Blogs
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Encyclopedias
Government Information
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Antarctic and Cold Regions Bibliographies
This database allows you to search two indexes simultaneously. The Antarctic Bibliography covers all related to the region including biological and geological sciences, medical sciences, meteorology, oceanography, atmospheric and terrestrial physics, expeditions, logistics equipment and supplies, and tourism. The Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter setting, including the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
GeoRef 1693-current (North America) and 1933-current (outside North America). Worldwide and planetary coverage of geological subjects; a major source for research in the geosciences. Includes references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Especially good for government publications (including USGS), geologic maps, and field trip guidebooks.
Tips:
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
GSA Today
This is the Geological Society of America's science and news magazine. It features a "hot-topic" science article most months.
ProQuest Science Journals
1986-current. References to articles on a wide variety of topics in the sciences including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. The database includes over 660 titles, with more than 540 available in full text.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
Scirus Searches for science-related and primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
1) Click on "Search Preferences," 2) For Library Partner Links, click "Enable," 3) Click "M" and then select "Middlebury College" from the drop-down list, and 4) Click "Save Preferences."
Note: Preferences can be set to link directly to articles in Middlebury collections. (See above)
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Middlebury College Libraries Databases A-Z List
Links to all indexes and databases available through the Middlebury College Libraries. Shortcuts = go/databases (on campus); http://go.middlebury.edu/databases (off-campus).
Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.
Middlebury College Libraries Interlibrary Loan Department
Advice on how to request books and articles from other libraries.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
AstroWeb
Links to astronomy-related information available on the internet, maintained by the AstroWeb Consortium.
Futurity
News about scientific research at research at 35 universities in the United States and Canada.
ScienceDaily
News culled from journals, magazines and other online sources about scientific research.
Scientific Commons
A searchable database of freely available scientific publications stored in online archives around the world.
Energy Sources - USGS
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Energy Resources Program (ERP) provides information from impartial, comprehensive research investigations of geologic energy resources, including: petroleum (oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids), coal, gas hydrates, geothermal resources, oil shale, oil sands, uranium, and heavy oil and natural bitumen. Includes viability assessments for different energy sources worldwide.
Geology Research and Information - USGS
acronym title="United States Geological Survey" xml:lang="en">Research publications and data on geologic hazards and disasters, climate variability and change, energy and mineral resources, ecosystem and human health, and ground-water availability in the US.
Offshore Energy and Minerals Management
Data and information from the U.S. government about its management of offshore mineral resources in the Gulf of Mexico, Pacific and Alaska. Includes data on the percentage and monthly production volumes of oil and gas that the Federal OCS contributes to the U.S. total, plus information on topics such as alternative energy programs, coastal impact, environmental assessment and monitoring and more.
Science Accelerator
Searches resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Smaller in scope than, but not necessarily replicated in, Science.gov.
Science.gov
Selective coverage, as far back as 1948. Science.gov is a search engine for government science information from the Departments of Agriculture; Commerce; Defense; Education; Energy; Health and Human Services; and Interior. Also the Environmental Protection Agency, Library of Congress, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the US Government Printing Office. Results are authoritative and selective and may include scientific or technical data, publications, databases, documentation, or other forms of information.
Tip: To limit your search to a subset of the database, click on the "Advanced Search" link
WorldWideScience
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals containing results of scientific research conducted by government agencies.
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
American Women in Science
Armstrong Ref Q141 .B254 1998
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Black Women Scientists in the United States
Armstrong Ref Q141 .W367 1999
Note: Print Resource
Wilson Current Biography Illustrated replaced by Gale Biography in Context
Gale Biography in Context includes 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .D5
Note: Print Resource
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
Armstrong Ref Q141 .D535 1996
Note: Print Resource
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Note: Print Resource
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Climate Debate Daily
Essays and research from both sides of the debate over the significance of global climate change.
Abbreviations.com
Directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Citation and Style Guides
Created by Middlebury College librarians. A guide to writing papers & citing sources.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)
Examples online at:
Periodical title abbreviations
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1264657%7ES2">Armstrong Ref PN4832 .P47
Note: Print resource
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
eigenfactor
A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, eigenfactor attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, SCImago attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it. It also tries to measure the scientific productivity of a country using the same factors.
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Free collection of articles about the Earth, its environment, and the interaction between society and the environment. Articles are contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, and other experts who review one another's work.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
In print at Armstrong Reference QE521 .R58
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of European and Asian regional geology In print at Armstrong Reference QE260 .E53 Preview online at Google Book Search.
