Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Searchable archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences from 1665 - 2000. PAO is searchable with the British Periodicals I & ll collection. Also see Periodicals Index Online for indexing to additional journals titles.
Play Index (Wilson)
Over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English. Search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type; and more. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is a digital library containing about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Major subjects include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. There is some coverage of other parts of the world (British accounts or other works published or translated in English).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets, essays, and broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Includes a chronology, key document gallery, and essays.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
The British Studies Web
The British Studies Web aims to provide scholarly information pertaining to the British Isles (the nations of England, the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales).
Intute: Internet resources for film and theatre
This booklet gives a sample of the online resources you can find using Intute -- a free Internet service designed to help students, lecturers and researchers find the best of the Web for their education and research.
Intute: Theatre and the Performing Arts
The best Web resources for education and research, selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists. There are over 21,000 Web resources listed here that are freely available by keyword searching and browsing.
Poetry dot Org
Poetry.org is a resource site for poetry and poets. Here you can learn about the history, meaning, and types of poetry, as well as terms often used when reading and studying poetry.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, AV materials, electronic media, and other materials related to Shakespeare published between 1961 - 2009. International coverage (118+ languages).
Literature Resource Center
The Gale Literature Resource Center provides basic information about an author or a playwright as well as literary criticism from journals. When you do a search on the author's name, the first tab of results will be a link to a biographical profile of his/her life and works, while the second tab will give links to literary criticism and other articles. Other tabs will lead to additional resources.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
The Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
The OED online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition and the latest progress towards the next, Third, edition.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, literary movements, periods, and themes. The articles offer historical perspective and social context along with critical approaches.
Oxford Reference Online - Performing Arts Use the link above to simultaneously search all of the titles listed below, or click on an individual title to search only that volume:
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
British Periodicals (parts 1 and 2)
Now on the ProQuest platform, this database offers facsimile page images and searchable full-text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Part One consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Part Two consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles.
Early English Newspapers Microfilm #719 Bibliography and Guide located on the bookshelves in the Microfilm Area of the Main Library. Middlebury does not have all reels. Check the Microfilm drawers for holdings. "Contains numerous and rare series of newspapers, from 1603 to 1818, amounting in whole to 700 volumes". A very few of these newspapers are available electronically. Follow the main link of this record to the MIDCAT list; look at individual records for access.
Note: Active MIDCAT search.
