Atlases
Biographical Information
Blogs
Chronologies
Citation and Style Guides
Congressional Information
Country Information
Encyclopedias
Government Information
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Maps
Newspapers
Public Policy
Resources for Thesis Students
Statistics/Data
Weather and Climate
Web Sites
Writing and Plagiarism
GREENR Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
![]()
A site for research on sustainability and the environment. News, video, interactive maps, and original documents covering energy systems, healthcare, food and others.
Environmental Issues and Policy Collection
1980-current. Infotrac collection indexing over 700 environmental journals, many with full-text.
GreenFILE
"Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records."
Agricola (National Agriculture Library interface)
1970-current. Articles, books, software, maps, and other materials on topics related to agriculture, including biology of plants, animals, and microorganisms of economic importance.
AgEcon Search
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Energy Citations Database
Contains bibliographic records from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies. Subjects include chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Coverage: 1948 - current.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E)
Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy policy news. Included publications are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, Environment and Energy Daily (E&E Daily), Greenwire, E&E News, ETV, and E&E Reports.
Congressional Research Service Reports (from NCSE)
The National Council for Science & the Environment (NCSE) provides access to those CRS reports that are related to the environment. CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Additional CRS reports can be found on OpenCRS.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
ProQuest Science Journals
1986-current. References to articles on a wide variety of topics in the sciences including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. The database includes over 660 titles, with more than 540 available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
Scirus Searches for science-related and primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
1) Click on "Search Preferences," 2) For Library Partner Links, click "Enable," 3) Click "M" and then select "Middlebury College" from the drop-down list, and 4) Click "Save Preferences."
Note: Preferences can be set to link directly to articles in Middlebury collections. (See above)
Middlebury College Libraries Databases A-Z List
Links to all indexes and databases available through the Middlebury College Libraries. Shortcuts = go/databases (on campus); http://go.middlebury.edu/databases (off-campus).
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
ProQuest Newsstand
Includes Chicago Tribune (1985 - present); Los Angeles Times (1985 - present); + ProQuest Newsstand (1423 newspapers including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. and the world.)
Note: formerly National Newspapers Premiere and before that, ProQuest Newspapers (current)
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
The EcoGateway
Guide to online resources. Nice topical breakdown within categories.
UVM Center for Sustainable Agriculture
The Center seeks to advance sustainable food and farming systems. Provides helpful resources such as their quarterly newsletter, Cultivating Connections.
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
Gateway to U.S. government documents which includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications; the Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, Laws, and Reports; Federal Register and CFR; Budget of the U.S. Government; Supreme Court decisions; Public Papers of the Presidents; and much more.
MetaLib
Search engine for more than 50 U.S. Government databases covering a broad range of subjects, including energy, the environment, health, defense, geodata, statistics, and more.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. Useful for identifying government documents not owned by Middlebury (and thus not in Midcat) but available via interlibrary loan. 1976 - present.
Energy Sources - USGS
The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Energy Resources Program (ERP) provides information from impartial, comprehensive research investigations of geologic energy resources, including: petroleum (oil, natural gas, natural gas liquids), coal, gas hydrates, geothermal resources, oil shale, oil sands, uranium, and heavy oil and natural bitumen. Includes viability assessments for different energy sources worldwide.
EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Website for accessing U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) publications.
Government Information Resources - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
For additional sources of digital and print Government Information and research tools compiled by Middlebury's Government Documents staff.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Index of Government-sponsored technical reports. The database is free, but there is a charge for the reports. It's possible some may be available via Interlibrary Loan or you can check with a librarian to see if the library could purchase a copy for our collection.
Offshore Energy and Minerals Management
Data and information from the U.S. government about its management of offshore mineral resources in the Gulf of Mexico, Pacific and Alaska. Includes data on the percentage and monthly production volumes of oil and gas that the Federal OCS contributes to the U.S. total, plus information on topics such as alternative energy programs, coastal impact, environmental assessment and monitoring and more.
Science Accelerator
Searches resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Smaller in scope than, but not necessarily replicated in, Science.gov.
Science.gov
Selective coverage, as far back as 1948. Science.gov is a search engine for government science information from the Departments of Agriculture; Commerce; Defense; Education; Energy; Health and Human Services; and Interior. Also the Environmental Protection Agency, Library of Congress, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the US Government Printing Office. Results are authoritative and selective and may include scientific or technical data, publications, databases, documentation, or other forms of information.
Tip: To limit your search to a subset of the database, click on the "Advanced Search" link
Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)
TRIS Online provides access to records of published transportation research through a searchable database. TRIS is provided by the National Transportation Library.
Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
A good starting point for researching environmental issues related to Vermont. The agency oversees the Department of Environmental Conservation, the Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation.
Vermont Natural Resources Board
Includes the Land Use Panel and the Water Resources Panel, which are useful for finding information about regulations and policies in Vermont (including Act 250 environmental reviews).