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
In print at Armstrong Reference QE515 .E48
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Geology
5 vols, 2004 ed. Covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
The Encyclopedia of geomorphology
In print at Armstrong Reference GB10 .F3
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Mineralogy
In print at Armstrong Reference QE355 .E49
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
In print at Armstrong Reference QE703 .E52
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
4 vols, 2006 ed. Includes a broad range of articles on the major topics in the field. Chapters include: Paleoclimatology, Dating Techiniques, Quaternary Stratigraphy, Quaternary Glaciation, Fluvial Environments, History of Quaternary Glaciations, Sea Level Studies, Paleosols and Wind-Blown Sediments, Lake Level Studies, Paleobotany, Paleolimnology, Vertebrate Studies, Insect Fossil Studies, Paleoceanography, Ice Core Studies, Stable Isotope Research-Carbonates, Humans in the Quaternary.
The Encyclopedia of Sedimentology
In print at Armstrong Reference QE471 .E49
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Background information, definitions and data on Environment, Soil Science & Conservation, Geoecology/Natural Processes, Agriculture, Physical Geography and Geotechnical Engineering.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
In print at Armstrong Reference QE522 .E53
Note: Print resource
The Encyclopedia of world regional geology
Part 1: Western Hemisphere (Including Antarctica and Australia) in print at Armstrong Reference QE5 .F33.
Note: Print resource
Glossary of Geology
In print at Armstrong Reference QE5 .G66
Note: Print resource
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
The Times atlas and encyclopedia of the sea
In print at Armstrong Reference Oversize G2800 .T5
Note: Print resource
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features
3 vols, 2004 ed. Essays on the physical and geological aspects, structure, and features of 48 of the earth's landforms - what they are, how they look, how they were created, how they change over time, and major geological events associated with them. Written for readers new to the sciences.
Wolfram Alpha
This is a new search engine that attempts to answer factual questions (eg, what is the density of lead, where was Venus on May 13, how many calories would be burned with 30 minutes of jogging). It is still under development (by the makers of Mathematica); read the About document, watch the video, or check out the search examples for details.
World of Earth Science
A guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers, and issues relating to topics in earth science. Written for readers new to the sciences.
Handbook of Geochemistry
In print at Armstrong Reference QE515 .W42
Note: Print resource
Handbook of Mineralogy
In print at Armstrong Reference QE366.8 .H36
Note: Print resource
Practical Handbook of Marine Science In print at Armstrong Reference GC11.2 .P73
Online preview at Google Book Search
Note: Print resource
Global Volcanism Program
The web site of the Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program (GVP) provides descriptions and images of volcanoes around the world. It is searchable by name, region of the world, or date of eruption.
Google Earth
Download a free virtual globe from Google. Also includes Google Sky, with photographic images of the universe.
NASA World Wind
Download a free virtual globe from NASA.gov and explore their rich scientific data in 3D.
The Periodic Table of Videos
A clickable version of the periodic table that opens a short YouTube video about each element.
Science Animations
Links to movies & interactive tutorials for scientific topics.
Scitalks
Links to recorded lectures on scientific topics. Viewers can vote on the quality of the lectures and ratings are visible to all.
Middlebury College Department of Geology
Middlebury College Department of Geology web site
Middlebury College Libraries
Library hours, borrowing policies, and research and technology resources from the Middlebury College Libraries. [Shortcuts = go/lib (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lib (off-campus).]
GEOLEX
Contains new and revised names for geologic units in the United States. Geologic formations are named and described based upon international protocols (see International stratigraphic guide : a guide to stratigraphic classification, terminology, and procedure). Names and classifications can change over time as rock units are studied through different techniques. Tracking the discussions about a particular rock unit requires knowledge of current and previous names. Names which are not in GEOLEX may be found in print volumes of the Lexicon of Geologic Names of the United States.
Geologic Atlas of the United States
This is a digitized version of the Geologic Atlas of the United States, a set of topographic and geologic maps published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. The basic and economic geology of each area is described.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database
References to field trip guidebooks which record very detailed site information on geologic features and outcrops that can be critical to subsequent interpretation.
Geological Survey of Canada
The Geological Survey of Canada.
Geoscience Connections
Links to geological surveys of countries outside of North America.
National Climatic Data Center
Searchable repository of US weather data from the NOAA Satellite and Information Service.
State Geological Surveys - AASG
Links to state geological survey websites.
USGS Fact Sheets - by state
Points to USGS programs and other projects in each state.
Vermont Geological Survey
Surveys and research relating to the geology, mineral resources and topography of Vermont.
Advances in geophysics
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1278852%7ES2">Armstrong Stacks QC801 .A283
Note: Print resource
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Earth Science Book Reviews Database
References to reviews of books on Earth science.
Earth-Science Reviews Available in print 1966-2005 at Armstrong Periodicals and Armstrong Microfilm
Available online 1995 - current via ScienceDirect
Lunar and Planetary Science
From the National Space Science Data Center (NSSDC). Planetary and lunar data from NASA and non-NASA missions.
World Data Center System
Access to solar, geophysical and related environmental data gathered worldwide.
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
