Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Directories
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
America - History and Life
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
Google Scholar Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
Guide to Dance Periodicals
Gainesville, Fla. University of Florida Press, 1950-1962. Z7514.D2 G8
Note: Print publication in the Davis Family Library
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
From 1996 to current. Selective coverage and citations only for articles 1874-1995. Includes indexing to magazines such as Billboard, as well as scholarly journals. Now on the ProQuest platfrom.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 700 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences covering all issues published, except for the last 2 to 5 years. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Repertoire international de litterature musicale (RILM)
Index and abstracts for music journals and magazines, 1969 - current. Includes abstracts of scholarly articles and books. Especially good for finding resources related to ethnomusicology.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
LibX Middlebury College Edition
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:
Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.
Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.
Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)
Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.
UlrichsWeb Global Serial Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Limón Project
Discussed in the website are the experiences of a number of participants on the Teaching Contemporary Limón Summer School which was held in July 2011 at Roehampton University. This two-week intensive was led by Alan Danielson (Director of the Limón School in New York) and Geraldine Cardiel (member of the Limón School faculty). It involved approaches to Limón as a series of movement principles and ideas, and gave opportunities for participants to learn how to teach these principles effectively.
Much of the material is devoted to the insights and practice of the participants. Unless where footnoted, all quotes are taken from the Limón project’s transcripts.
The intent is that the site be used for deeper reflective research and for questioning the nature of participating in and experiencing dance technique classes.
Stravinsky the Global Dancer
Stravinsky the Global Dancer, a project of Roehampton's Centre for Dance Research, is a record of potentially all the dances to the music of this seminal dance composer. You will find here a range of short listings and full record listings. There is also an Introduction to the project and a guide to its methodology.
Jerome Robbins Dance Division
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Chronicling the art of dance in all its manifestations - ballet, ethnic, modern, social, and folk - the division is much more than a library in the usual sense of the word. It is part museum, part film production center, and part consulting service to the professional dance community. It preserves the history of dance by gathering diverse written, visual, and aural resources, and it works to ensure the art form's continuity through an active documentation program.
UbuWeb
![]()
Interdisciplinary repository featuring avant-garde art works in visual, audio, textual, video, theatrical, and dance forms.
Voice of Dance
![]()
Voice of Dance is a comprehensive information internet resource on dance. It contains news of articles, multimedia, Q&A columns with dance professionals, message boards, an online store, chats and other areas of interest and information.
Music and Dance Reference (Brigham Young University)
![]()
Includes bibliographies for music and dance.
Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers, and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800
Highfill, Philip H., Jr., Kalman A. Burnim, and Edward A. Langhans. Carbondale, Ill.: Southern Illinois University Press, 1973- PN2597.H5 v. 1-8 (16 vols).
This is an important source for anyone doing early historical research on dancers in London.
Note: Print Resource
Biographical Dictionary of Dance
Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara New York: Schirmer, 1982. Ref. GV1785.A1 C58 1982
Introduction by Lincoln Kirstein. This biographical dictionary for dance contains comprehensive information on dancers in all styles and includes lists of works for choreographers. Facts presented in entries should be double-checked, however, against more recent sources for revised and updated facts and information.
Note: Print Resource
Fair Use in Dance-related materials
This Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use of Dance-related Materials, produced by the Dance Heritage Coalition, clarifies what librarians, archivists, curators, and others working with dance-related materials currently regard as a reasonable application of the Copyright Act's fair use doctrine, where the use of copyrighted materials is essential to significant cultural missions and institutional goals.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style- 15th & 16th Editions.
MLA Format - Purdue
Purdue University's MLA format guide.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Active MIDCAT search.
Examples online at:
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Middlebury College students and faculty may use RefWorks by creating a RefWorks account. For more info, follow the RefWorks link or email refworks@middlebury.edu.
Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Oxford Dictionary of Dance (online)
This comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary provides all the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse dance scene of the 21st century. It includes entries ranging from classical ballet to the cutting edge of modern dance.
Note: electronic resource
Oxford Dictionary of Dance
By Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Ref. GV1585.C78 2000
The short entries here cover primarily Western theatrical dancing of all styles. There are listings for dancers, choreographers, dance pieces, ballets, and dance terms.
Note: Print resource
International Dictionary of Ballet
Edited by Martha Bremser, et al. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993. Ref. GV1585.I57 1993 (2 vols).
The dictionary is comprised of 750 entries on artists, ballets, and ballet companies. The leading modern dance choreographers are included if their work have become part of the repertory of major ballet companies. Most of the entries are for people including dancers, choreographers, designers, composers, librettists, and teachers. The entries for dancers include a biography and a list of roles.
Note: Print resource
International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Edited by Taryn Benbow-Pfalzgraf, et al. Detroit: St. James Press, 1998. Ref GV1585.B46 1998
Styles, and the development of modern dance. The entries for dancers include a biography, comprehensive lists of roles, complete lists of dance works, a bibliography, and list of films. The dictionary is comprised of more than 400 entries on dancers, dance companies, and significant dance pieces.
