Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
AskArt
Biographical information on artists from around the world; images of artwork and artists; signature examples; International auction records (including provenance); facts; references; exhibits, and more.
Art Index (Wilson)
Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1984-current. Preceding years covered by Art Index Retrospective.
Note: Wilson
Grove Art Online
Subsumed by Oxford Art Online.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 700 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences covering all issues published, except for the last 2 to 5 years. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus).
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Multiple E-Reference Collections
Online Reference Resources (E-Ref Guide)
This Middlebury Library Subject Guide provides links to online reference resources including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and much more. Go shortcut = go/eref.
LibX Middlebury College Edition
LibX Middlebury College Edition is a Firefox and Internet Explorer extension that provides direct access to Middlebury's Library resources. It features:
Toolbar & right-click context menu: Search MIDCAT directly from the LibX toolbar or using the right-click context menu.
Support for off-campus access via EZProxy: Using the Library's off-campus proxy, you may reload a page through the proxy, or follow a link via the proxy, making it appear as though you are coming from an on-campus computer.
Quick full text access to journal articles: LibX uses Google Scholar to search for articles and directs the user to the electronic copy subscribed to by your Library. Select a citation, then drag-and-drop it onto the Scholar button on the toolbar. You can use this feature even from inside a PDF file, which makes retrieving papers referenced in a PDF file a snap.
Support for embedded cues: LibX places cues in web pages you visit if your library has resources related to that page. Whenever you see the cue, click on the link to look at what the Middlebury Library has to offer. For instance, book pages at Amazon or Barnes & Noble will contain cues that link to the book's entry in MIDCAT. Cues are displayed at Google, Yahoo! Search, the NY Times Book Review, and other pages. Watch this screencast for examples of this cool feature. (requires Macromedia Flash Plugin)
Support for xISBN: A book title can have different ISBNs for the paperback, the hardcover, even for different editions. LibX supports OCLC's xISBN service: you can find a book, given an ISBN, even if the library holds this book under a different ISBN.
UlrichsWeb Global Serial Directory
Detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages
A collection of web links useful to art scholars at all levels. Sponsored and maintained by the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.
UbuWeb
![]()
Interdisciplinary repository featuring avant-garde art works in visual, audio, textual, video, theatrical, and dance forms.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is the most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present in publications since 1973.
The recently unveiled (2010) free database search via The Getty includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Union List of Artist Names Online (ULAN)
A part of The Getty Vocabularies, ULAN is intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The ULAN includes proper names and associated information about artists.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Online version of the Chicago Manual of Style- 15th & 16th Editions.
Middlebury Citation and Style Guide
This library subject guide links to a multitude of resources pertaining to how to format your paper's footnotes, bibliographies and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. Middlebury College students and faculty may use RefWorks by creating a RefWorks account. For more info, follow the RefWorks link or email refworks@middlebury.edu.
Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
The AAT, a part of The Getty Vocabularies, is intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture and material culture. The AAT contains generic terms to describe these subjects. The AAT contains no iconographic subjects and no proper names.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
The TGN, a part of the Getty vocabularies, includes names and associated information about places. Places in TGN include administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included.
Oxford Art Online
Contains Grove Art Online, today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) - the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries. Grove Art Online is maintained with a regular update program to articles and bibliographies.
Also provides access to The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Artcyclopedia
A guide to artists, art works, and museums on the internet.
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
Center for Creative Photography
The Center for Creative Photography is an archive and research center located on the University of Arizona campus. Including the archives of Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, Harry Callahan, and other great 20th-century photographers--over fifty archives in all.
Barry Rosensteel Japanese Print Collection (University of Pittsburgh)
The collection consists of 126 wood block prints. While the earliest print dates to 1760, most of the prints were produced in the 1800s, while others were created in the 1900s. The work of over forty artists is represented in the collection.
Life Magazine Images
Available via Google Images. Browse by decade or topic or search across all images.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
Art Index Retrospective (Wilson)
Comprehensive index to art criticism, 1929-1984. Indexes art journals, magazines, bulletins and film reviews from 1929-=1984. Subsequent years covered by Art Index.
CRL: Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Online catalog of the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which includes over 5 million items including U.S. and international newspapers; foreign journals and dissertations; government documents, and a wide range of other primary source material.
Note: Middlebury's membership in CRL allows us unlimited borrowing of CRL material via Interlibrary Loan (put a note in your request if the item is available from CRL).
Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian Institution's collection of roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America
