Choice Reviews Online
Short book reviews of academic titles. 09/01/1988 - present.
New York Review of Books
The New York Review of Books has articles on literature, culture and current affairs. It takes as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity. Read articles from its inception in 1963.
Book Review Index
Davis Family Library Reference Z1035 .A1 B6 1965 - 2007
Reviews using Summon
Summon includes reviews (book, film, music, etc.)
1. Search by the title of the item (and author and other details if needed).
2. View your results and click on Review in the Content Type box on the left.
Tip: you can also use the Publication Date limit box if needed.
Additional Sources for Reviews
Search Midcat using a SUBJECT search using the terms Book Reviews. Also, reviews are published in a variety of places including newspapers and journals. Consult the databases that index those types of resources using the other sections of this guide (Journals/Magazines; Journals/Magazines of the period; Newspapers). For literary works, some editions reprint contemporary reviews along with the text of the work (i.e. critical editions). For example, see the critical heritage series in Midcat.
Humanities Index, 1974-1980
To locate articles in English language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. Earlier title: International Index to Periodicals and before that Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6
International Index to Periodicals
1920 - 1965. Later title: Social Sciences & Humanities Index (no holdings) then split into the separate Social Sciences Index (no holdings) and Humanities Index (have 1974-1980). Use to locate articles in English-language journals and magazines on U.S. and international subjects. For 1907 - 1919, see the earlier title: Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement (same call number). For articles after 1980, see Academic Onefile.
Print: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 1920 - 1965
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
(Special Collections) Ref AI3.P732 1971
Note: Print Resource. Some volumes in Main Reference area.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Social Sciences Index
See the earlier title: International Index to Periodicals (1920 - 1965) or Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Supplement (1907 - 1919).
Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6
Note: Print Resource
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Tables of contents and author index to 43 major British periodicals.
Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .W4
Note: Print Resource