Note: Print resource
Dance Magazine College Guide
New York, Danad Pub. Co. GV1623 .D26
A directory to dance in North American colleges and universities.
Note: Print resource
Sapphire Swan Dance Directory
The directory provides links to internet sites for all kinds of information about dance and examples of different dance types and forms, ranging from Aztec dancing to Zydeco.
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Edited by Selma Jeanne Cohen, et al. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. Music Ref. GV1585 .I586 1998 (6 vols).
The encyclopedia is the major scholarly work in the field of dance. It covers Western theatrical dance, theatrical dance in the non-Western world, and ritual and recreational dances. Articles are written by over 200 dance experts and all conclude with a bibliography. The final volume includes an alphabetical list of all articles, a classified list of the contents, and an extensive index.
Note: Print resource
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
By Dennis Kennedy. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
![]()
Explore music, theater and dance at the Library of Congress
Classic Ballet Basic Technique and Terminology
Stuart, Muriel, Lincoln Kirstein, and Carlus Dyer. New York: Knopf, 1972. GV1788 .S8 1977
Note: Print resource
Dance Handbook
By Allen Robertson and Donald Hutera. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1990. GV1601.R63 1990
The focus of this book is on biographies of ballet and modern dancers. There are also articles on dance forms and brief factual information about dance such as terms, dance companies, and festivals.
Note: Print resource
Dance Heritage Coalition
The Dance Heritage Coalition is an alliance of eight major dance collections formed to address national dance documentation and preservation issues. Constituents of the DHC include the Library of Congress, Harvard Theatre Collection, the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, and Jacob's Pillow. There is a link to finding aids for archival collections of major dancers and choreographers with subject and repository indexes. The Dance Heritage Coalition Archive is located at the Music Division of the Library of Congress. Researchers wishing to work with special collections are advised to inquire in advance about availability of material since many special collections are stored off-site.
Dancers Complete guide to Healthcare and a Long Career
By Allan J. Ryan Chicago: Bonus Books, 1988. RC1220.D35 R93 1988
This is a companion volume to the book cited above. It includes information about injuries, nutrition, shoes, and psychological and physical health for the dancer in general.
Note: Print resource
Dancers Guide to Injuries of the Lower Extremity
By Stuart Wright, New York: Cornwall Books, 1985. RD560.W75 1985
Note: Print resource
Dancers Resource - the Watson-Guptill Guide to Academic Programs, Internships, and Apprentice Programs, Residential and Artist-in_Residence Programs, Studio Schools and Private Teachers, Workshops and Festivals
By Mark W. Jones. New York. Watson-Guptill Publications, c1999. GV1589 .J65 1999
Note: Print resource
Dancing Longer Dancing Stronger - a Dancers Guide to Improving Technique and Preventing Injury
By Andrea Watkins and Priscilla M. Clarkson Princeton, NJ : Princeton Book Co., 1990. GV1588.W38 1990
"This book is designed to help ballet, modern, aerobic, and jazz dancers improve their dance technique and prevent injury." Each area of the body is treated individually and conditioning exercises are suggested.
Note: Print resource
Finding Balance - Fitness, Training, and Health for a Lifetime in Dance
By Gigi Berardi M. New York: Routledge, 2005. GV1595 .B47 2005
Handbook for Modern Educational Dance
By Valerie Monthland Preston-Dunlop London: Macdonald & Evans, 1969. GV1753.5.P7
The ideas of Rudolf Laban are discussed and illustrated here including how the body is used in dancing, feelings expressed in movement, and the different shapes of human motion
Healthy Dancer - Dance Medicine for Dancers - Selected Articles from Dance Magazine
By Allan J. Ryan and Robert E. Stephens Princeton, NJ: Princeton Book Co., 1989. RC1220.D35 D36 1989
A collection of essays not only about how to care for dance injuries, but also how to maintain the dancer's health.
Note: Print resource
Social Dancing in America - a History and Reference
By Ralph G. Giordano. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2007. GV1623 .G56 2007
Note: Print resource
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Theatre in Video
![]()
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
American Periodicals Series Online - 1740-1940
APS collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection and features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Includes publications such as Vanity Fair, Life, and Ladies Home Journal.
Harpers Weekly
Full content images of Harper's Weekly from 1857 - 1912. Browse by date or search using the index or within full-text. See printing instructions before proceeding.
The Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
The 19th Century in Print presents 23 popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines such as Atlantic Monthly, North American Review, Scribner's, Harper's, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and more.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available. Formerly PCI.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century
Full-text newspapers articles from: Freedom's Journal; Colored American; The North Star; The National Era; Frederick Douglass Paper; Provincial Freeman; and The Christian Recorder.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
