FYSE 1144 Jane Austen and Film Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
Background Information
Encyclopedias provide concise information to get you familiar with your topic.  Often they include a few key citations to more in-depth information in books.

Olsen, Kirstin. All Things Austen: An Encyclopedia of Austen's World. 2 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2005.

Poplowski, Paul. A Jane Austen Encyclopedia. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.

Ross, Josephine. Jane Austen: A Companion. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2003.

A Receipt for Courtship (cropped) from the
Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division
Permissions

Finding Books and Films in Midcat
Midcat (Library Catalog)
For a more focused search than Summon, search in Midcat for books, documents, videos, and other resources (except journal articles) owned by Middlebury.

For resources about Jane Austen use a SUBJECT search: (AUTHOR search finds items she wrote)
  • Austen, Jane, 1775-1817 --
Other relevant subjects:
  • England – Social life and customs – 19th Century
  • Folk Dancing – England
  • Leisure – England - History
  • Great Britain -- History -- 18th century (also 19th Century)
  • Great Britain -- History --1789 – 1820
  • Regency -- England

Tips: Use wildcards * with keyword searches to find variant endings on a word.
Example: court* finds court, courts, courting, courtship

Finding more: Do a KEYWORD search with your own words. If you find something relevant, follow the subject links in the full view to find other items with that subject. If you can't find relevant items, consult a librarian.
Finding Articles from Austen's Time
British Periodicals (parts 1 and 2)
Now on the ProQuest platform, this database offers facsimile page images and searchable full-text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Part One consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Part Two consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles.

19th Century British Library Newspapers
Full-text of 48 national and regional newspapers from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
Access the digital archives of The Times of London from 1785 to 1985. Search by keyword, by words in text, or browse by date and retrieve the full text as it appeared in the paper.
Finding More Recent Journal Articles
The library has many journal and newspaper databases and subscriptions.  See Databases A-Z for a more complete list.  The following are the ones most relevant for this class:

Summon
Summon is our newest and most effective tool for searching many resources at once, so we’ve put it right at the center of the library home page (look for the “Summon” tab in the “Library Quick Search” box). Summon searches most library resources including MIDCAT, full-text newspapers and journals, and most of our library databases. Read more about it in the LIS blog. Watch a video tutorial.

Persuasions: The Jane Austen Journal

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, and folklore. Indexes over 6,000 sources, including 4,000+ journals. 1926-current.

Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center Contains critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes over 200 full-text journals, biographies, bibliographies, reference works, and the full-text of Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (select) and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
Finding Film Reviews
Summon
Summon is our newest and most effective tool for searching many resources at once, so we’ve put it right at the center of the library home page (look for the “Summon” tab in the “Library Quick Search” box). Summon searches most library resources including MIDCAT, full-text newspapers and journals, and most of our library databases. Read more about it in the LIS blog. Watch a video tutorial.

Film Literature Index
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. For additional years, see the print index, Ref PN1994 .F45 (1973 - 2004).

Magill's Cinema Annual
Presents review essays on films released in the U.S. and cites sources of additional reviews. Ref PN1993.3 M34


Subject Specialist
Picture: Brenda Ellis

Brenda Ellis
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Tel: (802) 443- 5497



General Library Information
  • Library Home Page [go/lib]
  • Library Locations [go/liblocations]
  • Library Hours  [go/hours]
  • Library Borrowing and Use  [go/borrow]
  • Course Reserves  [go/reserves]
  • Inter-library Loan (Illiad and NExpress) [go/ill & go/nexpress]
  • Quick-start Guide to Library Research
  • Library Tutorials [go/tutorials]
Research Help
  • Ask a Librarian  [go/askus]
    Contact a librarian in person, by email, telephone, text message or social media
  • Peer Writing Tutors
    Contact your course mentor or peer writing tutor when you write a paper.  Also, consult  Writing Guides, created by the Peer Writing Tutors.
  • Subject Guides  [go/researchguides]
  • Research Advice  [go/researchadvice]
  • Library Tutorials
Evaluating Resources
  • Evaluating Resources
  • Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages
Citing your sources

RefWorks
Keep track of your sources with RefWorks, & create endnotes (or footnotes) and bibliographies. 
  • RefWorks login page
  • RefWorks help documents
Also check this subject guide on citing sources
Technology Help
  • Technology Helpdesk  [go/helpdesk]
  • Getting Started at Middlebury
  • Technology Orientation
  • Computing "how to" guides  [go/documentation]
  • Connect to middfiles & other file servers [go/middfiles]
  • Accessing class folders
  • Course Hub  [go/coursehub] New gateway to course content
  • Off-campus access and EZproxy [go/ezproxy]
  • Student printing [go/Print]
  • Digital Media Tutors  [go/dmt]
    Located in the Wilson Media Lab on the main floor of the Davis Family Library, tutors offer help for all our media editing programs.
  • Lynda.com [go/lynda]
    Web-based tutorials to learn new software skills, including Microsoft Office.

Last updated: March 13, 2012
This page maintained by: Electronic Services Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus