Archives
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Business and Companies
Citation and Style Guides
Country Information
Dictionaries
eBooks
Encyclopedias
Handbooks and Guides
History of Economics
Industry Information
International Economy
International Trade
Investing
Journals/Magazines
Maps
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Public Opinion
Reviews
Sports Economics
Statistics/Data - International
Statistics/Data - U.S.
U.S., State, and Local Economy
Video/DVD
Web Sites
Writing and Plagiarism
EconLit with Full Text
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
ProQuest Business Databases
Search across 13 business-related ProQuest databases including ABI/INFORM, Banking Information Sources, Wall Street Journal, Asian Business and Reference, Dissertations, and more.
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
RePEc - Research Papers in Economics
Working papers, journal articles and software from colleges, universities, government agencies and "think tanks". Many of these articles, including Middlebury's papers, are available online from the contributing institution. Choose the IDEAS interface to search RePEc.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
ABI/INFORM Complete
"Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data." Includes international coverage.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Business and Company Resource Collection
Part of Gale Business Insights. Information on companies, markets, and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers and company reports. Includes company financial information and investment reports. 1980 - present.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2007
Search or browse the full-text digital images of the Economist. Create an account if you want to save articles and searches. Includes full color images, covers, and a selection of exportable financial tables.
NBER - National Bureau of Economic Research
Working papers from NBER. Includes links to data as well. Go shortcut = go/nber
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
SRRN contains "an abstract database containing abstracts on over 305,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 245,100 downloadable full text documents." Requires free registration to download.
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
ABSEES
The American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Also includes Eurasian Studies. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. The majority of content originally published in the US and Canada. 1939 - present. See also the European version EBSEES.
AgEcon Search
Scholarly research in agricultural and applied economics including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
Congressional Research Service Reports (on Open CRS)
CRS is a non-partisan research service for Congress. Open CRS provides citizens access to Congressional Research Service Reports already in the public domain. NCSE provides an alternative site (focusing on environmental issues).
CQ Researcher
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Researcher, which follows current and controversial issues of the day. For each issue it includes a summary, all the pros and cons, bibliographies, and more. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
CQ Weekly
Full-text of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Reports which follow congressional actions. Includes floor votes. 1983 to current. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Fuente Académica Premier
Over 570 scholarly journals from Latin American, Spain, and Portugal. Mostly in Spanish and Portuguese but some are in English.
IMF Papers and Country Profiles
International Monetary Fund working papers, policy papers, country profiles and more.
Note: Choose publication type from SERIES drop-down menu.
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
ProQuest Newsstand
Includes Chicago Tribune (1985 - present); Los Angeles Times (1985 - present); + ProQuest Newsstand (1423 newspapers including New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. and the world.)
Note: formerly National Newspapers Premiere and before that, ProQuest Newspapers (current)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
EastView Universal Databases (Russian and English)
Includes Russian Central Newspapers (66), Social Sciences & Humanities Periodicals (80); Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press; and Ekspert. Dates of coverage vary. Includes several English-language newspapers.
World Newspaper Archive, Latin America
Formerly: Latin American Newspapers 1805-1922. Full-text page images from Newsbank/Readex. Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. More than 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela. Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
The Times of London
This international newspaper may be relevant to many other country topics, or its indexing may help you find subjects in other papers.
Full-Text:
Current Newspapers section and Microfilm #194
Online: Lexis Nexis 1985 - present. Choose from the Sources option.
Online: Times of London Digital Archive 1785 - 1985.
Indexing:
Print Index, 1850 - current. (several months delay) REF AI 21 .T35.
Online Index (from the Times website). 1985 - present. Note: searching is free. Online articles are not. You can get the articles for free from our microfilm or Lexis-Nexis.
Wall Street Journal
Access current (text only) WSJ articles through ProQuest National Newspapers and access the full digital images of earlier issues (back to 1959) on ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
The Current Digest of the Chinese Press offers a comprehensive understanding of current events and happenings from the Chinese point of view through English translations of key Chinese newspaper articles. Articles are chosen across a wide range of topics, including politics, international relations, security, economics, education, public health, culture and more.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Online access 2001 - present. Earlier years called Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press and before that, Current Digest of the Soviet Press. Back issues in print and microfiche.
Note: Online, Print, and Microfiche
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
BEOnline (Business & Economics Online)
Library of Congress links to web resources by subject or title.
globalEDGE
Web portal for international business resources from Michigan State Univ. Country Insights provides country background, statistics, and links. Also includes state information; industry information; news & views; and much more.
Resources for Economists (RFE)
Comprehensive guide to internet resources edited by Bill Goffe and sponsored by the American Economic Association.
CQ Electronic Library
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: CQ Weekly & Almanac (issues in Congress); CQ Researcher (hot topics); Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
FDSys (formerly GPO Access)
Gateway to U.S. government documents which includes the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications; the Congressional Record; Congressional Bills, Laws, and Reports; Federal Register and CFR; Budget of the U.S. Government; Supreme Court decisions; Public Papers of the Presidents; and much more.
Overseas China trade ( :::現在位置)
Links to data on Chinese trade from the Taiwanese Government.
ProQuest Congressional
Fomerly called Lexis-Nexis Congressional. Index and with some full-text for Congressional hearings, committee prints, reports and documents. For dates of coverage, see contents coverage chart.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)
Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from the 15th to 96th Congresses, originally published in bound volumes. Also includes key Executive Branch documents and thousands of browsable/searchable Serial Set Maps. Now through 1980 (almost complete). For the 1st - 14th congresses, see American State Papers. Go shortcut = go/usss
CQ Almanac
Research issues before Congress from 1945 to the recent past. Browse by Congress, decade, or topic for yearly summaries. Part of CQ Electronic Library. Search alone or with other CQ databases such as CQ Weekly, etc. Go shortcut = go/cq. Click on the direct link for each resource to browse and see all features. See also Congress and the Nation (summarizes issues by 4 year presidential term rather than annually).
Biographical Dictionary of American Economists
Includes in-depth biographies of the most important economic figures in American history from the seventeenth century to the present day. Entries discuss each individual's contributions to economic theory and practice.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
Davis Family Library Reference HB76 .B535 2000
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Frontiers of Economics : Nobel Laureates of the Twentieth Century
Davis Family Library Reference HB87 .F76 2002
Additional Biographical Resources for Economics This is an active SUBJECT search of the library catalog MIDCAT for Economists--Biography
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
American FactFinder: Citations for tables and maps
Examples of how to cite tables and maps generated from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder.
Europa World Year Book (all countries)
In-depth country profiles (summary of history, current events, government directory, statistics, and more).
Choose countries from the drop-down menu at the top.
Older issues available in print: Davis Family Library Reference JN1 E85 (1977 - 2008).
Statesman's Year-book
Basic country information (similar to Europa) including background, statistics, recent election results, government officials, etc.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference JA51 .S7 (latest). Earlier volumes in Stacks (back to 1866 with some gaps).
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
Background Notes
Country information from the U.S. State Department.
Country Commercial Guides
Part of the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library. Choose Country Commercial Guides from the Report Type drop-down menu.
IMF Papers and Country Profiles
International Monetary Fund working papers, policy papers, country profiles and more.
Note: Choose publication type from SERIES drop-down menu.
OECD Economic Surveys
The online version. In-depth reviews of Member countries' economies and selected non-Member countries... Each issue provides a solid analysis of developments in the subject country, special reports on topics of current interest, and extensive statistical information.
Note: Print and Online Resource
Country Analysis Briefs (Energy)
Published by the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Provides energy background and other information for many (but not all) countries around the world.
Africa Competitiveness Report
Covers regional issues and has section with country competitiveness profiles which include various competitiveness indexes. From the African Development Bank, World Economic Forum, and the World Bank.
International Country Risk Guide Researcher's Dataset CD-Rom
Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
African Economic Outlook
Jointly published by the African Development Bank and the OECD. Available from SourceOECD. Contains extensive country profiles. Some issues in print: Main Library HC800 .A1 A373
Arab World Competitiveness Report
Countains country profiles and competitiveness indicators. Available from the World Economic Forum. Some issues in print: Main Library Stacks HC498 .A7195 (2003, 2005)
Note: Print and Online Resource
Coface Country & Sector Risk Information
Free web source. Coface continuously monitors 154 countries using a spectrum of indicators incorporating political factors; risk of currency shortage and devaluation; ability to meet financial commitments abroad; risk of a systemic crisis in the banking sector; cyclical risk; and payment behavior for short term transactions. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
Economic Report on Africa
Focuses on the region. Links to earlier editions. From the Economic Commission for Africa.
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Foreign Information by Country
University of Colorado at Boulder website with extensive links to country information available free on the web or through subscription databases.
globalEDGE
Web portal for international business resources from Michigan State Univ. Country Insights provides country background, statistics, and links. Also includes state information; industry information; news & views; and much more.
Index of Economic Freedom
From the Heritage Foundation & Wall St. Journal. Country rankings can be downloaded from 1995 to the present. The book with more details can be downloaded in PDF. Ranking elements include: Business Freedom | Trade Freedom | Fiscal Freedom | Government Size | Monetary Freedom | Investment Freedom | Financial Freedom | Property rights | Freedom from Corruption | Labor Freedom.
Inter-American Development Bank Country Pages
Information on Latin American and Caribbean countries and the IADB projects for those countries.
Latin American Regional Reports
Monthly reports providing "in-depth analysis of political, economic and social issues affecting Latin America's individual sub-regions." Latest issues in Current Periodicals (alphabetically arranged). Earlier issues in Bound Periodicals as Latin American Newsletters. Call Number HC121 .L28
Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles
Part of Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (under the Business Tab). Country information from a variety of sources.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
The Territories of the Russian Federation
Provides an overview, chronology, statistics, and surveys of each of the 89 territories.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference DK510 .T47 2004.
World Bank Countries & Regions page
Provides inks to World Bank activities by country and other information.
Oxford Reference Online - Economics & Business Use the link above to simultaneously search all of the titles listed below, or click on an individual title to search only that volume:
MIDCAT List - Business Dictionaries
Active MIDCAT Search. Generally in Davis Family Library Reference HF1001 - HF1002
MIDCAT List - Economics Dictionaries
Active catalog search. Generally in Davis Family Library Reference HB61 -
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law
Davis Family Library Reference K487 .N48 1998 (3 volumes)
The New Palgrave, A Dictionary of Economics
Davis Family Library Reference HB61 .N49 1987 (4 volumes)
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Provided free by the Library of Economics and Liberty.
CQ Electronic Library
Online access to Congressional Quarterly pubications: CQ Weekly & Almanac (issues in Congress); CQ Researcher (hot topics); Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents; Politics in America; and five CQ Guides: Guide to Congress; Guide to the Presidency; Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court; Guide to U.S. Elections; Guide to Political Campaigns in America.
Economicae: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Economics
Also provides links to profiles of famous economists.
EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History
Part of EH.Net-Economic History Services, a site of the Economic History Association.
Encyclopedia of Banking and Finance
Chicago, Ill. : Probus Pub. Co., c1994
The Gale Encyclopedia of US Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC102 .G35 1999
Note: Online and Print
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC15 .O94 2003 (5 volumes)
Note: Online and Print
Additional Economics Encyclopedias
This is an active SUBJECT search of the library catalog MIDCAT for Economics--Encyclopedias.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) includes in-depth articles and ebooks. Middlebury has access to the following handbook collections: Philosophy, Religion, Economics and Finance, Music, Literature, History, and Political Science.
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
"Map more than 175 World Bank indicators worldwide; Compare and view two maps simultaneously; Animate maps to show change over time; View all data in ranking tables and charts alongside maps; Export maps and data for use in presentations and more; Import your own data." Watch the video tutorial to see all the features.
Maps & GIS Guide
Search for a wide variety of maps and GIS information, both print and online. Also includes resources on historical maps and U.S. government information.
NASA Outline Maps
Blank maps with borders for countries and regions of the world. Courtesy of Arizona Geographic Alliance.
Book Reviews Subject Guide
For additional sources of book reviews, see the separate Book Reviews Guide.
Statistics/Data - International
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
Statista
A quantitative statistics portal with over 60,000 topics on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more. Search in either German or English.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. It provides free publications and statistics that enable comparisons between European countries and regions. Includes economic, social, population, health, environment, and other topics.
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II. Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files.
Abstract of British Historical Statistics
(2 vol).
Davis Family Library Ref HA1135 .M5
Davis Family Library Ref HA1135 .M52 1971
Africa Development Indicators
Now free online from the Worldbank. Provides data from 1961 to latest for 53 African countries "Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators."
