Archives
Audio Files
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Directories
eBooks
Encyclopedias
Government Information
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Newspapers of the Period
Primary Sources
Radio Stations
Statistics/Data
TV Stations
Video/DVD
Web Sites
Proquest Arts: Journals & Dissertations
Includes these databases: American Periodicals; British Periodicals; CBCA Complete: The Arts; Ethnic NewsWatch; Index Islamicus; International Index to Music Periodicals; MLA International Bibliography; ProQuest Career and Technical Education: The Arts; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts; ProQuest Research Library: The Arts
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
The major bibliography for German language and literature. It goes beyond journal articles and covers books, chapters in books, etc. Use the Print & E-journals A-Z to find links to full-text or hard copy journals in our library. Search books in MIDCAT. Currently the years 1985-2005 are available in the web version
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Compact Memory: Internetarchiv jüdischer Periodika
A portal for Jewish studies in German, includes 100 jewish periodicals, published between 1806 and 1938.
Digi Zeitschriften
Created by the Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, DigiZeitschriften provides images of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, Germanic Languages, History, Law, Librarianship, Philology, Romance Languages, the Sciences, and Sociology. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
EconLit with Full Text
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.
ERIC Database
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
European Library
Online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe.
MDZ - Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum
Digital collection of the Munich Library.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
International Geographic Resources
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.
IPL Nachschlagebestand
Internet Portal for German ready Reference
WESSWEB
![]()
Web pages selected and maintained by the Western European Studies Section of ACRL.
Yamada Language Guides
Web Portal for numerous language related sites
Governments on the WWW
![]()
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.
Der Fischer Weltalmanach
World Almanac in German
Project Gutenberg - audiobooks
![]()
Computer read audiobooks in many languages.
Music Online Listening
![]()
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)
ADB/NDB: Allgemeine deutsche Biographie, Neue deutsche Biographie
Searchable biographical database of 90,000 Germanic individuals, from the Middle Ages to the present, in all sectors of the public, scientific, economic and cultural life. ADB contains the digitized print edition (55 volumes and index, 1875-1912, Fraktur typeface). NDB contains citations only, no full text, for its 23 volumes, 1953-present.
Biographie-Portal Das „Biographie-Portal“ beruht auf einer Kooperation zwischen der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, der Historischen Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Stiftung Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz. Es erschliesst über ein gemeinsames Register zunächst:
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Larousse dictionaries
Includes a number of free dictionaries
Beolingus
![]()
Search in more than 900,000 translations with examples and hints, explanations, synonyms, sayings, aphorisms, and quotations in English and German. Browse lists for special topics. Listen to German and English pronunciations spoken by native speakers.
Leo
![]()
Online German-English, German-French, German-Spanish dictionary. Includes links to verb and noun declination, and audio for pronunciation.
MIDCAT List - Duden Dictionaries
Links to the MIDCAT search for Duden German dictionaries in either the reference section or the stacks of the main library.
Note: Active catalog search
MIDCAT List - German Dictionaries
Active Catalog search
Note: Print resources
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
WordReference.com
![]()
Language dictionaries
Your Dictionary
![]()
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
Digitale Sammlung
![]()
A wiki in German, with a collection of links to digital resources from around the world with an emphasis on those in German.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
MIDCAT List - Encyclopedias, German
Active catalog search
Note: Print resources
Journals/Magazines of the Period
GDR Bulletin
Articles and reviews on the literature and culture of the German Democratic Republic, published 1975-1999.
Aufbau, 1934-1950
Newspaper for and by German-Jewish immgrants and refugees. In German
Aufbau, 1951-2004
Newspaper for and by German-Jewish immgrants and refugees. In German
Aufbau, Indexing
An index to personal names that appeared in Aufbau between 1941 and 2003.
Dr. Friedrich Teßmann Library The digital newspaper archive of the Dr. Friedrich Teßmann Library offers the possibility to skim and scan digitized newspapers and periodicals published in the Alpine area.
Vorhandene Digitalisate für Zeitungen
Digital newspapers from the Newspaper Department of the Staatsbibliothek in Berlin.
ZEFYS
Collection of links to historical German newspapers.
EUfeeds
![]()
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country
Foreign Language News and Magazines
![]()
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Imooty
![]()
European news navigator
Kidon Media Link
![]()
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Newspapers24
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
19th-Century German Stories
Web editions for language learning and literary study
Heidelberg Digital Library
![]()
Portal site for digital resources from the University of Heidelberg
Projekt Gutenberg
![]()
Digital version of public domain works in German
Radio-Locator
![]()
Find radio stations by country
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
List of German Language TV Stations
From Wikipedia
International TV
![]()
Portal site to TV stations from around the world
Fokus Deutsch
![]()
A video instructional series in German for college and high school classrooms and adult learners; 48 fifteen-minute video programs, audio CDs, and coordinated books
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
BAM: Portal zu Bibliotheken, Archiven, Museen
The BAM Portal enables the search in the Collections of the participating Libraries, Archives, Museums and Other sources in Germany. The most information in the data are only accessable in German language but it is not necessary to use the German umlaut an special character (ä, ö, ü, ß) to get a hit.
fotoerbe.de
German historical photograph site.
