Genealogy Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Historical Background

The Governors of New York granted land in what is now Vermont beginning in 1688 with the Hoosick grant which covered part of the present townships of Bennington and Pownal. On 3 January 1750 New Hampshire's Governor Benning Wentworth granted the township of Bennington. Then began a dispute between New York and New Hampshire, both of which granted lands in what is now Vermont. The dispute was finally settled on 7 October 1790. Governor Wentworth made over 131 grants in present-day Vermont. New York's governors granted more than 103 from 1761 to 1776. Because of the controversy over the land, lists of grantees and petitions are available, and information may be found on the early settlers. Vermont was admitted as a state 4 March 1791.

Census Records
The first United States census of population was conducted in 1790 and has been repeated at 10-year intervals since then. The information which was collected included the names of the head of each family and the number of free white males and females in each household. Starr Library has this information for Vermont as follows:      
     1790 1st Oversize HA201 v. 11
               Online version
     1790  HA671.5 1790b
     1800 2nd Microfilm #598
     1810 3rd Microfilm #599
     1820 4th Microfilm #600
     1830 5th Microfilm #592
     1840 6th Microfilm #593
     1850 7th Microfilm #594
     1860 8th Microfilm #595
     1870 9th Microfilm #596
     1880 10th Microfilm #597
     1900 12th Microfilm #624
     1910 13th Microfilm #625
     1920 14th Microfilm #741
     1930 15th Microfilm #868
The 1890 census was destroyed except for a listing of Civil War soldiers or their widows. The index to this special schedule is available in the Vt. Coll. F48 J336. Name indexes to the schedules listed above are shelved in the Vermont Collection as follows:
     1810 3rd Vt. Coll. F48 J3
     1820 4th Vt. Coll. F48 J32
     1830 5th Vt. Coll. F48 J325
     1840 6th Vt. Coll. F48 J33
     1850 7th Vt. Coll. F48 J332
We also have the following mortality schedules for Vermont:
     1850 Vt. Coll. F48 .J3326 1980
     1860 Vt. Coll. F48 J333
No state censuses are known to exist for Vermont, but an early listing of heads of families living in parts of New York, now in Vermont, was made in 1771 and published as the Vermont 1771 Census (Vt. Coll. F48 H7 1982). Published lists of land grantees and petitioners are substitutes for censuses in the pre-statehood period.
Cemetery Records

The Vermont Collection includes some indexes to cemetery inscriptions for Vermont cemeteries. These may be found by doing a subject search on Midcat, our online catalog.  For example:
          cemeteries--Vermont
          cemeteries--Vermont--Barre
          cemeteries--Vermont--Bennington
          cemeteries--Vermont--Castleton
          etc.

Birth Records

Birth records may be found on our online catalog by typing a subject as follows:

registers of births, etc -- Vermont
registers of births, etc -- Vermont -- Middlebury
etc.
and then clicking on Subject
Church Records

Church records are often a reliable source for vital records. The Congregational, Baptist, Methodist and Roman Catholic churches predominated in Vermont. The library has published histories of some individual congregations as well as some denominations. Some volumes such as the History of the Baptists in Vermont (Vt. Coll. BX6248 V4 C7) provide a list of the founding date of all of their congregations in Vermont and list many prominent members. The Inventory of the Town, Village and City Archives of Vermont (Vt. Coll. CD3550 H47) include a directory of churches in Vermont, and an inventory of Protestant Episcopal churches in the diocese of Montpelier. Other surveys were made but not published. These were placed at the Vermont Historical Society in Montpelier. They include surveys of churches in the various counties.

Court Records

Very early court matters may have been taken either to Boston, MA, Portsmouth, NH or to Albany, NY. After 1768, when Cumberland County was created, legal matters could be settled at Chester, VT, where there were courts of common pleas and of quarter sessions. Matters involving higher court jurisdiction were taken to Portsmouth or Albany depending on the allegiance of the parties to New Hampshire or New York. Gloucester County was created 16 March 1770. The Gloucester court records for 1770-1774 were published in The Upper Connecticut (Vt. Coll. F46 V53 v. 2) by the Vermont Historical Society. Cumberland and Gloucester counties were discontinued, and the present-day Vermont counties were established from them:

     Bennington 1779
     Windham 1781
     Windsor 1781
     Orange 1781
     Rutland 1781
     Addison 1785
     Chittenden 1787
     Caledonia 1792
     Essex 1792
     Franklin 1792
     Orleans 1792
     Grand Isle 1802
     Washington 1810 (formerly Jefferson County until 1814)     
     Lamoille 1835
Family Histories

We have acquired very few family histories for Vermont families. The few volumes we have are shelved in the Vermont Collection with an LC call number which begins with CS71. Family histories for non-Vermonters are shelved in the stacks with an LC call number which begins with CS71. If we have a family history for a particular family it may be found by doing a subject search on Midcat, our online catalog, by typing family names in the following format:

Foote family
De Forest family
etc.
Land and Property Records

Township and other land records before 1791: For grants by Massachusetts, 1671-1744, see Massachusetts Land Grants in Vermont. (Vt. Coll. HD184 V4 D56 1920) Grants made by New York, 1688-1736 are listed in State Papers of Vermont, v. 7 (Vt. Coll. HD184 V4 A5 1939) The New Hampshire grants are in New Hampshire Grants (Vt. Coll. F31 N42 v. 26)

  • Vermont also granted land, 1777-1811. These are listed in the State Papers of Vermont, v. 5 (Vt. Coll. HD184 V4 A5 1947)

    Deeds since statehood have generally been filed with the town clerk, though there are also some county records. The town clerks have records of deeds recorded in the 1780's but drawn up in the 1760-1780 period while Vermont was part of Cumberland and Gloucester counties of New York. Inventories of some town records are included in the Inventory of the Town, Village and City Archives of Vermont (Vt. Coll. CD3550 H47).

Manuscript Collections
The Library of the Vermont Historical Society in Montpelier has the largest genealogical collection in Vermont, including many manuscripts. The Public Records Division in Montpelier has a wide variety of public records including land, probate, naturalization and vital records. The State Papers Division--the archives held by the Secretary of State has many historically important official Vermont state records, including land records and grand lists. Collections of Vermont records prepared by the Daughters of the American Revolution are in Washington, DC and on microfilm at their Genealogy Dept.
Military Records

French and Indian War - 1755-1763 
     
     During this period Vermont was under the jurisdiction of New Hampshire and New York. Records of these states may have information. No single listing of Vermonters involved in this conflict is known. 

Revolutionary War - 1776-1783

Goodrich, John E., ed. Rolls of Soldiers in the Revolution, 1775-1783. Rutland: Tuttle, 1904. (Vt. Coll. E263 V5 V5)
Fisher, Carleton E. and Sue G. Soldiers, Sailors, and Patriots of the Revolutionary War: Vermont. Camden, ME: Picton Press, 1992. (Vt. Coll. E263 V5 F58 1992)
War of 1812
Clark, Byron N., ed. A List of Pensioners of the War of 1812. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1969. (Vt. Coll. E359.4 C62 1969)
Johnson, Herbert T. Roster of Soldiers in the War of 1812-1814. St. Albans: The Adjutant-General, 1933. (Vt. Coll. C359.5 V3 1969)
Civil War - 1861-1865
Peck, Theodore S. Revised Roster of Vermont Volunteers and Lists of Vermonters who Served in the Army and Navy of the United States during the War of the Rebellion, 1861-1866. Montpelier: Watchman Publishing Co., 1892. (Vt. Coll. E533.3 V53 1892a)
Militia records for some years are on file at town clerk's offices.
Naturalization Records

For records since 27 September 1906 contact the nearest Federal Building. They can help you obtain forms to have a search made through the Immigration and Naturalization Service in Washington, DC and through state offices. For records filed before 1906 write to the county clerk at the courthouse near the place where the ancestor lived. Adjoining counties may need to be searched. As Vermont does not have any sea ports, records of Boston and other New England ports should be searched. See the chapter on Passenger Arrival Lists in the Guide to Genealogical Research (Ref. CS69 A1 V54 1983), published by the National Archives, for lists of ports.

Newspapers

Dates of first issue of early newspapers

  • Bennington 1783
  • Brattleboro 1797
  • Burlington 1796
  • Middlebury 1801
  • Montpelier 1806
  • Newbury 1796
  • Peacham 1798
  • Putney 1797
  • Randolph 1800
  • Rutland 1792
  • St. Albans 1802
  • Vergennes 1798
  • Westminster 1730
  • Windsor 1783
  • Woodstock 1805

Davis Family Library has microfilm copies of more than 20 early Vermont newspapers and both the Sheldon Museum and Ilsley Library in Middlebury have runs of additional newspapers on microfilm. Details of these holdings are given on our collection guide:

