African American Newspapers - The 19th Century
Full-text newspapers articles from: Freedom's Journal; Colored American; The North Star; The National Era; Frederick Douglass Paper; Provincial Freeman; and The Christian Recorder.
America: History and Life
Major index to articles and books on history (from prehistoric times to current period) of United States and Canada. 1964 to current.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of over 1000 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/jstor (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/jstor (off campus). All Middlebury alumni can access our JSTOR archived journals, dating up to five years ago. To access JSTOR for Middlebury alumni visit http://go.middlebury.edu/jstoralum.
Project Muse
Offers full-text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from the 1990s to present. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. Shortcuts: go/muse (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/muse (off-campus).
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
IngentaConnect
Ingenta is an interdisciplinary database with indexing and tables of contents for approximately 25,000 journals and magazines, mainly 1990-current.
Note: Also indexes resources we don't have subscriptions to.
Google Scholar
Searches for many types of primarily scholarly sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other organizations. Some documents will be available for free while others require a subscription or a one-time access fee.
Academic OneFile
1980 - current. Interdisciplinary index covering over 10,000 scholarly and popular journals and magazines. Most references include full-text or links to full-text. Contains all of Expanded Academic Index ASAP. Coverage of scientific journals is limited. Shortcuts: go/onefile (on campus), http://go.middlebury.edu/onefile (off-campus).
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
The major modern language index for literary criticism, linguistics, film and folklore. 1926-current. This is a subscription resource; for off-campus access, enter your Middlebury username and password when prompted. (Now on the ProQuest platform.)
ProQuest Black Newspapers
Recent coverage of 10 black newspapers from 1989 - present, depending on the title. Includes: Afro-American Red Star; Call and Post; Chicago Defender; Houston Post; Michigan Chronicle; Muslim Journal; New Journal and Guide; New York Amsterdam News; Los Angeles Sentinel; Washington Informer.
Henry Sheldon Museum Catalog
Search books, archival and manuscript documents related to Middlebury and Addison County history in the Museum's Research Center.
Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Maps were produced for over a century. More than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities marking businesses, residences, bakeries, etc. Sanborn Maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. We've expanded our collection which was previously limited to towns in Vermont to the entire U.S. The maps are in black & white. The color versions of most of the maps are freely available from the Library of Congress Geography & Map Reading Room.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native press from the mid 1980s to present. Languages include English, Spanish, German, Italian and more. [Shortcut: go/ethnicnews]
Vermontiana Guide
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
American National Biography
Oxford ANB Online is an exploration of American history through the lives of the men and women who shaped the nation.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Print and Online.
MLA Format (Purdue University OWL)
Purdue University's MLA format guide.
MLA (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers)
Examples online at:
MLA Style for Electronic Resources- EXAMPLES PDF
Examples citing full-text from databases such as Expanded Academic ASAP, JSTOR, Lexis Nexis, websites, CD-Roms, and more.
RefWorks
RefWorks will automatically generate bibliographies and format your research papers in any of hundreds of styles including MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian. For more information, see the Middlebury-specific RefWorks Guide located at http://go.middlebury.edu/refworks?midd.
ARTStor
ARTStor is a non-profit initiative with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. It is:
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Theatre in Video
![]()
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video.
Journals/Magazines of the Period
American Periodicals Series Online - 1740-1940
APS collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1940. Derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection and features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Includes publications such as Vanity Fair, Life, and Ladies Home Journal.
Media History Digital Library
A collection of digitized, classic media periodicals published before 1923 such as Photoplay (1917-1940), Radio Broadcast (1922-1930), Moving Picture World (1912-1918), The Film Daily (1918-1936), and many others. A full-text collection covering the histories of early cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
British Periodicals (parts 1 and 2)
Now on the ProQuest platform, this database offers facsimile page images and searchable full-text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. Part One consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals; Part Two consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles.
Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1889
Searchable full-text of the famous 19th century womens' magazine, which today is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
Harpers Weekly
Full content images of Harper's Weekly from 1857 - 1912. Browse by date or search using the index or within full-text. See printing instructions before proceeding.
The Nineteenth Century in Print: Periodicals
The 19th Century in Print presents 23 popular periodicals digitized by Cornell University Library and the Library of Congress. They include literary and political magazines such as Atlantic Monthly, North American Review, Scribner's, Harper's, as well as Scientific American, Manufacturer and Builder, and Garden and Forest: A Journal of Horticulture, Landscape Art, and more.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
A database of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, from articles as far back as 1665, up through 1995. Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages--with links to full text, when available.
Readers Guide Retrospective (Wilson), 1890-1982
Indexes articles in approx. 375 leading general magazines (mainly popular literature). Available in print as Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Includes book, film, and television reviews.
Print volumes: Davis Family Library Reference AI3 .S6 (1900 - present)
Note: Online and Print Resource
Vermontiana Guide
The Vermont Collection, located on the lower level of the Main Library, contains most of our material relating to the history, politics and culture of Vermont. Except for the periodicals, this material circulates and may be charged out at the Circulation Desk. Older material (pre-1900) and fragile and rare material is shelved in a locked area in Special Collections and does not circulate. Material in the locked portion of the collection includes early Vermont Maps, Vermont Postcards, the Bailey Collection of Vermont Pamphlets, the Rutland Railroad Archives and the Crown Point Road Archives. All of the Bailey pamphlets may be found in Midcat and there is an online finding aid for the Rutland Railroad Archives.
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 17,400 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century
Full-text newspapers articles from: Freedom's Journal; Colored American; The North Star; The National Era; Frederick Douglass Paper; Provincial Freeman; and The Christian Recorder.
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
Part of Archive of Americana. Includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728 - 1800
Published in Philadelphia, it is considered the New York Times of the 18th Century. Provides a firsthand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Search the digital full-text editions of the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search the digitized full-text and images of the New York Times (1851-2007); Wall Street Journal (1889-1993); Los Angeles Times (1881-1987); Washington Post (1877-1994); Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945). Black Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
American County Histories
From Accessible Archives. Access histories from Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island. County histories from Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine will be added in the coming months.
American West
A research database from the British publisher Adam Matthew with original manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and printed sources from the Newberry Library, Chicago. The documents detail frontier life, Native Americans, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion, and life in the borderlands.
ArcCat
ArcCat is a cooperative catalog describing archival and manuscript collections held by various Vermont institutions. It is similar to a library catalog, but instead of telling you about books and periodicals, it lists unpublished material. In this catalog you will find descriptions of the records of governmental entities, individuals, organizations, and businesses. ArcCat does not contain descriptions for everything at the participating repositories.
Bracero History Archive
Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
HEARTH Home Economics Archive
Cornell University's open archive of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, 1850-1950. Subjects covered include home management, food and nutrition, clothing and textiles, child care and family studies, and applied arts and design.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
A web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.
Lily: A Temperance and Abolitionist Newspaper
The first newspaper for women, the Lily was published in Seneca Falls, New York from 1849 until 1853. The Lily originated as a temperance journal for the Seneca Falls Ladies Temperance Society and was edited by Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894).
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
A research database from Adam Matthew with original material from 30 libraries and archives including the British Library, Duke University, and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, NYPL. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1889
Searchable full-text of the famous 19th century womens' magazine, which today is considered among the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Searchable images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports.
Henry Sheldon Museum Catalog
Search books, archival and manuscript documents related to Middlebury and Addison County history in the Museum's Research Center.
