Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
IEEE Computer Science Digital Library
The IEEE Computer Society Digital Library (CSDL) provides online access to 27 society magazines and transactions and more than 4,100 conference publications.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
The ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted.
Note: Middlebury College subscription access via the WALDO Consortium
arXiv
An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Many of the papers are scheduled to be published in professional journals. Because papers are submitted and posted without peer review, the archive represents extremely up-to-date research. Materials are added on a daily basis.
CiNii - Citation Index by National Institute of Informatics
---
CiteSeer
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Computer Database
For researchers who need to keep pace with the fast changing world of high technology, Computer Database is their Internet-accessible reference solution. With Computer Database, library users can access today's most well-read and influential periodicals on the computer, telecommunications and electronics industries -- all in one seamless search.
Note: Indexes over 900 publications, including IEEE and ACM transactions and proceedings.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Access to electronic manuscripts that have not yet been published.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
MathSciNet
MathSciNet® is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. MathSciNet® contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.
ProQuest Computing
Database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, intranets and the internet - journal articles. Coverage: 1998-Current
Gartner Research
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world’s leading information technology research and advisory company. Delivering technology-related insight that helps clients to make the right decisions, every day, Middlebury has access to Gartner's extensive research.
LibX Middlebury College Edition
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:
Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.
Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.
Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)
Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.
Computer History Museum
![]()
The mission of the Computer History Museum is to preserve and present for posterity the artifacts and stories of the information age. As such, the Museum plays a unique role in the history of the computing revolution and its worldwide impact on the human experience.
Note: CHM is also a bricks and mortar museum.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
![]()
NSDL is the nation's online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics. NSDL now provides access to audio, video, and other multimedia resources for science and math education through Apple's iTunes Store. The Beyond Campus section of iTunes U provides free access to material from museums, public radio and television stations, and other non-profit educational providers.
There is no cost to use or download materials from NSDL on iTunes U.
Note: Funded by the National Science Foundation
The Pew Internet and American Life Project A non-profit research center studying the social effects of the Internet on Americans. Report topic include:
Programmers' Heaven
An online reference for programmers, featuring over 31,989 files, links and articles to explore. Job postings, message boards, and more.
Videolectures.net
![]()
Free on-demand educational video lectures from world's leading and prominent scientists, research institutions, EU research projects.
Citation and Style Guides
Created by Middlebury College librarians. A guide to writing papers & citing sources.
A to Z of Computer Scientists
In the Davis Family Library Ref QA76.2.A2 H46 2003
Note: Print Resource
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
Biographical Dictionary of Mathematicians
Multi-volume
Ref QA28 B534 1991
Note: Print Resource
Go To: The Story of the Math Majors, Bridge Players, Engineers, Chess Wizards, Maverick Scientists and Iconoclasts, the Programmers who Created the Software Revolution
by Steve Lohr
QA76.2.A2 L64 2001
Note: Print Resource
Out of their Minds: the Lives and Discoveries of 15 Great Computer Scientists
by Dennis Elliott Shasha
QA76.2.A2 S53 1995
Note: Print Resource
Women of Mathematics: a Biobibliographic Sourcebook
QA28 W66 1987
Note: Print Resource
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
MIDCAT List - Computing Dictionaries
More dictionaries in computing, including those with foreign language equivalents
Note: Active catalog search
Oxford Reference: Computing
Cross-searchable interface to Oxford's Dictionary of Computing and Dictionary of the Internet
Note: a subset of Oxford Reference Online Premium
Webopedia: Online Computer Dictionary for Computer and Internet Terms and Definitions
An online computer dictionary and internet search engine for internet terms and technical support.
Webopedia provides easy-to-understand definitions in plain language, avoiding the use of heavy jargon when possible so that the site is accessible to users with a wide range of computer knowledge.
Full-time experienced editors gather information from standards bodies, leading technology companies, universities, professional online technical publications, white papers and professionals working in the field. Every definition is verified among multiple sources; definitions are never based on just one source.
Note: Includes RSS Feeds.
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Safari - Books Online (*New & improved! Less waiting. Lots more books.)
Safari is the premier electronic reference library for programmers and IT professionals. From XML, iPhones, Kindles, .Net, and most programming languages and software packages under the sun, you'll find your answer in Safari. go/safari
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
