4.109:
Latest in Ref. JK421 A3 

USA Counties
Earlier editions are shelved in Govt Docs CD-ROM C3.287:

World Factbook

Published by the Central Intelligence Agency
Available online 1995 - current
Library has: 1994 - current in print
Latest in Ref. G122 U56a 
Earlier editions are Govt Docs PrEx3.15:

read more »
 
Indexed Periodicals

The following government periodicals that we have access to in our library are indexed by Academic OneFile, an online journal and periodical index, which may be accessed by patrons affiliated with Middlebury College.  The links that are provided are to the official government websites that are accessible to all patrons, rather than just those affiliated with Middlebury College.

Agricultural Outlook
June 1975 - Sept. 2000
Govt Docs A93.10/2:
March 1995 - Sept. 2002
Continued by Amber Waves

Alcohol Health and Research
Summer 1973 - current
Periodicals
1994 - current

Amber Waves
2003 - current
Online access

American Rehabilitation


CPI Detailed Report
Aug 1974 -
Govt Docs L2.38/3:
1994 - current

Compensation and Working Conditions

v. 43 #5 - May 1991 - current
Govt Docs L2.44:
1996 - current

EPA Journal

v. 11 - 1985 - 1995
Periodicals
Ceased publication

Economic Indicators.
Sept. 1950 - current
Periodicals 

Economic Perspectives
(Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
v. 13- 1989 - current
Periodicals 
1996-current

Economic Quarterly (Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond)
v. 79- 1993 - current
Periodicals
1996 - current

Economic Review
(Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta)
May/June 1977 - current
Periodicals 
1996 - current

Economic Review
(Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland)
v. 29- 1993 - 2001
Periodicals 

Economic Review (Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas) (1989 - 1999)
Mar 1982  - 2004
Periodicals 
2001 - 2004
Online access

Economic Review
(Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City) (1975 - current)
1978 - current
Periodicals 

Economic Review
(Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco) (1996 - current)
Dec 1975 - Winter 1977, spring 1982 - current
Periodicals 

Employment and Earnings
v. 1 #1 - v. 6 #5 July 1954 - current
Periodicals

FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin 
1996 - current

FDA Consumer (1989 - 2007)
v. 6 #6- July/Aug 1972-current 
Periodicals

Federal Probation (1998 - current)
v. 11 #4 Oct/Dec 1947 - current
Periodicals

Federal Reserve Bulletin (1996 - current)
v. 1 #5 - v. 45 May 1915 -  current 
Periodicals 

Health Care Financing Review (1998 - current)
v. 1 - Summer 1979 - current
Govt Docs HE22.18:

Monthly Energy Review
(1996 - current)
Nov 1976 - current
Periodicals

Monthly Labor Review  (1981 - current)
v. 1-82 July 1915 - current
Periodicals
v. 87-101 1964-1978
Microfilm #206 

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report

v. 31- 1982 - current
Govt Docs HE20.7009:

New England Economic Review
(1995 - 2004)
1986 - 2004
Periodicals 
Continued by Research Review
2004 - current

Occupational Outlook Quarterly
(1999 - current)
v. 1- 1957 - current
Periodicals 

PPI Detailed Report  (1994 - current)
July 1996 - current
Periodicals
Former title: Producer Price Indexes 
  
Public Health Reports
v. 105 #5 - Sept/Oct 1990 -
Armstrong Library Govt Docs HE20.30:

Social Security Bulletin (1995 - current)
v. 1-28 March 1938 - current
Periodicals 

Statistics of Income Bulletin

v. 1 - Summer 1981 -
Govt Docs T22.35/4: 

Survey of Current Business (latest)
Survey of Current Business (1934-1989)
v. 1 #1  Aug 1921 - current
Periodicals
1964 - 1998
microfilm #227  

United States Department of State Dispatch

v. 1 #1- Sept 1990 - 1999
Periodicals
1990 - 1999
Microfilm #231

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993 - current)
v. 1 #1- August 2, 1965-
Periodicals 
 

Online Resources
US Catalog of Government Publications
National Bibliography of U. S. Government Publications, 1976 -
Explanation of the Superintendent of Documents Classification System
Outline of the Superintendent of Documents classification system
USAGov
The U.S. Government's official web portal.
GovEngine.Com

Links to federal, state and local government sites on the Internet
 
Government Information Locator Service
Search for federal documents available through GPO Access.
Government Information Online

Ask a librarian a question at another federal depository library 
Online resources, by agency name

Online resources, by title or database name

Online resources, by subject

Public.Resource.org

          "Making Government Information More Accessible"

US Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
Part of Archive of Ameriana.  Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes.  Also includes key Executive Branch documents.

Go shortcut = go/usss

USA Government Documents

Digitized state and federal government documents in the Internet Archive

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is an online index and abstracting service for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents, some full-text.
Citing Government Publications

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical Insight locates statistics by subject, includes some full-text. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Insight and government Web sites.
List of Federal Depository Libraries
Listed alphabetically by state.  Includes Patent and Trademark Office depository libraries.


Key to Icons (Click to open)

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio

Search the Library Catalog

Search for in

Advanced Search

Subject Specialist
Picture: Hans Raum

Hans Raum
Reference & Instruction Librarian, Government Documents Librarian
Office: Lib 211
(802) 443- 5493
raum@middlebury.edu


Related Guides

Census of Manufactures Resources at Middlebury College (Covers from 1814 to date)

Census of Population and Housing Statistics (Includes print and online resources from 1790 to date)

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (Covers up to 1996 and continued by the World News Connection)

Guide to Legal Information

Transdex Index to the Joint Publications Research Service Reports

U. S. Federal Government Information Resources at Middlebury College: Past, Present and Future

World News Connection

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus