FYSE 1354 The American Dream Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Academic Year 2011-2012
INTRODUCTION


Purpose of this guide: to help first-year students in The American Dream course develop their ability to locate, evaluate, and use information in a variety of formats, laying the foundation for becoming independent, life-long learners.
Library Research
Try these first
  • Summon
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse

Summon

Advanced Search

What's Summon
All Items by Source
Citation and Style Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Newspapers
Reviews

Journals/Magazines

Academic OneFile Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited.  Shortcuts:  go/onefile (on campus),  http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).

JSTOR Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995.  Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.

Project Muse Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted.  Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).

Summon Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available Resource contains images
Summon is our newest and most effective tool for searching many resources at once, so we’ve put it right at the center of the library home page (look for the “Summon” tab in the “Library Quick Search” box). Summon searches most library resources including MIDCAT, full-text newspapers and journals, and most of our library databases. Read more about it in the LIS blog. Watch a video tutorial.

Newspapers

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).

Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide Unrestricted Resource
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.

Multiple E-Reference Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
A collection of subject-specific encyclopedias published by Gale. Search across the whole collection or narrow your search by subject area or title of reference work.

Oxford Reference Online Premium Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.

Vermont Online Library (Gale) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
The Vermont Online Library (Gale) provides access to over a dozen different databases ranging from business, health, computer, and newspaper databases to K-12 resources. Both academic and popular materials are included as well as some full-text. See individual database descriptions for details. 

Citation and Style Guides

Citation and Style Guides Unrestricted Resource
Created by Middlebury College librarians.  A guide to writing papers & citing sources.

Images

Video, Image, and Sound Effects Subject Guide Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Search for videos, audio files, images, sound effects, and more.

Reviews

Book Reviews Subject Guide Unrestricted Resource
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.

Key to Icons (Click to open)

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio



Subject Specialist
Picture: Richard Jenkins

Richard Jenkins
Catalog Librarian
Office: Lib 135c
(802) 443- 2330
rjenkins@middlebury.edu


Library & Technology Basics
General Library Information
  • Library Home Page [go/lib]
  • Library Borrowing and Use  [go/borrow]
  • Course Reserves  [go/reserves]
  • Interlibrary Loan (Illiad and NExpress) [go/ill & go/nexpress]
  • Quick-start Guide to Library Research
  • Library Tutorials [go/tutorials]
Technology Help
  • Technology Helpdesk  [go/helpdesk]
  • Connect to middfiles & other file servers [go/middfiles]
  • Accessing class folders
  • Course Hub  [go/coursehub] New gateway to course content
  • Student printing [go/Print]
  • Digital Media Tutors  [go/dmt]
    These student tutors offer help for all our media editing programs.
  • Lynda.com [go/lynda]
    Web-based tutorials to learn new software skills, including Microsoft Office.
Research Help
  • Ask a Librarian  [go/askus]
    Contact a librarian in person, by email, telephone, text message, or social media
  • Peer Writing Tutors
  • Subject Guides: created by Midd librarians [go/subjectguides]
  • Research Advice  [go/researchadvice]
Finding Books and Journals
Middlebury College Libraries
  • Summon: Find articles, books, videos, & more
  • MIDCAT: Find books & journal titles at Middlebury
  • NExpress: NExpress consortium in New England (first choice for Interlibrary loan)
National & International Libraries
  • WorldCat [go/worldcat]
More help:  Find Books [go/findbooks]
Finding Journal Articles
Find print & online journals through Summon. Find additional articles by checking  Databases A - Z or databases for specific disciplines in library Subject Guides.

More help: Find Articles [go/findarticles]
Evaluating Resources
  • Evaluating Resources
  • Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages (Cornell)
Citing your sources
Avoiding plagiarism
  • Guide to avoiding plagiarism (Purdue)
  • Quoting, Paraphrasing, Summarizing (Purdue)
Citation & Style guides
  • Library subject guide on citing sources
  • APA style guide #1 (APA, publisher)
  • APA style guide #2 (Purdue)
RefWorks
Keep track of your sources with RefWorks. Create endnotes (or footnotes) & bibliographies. 
  • RefWorks login page
  • RefWorks help documents

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus