French Research Guide

All Guides    Databases A-Z    Middlebury Libraries    Bookmark and Share
All Items by Source
Almanacs and Yearbooks
Audio Files
Biographical Information
Blogs
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Citation Tools
Dictionaries
Dissertations
eBooks
Encyclopedias
Government Information
Handbooks and Guides
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Maps
Newspapers
Newspapers--International
Primary Sources
Radio Stations
Research Tools
Statistics/Data
TV Stations
Web Sites

Journals/Magazines

French Periodical Index Unrestricted Resource
Paper resource, covers 1973-1996. Ref AI7/F7.
Note: Print resource

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.

Proquest Arts: Journals & Dissertations Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Includes these databases: American Periodicals; British Periodicals; CBCA Complete: The Arts; Ethnic NewsWatch; Index Islamicus; International Index to Music Periodicals; MLA International Bibliography; ProQuest Career and Technical Education: The Arts; ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: The Arts; ProQuest Research Library: The Arts

Scopus Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.

  • Contains more than 47 million records, 70% with abstracts, more than 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide.  70% of content is pulled from international sources.  Includes MEDLINE.
  • Records since 1996 include searchable cited references.
  • Shortcut: go/scopus (on campus) or http://go.middlebury.edu/scopus (off-campus)

CAIRN Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Retrouvez sur ce site 38 908 articles parus depuis 2001 dans 153 revues de recherche et de débat. Les archives sont en accès gratuit, ainsi que les résumés, sommaires et plans d'articles, et le texte intégral de certains articles récents

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.

Directory of Open Access Journals Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

EconLit with Full Text Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit. 
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.

ERIC Database Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.

Erudit Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Erudit covers a wide range of disciplines in the human, social and natural sciences. The search tool allows to look into a corpus comprised of recently published articles and retroactively digitalized articles from past issues. Full-text database in French from Quebec. Covers 2001-

French 17 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
An annual survey of the work done each year in the general area of seventeenth-century French studies

Historical Abstracts Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.

JSTOR Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.  The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present.  Now on the ProQuest platform.

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)

PAIS International (ProQuest) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais

Persee Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
PERSEE portal aims at digitalising and publishing online the retrospective collections of a wide corpus of French journals in social and human sciences

Project Muse Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted.  Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).

Revues.org Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Begun in 1999, Revues.org is a portal for full text French journals covering the humanities and social sciences.

Newspapers

L'Express (fr) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online coverage from 1996-present. Also available in print from 1987- in the bound periodicals collection on the lower level of the Davis Family Library AP20.E92, and from 1953-1988 on microfilm - film 481.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).

Nouvel Observateur Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Covers 2002-present. For coverage beginning in 1969, see the bound periodicals on the lower level of the Davis Family Library, AP20.N74

Library PressDisplay Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.

Le Monde Unrestricted Resource
Microfilm #382 and Current Newspapers section.
Print Index. 1944 - . REF AI 21 .M58.
Online access info.

Note: Print Resource

Le Monde (Online) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Available through LexisNexis Academic 1987-current.

Books: other Catalogs

European Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
 Online portal to 48 national libraries in Europe.

NExpress Unrestricted Resource
Use the  button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University.  See the NExpress page for full details.

Bibliotheque Nationale de France Unrestricted Resource
Online presence for the National Library of France. Here's a guide to research from the Bibliotheque Nationale.

WorldCat Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)

International Geographic Resources

Columbia Gazetteer of the World Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Library of Congress Country Studies Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Research Tools

LibX Middlebury College Edition Unrestricted Resource
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:

Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.

Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.

Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.

Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)

Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.

Web Sites

Europeana Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

ParisLike Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
 A web magazine for art, creativity and culture, featuring video documentaries, interviews and critical essays in French and in English.

L' album des sciences sociales (WWW Virtual Library-French History) Unrestricted Resource
This is a meta-site with categorized links to other sites.
Note: French language site

Averroès: Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
span id="mainContent" style="display: inline;">Portail documentaire des médiathèques du réseau culturel français au Maroc

ClicNet (Swarthmore) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
ClicNet édite et localise des ressources virtuelles en français pour les étudiants, les enseignants de français langue étrangère (FLE) ou langue seconde (FLS), et tous ceux qui s'intéressent aux cultures, aux arts et aux littératures francophones.

Creating French Culture: Treasures from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
The website Creating French Culture traces the history of this relationship from Charlemagne (b. 742?-d. 814) to Charles de Gaulle (b. 1890-d. 1970), through the prism of more than 200 magnificent "treasures" on loan from the Bibliothèque nationale de France in Paris.
Note: Hosted by the Library of Congress

French Resources (Univeristy of Adelaide) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A site created and maintained by the Reseach Librarian for French Studies at the University of Adelaide

Ressources Electroniques pour les Etudiants,la Recherche et l'Enseignement Unrestricted Resource
Ressources Electroniques pour les Etudiants,la Recherche et l’Enseignement

Les URFIST (Unités Régionales de Formation à l'Information Scientifique et Technique) ont une double mission: former le personnel des bibliothèques ainsi que le public universitaire (étudiants de 3e cycle et enseignants) à l'information scientifique et technique, et plus généralement les sensibiliser aux nouvelles technologies de l'information.

WESSWEB Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Web pages selected and maintained by the Western European Studies Section of ACRL.

Yamada Language Guides Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Web Portal for numerous language related sites

Government Information

Governments on the WWW Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.

Citation Tools

Zotero Unrestricted Resource
Browser plug-in that helps you collect, manage, and cite your research sources.  For Firefox, Chrome, and Safari.  Similar to RefWorks, but slightly easier to learn. Check our guide to get started.

Almanacs and Yearbooks

Europa World Year Book (all countries) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).

Audio Files

Project Gutenberg - audiobooks Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
 Computer read audiobooks in many languages.

Music Online Listening Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Resource contains audio
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)

Biographical Information

Literature Resource Center Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Link to Article Some full text available
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals.  When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.

Blogs

Europe Endless: Modes of Life and Other Places Unrestricted Resource
Blog focuses on European history, particularly France and Germany.  

Outils Froids Unrestricted Resource
Veille, intelligence économique, organisation personnelle, web 2.0. Des liens et du contenu!

Citation and Style Guides

RefWorks On-campus use only Link to Article
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at  http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.

Dictionaries

Larousse dictionaries Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
 Includes a number of  free dictionaries

ARTFL Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes the Main ARTFL Database, French Women Writers, Provençal poetry, Journal de Trévoux, full-text dictionary searching and the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (OVI) Database.

Includes Webster's and Roget's Thesaurus, and well as the French dictionaries and multilingual bibles.

Dictionnaire des synonymes Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Le dictionnaire des synonymes du CRISCO contient approximativement 49 000 entrées et 396 000 relations synonymiques. La base de départ regroupait sept dictionnaires classiques : le Bailly, le Benac, le Du Chazaud, le Guizot, le Lafaye, le Larousse et le Robert.

Dictionnaire Multifonctions Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
...combine un dictionnaire de défi nitions, synonymes et conjugaisons.

MIDCAT List - French Dictionaries Unrestricted Resource
Active Catalog search
Note: Active catalog search

Oxford Reference Online Premium Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.

WordReference.com Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Language dictionaries

Your Dictionary Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.

Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only

Encyclopedias

Britannica’s Global Reference Center Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
A collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Photos, detailed maps,and other images accompany the text.

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource
Edited by William W. Kibler. NY: Garland, 1995. DC33.2 .M44 1995.
Note: Print Resource

MIDCAT List - Encyclopedias, French Unrestricted Resource
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search

Handbooks and Guides

Les Pages des Paris Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Web tour guide for Paris in both French and English

Journals/Magazines of the Period

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.

Maps

France Maps (UT Austin) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

Newspapers--International

EUfeeds Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
News feeds from 300 European newspapers, organized by country

Foreign Language News and Magazines Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.

Imooty Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
European news navigator

Kidon Media Link Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.

Newspapers24 Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news

Primary Sources

CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog Unrestricted Resource
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.

Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).

CRL: Topic Guide France Unrestricted Resource
 Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Middle Eastern resources available for us to borrow via Interlibrary Loan.  Includes major microfilm collections of primary source material. Search the CRL catalog to find additional resources.

ATHENA Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full text public domain database.

Electronic Text Center (University of Virginia) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Digital texts, some restricted to UVA.

French Revolutionary Pamphlets Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Collection includes papers from wealthy planters, University of Alabama history, and this fine mix of over 170 pamphlets from the French Revolution. The pamphlets were used to "spread the word of revolution", and they are taken from the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library's Rare Books Collection. The pamphlets include writings by many of the well-known participants, including Desmoulins, Danton, and of course, Robespierre. Visitors can choose to browse through the collection at their leisure, or they may also wish to perform a more detailed search for specific items of interest. It is worth noting that the pamphlets are in French only

Gallica Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Digital books, periodicals, and other documents from the Bibliotheque Nationale

L'Association des Bibliophiles Universels (ABU) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Full text books and other resources

La Bibliotheque Electronique de Lisieux Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Une collection de textes littéraires et documentaires du domaine public francophone proposée par la Médiathèque André Malraux de Lisieux.

La France en Amerique = France in America Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Bilingual digital site from the Library of Congress that includes books, maps, prints and other historic documents.

LITAF: Litterature Africaine Francophone Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
LITAF : une référence générale sur les littératures de l'Afrique noire francophone

Littérature Francophone virtuelle Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
ClicNet, full text literature.

Radio Stations

Radio-Locator Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Find radio stations by country

Statistics/Data

CIA - The World Factbook Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.

Eurostat International Trade Data Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Available for download from Eurostat website.  Includes EU and partner country data. 

Gender Statistics Website Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
This website aims to bring together both gender statistics and policies. Focus is on the production, dissemination and use of gender related data. In addition to statistics, this site outlines some of the main gender issues relevant to the UNECE region (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe), and provides examples of policies and other initiatives. It also contains thematic pages on topics consisting of important methodologies and examples of survey instruments.

International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000 Unrestricted Resource
Main Library Reference HA1107 M5 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)
Note: Print Resource

UN Statistical Yearbook Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Population, social, and economic statistics from the United Nations.
Latest edition in Reference HA12.5 U63. Earlier editions in Oversize Stacks.  Statistics also available online from UNData.

TV Stations

International TV Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Portal site to TV stations from around the world

eBooks

EBL eBook Library Middlebury Students, Faculty and Staff only Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.



Key to Icons (Click to open)

Unrestricted Resource = Unrestricted Resource
Restricted Resource = Middlebury Students, Faculty & Staff only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = Link to Article

Some full text available = Some full text available
Resource contains images = Resource contains images
Resource contains video = Resource contains video
Resource contains audio = Resource contains audio

Subject Specialist
Picture: Joy Pile

Joy Pile
Reference & Instruction Librarian for Foreign Languages & Music
Office: Lib 210
(802) 443- 5140
pile@middlebury.edu


Helpguides
  • New Acquisitions doc
Browse Journals
  • French
Tips

List of videos (DVD & VHS) in French

List of French CDs (Pop & classical) in the Davis Family Library

Last updated: March 21, 2013
This page maintained by: Web Services & Systems Librarian
Powered by SubjectsPlus