Biographical Information
Blogs
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Directories
Government Information
Handbooks and Guides
Images
Journals/Magazines
Lectures & Speeches
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Entrez (NCBI)
Books, data and references to articles in the life sciences.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
POPLINE
1970-current; some earlier. References to reports, articles and books on reproductive health, population, family planning, and related issues. POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE) is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID).
ProQuest Biology Journals
1992 - current. References to articles on a wide range of topics in biology including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, and zoology. The database includes over 320 titles, with more than 280 available in full text.
ProQuest Science Journals
1986-current. References to articles on a wide variety of topics in the sciences including Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry, and more. The database includes over 660 titles, with more than 540 available in full text.
PubMed
1950s-current. A major source for scholarly biomedical literature.
ScienceDirect
This is a collection of journals published by Elsevier. The Middlebury College Libraries subscribe to 2,000+ titles published 1995-. (For better coverage, use Scopus instead.) Articles from journals to which we subscribe are marked with a green full-text icon. To find out if we have alternative access to journals not available via ScienceDirect, click on the "360 Link to Fulltext" button or consult our Journals A to Z list. Tip: Use image search to look for terms in tables and figures.
Scirus Searches for science-related and primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee. Tips:
1) Click on "Search Preferences," 2) For Library Partner Links, click "Enable," 3) Click "M" and then select "Middlebury College" from the drop-down list, and 4) Click "Save Preferences."
Note: Preferences can be set to link directly to articles in Middlebury collections. (See above)
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
Middlebury College Libraries Databases A-Z List
Links to all indexes and databases available through the Middlebury College Libraries. Shortcuts = go/databases (on campus); http://go.middlebury.edu/databases (off-campus).
Middlebury College Library Newspapers Guide
Directs you to all current and historical newspaper resources available at Middlebury.
Middlebury College Libraries Interlibrary Loan Department
Advice on how to request books and articles from other libraries.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
LibX Middlebury College Edition
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:
Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.
Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.
Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)
Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.
Birds of North America Online
![]()
From the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, BNA Online provides life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada along with image and video galleries showing plumages, behaviors, habitat, nests and eggs, and recordings of songs and calls.
Futurity
News about scientific research at research at 35 universities in the United States and Canada.
ScienceDaily
News culled from journals, magazines and other online sources about scientific research.
Scientific Commons
A searchable database of freely available scientific publications stored in online archives around the world.
Science.gov
Selective coverage, as far back as 1948. Science.gov is a search engine for government science information from the Departments of Agriculture; Commerce; Defense; Education; Energy; Health and Human Services; and Interior. Also the Environmental Protection Agency, Library of Congress, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, National Science Foundation, and the US Government Printing Office. Results are authoritative and selective and may include scientific or technical data, publications, databases, documentation, or other forms of information.
Tip: To limit your search to a subset of the database, click on the "Advanced Search" link
WorldWideScience
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals containing results of scientific research conducted by government agencies.
Guide to reference and information sources in plant biology
a href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1856685%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QK45.2.A1 D38 2006
Note: Print resource
A guide to the zoological literature: the animal kingdom
a href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1382940%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QL45.2.A1 .B43 1994
Note: Print resource
International Field Guides
A searchable database of field guides for plants, animals, and other objects in North America and around the world. This site merges the book A Guide to Field Guides: Identifying the Natural History of North America by Diane Schmidt, Biology Librarian at the University of Illinois, and its companion Web site International Field Guides.
Using the Biological Literature: a Practical Guide
a href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1606070%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QH303.6 .D38 2002
Note: Print resource
American Men and Women of Science
Main Library Ref Q141 A474 next to latest ed
Armstrong Ref Q141 A474 latest ed
Note: Print Resource
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
American Women in Science
Armstrong Ref Q141 .B254 1998
Note: Print Resource
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Black Women Scientists in the United States
Armstrong Ref Q141 .W367 1999
Note: Print Resource
Wilson Current Biography Illustrated replaced by Gale Biography in Context
Gale Biography in Context includes 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .D5
Note: Print Resource
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century
Armstrong Ref Q141 .D535 1996
Note: Print Resource
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists
Multi-volume Armstrong Ref Q141 .N73 1995
Note: Print Resource
Who's Who (Marquis)
Select volumes available via Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
Some older volumes in print (consult Midcat for additional titles)
Marquis Who's Who in the World
Marquis Who's Who in America
Biocurious / a biophysics blog
Biocurious is a weblog about biology, physics, open access, and academics in general.
