FYSE 1228 World of Winston Churchill Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Library Research
Search the Library Catalog

Search for in

Advanced Search

Summon

Advanced Search

Summon Tutorial
All Items by Source
Journals/Magazines
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Newspapers

Journals/Magazines

Historical Abstracts Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.

JSTOR Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Full-text archive of over 700 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences covering all issues published, except for the last 2 to 5 years. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Formerly called PCI Full-text.  Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.

Newspapers

The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985 Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.

Times of India 1838-2002 (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Search and view digital full-text images of the newspaper. Includes Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859); Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861); Times of India (1861-2002). Also searchable with other ProQuest Newspapers.

Additional Newspapers: Newspapers Guide Unrestricted Resource
There is a separate Middlebury Newspapers Guide.  Check it for additional listings of newspapers (current and historical) in print, microfilm, and electronic collections.

Multiple E-Reference Collections

Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide) Unrestricted Resource
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more.  Go shortcut = go/eref.



Subject Specialist
Picture: Brenda Ellis

Brenda Ellis
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Tel: (802) 443- 5497



Library & Technology Basics
General Library Information
  • Library Home Page [go/lib]
  • Library Locations [go/liblocations]
  • Library Hours  [go/hours]
  • Library Borrowing and Use  [go/borrow]
  • Course Reserves  [go/reserves]
  • Inter-library Loan (Illiad and NExpress) [go/ill & go/nexpress]
  • Quick-start Guide to Library Research
  • Library Tutorials [go/tutorials]
Technology Help
  • Technology Helpdesk  [go/helpdesk]
  • Getting Started at Middlebury
  • Technology Orientation
  • Computing "how to" guides  [go/documentation]
  • Connect to middfiles & other file servers [go/middfiles]
  • Accessing class folders
  • Course Hub  [go/coursehub] New gateway to course content
  • Off-campus access and EZproxy [go/ezproxy]
  • Student printing [go/Print]
  • Digital Media Tutors  [go/dmt]
    Located in the Wilson Media Lab on the main floor of the Davis Family Library, tutors offer help for all our media editing programs.
  • Lynda.com [go/lynda]
    Web-based tutorials to learn new software skills, including Microsoft Office.
Research Help
  • Ask a Librarian  [go/askus]
    Contact a librarian in person, by email, telephone, text message or social media
  • Peer Writing Tutors
    Contact your course mentor or peer writing tutor when you write a paper.  Also, consult  Writing Guides, created by the Peer Writing Tutors.
  • Subject Guides  [go/researchguides]
  • Research Advice  [go/researchadvice]
  • Library Tutorials
Finding Books and Journals
Middlebury College Libraries
  • Summon: Find articles, books, videos and more in our collections.
  • MIDCAT: Find books and journal titles in our collections
  • NExpress: NExpress Consortium (books from 7 libraries including Middlebury)
National and International Libraries
  • WorldCat: world's largest library catalog [go/worldcat]
More advice:  Find Books [go/findbooks]
Finding Journal Articles
Many print and online journals can be found through Summon, but additional articles can be found by checking  Databases A - Z or databases for specific disciplines in our Subject Guides.

More advice: Find Articles [go/findarticles]
Locating Resources
  • Map of Armstrong Library (for the Sciences)
  • Map of Davis Family Library (Main Library)
Evaluating Resources
  • Evaluating Resources
  • Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
Citing your sources

RefWorks
Keep track of your sources with RefWorks, & create endnotes (or footnotes) and bibliographies. 
  • RefWorks login page
  • RefWorks help documents
Also check this subject guide on citing sources

Last updated: March 13, 2012
This page maintained by: Electronic Services Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus