Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
American Chemical Society Publications
1879–Current. Using the American Chemical Society's Website you can search their publications and get full text access. Search features include: Citation Finder, DOI Locator, Advanced Journal Search, Multiple Journal Search, Search by Subject Area Groupings or Search by timeframe including Archives.
Chemistry Central
Peer-reviewed open access research articles in chemistry which have been published in Chemistry Central Journal, BioMed Central journals and independent journals utilizing BioMed Central's open access publishing services.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
ProQuest Science Journals
1986-current. References to articles on a wide variety of topics in the sciences including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. The database includes over 660 titles, with more than 540 available in full text.
PubMed
1950s-current. A major source for scholarly biomedical literature.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
SciFinder Scholar 1908-current. Chemical Abstracts via SciFinder Scholar is a comprehensive index to pure and applied chemistry literature including journal articles and structure information. It is accessible to Middlebury users from any on-campus or off-campus computer. Before using SciFinder (Web version) for the first time, you must create an account from an on-campus computer. Access at Middlebury is limited to two searchers at a time. When finished, please log off to allow others to log in. To create a SciFinder account: Help documents for SciFinder (Web version):
Scirus Searches for science-related and primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
1) Click on "Search Preferences," 2) For Library Partner Links, click "Enable," 3) Click "M" and then select "Middlebury College" from the drop-down list, and 4) Click "Save Preferences."
Note: Preferences can be set to link directly to articles in Middlebury collections. (See above)
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Middlebury College Libraries Databases A-Z List
Links to all indexes and databases available through the Middlebury College Libraries. Shortcuts = go/databases (on campus); http://go.middlebury.edu/databases (off-campus).
Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.
Middlebury College Libraries Interlibrary Loan Department
Advice on how to request books and articles from other libraries.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
ChemxSeer
A database and search engine for chemical literature, formulae, tables, and data. Allows searching of chemical formulae and names, and of contents of tables (with rows and columns) in digital documents. Links search results to published articles.
E-Print Network
A vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels. A gateway to over 27,850 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.
Futurity
News about scientific research at research at 35 universities in the United States and Canada.
ScienceDaily
News culled from journals, magazines and other online sources about scientific research.
Scientific Commons
A searchable database of freely available scientific publications stored in online archives around the world.
SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
An extensive guide to internet resources in chemistry from Indiana University.
esp@cenet
Patent database of the European Patent Office
FreePatentsOnline
Search for U.S. and some international patents.
Google Patent Search
Full-text of US patents. Best in cases where you have a patent number and simply need the full-text. Some historical coverage.
PAT2PDF
Converts patent files from U.S. Patent and Trademark Office to PDF format for viewing and printing.
Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases Patent database of the United States Patent and Trademark Office.
Patent Lens
Patent Lens is a worldwide, open-access, free patent informatics resource.
Patentscope
From the WIPO (World Intellectual Property Organization), allows full-text search in over 1.4 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978.
Science.gov
Selective coverage, as far back as 1948. Science.gov is a search engine for government science information from the Departments of Agriculture; Commerce; Defense; Education; Energy; Health and Human Services; and Interior. Also the Environmental Protection Agency, Library of Congress, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the US Government Printing Office. Results are authoritative and selective and may include scientific or technical data, publications, databases, documentation, or other forms of information.
Tip: To limit your search to a subset of the database, click on the "Advanced Search" link
Selected Resources for Patents, Inventions, and Technology Transfer
A guide from the Stanford University Library on how to find patent information online.
WorldWideScience
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals containing results of scientific research conducted by government agencies.
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
American Women in Science
Armstrong Ref Q141 .B254 1998
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Black Women Scientists in the United States
Armstrong Ref Q141 .W367 1999
Note: Print Resource
Wilson Current Biography Illustrated replaced by Gale Biography in Context
Gale Biography in Context includes 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .D5
Note: Print Resource
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
Armstrong Ref Q141 .D535 1996
Note: Print Resource
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Note: Print Resource
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Climate Debate Daily
Essays and research from both sides of the debate over the significance of global climate change.
Climate Feedback
A blog hosted by Nature Reports: Climate Change with discussion on the science and implications of global warming.
Useful Chem
An open source science project in chemistry where problems in chemistry that need to be solved can be shared. Problems are answered in whole or in part by other chemists. Part of the Open-Source Science project, which aims to unite scientists worldwide to find cures for neglected diseases.
Abbreviations.com
Directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business.
ACS (American Chemical Society)
Examples online at:
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
Citation and Style Guides
Created by Middlebury College librarians. A guide to writing papers & citing sources.
The Elements of style Multiple copies including Online: Bartleby.com In print:
Journals Database - NCBI
Enter a journal abbreviation and retrieve a list of matching journal titles.
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)
Examples online at:
Periodical title abbreviations
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1264657%7ES2">Armstrong Ref PN4832 .P47
Note: Print resource
PubMed Journals Database
span class="note">When you have an abbreviated journal title, search this to find the full title.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
CSE (Council of Science Editors)
Examples online at:
eigenfactor
A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, eigenfactor attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, SCImago attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it. It also tries to measure the scientific productivity of a country using the same factors.
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Free collection of articles about the Earth, its environment, and the interaction between society and the environment. Articles are contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, and other experts who review one another's work.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
In print at Armstrong Reference QE515 .E48
Note: Print resource
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Background information, definitions and data on Environment, Soil Science & Conservation, Geoecology/Natural Processes, Agriculture, Physical Geography and Geotechnical Engineering.
Eric Weisstein's World of Chemistry
Compiled by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community, this growing encyclopedia provides explanations for technical subjects with illustrative examples.
Kirk-Othmer concise encyclopedia of chemical technology
in print at Armstrong Reference TP9 .K54
MIDCAT list - Chemistry encyclopedias and dictionaries
Try these encyclopedias and dictionaries too.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Physicians Desk Reference
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1127505%7ES2">Armstrong Ref RS75 P5 2002
Note: Print resource
TOXNET Hazardous Substances Data Bank
Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.
Van Nostrand's encyclopedia of chemistry
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1843012%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QD5 .V37
The vocabulary and concepts of organic chemistry
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1823217%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QD291 .C55
WikiProject Chemistry
A project to better organize information in Wikipedia articles related to chemistry. The Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a division of the American Chemical Society, contributes CAS Registry numbers for current substances listed in this section of Wikipedia.
Wolfram Alpha
This is a new search engine that attempts to answer factual questions (eg, what is the density of lead, where was Venus on May 13, how many calories would be burned with 30 minutes of jogging). It is still under development (by the makers of Mathematica); read the About document, watch the video, or check out the search examples for details.
ChemBioFinder.Com
Free chemical searching with data such as chemical structures, 2D structures & 3D models, physical properties, and links to other sites with information about your compound. (Requires registration and login.)
ChemIDplus Lite From the National Library of Medicine (NLM), ChemIDplus provides basic information about substances cited in NLM databases such as PubMed. There are over 70 chemical resources monitored in ChemIDplus. ChemIDplus Lite and Advanced are two different applications of the ChemIDplus database. Lite is designed for simple searching on name or registry number to retrieve basic information about a chemical and provide links to other resources. The Lite version displays structures, but does not allow drawing or searching on structures. ChemIDplus Advanced is designed for more advanced searching on any combination of name, registry number, molecular formula, classification code, locator code, toxicity, physical property, structure, or molecular weight. Toxicity and physical property data are displayed in tables under Basic Information. The Advanced version provides links to the same resources as the Lite version. In addition, ChemIDplus Advanced allows users to draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.
Colorants
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1561800%7ES2">Armstrong Ref TP456.C65 F73 1999
Coloring of food, drugs, and cosmetics In print at Armstrong Ref TP910 .O8813 1999
Online preview available via Google Book Search
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics The contents can be searched online at CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Search results will include section number and section title. We do not have an online subscription, so once you know the section number and title of the information you seek, you'll need to consult the print edition (at Armstrong Ref QD65 .H3).
Also consult Tables Relocated or Removed from CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, as information is sometimes removed or rearranged in subsequent editions.
Note: Print resource
CRC handbook of food additives
Data and background information on food additives.
Dictionary of organic compounds
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1026631%7ES2http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1026631%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QD246 .D5
Dietary Reference Intakes
From the Food and Nutrition Information Center of the United States Department of Agriculture, provides a comprehensive listing of reference values used for planning and assessing nutrient intake. Includes information on specific nutrients and history of DRI (Dietary Reference Intake) development.
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals
In print at Armstrong Ref RS51 .M4 (Current) and Armstrong Stacks at the same call number (Older).
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Chemistry WebBook provides access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.
Organic Syntheses
Annual collections of procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
Skin Deep: Cosmetic Safety Database
Online safety guide for cosmetics and personal care products. Combines personal care product ingredient listings with data from toxicity and regulatory databases.
Thermodex
Records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
VIPEr: Virtual Inorganic Pedagogical Electronic Resource
A product of IONIC (Interactive Online Network of Inorganic Chemists), VIPEr is a community for teachers and students of inorganic chemistry. It provides lab experiments and explanations.
WebElements
Web-based periodic table of the elements
The Periodic Table of Videos
A clickable version of the periodic table that opens a short YouTube video about each element.
Science Animations
Links to movies & interactive tutorials for scientific topics.
Scitalks
Links to recorded lectures on scientific topics. Viewers can vote on the quality of the lectures and ratings are visible to all.
Middlebury College Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Middlebury College Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry web site
Middlebury College Libraries
Library hours, borrowing policies, and research and technology resources from the Middlebury College Libraries. [Shortcuts = go/lib (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lib (off-campus).]
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Chemical Reviews - American Chemical Society 1924-1995 online in American Chemical Society Legacy Archives
1996-current in American Chemical Society Web Editions
Chemical Society Reviews - Royal Society of Chemistry, London
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1300995%7ES2">Armstrong Periodicals and Armstrong Microfiche
Progress in Inorganic Chemistry
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1262195%7ES2">Armstrong Stacks QD151 .P76
PubMed
1950s-current. A major source for scholarly biomedical literature.
Thesis Guide
This guide is designed to review the variety of library materials and services for Middlebury thesis students. Follow the link above to access the guide.