Climate Debate Daily
Essays and research from both sides of the debate over the significance of global climate change.
Climate Feedback
A blog hosted by Nature Reports: Climate Change with discussion on the science and implications of global warming.
Dot Earth
A New York Times blog about the impact of humans on the earth.
OpenWetWare
OpenWetWare (OWW) is provides a place for biology and biological engineering labs, individuals, and groups to organize their own information and collaborate with others. Backed by a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF), it currently hosts more than 8,000 pages including protocols, course syllabi and related materials, and blogs.
Abbreviations.com
Directory and search engine for acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Holds hundreds of thousands of entries organized by a large variety of categories from computing and the Web to governmental, medicine and business.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
The Elements of style Multiple copies including Online: Bartleby.com In print:
Journals Database - NCBI
Enter a journal abbreviation and retrieve a list of matching journal titles.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers / Kate L. Turabian
This is the "Turabian" style. See also the online Turabian Quick Guide with basic examples, available from the publisher. Free citation generator available from eturabian.com
Multiple print copies including:
Davis Family Library Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Davis Family Library Stacks LB2369 .T8 2007 (7 day loan)
Armstrong Ref LB2369 .T8 2007
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to resources and tools (such as Refworks, Zotero) to help format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
MLA (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)
Examples online at:
Periodical title abbreviations
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1264657%7ES2">Armstrong Ref PN4832 .P47
Note: Print resource
PubMed Journals Database
span class="note">When you have an abbreviated journal title, search this to find the full title.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
CSE (Council of Science Editors)
Examples online at:
A Short guide to writing about biology
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b2013733%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QH304 .P43 2007 and Armstrong Stacks QH304 .P43 2007
Note: Print resource
eigenfactor
A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, eigenfactor attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank A free database of journal rankings in the sciences. An alternative to Thomson ISI's Journal Citation Rankings, SCImago attempts to measure the relative importance of a journal based on factors such as the number of articles which cite it. It also tries to measure the scientific productivity of a country using the same factors.
BiomedExperts
Biomedexperts (BME) is a literature-based social networking platform for the life-science research community. It attempts to connect biomedical researchers through networks of co-authors and other experts. Profiles are automatically created for authors who have published at least three papers over the last ten years that have been indexed in PubMed. Registration is free, and required to search the database.
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
Access Science
![]()
Provides authoritative information for non-specialists on a wide variety of science-related topics. Includes the 20-volume McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and the Yearbooks of Science & Technology in addition to biographies from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography, selected Science News articles, and links to evaluated web sites. Shortcuts: go/accsci (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/accsci (off-campus).
Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1585637%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QR81 .B46
Note: Print resource
Biology
Gale encyclopedia. 4-volume encyclopedia that explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science.
BRENDA The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community. Enzymes are classified according to the Enzyme Commission list of enzymes. Some 4000 "different" enzymes are covered.
Cancer Topics
From the National Cancer Institute. Definitions, statistics, treatment options.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
4 vols, 3rd ed., 2009. Presents information on alternative and complementary medical practices, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda, and osteopathy. Information on recommended therapies for specific disorders and diseases, medicinal uses for plants and herbs, and results of studies on efficacy.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
5 vols, 2004. Covers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
2 vols, 3rd ed, 2010. Comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
Encyclopedia of Earth
Free collection of articles about the Earth, its environment, and the interaction between society and the environment. Articles are contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, and other experts who review one another's work.
Encyclopedia of Evolution (Oxford)
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's "Macroevolution" and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on "Culture in Chimpanzees." (2 volumes, 1234 pages)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
2 vols, 3rd ed, 2010. Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Encyclopedia of Genetics
4 volumes, 2001 ed. Authoritative coverage of topics related to the study of genetics with overview essays, biographies, and definitions of essential terms.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
5 vols, 3rd ed, 2006. Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia and epilepsy.
