Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
L' Année philologique
Critical and analytical bibliography of articles on Greek and Latin works.
Print version is in Main Reference PA99.A1 A5
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Oxford Classical Studies
Classics reference books published by Oxford University Press including The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, edited by M.C. Howatson and The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, edited by Michael Gagarin.
Perseus Digital Library
A growing online reference guide focused primarily on the ancient Greek world but also Roman civilization, the history of science, and early modern English.
Virgil.org
Searchable texts by and about Virgil.
The Guide to Life, The Universe and Everything. Handy Latin phrases
Tongue-in-cheek, contemporary translations of Latin phrases.
Note: Fun, non-scholarly resource
Vicipaedia : Libera encyclopaedia A Latin version of Wikipedia. Like any wikipedia entries, these cannot be assumed to be authoritative--always double check the information. But it may provide a useful starting place. For a more complete description see the article in The Wired Campus
Note: Non-scholarly resource
Muir's Historical Atlas: Ancient and Classical By Ramsay Muir. London: Philip, 1976, c1963.
REF G1033 M85 1976
Note: Print resource
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world - Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman - from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online access to over 300 volumes published since 1960, over 196,000 pages and over 15 different academic subjects from ancient history, economic history, history of music, language and linguistics, theatre studies and performing arts, and religious studies.
Perseus Digital Library
A growing online reference guide focused primarily on the ancient Greek world but also Roman civilization, the history of science, and early modern English.
Brill Online Main access portal for:
Brill's New Pauly Online
Intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Revised edition in English of Der Neue Pauly, which is in German and also available at the online site.
Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker (Brill)
The monumental series Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker contains the critical edition of 856 Greek historians whose work is preserved in fragments. Felix Jacoby collected these fragments and edited them, adding extensive commentaries.
Also available in print at PA 3490 J3 1961 see MIDCAT
Loeb Classical Library
A collection of original text and English translations of most Greek and Roman works.
Non-circulating sets classed in PR3000; circulating copies have individual call numbers (see MIDCAT)
Note: Print resource
Der Neue Pauly
Original German version. Intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