Print copies: Main Library Reference HC800.A1 A49 2008/09 (earlier years in stacks)
Also on CD-Rom titled World Bank Africa Database / African Development Indicators
Main CD-ROMS-Circ Desk HC800.A1 W677 2008/09
African Statistical Yearbook
Produced by the three main continental institutions (AfDB, AUC, and UNECA)
Ameco (European Macroeconomic Data)
Annual Macro Economic Data Base from the European Commission, Economic and Financial Affairs.
Balance of Payments Statistics
Published by the Int'l Monetary Fund. Vol. 1 contains country tables. Vol. 2 contains World & Regional Tables. Print edition in Reference HF1014 .I51
Historical Data: 1965 - 1998 available from ICPSR for download.
Note: Print Only
Bloomberg
Bloomberg is on a dedicated computer station behind the Research Desk of the Davis Family Library or Warner 305. It offers financial information on companies, delayed stock quotes, analysis of U.S. and international securities, economic indicators, international news, and more. It is restricted to users affiliated with the College. Bloomberg help files (at bottom of page). Also see Dartmouth's Bloomberg Guide for more help getting started.
Note: On dedicated computers only
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
CISER's Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists
List of major sources for datasets with descriptions and links. Page from the CISER Data Archive at Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research.
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Holdings: 1948 - present
Print and CD-Rom: Davis Family Library HC14.C6 - Latest in Reference, earlier editions in stacks. 2008 edition has CD-Rom See Also CRB Indexes (online via publisher)
Data sets from BEOnline (Business & Economics)
Library of Congress links to open sources of datasets found on the web.
Davidson Data Center & Network
Searchable database of data resources held by other institutions (both free data and from commercial vendors) on transition and emerging markets. Also archives and provides free access when available in the public domain.
Direction of Trade Statistics
Published by the IMF. Shows trade between specific countries annually and quarterly.
Print: Main Library Reference HF91 .I652 (earlier years in stacks)
Main CD-Rom's - Circ Desk: HF91 .I652
Historical Data: 1948 - 1998 also available online from University of Virginia (easier) or ICPSR for download.
Note: Print and CD-Rom
Eastview Russian and CIS Statistical Publications
Covers Russian and English-language publications, reports & data sets from the Russian State Statistics Committee and the Commonwealth of Independent States Statistical Committee. See their Search Guide. Part of the Universal Databases from Eastview publishing.
Economic Survey of Europe
United Nations. Annual. 1953,1956,1958 - present.
Davis Family Library Ref HC240 .A1 U477 (current edition). Previous editions in stacks.
FAOSTAT
"Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries." Also see FAO Statistics page; FAO Statistical Yearbook; FAO's World Food Situation website and the following annual publications: State of Food and Agriculture (SOFA); State of World Fisheries and Acquaculture (SOFIA); State of the World's Forests (SOFO).
Foreign Direct Investment in Latin America & the Caribbean
Published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). 1997 - present. Earlier title: Foreign Investment in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Foreign Trade Statistics
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes FT900: U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services.
Global Link
From the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB). "Over 500 indicators consolidating data on macroeconomics, social issues, trade, capital flows, markets, and governance." Covers North, South, Central American, and Caribbean countries. Additional statistics from IADB.
Global Prices and Income Group
Based at UC Davis. "Prices, income, and economic well-being around the world before 1950."
Government Finance Statistics
Published by the International Monetary Fund.
Main Library Reference HJ101 .G68 (earlier years in stacks)
Main CD-Rom's - Circ Desk HJ101 .G68 (includes historical data)
Historical Data: 1971 - 1998 also available online from ICPSR for download.
Groningen Growth & Development Centre Databases
Historical data (1950+) freely available for download. Databases include Total Economy Database (GDP, Population, Employment, Hours); 60 Industry Database (industrial performance at a detailed industry level for OECD countries & Taiwan). Industry Growth Accounting Database (labour skills, investment, capital services).
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
IMF International Financial Statistics
International Monetary Fund (IMF) survey of major financial statistics. Obtain at the Reserves desk(call# HG61 I5) and load on a computer in the lab (Insert in drive, when it automatically opens, click on the installation button. Choose single-user, retrieve data from CD). Also available in print. Click on title for link to full holdings and locations record. Handout: Overview for Retrieving Data on the CD-Rom.
Note: On CD-Rom or print
Index of Economic Freedom
From the Heritage Foundation & Wall St. Journal. Country rankings can be downloaded from 1995 to the present. The book with more details can be downloaded in PDF. Ranking elements include: Business Freedom | Trade Freedom | Fiscal Freedom | Government Size | Monetary Freedom | Investment Freedom | Financial Freedom | Property rights | Freedom from Corruption | Labor Freedom.
International Country Risk Guide Researcher's Dataset CD-Rom
Contains 4 datasets on CD-rom with the annual average of composite, political, financial and economic risk ratings by country, for 140 countries, from 1984 through 2010. See Also Lexis-Nexis Country Profiles section - choose PRS Group Political Risk Service and Country Risk Guide.
International Data Base (IDB)
Demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries available from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population pyramids.
International Debt Statistics
Formerly called Global Development Finance, and before that, World Debt Tables. Annual report "focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies...Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2011". Archive of earlier reports (1999 - 2004).
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA4675 .M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks).
International Historical Statistics: Europe 1750-2000
Main Library Reference HA1107 M5 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)
Note: Print Resource
International Historical Statistics: The Americas 1750-2000
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA175 M55 2003 (earlier editions in stacks)
International Macroeconomic Data Set
From the USDA Economic Research Service. Provides data from 1969 through 2020 for real (adjusted for inflation) gross domestic product (GDP), population, per capita income, real exchange rates, and CPI for the 190 countries and 34 regions.
Investment Company Institute Statistics
Includes statistics on mutual funds, closed end funds, exchange traded funds, and unit investment trusts from ICI. See the yearly Investment Company Factbooks
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
"Census microdata for social and economic research" from the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota. Provides access to: IPUMS-USA (1850-2004), IPUMS-International, and IPUMS-CPS (Current Population Survey).
Japan Statistical Yearbook
Latest online. Additional statistics available from Japan's Statistics Bureau.
See also Japan Monthly Statistics; Historical Statistics of Japan; Statistical Handbook of Japan
Older print volumes available for some years.
Print: Davis Family Library Stacks HA4621 .J36 1990, 1994 - 1998.
Note: Print and Online Resource
LABORSTA (Labor Statistics)
From the International Labour Office (ILO). Covers official core labour statistics and estimates for over 200 countries since 1969. Also provides methodological descriptions of main national statistical sources. Includes the statistics from Yearbook of Labour Statistics (print).
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center) Statistics Links
Links for additional sources of statistics for the region or specific countries.
Latin America and the Caribbean : Selected Economic and Social Data
Published by USAID in PDF from 1991 - present. For downloading data, see their companion data by sector database.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it indexes and searches statistical publications and full-text tables. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. Also see Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics (United Nations)
International statistics including population, labor force, prices, industry, mining, energy, manufacturing, construction, finance (money supply, government bonds, discount rates, short-term rates, gold reserves), trade, and transport. This is now free through UN Data.
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
"Contains a complete and consistent set of time series from 1970 onwards of main national accounts aggregates for all UN Members States and all other countries and areas in the world."
Nordic StatBank
Data for Nordic yearbook is derived from this database. Provides comparable statistics for Denmark, the Faroe Islands, Greenland, Finland, Åland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.
Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (OxLAD)
"OxLAD contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000."
Penn World Table
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 168 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2000. Produced by the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania. This link is to the easier to use interface from CHASS-Univ. of Toronto.
Statistical Abstract of Latin America
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA935 .S8 v.38 2002 (1960 -2001 in stacks, some gaps)
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HA751 .A58 2003 ( 1989, 1996 in stacks)
Online 1999 - present.
Statistics & Numeric Data in Economics Guide
Part of an Economics subject guide by James Church at Berkeley Library. Includes link to many free resources on the internet, as well as subscription databases. Midd does not have access to all the subscription databases. If asked for a login, check midcat or our databases list to see if we have access and if in doubt, use the ask a librarian form.
Trade CAN CD-Rom
Published by the World Bank/ECLAC. Designed to analyze international, national, and regional competitiveness in commodities and manufactured exports. It allows users to calculate market shares for each three or four digit SITC export for 1984-2000. Davis Family Library CD-ROMs Circ Desk HF54.55 .T73 2002
UN Comtrade
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Free access to International Merchandise Trade Statistics. Main database goes back to 1962. Also provides a link to historical data from 1900 - 1960. Download limit of 50,000 per data query.
UN Demographic Yearbook
Published by the United Nations Statistical Office. Online (PDF) 1948 - present.
Main Library Oversize HA42 .D45 1948; 1959 - 2005. Latest (2006) in Reference.
Note: Online and Print Resource
UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific Data Centre
UNESCAP Provides access to several databases and publications including: Annual Core Indicators; Short-Term Indicators...; Statistical Indicators...; Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific.
UN Statistical Yearbook
Population, social, and economic statistics from the United Nations.
Latest edition in Reference HA12.5 U63. Earlier editions in Oversize Stacks. Statistics also available online from UNData.
UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment database
Provides "an interactive database for the aggregate figures and an electronic publication with the detailed information by country." Choose FDI Online for the interactive database. Choose World Investment Directory for the country profiles/factsheets, which also include operations of transnational corporations (TNCs) in selected countries.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.
World Economic Outlook Reports and Databases
The Online Reports and Databases from the International Monetary Fund. See Also their regional reports. Also in Print. Davis Family Library Reference (latest), earlier editions in stacks HC59 .W69
World Economy Historical Statistics (Maddison)
Hard-to-find historical statistics for major indicators (population, GDP, GDP per capita, etc.) going back to the 1800's or earlier for many countries. Online edition from SourceOECD. Choose PDF version. For excel files for tables, click on doi link at bottom of each page. Excel files also available from Maddison Project and original Maddison page.
Other Versions: Davis Family Library Reference, Stacks, Main CD-ROMs HF1359 .M333 2003
Note: Print, CD-Rom, and Online
World Income Inequality Database (WIID)
Provides statistics on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. Includes the Gini coefficient and quintile and decile shares, survey means and medians along with the income shares of the richest 5% and the poorest 5%. Use the download link . From United Nations Univ. and World Inst. for Development Economics Research (WIDER).
World Investment Report
Available online from the United Nations. Each year's Report covers the latest trends in Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). Also in Print. Davis Family Library Stacks HG4538 .W673
WTO International Trade and Tariff Data and Reports
Includes their statistics database as well as their annual International Trade Statistics report, which includes detailed analysis. See also their annual, theme-based World Trade Report.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Published by the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security and available online 1996- to date. For older issues, see the archives page.
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Statistical Datasets (ProQuest)
Part of ProQuest Statistical Insight. Formerly part of Lexis-Nexis. Access to over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. Some time series go back 20 - 100 years. Create tables, graphs, charts, and maps. Export data options include excel or shape files. Hold down the Control key to select multiple variables. Quick Start Guide.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly Lexis Nexis Statistical Universe, it indexes and searches statistical publications and full-text tables. If full text isn't available, check MIDCAT or google the publication name. Also see Statistical Abstract (under related subscriptions dropdown menu).
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
FedStats
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Includes such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Bloomberg
Bloomberg is on a dedicated computer station behind the Research Desk of the Davis Family Library or Warner 305. It offers financial information on companies, delayed stock quotes, analysis of U.S. and international securities, economic indicators, international news, and more. It is restricted to users affiliated with the College. Bloomberg help files (at bottom of page). Also see Dartmouth's Bloomberg Guide for more help getting started.
Note: On dedicated computers only
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Interactive tables of data on U.S., State, and local personal income; U.S. and State GDP; GDP by Industry; Corporate Profits; International Economic Accounts (Balance of Payments, Trade in Goods & Services). Also included are BEA's Regional Factsheets (BEARFACTS). Includes data formerly know as REIS (Regional Economic Information System).
CISER's Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists
List of major sources for datasets with descriptions and links. Page from the CISER Data Archive at Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research.
County & City Data Books
Electronic access back to 1944 from Univ. of Virginia's Geostat Center. Also available in print and cd-rom in the Davis Family Library.
Note: Online, print, and CD-Rom
Current Population Survey (CPS)
Monthly survey of households which provides "data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics." Historical data is available from NBER.
Data.gov
"Find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government."
Datapedia of the U.S.
Historical statistics for a wide variety of U.S. topics including demographics, economics and business, health, education, crime, agriculture, environment, transportation, politics, and more. Davis Family Library Reference HA202 .K87
Note: Print Only
Economic Indicators.gov
Provides the latest economic indicators from the U.S. Census and BEA (Bureau of Economic Analysis) websites and links to their release calendars. See also the US Census Bureau's Economic Indicators.
Edgar Database (SEC)
Company filings and reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Contains links to scanned images (PDF's) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series downloadable in Excel or text files or viewable in chart format.
FreeLunch.com
"Economy.com's FreeLunch provides free access (after registering) to over 100,000 economic, financial, and demographic data series." Economy.com also publishes the Dismal Scientist (now by paid subscription only).
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
NHGIS provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.
Millennial Edition - updated and expanded online version with data updated to the 1990's+ (additional 30 years worth and triple the number of data series than its predecessor).
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a large archive of social science data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Includes some public opinion polls. Tutorials are available on YouTube.
ICPSR's Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
Contains citations of publications that use or study data from ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research). See also their variables database and their main search page.
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
"Census microdata for social and economic research" from the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota. Provides access to: IPUMS-USA (1850-2004), IPUMS-International, and IPUMS-CPS (Current Population Survey).
NABE Links
National Association for Business Economics (NABE) links to sources of business and economic statistics. Includes macro, micro, financial, regional, international, plus links to research institutes & think tanks, blogs, etc.
NBER Data
From the National Bureau of Economic Research. Includes business cycle dates, macro, industry, & international trade data, and more. See Also their working papers and other publications. Go shortcut = go/nber
Social Explorer
Easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Premium edition features over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports from the U.S. census and other sources.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Statistics for inflation (CPI); employment; earnings & wages; productivity; spending & time use, industries, and more.
US Census - Historical Census Browser
Access to the decennial U.S. Census of Population and Housing data from 1790 - 1960, down to the county level. Create custom tables for display (download option not given, but can copy/paste to excel). The available data differ somewhat from decade to decade, according to what was collected in the census and the items chosen for transcription to electronic form. Provided by the University of Virginia using data from ICPSR.
US Census Bureau - Census of Population and Housing Historical PDF's
Scanned PDF versions of these census volumes from 1790 - present.
US Census Bureau - Homepage
Access recent U.S. Census statistics, from population, housing, and poverty statistics to business statistics and much more! Start with American Factfinder for recent census data or within that, the Decennial census page (for 2000 and 1990 data). For the 1990 Census - choose it from the tab at the top of the decennial census page.
US Census Bureau - Selected Historical Census Data
Access to selected U.S. Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts in PDF form, including Historical Census Reports in PDF for 1790- 2000.
US Census DVD Research Package (Geolytics)
Census data which allows enhanced searching of census data for download or mapping. Includes 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Census data, 2000 Redistricting Data, 1990 Data in 2000 boundaries, and a neighborhood change database for tracking tract-level data 1970-2000 in original boundaries or normalized to 2000 boundaries. Get DVDs from Davis Family Library Circulation Desk, HA201.122 .C45 2004, pt.1-3 + print guides and install the software on a PC. See Documentation for getting started.
Note: DVD only
US Census of Population & Housing - Middlebury Handout
Details on Middlebury's census holdings and additional online and print resources can be found in this Middlebury Government Document's handout. See also Wiki version.
US Economic Census
Published every 5 years. The latest is 2007. Provides data on business establishments and industries (sales/revenue, employees, payroll). Includes Survey of Business Owners; Business Expenses; Subject Series (includes product lines); and more. For earlier years in print, see the Government Documents Census of Manufacturers handout.
Value Line Investment Surveys
Online access to Value Line's company stock reports and industry surveys (Midd does not subscribe to mutual funds and other special info). Our subscription Includes their weekly Selection and Opinion market update with the latest economic figures. Choose stocks by various criteria using the stock screener. Click on LOGOFF when done (limited to 3 simultaneous users). Go Shortcut = go/valueline
Cinema of Globalization: A Guide to Films About the New Economic Order
Davis Family Library Stacks PN1995.9 .G59 Z36 2007
Note: Print Resource
ProQuest Business Databases
Search across 13 business-related ProQuest databases including ABI/INFORM, Banking Information Sources, Wall Street Journal, Asian Business and Reference, Dissertations, and more.
Business and Company Resource Collection
Part of Gale Business Insights. Information on companies, markets, and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers and company reports. Includes company financial information and investment reports. 1980 - present.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
ABI/INFORM Complete
"Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data." Includes international coverage.
Mergent Online
Provides U.S. and international company and investment research. Includes equity research reports; earnings estimates; historical stock pricing (20+ yrs); standardized financials; institutional holdings; insider trades; annual reports; executive biographies. Also includes industry reports for North America, Europe, and Asia-Pacific. Subscription does not include private companies. Go shortcut = go/mergent
Hoovers
Company, industry, and market intelligence information on more than 12 million corporations and organizations. Go shortcut = go/hoovers
ProQuest Snapshots
"Includes over 8,890 market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. Business information includes "market size, market segmentation, market shares, market-share weblinks, market distribution, market forecasts, and socio-economic data."
Lexis-Nexis Company Dossiers
Provides company snapshots with basic information including description, financials, executives, current news, and more from a variety of sources. Part of LexisNexis Academic.
Lexis-Nexis Company Profiles
Get more in-depth company information from a wide variety of business directories, reports, and other publications. Part of LexisNexis Academic.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full-text collection of legal, news, and business information sources. Legal resources include law reviews and journals; law encyclopedias and legal guides; cases (all Supreme Court, federal, and state cases); statutes (including USCA and state codes/laws); federal regulations (including the Federal Register and CFR); European Union materials (including treaty, legislative, and case law materials). See Product Brochure and Campus Help for more details. Go shortcut = go/westlaw
Edgar Database (SEC)
Company filings and reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission.
Investing Research Guide
This Middlebury library subject guide links to library databases and web resources for understanding and researching investments and related company financial information.
Small Business Resource Center
Full-text magazine and journal articles, business plans, reference material and more. Covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more.
SBA.gov: Starting A Business
Information on business plans, business finance, structure, regulations, taxes, and much more. See also the Vermont-specific website (district office) for local resources.
Business Environment Snapshots (World Bank)
Also see links to Doing Business Database, Enterprise Surveys, Country Notes, and Investment Climate Research.
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Holdings: 1948 - present
Print and CD-Rom: Davis Family Library HC14.C6 - Latest in Reference, earlier editions in stacks. 2008 edition has CD-Rom See Also CRB Indexes (online via publisher)
Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulation [year]
From the World Bank. "Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." It helps determine which countries are easier for doing business. See Downloads section for full country profiles or see the historical data page for custom queries.
Financial Services Fact Book
Data on financial services including banking, insurance, mortgages, securities, and more. Includes lots of tables and graphs with sources cited.
Thomas Register
Now called ThomasNet. Search for manufacturers and supplies by product, company, or brand. For international suppliers, search Thomas Global Register.
US Economic Census
Published every 5 years. The latest is 2007. Provides data on business establishments and industries (sales/revenue, employees, payroll). Includes Survey of Business Owners; Business Expenses; Subject Series (includes product lines); and more. For earlier years in print, see the Government Documents Census of Manufacturers handout.
EBL eBook Library
![]()
Tens of thousands of full-text ebooks primarily from academic publishers. Browse the collection (go/ebl) or read a step-by-step guide on reading and downloading ebooks. Use the advanced search option to browse books in languages other than English.
Biographical Dictionary of American Economists
Includes in-depth biographies of the most important economic figures in American history from the seventeenth century to the present day. Entries discuss each individual's contributions to economic theory and practice.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Archive for the History of Economic Thought
From McMaster University. Collects "significant texts in the history of economic thought."
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
EH.net: Economic History Services
Also offers a History of Economics site; an encyclopedia; "How much is that?" (historical data); abstracts in economic history, links to economic history websites; and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
The Gale Encyclopedia of US Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC102 .G35 1999
Note: Online and Print
History of Economic Thought Website
Includes profiles of individual economists and their contributions to economic thought, descriptions of "schools of thought", and other essays & surveys on the history of economic thought.
History of Economics Journals Midcat SUBJECT search: economic history -- periodicals. Also see these specific journals: History of Political Economy (HOPE)
Journal of the History of Economic Thought
Journal of Economic History
Economic History Review
Explorations in Economic History
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
The New Palgrave, A Dictionary of Economics
Davis Family Library Reference HB61 .N49 1987 (4 volumes)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC15 .O94 2003 (5 volumes)
Note: Online and Print
PAIS Archive
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. Coverage = 1915 -1976. For 1972 - current switch to PAIS International (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS International).
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
World Economy Historical Statistics (Maddison)
Hard-to-find historical statistics for major indicators (population, GDP, GDP per capita, etc.) going back to the 1800's or earlier for many countries. Online edition from SourceOECD. Choose PDF version. For excel files for tables, click on doi link at bottom of each page. Excel files also available from Maddison Project and original Maddison page.
Other Versions: Davis Family Library Reference, Stacks, Main CD-ROMs HF1359 .M333 2003
Note: Print, CD-Rom, and Online
Business and Company Resource Collection
Part of Gale Business Insights. Information on companies, markets, and industries from business and trade journals, newspapers and company reports. Includes company financial information and investment reports. 1980 - present.
ProQuest Snapshots
"Includes over 8,890 market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. Business information includes "market size, market segmentation, market shares, market-share weblinks, market distribution, market forecasts, and socio-economic data."
Market Research Library (U.S. Commercial Service)
"Contains more than 100,000 international trade related documents, reports, web sites, events, and trade directory listings."
Business Statistics of the U.S. Continues Business Statistics, a statistical supplement to Survey of Current Business.
Historical Time Series data. Earlier editions online.
Also in Print Main Library REF HC101 .A131222 (latest edition, earlier years in stacks)
Census of Manufactures
Handout showing Middlebury's Government Documents holdings of this title and related titles. See also the Wiki version.
Current Industrial Reports
Manufacturing, Mining, and Construction statistics. Online via U.S. Census Bureau. This series is being discontinued for budget reasons. See the Annual Survey of Manufactures and the Economic Census for related data.
Financial Services Fact Book
Data on financial services including banking, insurance, mortgages, securities, and more. Includes lots of tables and graphs with sources cited.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Mergent Online
Provides U.S. and international company and investment research. Includes equity research reports; earnings estimates; historical stock pricing (20+ yrs); standardized financials; institutional holdings; insider trades; annual reports; executive biographies. Also includes industry reports for North America, Europe, and Asia-Pacific. Subscription does not include private companies. Go shortcut = go/mergent
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
Survey of Current Business
1994 to current online.
Library has 1921 to current: Bound Periodicals HC101 .S87 and microfilm 227
US Census Bureau - Business & Industry
Access to the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Annual Survey of Manufactures, and much more.
US Economic Census
Published every 5 years. The latest is 2007. Provides data on business establishments and industries (sales/revenue, employees, payroll). Includes Survey of Business Owners; Business Expenses; Subject Series (includes product lines); and more. For earlier years in print, see the Government Documents Census of Manufacturers handout.
Africa Competitiveness Report
Covers regional issues and has section with country competitiveness profiles which include various competitiveness indexes. From the African Development Bank, World Economic Forum, and the World Bank.
African Development Report
Published by the African Development Bank. Also in print: Main Library Stacks HC800 .A1 A5
African Economic Outlook
Jointly published by the African Development Bank and the OECD. Available from SourceOECD. Contains extensive country profiles. Some issues in print: Main Library HC800 .A1 A373
AidData
"AidData provides a searchable database of nearly one million past and present aid activities around the world, aid information management services and tools, data visualization technologies, and research designed to increase understanding of development finance."
Arab Human Development Report
Also available in print: Main Library Stacks HN766 .A85 A73
Note: Print and Online Resource
Arab World Competitiveness Report
Countains country profiles and competitiveness indicators. Available from the World Economic Forum. Some issues in print: Main Library Stacks HC498 .A7195 (2003, 2005)
Note: Print and Online Resource
Asian Development Outlook
Published by the Asian Development Bank. "Annual economic reports on the developing member countries (DMCs) of the Asian Development Bank." It provides a "comprehensive analysis of macroeconomic and development issues." Some earlier years in print - Main Library Stacks HC411 .A17
Balance of Payments Statistics
Published by the Int'l Monetary Fund. Vol. 1 contains country tables. Vol. 2 contains World & Regional Tables. Print edition in Reference HF1014 .I51
Historical Data: 1965 - 1998 available from ICPSR for download.
Note: Print Only
Doing Business: Measuring Business Regulation [year]
From the World Bank. "Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level." It helps determine which countries are easier for doing business. See Downloads section for full country profiles or see the historical data page for custom queries.
Economic and Social Progress in Latin America
Published by the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB). "Analyzes a specific aspect of the development process of Latin America and the Caribbean. " Some issues in print: Main Library Stacks HC125 .I514
Note: Print and Online Resource
Economic Report on Africa
Focuses on the region. Links to earlier editions. From the Economic Commission for Africa.
Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
Published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Some issues in print: Main Library Stacks HC161 .E26.
Note: Print and Online Resource
Eldis
A web gateway to information on international development and environment issues from over 8,000 development organizations. Includes links to free full-text research and policy documents and provides resource guides and country profiles.
Foreign Direct Investment in Latin America & the Caribbean
Published by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). 1997 - present. Earlier title: Foreign Investment in Latin America and the Caribbean.
International Debt Statistics
Formerly called Global Development Finance, and before that, World Debt Tables. Annual report "focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies...Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2011". Archive of earlier reports (1999 - 2004).
Global Economic Prospects (GEP) and Monitor (GEM)
"The World Bank's Global Economic Prospects examines growth trends for the global economy and how they affect developing countries. The reports include three-year forecasts for the global economy and long-term global scenarios which look ten years into the future." Global Economic Monitor "provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of developing as well as high-income economies."
Global Financial Development Report
Annual from the World Bank.
Global Financial Stability Report
Published twice a year by the IMF. "Provides an assessment of the global financial system and markets, and addresses emerging market financing in a global context...more."
Global Monitoring Report
Produced by the World Bank and IMF. "Focuses on how the world is doing in implementing the policies and actions for achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and related development outcomes."
Government Finance Statistics
Published by the International Monetary Fund.
Main Library Reference HJ101 .G68 (earlier years in stacks)
Main CD-Rom's - Circ Desk HJ101 .G68 (includes historical data)
Historical Data: 1971 - 1998 also available online from ICPSR for download.
Human Development Reports
The online reports from UN Development Programme, or just access statistical tables. Also in Print. Latest edition in Davis Family Library Reference, earlier editions in stacks HD87 .H8
IMF International Financial Statistics
International Monetary Fund (IMF) survey of major financial statistics. Obtain at the Reserves desk(call# HG61 I5) and load on a computer in the lab (Insert in drive, when it automatically opens, click on the installation button. Choose single-user, retrieve data from CD). Also available in print. Click on title for link to full holdings and locations record. Handout: Overview for Retrieving Data on the CD-Rom.
Note: On CD-Rom or print
IMF Regional Economic Outlook Reports
Includes reports for Europe; Western Hemisphere; Asia and Pacific; Middle East and Central Asia; Sub-Saharan Africa. " These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions. They also address economic policy developments that have affected economic performance in the regions and discuss key challenges faced by policymakers. The reports include data for countries in the regions."
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
"Contains a complete and consistent set of time series from 1970 onwards of main national accounts aggregates for all UN Members States and all other countries and areas in the world."
OECD Development Co-operation Report
Shows how much aid donor country governments are giving, and to whom. How much goes to the poorest countries? How much goes to multilateral organisations like the United Nations? Which sectors get the most aid, etc.
Note: Print and Online Resource
OECD Economic Surveys
The online version. In-depth reviews of Member countries' economies and selected non-Member countries... Each issue provides a solid analysis of developments in the subject country, special reports on topics of current interest, and extensive statistical information.
Note: Print and Online Resource
OECD Journal: Financial Market Trends
"The twice-yearly journal from OECD providing timely analyses and statistics on financial matters of topical interest and longer-term developments in specific financial sectors." Continues Financial Market Trends
Social Panorama of Latin America
Published by the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). Online 1997 - present.
Transition Report
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development's in-depth analysis of economic progress in 29 countries from central Europe to Central Asia. Print: Davis Family Library Oversize HC244 .E26
Note: Print Resource
UN Millennium Development Goals Reports
"This annual report presents the most comprehensive global assessment of progress to date". Online 2005 - present. See also regional reports.
UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment database
Provides "an interactive database for the aggregate figures and an electronic publication with the detailed information by country." Choose FDI Online for the interactive database. Choose World Investment Directory for the country profiles/factsheets, which also include operations of transnational corporations (TNCs) in selected countries.
USAID Regions & Countries page
Information on U.S. foreign aid funding and projects by region and country from the U.S. Agency for International Development.
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
"Map more than 175 World Bank indicators worldwide; Compare and view two maps simultaneously; Animate maps to show change over time; View all data in ranking tables and charts alongside maps; Export maps and data for use in presentations and more; Import your own data." Watch the video tutorial to see all the features.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
World Development Report
From the Worldbank. Available online. Older issues also in print in Davis Family Library stacks HC59.7 .W659
World Economic and Social Survey
Provides analysis of long-term social and economic development issues and policies.
Online from the UN including online archive back to 1948.
World Economic Outlook Reports and Databases
The Online Reports and Databases from the International Monetary Fund. See Also their regional reports. Also in Print. Davis Family Library Reference (latest), earlier editions in stacks HC59 .W69
World Economic Situation and Prospects
"It provides an overview of recent global economic performance and short-term prospects for the world economy and of some key global economic policy and development issues."
Online from the UN including archive back to 1999.
World Investment Report
Available online from the United Nations. Each year's Report covers the latest trends in Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). Also in Print. Davis Family Library Stacks HG4538 .W673
Center for International Data (UC Davis)
Historical U.S. and world bilateral import and export trade data; U.S. tariff data.
Country Commercial Guides
Part of the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library. Choose Country Commercial Guides from the Report Type drop-down menu.
Exporting/Importing links from BEOnline
Library of Congress Business & Economics Online (BEOnline) links to useful resources.
Direction of Trade Statistics
Published by the IMF. Shows trade between specific countries annually and quarterly.
Print: Main Library Reference HF91 .I652 (earlier years in stacks)
Main CD-Rom's - Circ Desk: HF91 .I652
Historical Data: 1948 - 1998 also available online from University of Virginia (easier) or ICPSR for download.
Note: Print and CD-Rom
Export.gov
Gateway to trade information from the U.S. government agencies, including trade statistics and market research, regulations, and more.
Eurostat International Trade Data
Available for download from Eurostat website. Includes EU and partner country data.
FITA's International Trade Links
From the Federation of International Trade Associations (FITA). More than 8000 links to International Trade / Import-Export Web sites are annotated and indexed.
Foreign Trade Statistics
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes FT900: U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services.
Import/Export Price Indexes
"Data on changes in the prices of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest of the world."
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
New York: United Nations. Annual. 2 vols.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference HF91 .U473 (earlier years in stacks)
OECD Monthly Statistics of International Trade
1960 onward. Trends in trading patterns among OECD countries and with the rest of the world. Data are broken down by economic groupings, by country and by region.
OECD iLibrary
Access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD) Statistical Databases (except IEA Databases); all OECD E-books, and all OECD periodicals. Also try OECD.stat if you just want data (extracts data from across approx. 300 datasets. See User Guide). Go shortcut = go/oecd.
Trade CAN CD-Rom
Published by the World Bank/ECLAC. Designed to analyze international, national, and regional competitiveness in commodities and manufactured exports. It allows users to calculate market shares for each three or four digit SITC export for 1984-2000. Davis Family Library CD-ROMs Circ Desk HF54.55 .T73 2002
UN Comtrade
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database. Free access to International Merchandise Trade Statistics. Main database goes back to 1962. Also provides a link to historical data from 1900 - 1960. Download limit of 50,000 per data query.
UNCTADstat
Trade statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development (UNCTAD). Create tables showing trade between countries and regions (ex. developing countries; euro Area; mercosur; etc.). View imports/exports; trade by major product category; commodity prices; trade in services; maritime transport; Most favoured nation rate; international finance; GDP; balance of payments; FDI; exchange rates; migrant remittances; development assistance; demographics...) etc. See the detailed list of coverage.
U.S. International Trade Administration (ITA) - Trade Statistics
(Part of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce). See also their Office of Trade and Industry Information section.
U.S. International Trade Commission (USITC)
See the Tariff Database and Tariff and Trade Dataweb
USA Trade Online
U.S. export and import data for over 18,000 commodities with 240 trading partners, using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes up to the 6-digit level. See data by districts, states, and ports of entry (ex. St. Albans, VT) Password protected - a reference librarian must log users in .
Note: Password needed
World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
"...find trade values and quantities for products on various nomenclatures; find tariff rates for products in different markets based on various product classifications; compare tariffs across markets; analyze protection levels for countries and products over time; compare scenarios of changes to applied or bound tariffs; or simulate economic impacts of various market access conditions"
World Trade Indicators (World Bank)
"The WTI database and the country Trade-At-A-Glance (TAAG) tables are organized in five thematic categories, namely Trade Policy, External Environment, Institutional Environment, Trade Facilitation and Trade Outcome.
WTO International Trade and Tariff Data and Reports
Includes their statistics database as well as their annual International Trade Statistics report, which includes detailed analysis. See also their annual, theme-based World Trade Report.
WTO Trade Policy Reviews
From the World Trade Organization. "All WTO members are reviewed, the frequency of each country’s review varying according to its share of world trade."
Investing Research Guide
This Middlebury library subject guide links to library databases and web resources for understanding and researching investments and related company financial information.
Polling the Nations
"Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 14,000+ surveys conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and 100 other countries around the world." Logout when done (1 user limit).
Note: 1 user limit - logout when done
USA Today Salaries Databases (Sports)
Default links to baseball. Choose football, basketball, or hockey from the top menu bar.
U.S., State, and Local Economy
Annual Statistical Digest (Federal Reserve Board) Previous print editions in stacks HG2493 A55
For latest FRB statistics, see the Statistical Supplement to the Federal Reserve Bulletin
Beige Book
Full title: Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District. Published by the Federal Reserve Board and Federal Reserve Banks 8 times per year.
Book of the States
Includes directory of state elected officials and numerous statistical tables on state finances and more.
Print Resource: Davis Family Library Reference JK2403 .B6 (earlier years in stacks).
Budget of the U.S. Government
Older Editions in Print: Davis Family Library Govt Docs PrEx 2.8 and other areas.
Business Statistics of the U.S. Continues Business Statistics, a statistical supplement to Survey of Current Business.
Historical Time Series data. Earlier editions online.
Also in Print Main Library REF HC101 .A131222 (latest edition, earlier years in stacks)
CQ's State Factfinder
Contains statistical tables and rankings.
Reference HA214 .U36 (earlier years in stacks).
Note: Print Resource
Economic Report of the President
Also in print: Davis Family Library Govt Docs Pr 42.9
The Gale Encyclopedia of US Economic History
Also in print: Main Library Reference HC102 .G35 1999
Note: Online and Print
FDIC - Industry Analysis
This section of the U.S. Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. website contains links to banking statistics (including bank profiles); research & analysis; and failed banks. See the home page for additional information.
FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
Contains links to scanned images (PDF's) of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series downloadable in Excel or text files or viewable in chart format.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics Useful for historical data not on Bureau of Labor Statistics site.
Main Library Reference REF HD8051 A63 and older volumes in Gov Docs L2.3 (see Midcat).
Monthly Labor Review
Available online from BLS, 1982 - present. Library has 1918 to current. Current and bound periodicals HD8051 .A78 & Microfilm 206 .
Municipal Year Book
Davis Family Library Reference JS301 .M8. Earlier years in stacks (1934+)
The State of Working America
Published biennially. "Scrutinizes family incomes, jobs, wages, unemployment, wealth, poverty, and health care coverage, describing the economy's effect on our nation's standard of living." Tables are available for download from the Economic Policy Institute. Davis Family Library Stacks HD8051 .S73
Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation Yearbook (SBBI Yearbook)
Annual statistics for stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation for 1926 - 2007 as well as explanations and graphs.
Davis Family Library Stacks HG4501 .S7949 2008.
Note: Print Resource
Survey of Current Business
1994 to current online.
Library has 1921 to current: Bound Periodicals HC101 .S87 and microfilm 227
US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Statistics for inflation (CPI); employment; earnings & wages; productivity; spending & time use, industries, and more.
US Census Bureau - Economic Indicators
Variety of economic indicators, including monthly wholesale trade, new home sales, US Int'l Trade in Goods & Services, etc. See Also Economic Indicators.gov and the White House Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2004
Main Library Reference HB235 U6 V35 2004
Note: Print Resource
Economics Sample Paper
From Union College's Writing Across the Curriculum website. Provides Tomas Dvorak's article "Does pay inequality within a team affect performance?" with annotations showing proper elements of an economics/econometrics paper.
CISER's Internet Data Sources for Social Scientists
List of major sources for datasets with descriptions and links. Page from the CISER Data Archive at Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research.