Encyclopedia of Population
2 vols, 2003. Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1663151%7ES2">Armstrong Ref QL7 .G7813
Healthfinder
Free guide to reliable health and wellness information including basic first aid techniques, illness prevention tips, a drug interaction checker and other health consumer advice. From the US Department of Health and Human Services.
MayoClinic.com
Up-to-date health and medical information from the not-for-profit Mayo Clinic.
Medline Plus
The National Library of Medicine's authoritative and current database of health information for consumers and health professionals.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
Physicians Desk Reference
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1127505%7ES2">Armstrong Ref RS75 P5 2002
Note: Print resource
Scitable
This is a growing science education resource for college faculty and students published by Nature. Currently, it features overview-style articles about genetics. In the future, more topics will be added. With a login, users can share and discuss articles.
TOXNET Hazardous Substances Data Bank
Comprehensive, peer-reviewed toxicology data for about 5,000 chemicals.
WebMD
A health resource for consumers, physicians, nurses, and educators. Includes news, chat forums, health quizzes and consumer product updates.
Wolfram Alpha
This is a new search engine that attempts to answer factual questions (eg, what is the density of lead, where was Venus on May 13, how many calories would be burned with 30 minutes of jogging). It is still under development (by the makers of Mathematica); read the About document, watch the video, or check out the search examples for details.
Audubon's Birds of America
A digitized version of one of the rare, complete sets of John James Audubon's Birds of America.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Presents information on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 endangered or threatened species. Includes an image of the species.
Methods in Cell Biology
Available in print at Armstrong Stacks QH 585 .P7. Fulltext is not available online, but titles and author names are searchable in PubMed (limit to publication: Methods in Cell Biology).
Methods in Enzymology
Available in print at Armstrong Stacks QP 601. C733. Fulltext is not available online, but titles and author names are searchable in PubMed (limit to publication: Methods in Enzymology).
Visible Human Project Data Sets
Middlebury College access for the Visible Human Project datasets (male and female), available from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is for classroom and teaching purposes. Please contact a librarian by calling 802.443.5496 or by emailing (refdesk@middlebury.edu) for the password.
Faculty interested in using the images for research purposes, or creating new uses for the images (e.g., creating an application to manipulate or view them, etc.) are asked to apply to the NLM for individual access.
ASCB Image and Video Library
Images, videos, and digital texts that illustrate the structure, function and biology of the cell. Access is free and open for non-commercial educational and research uses. Users can download any and all images and videos for non-commercial purposes. Maintained by the American Society for Cell Biology.
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed online journal devoted to the publication of biological research in a video format. Only the first few minutes of most videos may be viewed for free.
The Periodic Table of Videos
A clickable version of the periodic table that opens a short YouTube video about each element.
Science Animations
Links to movies & interactive tutorials for scientific topics.
Scitalks
Links to recorded lectures on scientific topics. Viewers can vote on the quality of the lectures and ratings are visible to all.
Middlebury College Department of Biology
Middlebury College Department of Biology web site.
Middlebury College Libraries
Library hours, borrowing policies, and research and technology resources from the Middlebury College Libraries. [Shortcuts = go/lib (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/lib (off-campus).]
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Critical reviews in biochemistry and molecular biology
This title is available electronically via links in MIDCAT.
International review of neurobiology
a target="_blank" href="http://biblio.middlebury.edu/record=b1113667%7ES2">Armstrong Stacks RC341 .I5
Microbiology and molecular biology reviews
Review articles
Physiological reviews In print 1921-current at Armstrong Periodicals and Armstrong Microfilm
Online 1998-1 year ago at HighWire Press
PubMed
1950s-current. A major source for scholarly biomedical literature.
Quarterly Review of Biology In print 1926-current at Armstrong Stacks
Online 3/2002-current at University of Chicago Press Journals
Entrez Nucleotide
The Entrez Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB.
Agricola (National Agriculture Library interface)
1970-current. Articles, books, software, maps, and other materials on topics related to agriculture, including biology of plants, animals, and microorganisms of economic importance.