Africa Environment Outlook 2
AEO is published by the UN Environment Programme. Also see Africa Environment Outlook 1.
Global Environment Outlook (GEO)
Published by the UN Environment Programme. "GEO is both a process and a series of reports, analyzing environmental change, causes, impacts, and policy responses."
OECD Environmental Outlook to 2030
Published in May 2008. Provides key trends and projections, policy implications, and more for a variety of issues.
OECD-FAO Agricultural Outlook
Middlebury subscribes via SourceOECD. FAO has a free highlights version as well. Includes a chapter on biofuels.
State of Food and Agriculture (SOFA)
Published by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the UN. Online 1993 - present. See also regional editions.
State of Food Insecurity in the World (SOFI)
Published by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the UN. Online from 1999 - present.
State of the Nations Ecosystems
Comprehensive, nonpartisan, scientifically reliable report on the condition of our lands, waters, and living resources. It is organized around the nation’s primary ecosystems: farmlands, forests, fresh waters, coasts and oceans, grasslands and shrublands, urban and suburban areas, and the nation as a whole. Conditions are tracked using approximately 100 indicators.
Print: Armstrong Library Stacks QH104 .S73.
State of the World
"A Worldwatch Institute report on progress toward a sustainable society."
Print: Davis Library Stacks HC59 .S7333.
State of the World's Forests
Biennial report published by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the UN. Online from 1995 - present.
State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture (SOFIA)
Published every two years by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the UN to provide "a comprehensive, objective and global view of capture fisheries and aquaculture, including associated policy issues." Online from 1995 to the present.
UNEP Year Book (formerly GEO Year Book)
Identifies key emerging issues for consideration by the United Nations Environment Programme Governing Council and feeds into the GEO process.
World Resources Report
The earlier years are in Davis Family Library Stacks HC58 .W667
Note: Online and Print
World's Water
Biennial report on the world's freshwater resources and issues from the Pacific Institute.
Atlas of Our Changing Environment
From the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). View the Atlas on Google Maps, Google Earth, or as an online publication. Also available in print, Armstrong Library Oversize GE149 .O53 2005
Note: Online and Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Climate Debate Daily
Essays and research from both sides of the debate over the significance of global climate change.
Climate Feedback
A blog hosted by Nature Reports: Climate Change with discussion on the science and implications of global warming.
Dot Earth
A New York Times blog about the impact of humans on the earth.
Grist: Environmental News and Commentary
"News about green issues and sustainable living".
Great Events from History II. Ecology and the Environment Series
Armstrong Library Stacks GE150 .G72 1995 (5 volumes)
Note: Print Resource
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
Making Sense : A Student's Guide to Research and Writing : Geography and Environmental Sciences
4th ed. Includes Writing a lab report ; Doing field work and writing about it; and much more.
Print: Armstrong Library Stacks G74 .N67 2009.
Country Analysis Briefs (Energy)
Published by the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Provides energy background and other information for many (but not all) countries around the world.
EarthTrends (World Resources Institute)
Provides a searchable database, data tables, country profiles, maps, and more. "Focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."
Environmental Indicators (World Bank)
Provides access to Country Environmental Factsheets; The Little Green Data Book (environmental indicators from WDI); and environmental topics.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement
Print: Davis Family Library Reference GE195 .P36 2007 (earlier edition in stacks)
MIDCAT List - Environmental Dictionaries For additional dictionaries, try this ADVANCED KEYWORD search of MIDCAT for Environment* and Dictionaries (restricted to subjects)
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Encyclopedia of Earth
Free collection of articles about the Earth, its environment, and the interaction between society and the environment. Articles are contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, and other experts who review one another's work.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
5 vol., 2007. 1,200 entries on topics related to the overlap between people and nature. Biographies, policy discussions, and essays about problems, processes, and theoretical concepts.
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
Entries range from (long): the domain of GISci and its major subdomains, such as cartography and geodesy and core themes, such as spatial analysis, ontology, and data modeling; (medium): significant topics, such as network analysis, spatialization, and polygon operations. (short): specialized concepts and techniques, such as the ecological fallacy, spatial weights, and open standards; (very short ): key organizations in GIS and definitions of fundamental topics, such as legend and extent.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs
Springer, 2012.
Encyclopedia of Population
2 vols, 2003. Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more.
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Background information, definitions and data on Environment, Soil Science & Conservation, Geoecology/Natural Processes, Agriculture, Physical Geography and Geotechnical Engineering.
Environmental Literature : An Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
Print: Davis Family Library Reference GE35 .E58 1999
MIDCAT LIST - Environmental Encyclopedias
For additional encyclopedias, try this ADVANCED KEYWORD search of MIDCAT for Environment* and Encyclopedias (restricted to subjects).
Our earth's changing land: an encyclopedia of land-use and land-cover change
In-depth essays on central issues including the history and dynamics of land use and land cover. Many of the entries describe specific case studies.
Print: Armstrong Library Reference GF90 .O87 2006 (2 volumes)
Oxford Handbook of U.S. Environmental Policy
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2013
Handbook of Environmental and Resource Economics
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HC79.E5 H3284 1999
Handbook of Environmental Economics
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HC79 .E5 H3285 2003 (3 volumes)
National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library
The National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library is an online vault where a comprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures are securely stored and available for searchable access and download.
Maps & GIS Guide
Search for a wide variety of maps and GIS information, both print and online. Also includes resources on historical maps and U.S. government information.
NationalAtlas.gov
Provides maps of the United States from more than 20 Federal organizations that can be viewed, printed, or downloaded. These maps capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life including history, people, government, environment, agriculture, etc. You can also build your own maps; use interactive maps online; order large classroom maps; download data for GIS applications; and find articles on U.S. geography. Also see The National Map.
Climate Change Indicators in the U.S.
Report with graphs from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. See the bibliography for sources of data.
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Annual Energy Review
Yearly reports on energy use and supply from the Energy Information Administration. Included are data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, international energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
EarthTrends (World Resources Institute)
Provides a searchable database, data tables, country profiles, maps, and more. "Focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."
Environment at a Glance: OECD Environmental Indicators
"Organised by issues such as climate change, air pollution, biodiversity, waste and water resources." See also other OECD Environment and Sustainable Development titles.
Environmental Indicators (World Bank)
Provides access to Country Environmental Factsheets; The Little Green Data Book (environmental indicators from WDI); and environmental topics.
EPA Databases
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
FAOSTAT
"Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries." Also see FAO Statistics page; FAO Statistical Yearbook; FAO's World Food Situation website and the following annual publications: State of Food and Agriculture (SOFA); State of World Fisheries and Acquaculture (SOFIA); State of the World's Forests (SOFO).
Global Environment Outlook Data Portal
Access "data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 450 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP."
Global Footprint Network
See See nations section along with data table for all countries.
Little Green Data Book
Has environmental statistical profiles from the World Development Indicators by region, income group, and country.
National Environmental Scorecard
From the League of Conservation Voters, a person-by-person account of how Congress has voted on key energy and environmental issues.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it searches statistical publications and tables by keywords, subjects, and categories. Find a Table searches full text. Find a Publication searches summaries of statistical publications, some with links to full-text. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. See the Quick Start Guide for getting started. Also see Statistical Datasets and Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Transboundary Freshwater Dispute Database
From Oregon State Univ. and Northwest Alliance for Computational Science and Engineering. Provides 6 databases with information on transboundary freshwater sources including treaties and other agreements; maps; disputes; descriptive data; etc.
Water Use in the United States
U.S., state, and county water use information. Also contains link to National Water Information System and Real-Time Water Data Retrieval Map for more detailed data.
ProQuest Congressional
Fomerly called Lexis-Nexis Congressional. Index and with some full-text for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. For dates of coverage, see contents coverage chart.
CQ Electronic Library
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: CQ Weekly & Almanac (issues in Congress); CQ Researcher (hot topics); Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
National Environmental Scorecard
From the League of Conservation Voters, a person-by-person account of how Congress has voted on key energy and environmental issues.
Legal Information (including Treaties)
Environmental Law Reporter
From Lexis-Nexis. Access to multivolumes including administrative materials; news; litigation; briefs and pleadings; statutes and treaties.
Vermont Environmental Administrative Decisions
Part of Lexis-Nexis Academic. Other state decisions also available.
Legal Information Library Subject Guide
US and international court cases, laws, and treaty resources can be found on this Middlebury library subject guide.
Oxford Handbook of U.S. Environmental Policy
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2013
CQ Electronic Library
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: CQ Weekly & Almanac (issues in Congress); CQ Researcher (hot topics); Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
CAKE (Climate Adaptation Knowledge Exchange)
A joint project of Island Press and EcoAdapt, it is an interactive online platform "aimed at building a shared knowledge base for managing natural systems in the face of rapid climate change." Includes case studies, virtual library, directory, tools, and more.
Climate Change Indicators in the U.S.
Report with graphs from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. See the bibliography for sources of data.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Information on state, national, and international issues and policies related to climate change. Includes sections on the basics; technology solutions; science & impacts; economics; business; policy briefs; U.S. climate legislation; and much more. Also includes a blog.
Weather (Middlebury College)
Collection of links to US Government sources on Weather and Climate.
Making Sense : A Student's Guide to Research and Writing : Geography and Environmental Sciences
4th ed. Includes Writing a lab report ; Doing field work and writing about it; and much more.
Print: Armstrong Library Stacks G74 .N67 2009.

