Bibliographies
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Dictionaries
Dissertations
Government Information
Images
International Geographic Resources
Journals/Magazines
Newspapers
Newspapers--International
China Academic Journals (CAJ) and Century Journals Project
The China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database is a cross-searchable full-text database of the China Academic Journal (CAJ) containing more than 7,200 journals paired with the Century Journals Project, an archive of the most important academic journals published in China, dating back to 1887. Middlebury's current collections focus on economics, education and social sciences, literature, philosophy, history, and politics, military affairs, and law. A Chinese search is also available.
TEPS - Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services
An on-line database offering indexing to many periodicals in Chinese. Middlebury does not have access to the fulltext - please check against our holdings before requesting materials by ILL.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A selection of full-text books, conference reports, and working papers on international affairs.
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. We aim to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
East Asian Gateway Service for Chinese and Korean Academic Journal Publicatoins
Portal through which to request journal articles sent electronically
EconLit with Full Text
Index for over 600 journals (400+ full-text), books, documents, and working papers in the field of economics. 1969 - present. Go shortcut = go/econlit.
Note: Note: Summon searches Econlit citations, but it does not search the full-text. To search within full-text journals, select All Text from Econlit's search box Select a Field menu.
ERIC Database
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest source of education information, containing more than 1 million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles.
Foreast: The Internet East Asian Library
200+ Free Resources for East Asian Studies.
Historical Abstracts
Major index to over 2,000 international journals, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of the world, except United States and Canada. Covers topics from 1450 (i.e. the Renaissance) to the present. Indexes publications published from 1955 to current.
HKInChiP
HKInChiP indexes Chinese-language and bilingual (Chinese/English) periodicals published in Hong Kong. The index covers over 150 periodicals
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Academic Universe provides access to the full text of national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, and more. It also includes business, financial, and legal information, including laws, regulations, cases, and EU law. The non-English language news link includes news in French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Go shortcut = go/lexis (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lexis (off campus).
Ling Long Women's Magazine
Full image reproduction of Columbia University's holdings of the Republican-period Shanghai women's magazine, along with information about the journal and its readershi
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Ming Pao Daily
The archival database of community news in Chinese from Vancouver, BC is available to users all over the world.
University of Tokyo Digital Rare Book Archive
A collection of Chinese classics hosted by the institute of Oriental Culture, University of Tokyo
Chinese University of Hong Kong Library Catalog
Uses Big 5 encoding.
Nationa Library of china
Includes a digital collection.
National Central Library [China]
Uses Big 5 encoding.
National Palace Museum Database of Premodern Texts
In Chinese.
Universal Digital Library
Access to over 1 million digitized books. Most titles are in Chinese or English, but other languages are included, such as Arabic.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
International Geographic Resources
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Chinese Rare Book Collection
A digital collection of early rare early Chinese books hosted by the World Digital Library
MandarinPortal.com
Portal for all things in Mandarin Chinese.
WenxueCity
Chinese-language website for the Chinese disapora community. Collects gossip, rumors, and news on China and the rest of the world.
Yamada Language Guides
Web Portal for numerous language related sites
Overseas China trade ( :::現在位置)
Links to data on Chinese trade from the Taiwanese Government.
Governments on the WWW
![]()
Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-governmental institutions etc. Includes also political parties. Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more than 220 countries and territories as of June 2002.
Project Gutenberg - audiobooks
![]()
Computer read audiobooks in many languages.
Music Online Listening
![]()
Music Online is the broadest and most comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of your library's Alexander Street Press music databases. (Alexander Street Press streaming music databases.)
MCLC Resource Center (Ohio State)
font size="2">This resource center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, film, art, music, and culture.
MCLC Scholarly Journals
Ohio State
MIDCAT List - Chinese Literature
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Chinese Character Genealogy
An Etymological Chinese-English Dictionary
Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage 林语堂当代汉英词典-电子版[繁体]
![]()
Online Chinese-English Dictionary
Note: 林语堂当代汉英词典-电子版[繁体]
MIDCAT List - Chinese Dictionaries
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search
Online Chinese-English dictionary
![]()
Includes links to several different sources
Your Dictionary
![]()
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Britannica’s Global Reference Center
A collection of Encyclopaedia Britannica’s foreign language content, offering information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Photos, detailed maps,and other images accompany the text.
MIDCAT List - Chinese Encyclopedias
Active catalog search
Note: Active catalog search
Sidney Gamble Photograph Collection
Images from Korea, Japan, China, Hawaii, San Francisco and Russia 1908-1932.
Foreign Language News and Magazines
![]()
Links to electronic newspapers, journals, and magazines from around the world. Compiled by MIT Libraries.
Inside China Today
English full text.
Kidon Media Link
![]()
Links to 18,776 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world.
Library PressDisplay
45-day archive of full-color, full-page, scanned images of over 700 newspapers from 76 countries in 38 languages.
Newspapers24
12,000 newspapers, 24 hours news
People's Daily [China]
font size="-1" face="Verdana, Geneva, Tahoma, Arial, sans-serif">News from China available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, English, French, Spanish, Russian, and Japanese.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Chinese text initiative
Digital archive of texts from the University of Virginia
Ming-Qing Women's writings
A digital collection of women's writing from the Ming- Qing era 1368-1911)
Southeast Asia in the Ming Shi-li
The Ming Shi-lu (明實錄) (also known as the Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty) is a collective name for the successive reign annals of the emperors of Ming China (1368-1644). Each of the shi-lu comprises an account of one emperor's reign, and was compiled after that emperor's death on the basis of a number of sources created during the reign. These collected texts, which run to close to 40,000 pages of unpunctuated, manuscript Classical Chinese constitute one of the most important primary texts of the Ming dynasty, and contain a wealth of materials unrecorded in other sources.
Radio-Locator
![]()
Find radio stations by country
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries)
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II:
- Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment
- Identify spatial patterns and trends
- Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports
- Dynamic charts, tables and maps
- Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
CIA - The World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, country information including basic statistics.
International TV
![]()
Portal site to TV stations from around the world
