Atlases
Biographical Information
Books: other Catalogs
Citation and Style Guides
Comprehensive Reference
AnthroSource
American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource. 100 years of online anthropological materials, including: current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
Anthropological Index
Indexes over 700 journals from the British Museum of Anthropology, coverage dating from the late 1950s to the present.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Abstracts in Anthropology
Provides coverage of anthropological scholarship from several hundred periodicals in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology; Physical Anthropology; Archaeology; and Linguistics. Includes issues from 2001 through the present. Also in print: Main Library Reference GN1 A15 (1973 to 2006).
SocINDEX
Sociology research database encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. It features abstracts for more than 720 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895, data mined from more than 530 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals, and extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other content sources.
ProQuest Social Science Journals
The database includes over 565 titles, with more than 330 available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Its content falls most heavily in the physical and life sciences, but it also covers social sciences and humanities literature.
AfricaBib AfricaBib.org provides access to multiple databases, including:
Bibliografia Mesoamericana
"A comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines." From FAMSI/UPenn. See the about page for credits and coverage notes.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Social Sciences Citation Index
1985-2011. Part of ISI Web of Science. NOTE: Backfile only. No new articles as of January 2012. Cited reference searches will not refer to articles published after the last 2011 update. For current (and older) articles and cited reference searches, use Scopus (shortcut: go/scopus).
Note: access through Web of Science
America: History and Life
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA ProQuest)
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. The documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, 1960-present. Now on the ProQuest platform.
American Museum of Natural History Digital Library
Collection of current and archival issues of the AMNH scientific series, which disseminates the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted in anthropology and other natural history areas.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines covering cultural, gender, economic, political and social change. 1969 - 1990 available in print.
ATLA Religion Database
Designed to support religious and theological research. It includes book titles and a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews. 1949-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Indexes mainly western language publications on all parts of Asia and all subjects. 1971 - present online. 1941 - 1970 available in print. Davis Family Library Reference DS5 .A1
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
PAIS International (ProQuest)
Indexes journals, books, and documents covering global public policy and social issues in all disciplines. 1972 - current. For 1915 -1976, switch to PAIS Archive (click on Specific Database link to choose PAIS Archive). Go shortcut = go/pais
HLAS-Handbook of Latin American Studies
Indexes journals, books, documents, and reports on Latin America with good coverage of Latin American publications from 1935 to current. Search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Go shortcut = go/hlas
Index Islamicus
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level. 1906 - present.
Latin American Database
"LADB's journalists collect Spanish language source material from Latin America and publish weekly bulletins in English, placing events in context and highlighting key developments." NotiSur (1986+) contains news, summaries, and analyses on a variety of political, economic, and social issues in South America, while NotiCen (1986+) covers the Caribbean and Central America. SourceMex (1990+) focuses on Mexican economic and political issues, particularly US-Mexico relations.
NExpress
Use the
button in Midcat to search for and request items from a consortia of 6 other northeastern libraries, Middlebury borrowers can also visit these libraries and check out items directly. These libraries are: Williams, Bates, Bowdoin, Wellesley, Colby, and Northeastern University. See the NExpress page for full details.
WorldCat
Use this union catalog of over 40 million books, documents, reports, and media from libraries worldwide to identify books to request via InterLibrary Loan. If we don't own the book and you want to borrow it from another library, click on the ILL icon from the record. (OCLC)
Google Book Search
Search the contents of digitized books, which Google has digitized from library collections. While only sections of works still protected by copyright can be read online, works in the public domain are often available in their entirety.
LibWeb: Library Servers via WWW
If you want to search a particular Library's online catalog, use LibWeb to find the link.
Anthropology in the News
Texax A&M University's site for a variety of news feeds about anthropology.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Part of the WWW Virtual Library. Find information by searching or by browsing by region or topic.
The eSkeletons Project
View animations and high-resolution three-dimensional digital images of the skeletons and bones of several primates, including humans. Students may view bones labeled by morphology, muscle origins, muscle insertions, or joint articulations--and view side-by-side, images of bones from two different species.
Indigenous Studies
Links to resources for indigenous studies worldwide.
Intute: Social Sciences
The best web resources for education and research, selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists. The Social Science section was created by combining Altis and SOSIG (Social Science Information Gateway). University of Bristol & other UK institutions.
National Archeological Database (NADB)
An inventory of reports on archaeological investigation and planning in the United States. Search by state name, county name, work type, cultural affiliation, keyword, material, year of publication, author, and title.
World History Sources
Scholarly reviews of online primary source archives; guides for analyzing and interpreting primary sources; and case studies for teaching. Browse sources by region and time period.
UNESCO Interactive Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
The online edition of the Atlas includes all of the information in the print edition (soon to be released) and much more. Using this interface, you can browse through the endangered languages listed in the 2009 edition of UNESCO’s Atlas, using combinations of search criteria and/or zooming in the map below (see. browsing functionalities). For more detailed information, please consult the Language names and locations, Contribute your comments and FAQ pages.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
Biography in Context
600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. Includes 170+ Gale reference titles, periodical information and multimedia content.
Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB - 56,000 biographies of deceased people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Also available in print- Main Library Reference CT773 .D4 2004.
Note: Oxford
AAA (American Anthropological Association)
Abbreviated style guide from the American Anthropological Association. For more detailed information refer to the Chicago Manual of Style, which AAA style is based on.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Examples online at:
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
Is it Protected by Copyright?
Copyright information. American Library Association slide rule tool providing easy links to descriptions of public domain status for works published from before 1923 to the present.
CultureGrams
Main Library Reference GT150 .C85
Note: Print Resource
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
2nd Ed., Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008, 6 volumes. "Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Older edition in Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .E53 1996
New Encyclopedia of Africa
2nd ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 5 vols. Part of the Gale virtual Reference Library. "Addresses the entire history of African cultures...covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism".
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Search this title alone or with other reference works in Oxford Reference Online. Includes over 4,000 entries. It focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full text
Search for millions of full text dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to present. Contains full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. To obtain a copy of a dissertation or thesis unavailable as full text, use Inter Library Loan or request a Library purchase.
CultureVision (Proquest)
Religion and Ethnicity database.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Academic edition. Search by subject or keyword. In addition to topical essays, timelines, images, and videos, it provides links to full text journal articles and links to related websites.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
2001 online encyclopedia, covering all aspects of anthropology. "Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication." [Gale description]
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
2nd Ed., Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008, 6 volumes. "Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Older edition in Davis Family Library Reference F1406 .E53 1996
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all the world's known living languages. Includes maps, statistics, country information, and language families.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
2nd ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 5 vols. Part of the Gale virtual Reference Library. "Addresses the entire history of African cultures...covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism".
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Search this alone or with other reference works in Oxford Reference Online. The Companion features 700 authoritative articles on a range of subjects, including biographies of the great figures in the field, methods used in archaeological research, and essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Covers Pre-Hispanic (including Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples), colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Subjects include art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region. Search just this title or with other sources in Oxford Reference Online.
ARTStor
A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Life Magazine Images
Available via Google Images. Browse by decade or topic or search across all images.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
FAMSI (Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.)
Rich source of images and information about pre-colonial Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. See John Pohl's introduction.
Annual Reviews Sciences Collection
This annual series identifies and summarizes principal contributions in 37 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences from their inception in 1932 to the current-year.
Book Review Index
Davis Family Library Reference Z1035 .A1 B6 1965 - 2007
Statistics Guide - Middlebury Libraries Subject Guide
Additional statistical sources on the web and in library print and electronic resources, arranged A-Z by topic.
Population Index
Covers books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population and demographic topics from 1986 - 2000.
World Development Indicators
Online access to the full version of the World Bank's World Development Indicators (social and economic statistics). Provides annual data for over 800 indicators. Go Shortcut = go/wdi
China Data Online (China Data Center) *Now with census and GIS data - Efficient data integration for spatial and non-spatial data (custom radii, administrative units, spatial boundaries)
Access monthly and yearly national, provincial, county, city, and industrial data for China along with yearbooks, census data and the following GIS data through China Geo-Explorer II:
- Quick and accurate location analysis and spatial assessment
- Identify spatial patterns and trends
- Generate time-saving, easy-to-use, and customized reports
- Dynamic charts, tables and maps
- Export to PDF, Excel, Word, or GIS Shape files
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Now published by ProQuest. Statistical tables on a wide variety of U.S. and some international subjects from 1878 to date. Useful for identifying other sources for more detailed data. Earlier editions also in GovDocs C3.134 or online from 1878 - 2012 as pdf files.
UN Data (formerly UN Common Database)
Search major UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations. Most data is annual. Covers a diverse range of topics including socio-economic, environmental, health, and more. See also additional UN Databases. Go shortcut = go/undata. See the UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics for updates and monthly data for some statistics.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Search this title alone or with other reference works in Oxford Reference Online. Includes over 4,000 entries. It focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA.
National Archeological Database (NADB)
An inventory of reports on archaeological investigation and planning in the United States. Search by state name, county name, work type, cultural affiliation, keyword, material, year of publication, author, and title.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Search this alone or with other reference works in Oxford Reference Online. The Companion features 700 authoritative articles on a range of subjects, including biographies of the great figures in the field, methods used in archaeological research, and essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.
FAMSI (Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc.)
Rich source of images and information about pre-colonial Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. See John Pohl's introduction.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
General reference resources, including encyclopedias, bilingual dictionaries, chronologies, and maps and illustrations.