  • Newspapers and Related Material: A Library Guide.
read more »
Periodicals
Branches and Twigs, by the Genealogical Society of Vermont. (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1980- )
New England Historical and Genealogical Register (Periodicals 1867-1910)
Vermont History, by the Vermont Historical Society. (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1945- )
Preceded by Proceedings of the Vermont Historical Society (1860-1943) and Vermont Quarterly (1944-1953) Have cumulative indexes for 1943-1952, 1930-42 and 1953-1977.
Vermonter (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1895-1945) Has cumulative index for 1913-1939.
Information on Vermont appears in other periodicals, not at Starr Library, such as The Vermont Antiquarian (3v., 1902-5). See the Genealogical Periodical Annual Index for articles concerning Vermont and other states, also Jacobus' Index to Genealogical Periodicals, both available at the library of the Vermont Historical Society in Montpelier.
Probate Records
Branches and Twigs, by the Genealogical Society of Vermont. (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1980- )
New England Historical and Genealogical Register (Periodicals 1867-1910)
Vermont History, by the Vermont Historical Society. (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1945- )
Preceded by Proceedings of the Vermont Historical Society (1860-1943) and Vermont Quarterly (1944-1953) Have cumulative indexes for 1943-1952, 1930-42 and 1953-1977.
Vermonter (Vt. Coll. Periodicals 1895-1945) Has cumulative index for 1913-1939.
Information on Vermont appears in other periodicals, not at Starr Library, such as The Vermont Antiquarian (3v., 1902-5). See the Genealogical Periodical Annual Index for articles concerning Vermont and other states, also Jacobus' Index to Genealogical Periodicals, both available at the library of the Vermont Historical Society in Montpelier.
Tax Records
The Vermont laws of 1779 provided for levying and collection of taxes from every male adult. Towns collected the taxes and have the records of real estate taxes, personal property taxes, poll taxes, school taxes and special taxes. Lists were compiled on a yearly basis. See the Inventory of the Town, Village and City Archives of Vermont (Vt Coll. CD3550 H47) for inventories of town records, or write to the town clerk
Vital Records
For vital records, 1764-1954 write to the town where the event occurred or the State of Vermont, Public Records Division, 133 State Street, Montpelier, VT 05602. For births, marriages and deaths since 1955 and divorces since 1968 write to the town where the event occurred or to the Vermont Health Department, Vital Records Section, 115 Colchester Avenue, Burlington, VT 05401. Many town clerks charge a small fee for the use of their vital records. A self-addressed stamped envelope will expedite replies when a query is sent by mail.
Online Resources
  • AncestrySearch 
  • Archives
  • Big List of Genealogy Links
  • Caledonian Record
  • Cemetery Indexes
    Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
  • Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet (More than 25,000 links)
  • Family, Local, American, and World History Resource Collection
  • FamilySearch (Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) 
  • Genealogy Page (National Archives and Records Administration)
  • Genealogy Resources on the Internet
  • Helm's Genealogy Toolbox
  • HeritageQuest Online (ProQuest genealogy database available through Vermont Online Library to VT public library cardholders, including Midd students.)
  • National Genealogical Society
  • National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
  • North American Genealogy Resources
  • Northeast Kingdom Genealogy, Vermont
  • Old Newspaper Notices and Gleanings from...Spooner's Vermont Journal
  • Roots Web Genealogical Data Cooperative
  • Social Security Death Index
  • Spooner's Vermont Journal
  • State Summary of War Casualties: Vermont
  • USGenWeb Project
  • Vermont Chronicle marriage and death notices
  • Vermont Genealogy Library
  • VTGenWeb for Vermont History and Genealogy
  • VT GenWeb--Addison County
  • VT GenWeb--Bennington County
  • VT GenWeb--Calendonia County
  • VT GenWeb--Chittenden County
  • VT GenWeb--Essex County
  • VT GenWeb--Grand Isle County
  • VT GenWeb--Orange County
  • VT GenWeb--Orleans County
  • VT GenWeb--Rutland County
  • VT GenWeb--Washington County
  • VT GenWeb--Windham County
  • Vermont Historical Society
  • Vermont State Archives
  • Web page of Stephen P. Morse (Passenger Ship Lists)
  • Windsor County Vermont
Bibliography

Bassett, T. D. S. Vermont: A Bibliography of Its History. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1981. (Ref. F49 A1 V4)

Burgess, Michael, et al. State and Province Vital Records Guide. San Berardino, CA: Borgo Press, 1993. (Ref. HA38 A2114 1993)

Carleton, Hiram. Genealogical and Family History of the State of Vermont: A Record of the Achievements of her People. New York: Lewis Publishing Co., 1903. (Vt. Coll. F48 C28)

Dodge, Prentiss C. Encyclopedia, Vermont Biography: A Series of Authentic Biographical Sketches of the Representative Men of Vermont and Sons of Vermont in Other States. Burlington: Ullery Publishing Co., 1912. (Vt. Coll. F48 D64)

Gilman, Marcus D. Bibliography of Vermont: Or a List of Books and Pamphlets Relating in any Way to the State. Burlington: Free Press Association, 1897. (Vt. Coll. F48 G5)

Hemenway, Abby M. Vermont Historical Gazetteer. 5 vols. Burlington: The Author, 1867-1891. (Vt. Coll. F46 V51)

Kemp, Thomas Jay. Virtual Roots; A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1997. (Ref. CS21 K46 1997)

National Archives Trust Fund Board. Genealogical & Biographical Research; A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Administration, 1996. (Ref. CS47 A1 U64 1996)

New England Library Association. A Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research. New England Library Association, 1980. (Vt. Coll. CS44 N4)

Ullery, Jacob G. Men of Vermont: An Illustrated Biographical History of Vermonters and Sons of Vermont. Brattleboro: Transcript Publishing Co., 1894. (Vt. Coll. F48 F41)

Vermont. Secretary of State. Basic Sources for Vermont Historical Research. Montpelier: Secretary of State, 1981. (Vt. Coll. F49 A1 B3 1981)

Adapted from information provided by the Genealogical Society of Utah, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.



Search the Library Catalog

Search for in

Advanced Search

Subject Specialist
Picture: Hans Raum

Hans Raum
Reference & Instruction Librarian, Government Documents Librarian
Office: Lib 211
(802) 443- 5493
raum@middlebury.edu


Related Guides

American History

Newspapers

Vermontiana

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus